2025 is Proton’s last year in “high school,” 2026 onwards is university; double sales by 2030 – CEO

Having announced Proton’s big plans for 2025, which is to launch at least three new models this year, CEO Dr Li Chunrong revealed an ambitious sales volume target of 330,000 units by 2030.

“We’ve launched so many cars, but the economies of scale is not very high as we are still at 150,000 units per year. Yes that is accurate, but based on our plans, we have now submitted to the government that by 2030, we want to achieve 330,000 units. I wish we can make it even before that.

“From 2022 to 2024, we were on a platform of around 150,000 units, and this year I believe it will be similar. I call this situation as ‘high school’, and 2025 is the last year for Proton’s high school. Next year, we will go into university, and we will increase, rise a lot,” he said.

Proton will press the throttle deeper on exports this year, with the new AMA-based Saga likely to be its overseas spearhead. Its US$35 million (RM156 million) Egypt plant should be a significant contributor too.

Last year Proton exported 4,765 cars (+31% versus 2023) to 18 countries, making it Malaysia’s top car exporter where volume is concerned. Nearly 61% were Sagas. Egypt contributed 1,748 units; Brunei 1,200.

“I believe we have a very good chance (of succeeding) in international markets, because we will have the right products. I remember when I arrived in 2017, Proton’s international sales was only 248 units, because we didn’t have good products. Now, good products are on the way very soon!”

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• ali-x on Jan 24, 2025 at 9:32 am

TOOOOO SLOW – geely is dawdling and neglecting proton …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • geehe on Jan 25, 2025 at 9:47 am

Going to University with Geely

Later come back with tongsan accent, no longer malaysian

• Tin Kosong on Jan 24, 2025 at 9:33 am

Pls update your 3cycliders engine to boost P1 sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • anonymous on Jan 24, 2025 at 9:39 am

cute. but over 40 years on and STILL a rebadging exercise ? a joke. the government should have never bailed them out countless times.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
    • Most rakyat do not support self-developed models at all, and it also wastes rakyat’s money to invest in R&D. It is best to do rebadging. : D

• YB Kinte Kunte on Jan 24, 2025 at 8:26 pm

Protong sales dropped 15% in 2024 in term of market share.
      With so many new rival launchings,the pie is getting smaller.The X90 already is a massive failure.
      Dr.Li..no matter how high target u set,people will experiment even with “orphan”brands beside P2.
      So,the writing is on the wall.An impending divorce with DRB is on the cards.And no more bailouts,Mr Madani.

• suomynona on Jan 25, 2025 at 9:49 am

Respect orphans – They know hardship, and are ruthless to strive like 007

• SombodyDidntFactCheck on Feb 01, 2025 at 12:02 pm

Proton dropped 15%? Where did you get the figure? Paultan reported sales drop by 1.5%, you missed the decimal there my guy? And in terms of market share it’s only 0.7% drop. Man, you should tone down the hate, now you’re making fake figure just to try influence millions of M’sians who don’t even read your comment.

• Perlisian on Jan 24, 2025 at 9:46 am

If Geely don’t Proton as RHD car hub an global marketing, why not Proton stop rebadging Geely model and start develop in-house design.

Of course, Geely may assist in terms of design (don’t want any persona weird look again) and also technology (engine, gearbox etc) and aim high (look at Hyundai, Kia global market and maybe Vinfast market penetration too).

Proton should have it own in house design and truly Malaysian car (now only Saga, Persona, Iriz left). Proton is our first national car where previous most (not all) of Malaysian very proud of, but now people has perspective of Proton is selling china car (no offence).

As Malaysian, deep down, feeling sad looking at Proton now and all the critic. So, Proton, being a Malaysian brand, start develop Malaysian car for Malaysian people with Malaysia images and culture.

#feelingsad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
    • FrankC on Jan 24, 2025 at 2:56 pm

The main problem for proton to develop new model by in house design is the cost of developing and setting manufacturing. the last time i read here is at least RM500million (that was 2 decades ago) to develop and need at least 200,000 units to breakeven. Looking at this old figures, the financial burden for proton is too large when local market uptake is low. have proton breakeven with Iriz, Persona and Preve ? it is acceptable that proton use some elements from Geely’s mass volume and mature modules. Proton local manufacturing partners need to be globally competitive so that they can lower their cost. for a starter be a vendor for Geely china domestic model !… a great challenge for that’s the way to go.

