AWAS cameras will soon track vehicle’s average speed between two points – KLK and Menora Tunnel first

Transport minister Anthony Loke has said the Automated Awareness Safety System (AWAS) will be upgraded to adopt a point-to-point method. This will replace the static method currently in place and operates by calculating the average speed of a vehicle by determining the time taken to travel between two points.

As reported by Astro Awani, Loke said this method allows for more comprehensive vehicle speed monitoring. He added that the current AWAS cameras, which are placed in fixed locations, are not seen as effective in reducing vehicle speeds.

“We don’t want drivers to slow down just in front of the camera, but (slow down) within a certain distance. Let’s say between point A and point B, we want to know how long the driver takes. If he uses less time than he should, it means he is speeding and will be subject to action,” said Loke.

Point-to-point speed cameras are already implemented in countries such as Australia and the United Kingdom, with cameras monitoring designated stretches of highways as well as in certain roads in residential areas or school zones.

In Malaysia, the implementation of the new AWAS system will first be carried out in high-risk areas such as the KL-Karak Expressway and Menora Tunnel. “Our objective is to ensure that vehicles, especially buses and the like, slow down so that drivers do not speed up when they go down hills. The current method is less effective, even if we install cameras, the vehicle only slows down at that spot and then speeds up again,” Loke said.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• this is a good move that had been used by other countries, better method than the existing one, but i think 110kmh is too slow for vehicles these days.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
  • Paul Chan on Jan 07, 2025 at 10:18 am

it’s simple. vehicle registration ABC1234 passed point A at 8:00am, then exits point B at 8:30am. Distance between A and B is 100km. So easily calculate average speed. This has long been done in some countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
    • thanks captain obvious

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • AI Logical Reply on Jan 08, 2025 at 12:45 am

Don’t forget some of these speeding vehicles also stop at R&R or refill fuel station. Therefore the system must work within highway ideally 20km stretch with no R&R or fuel station in between.

• pengayuhbasikal on Jan 07, 2025 at 10:26 am

hehehehe…them jammed all the way between the 2 point…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
  • Kariayam on Jan 07, 2025 at 10:49 am

If they are so concerned about the safety and wellbeing of malaysians why not sell cars that are speed limited to 110kph from the factory? If our own so called “national” cars can do 200kph, tells you all you need to know about the fact they just want to make easy money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
  • stranger on Jan 07, 2025 at 11:03 am

But…when it comes to people’s convenience, toll booth still cannot use plate recognition

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • Ben Yap on Jan 07, 2025 at 11:46 am

we have bapa kemerdekaan, bapa pembangunan etc… Loke is Bapa nombor plat dan saman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 8
  • What a state of the art system. Speedsters, beware.

Too bad overweight lorries is too difficult for them to fix.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • You know you don’t need to have these rubbish right. Heck, when you enter the toll and exit on the other toll also can calculate your average speed. Why waste so much money and time doing all these rubbish. Just tap the TNG system and auto calculate the average speed lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • Time in and out of toll can be confusing for average speed calculation.

• Not accurate as some stops at R&R, Petrol, toilet breaks, etc.

• AI Logic Reply on Jan 08, 2025 at 12:42 am

Don’t forget some of these speeding vehicles also stop at R&R or fuel station. Therefore the system must work within highway stretch with no R&R or fuel station.

• U R correct.

Simple. Suppose from A to B is 3hour.
      If they arrive before that, PARK ASIDE ISSUED SPEED TICKET. WAIT UNTIL 5HOURS EXPIRES. PLEASE LET 5JEM OFF . The additional 2 Hours is Punishment for SPEEDING

• Mike Tee on Jan 07, 2025 at 12:31 pm

Long overdue!

• Gabriel on Jan 07, 2025 at 12:40 pm

I think we need to protest this. Back then they said want to abolish it. Now want to make sure us kena saman. I need to find back my Bersih shirt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
    • All come to square, during election water free cost for 1year , after 2nd term water triple cost

• Power of technology. But make sure those get caught pay the fine.

• Hing Gu Ming on Jan 07, 2025 at 1:14 pm

First of all, the concept where speeding is the only reason is wrong. It is the relative speed between vehicles on the road. Please look into the driver training and licensing procedures

• Eric Tan on Jan 07, 2025 at 3:43 pm

too slow also can get saman would be nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • Yeah, some countries impose minimum speed limit because slow drivers can also be dangerous to others.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 07, 2025 at 5:25 pm

Susah susah buat semua ni, hujung tahun dapat 50% diskaun saman. Law and enforcement are a big clown show in this country.

• pengayuhbasikal on Jan 07, 2025 at 5:48 pm

you overtake at 110 … the middle lane also 110…the left lane also 110.. no point overtaking….ekekekekekkekeke

the original intention of AWAS to reduce accident at accident prone area … now…they use it to collect money after giving discounts…ekekekekekekkeek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • YeahRight on Jan 07, 2025 at 8:23 pm

Standardize the speed limit first. Everywhere different speed limit damn frustrating. Purposely want to create more speeding tickets only

• 1st improve the highway to more lanes . Current lanes not sufficient to cater with increase of vehicles. Highways still at 1990s , already 35years and no improvement and future plan. Still busy with number plates goldlah,silverlah,bronzelah,diamondlah,rubylah.blablalah.

• What if I speeding all the way from point A to B and then take a long break at any rest area, am I still speeding?

• Najib on Jan 08, 2025 at 1:56 am

Waliao, play so big meh, tak kan i drive my lambo 110km/h mah..later myvi driver laugh at me..how?

• En. Perang on Jan 08, 2025 at 6:33 am

Hahaha.. Bagus laa..elok laa baru nak maklom..aq dh kena aes saman tahun lepas lg kt menora tu, bru tahun ni nk bagitahu , naik moto speed 106km/j ,sbb dah lewat malam aq speed , tapi tu laa, prasaan aq xsalah ad penumpang tumpang aq .. last saman sampai rumah , tengok gmbar aes menora shoot xsalah lg.. ad mnumpang aq.. dah laa sorg masa tu..

• Kelajuan membunuh, kelembapan buang masa on Jan 08, 2025 at 7:04 am

Habis la balik kampung raya gonna take more time, nak-nak belah utara

• AhChong98 on Jan 08, 2025 at 7:44 am

Its a good move for point to point camera.
    One more, Anthony should also remove the reminders of speedtrap before the speedtrap points so that the drivers will alert all times during driving following the speed limit.

I didn’t see any speedtrap signage or warning in Switzerland nor in Germany.

• Azman on Jan 08, 2025 at 8:47 am

What about car from Singapore?

• opmanmy on Jan 08, 2025 at 9:23 am

These minister just sit at their air cond office and think of so-called solutions. Another form of wasting tax payers $$$$.

Go down to the road and see for yourself. Those heavy vehicles speeding 110+ km/h all the way! How to overtake them?

• Stupid decision. Speed not what make people crash. Make minimum speed limit 100km and maximum speed 130-140km according to highway then no jam alr. If you make like this of course jam. Also provide us with alt high speed train. Stupid want to follow developed country but infrastructure wise still left behind. Fix ur damp pot hole la b4 you make stupid decision

• Albert on Jan 08, 2025 at 12:19 pm

Make it fair for those ppl who use escort to open road, those car sure over 110

• Gamer on Jan 08, 2025 at 12:43 pm

This is the reason why we are having traffic jams all the time , trying to discourage speeding and encourage road hogging , how can we help the economy when we can’t get the to work on time ? No common sense

• Gamer on Jan 08, 2025 at 1:30 pm

This is why there is traffic jam all the time , by discouraging speeding and encouraging road hogging at 110kmph , how can we help the economy without getting to work on time ? No common sense

• ROTI CANAI on Jan 08, 2025 at 2:41 pm

What happens if take longer than usual time to come out….will get rebate back or not

• Landan on Jan 10, 2025 at 3:30 am

Speed camera can show proof that you are speeding by photo with actual real time speed. By this point A and B photo is it enough evidence to show you exceed the speed limit without the actual real time photo you commit the offence. Is it legit

• Jennifer on Jan 10, 2025 at 2:01 pm

The system should be rightfully called AASS instead of AWAS

• S.GANESAN on Jan 11, 2025 at 9:40 am

I presume this two point AwAS is the distance between two AwAS Cameras. Am I right ?

• mejlan on Jan 11, 2025 at 10:05 pm

Whatever new traffic rules MOT implement, it must be equally enforce to all, no matter they are rakyat or Men3 escorted by the police traffic….no excuse

• kolejeon on Jan 14, 2025 at 10:40 am

Nice. No point in buying a high-powered car if you can’t fully enjoy its capabilities. Driving an Axia or Saga is more than sufficient.

• Mohd Zulkifli on Mar 25, 2025 at 7:39 am

This is called a money-making project.
    Drivers with more than 10 years of license experience should be allowed to drive faster.
    110 km/h makes you drowsy.
    Accidents caused by drowsiness are more common than those caused by speed.

And another thing—Ministers, open your eyes.
    Look at Singapore; they’ve been using an advanced toll collection system since the year 2000.
    Can’t the Minister go to Singapore and ask how they collect tolls without toll booths?
    Even paying tolls can cause traffic jams here.

Secondly, use smart traffic light systems.
    This is the age of AI.
    It’s ridiculous to be stuck at a red light when there are no vehicles on the other side.

Ministers shouldn’t just be good at pocketing the people’s money.
    Make things easier for the people.
    Do you really need to be taught such simple things?

• Haha..Stu**ik M’sian, bila nampak AES at 110km/j area, dia bantai bawak 60 km/j.

• supervillian on Apr 04, 2025 at 9:29 am

How many accidents due to speeding vs cost to implement . Doubt this will have ROI. 110 is not ideal speed these day with better cars, road and tech. Loke should focus on fixing RFID / Smart tag issue or how lorries/ busses are being drove dangerously on the roads instead of wasting tax payers money on things like this .