• Proton have kenya, Maldives, Pakistan, Bangladesh, south Africa and Egypt but proton higher up is too incompetent to produce fast as China car manufacturer

• RAFIZI THE GREAT on Jan 27, 2025 at 10:51 am

to overcome development cost, proton need to co-share development with Geely. Use same platform and modify it according to local and asean needs.

• Stupid joker, 150000 units also can’t achieve economy of scales. If design and build only by Proton one model needs to sell 20 years. You buy after 10 years?
      The only advantage Proton has is Right hand drive vehicle. Just explore more overseas markets by the time sales increase then only think self R&D model.
      My neighbor got 7 cars non is Proton and just recent bought one X50. Is just a turning point for local proton engineers. Now is kindergarten next year primary school only. Step by step not straight away wanted to fly.

• Patriot on Jan 24, 2025 at 9:55 am

Eleh ko dah game proton. Tu tapi mmg dasar ccp pon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • BeelP on Jan 24, 2025 at 10:37 pm

Klau takde CCP dah Lama Proton bankrupt.

• x tau malu on Jan 28, 2025 at 12:24 am

type M not content to ask tongkat from local type C, now even expect tongkat from prc?

• Sohai on Jan 24, 2025 at 10:35 am

Highschool? A 40 year old company?
    More like entering old folks home carrying tongkat and need people to spoon feed lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • curry promises on Jan 24, 2025 at 10:44 am

already 40 years old still in high school. what a joke.
    the only way Proton can achieve 330,000 units per year is by JV with a japanese car brand and sell only A and B-segment cars like Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • YB Kinte Kunte on Jan 25, 2025 at 1:58 pm

Hahaha…this shows Protong fail A level for 40 years consecutively.The elusive automotive degree..maybe get from the flyby night degree mill.
      Make no mistake,P1 might be in the red when the financial statement is released .
      2024..P1 lost 15% market share.Give another 2 more painful years,..30% downwards.At 100,000 units,P1 cant breakeven,losses will spiral upwards like Iranian ballistic missiles.
      AND THIS TIME PLS CLOSE SHOP,NO MORE BAILOUTS

• haha…continue to blow~~

• Frankc on Jan 24, 2025 at 11:36 am

Saga will live on… Yay!!!
    If design properly and using reliable engine and transmission, saga maybe proton’s best export model. Saga in fact have been proton best seller locally hence should be given more serious effort to develope and grow. They must not repeat sane mistakes with preve. Preve hv good body and chassis but weak in engine, transmission and under budget interiors. Saga could hv campro vvt improved engine while introduce more powerful engines from geely. Have a variant with higher interior budget learning from geely. See if saga higher value version can hit the market. I think saga is already under priced

• Ben Yap on Jan 24, 2025 at 11:38 am

after university, proton should be independent as it has entered the workforce? or still need tongkat?

• YB Kinte Kunte on Jan 25, 2025 at 2:06 pm

Ben Yap
      Protong is in the wilderness for 4 decades..the automotive degree it has is dubious.How can any university confer a degree if u fail 40 times ,A level? Just not rational.
      P1 repeated Form 6 for 40 long years.
      I have a tongkat,but it wont help even if I donate foc to P1.P1 is already in a wheelchair.

• the truth is nobody even wants or cares about proton. it’s been how many years already and they are still rebadging cars. and yes this means you too perodua. sharing one or two models with other brands is fine but when your whole lineup is just rebadged cars then just die already. just shut down proton and perodua, remove the unfair taxing on foreign brands and bring the prices down. we have one of the most expensive cars in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • mr1031 on Jan 24, 2025 at 12:30 pm

lol, how? your parent company already enters other regions, competing with proton

• ROTI CANAI on Jan 24, 2025 at 12:51 pm

No android auto or Apple carplay for the longest time. Bad aftersales. No thanks la.

• BUY Originals not Rebatch on Jan 24, 2025 at 12:52 pm

Markets surveys shows Thailand and Indonesia rejects Proton brands.
    ECU programming sucks

• malaysian on Jan 24, 2025 at 1:16 pm

expensive national car for poor Malaysian?

• saga 85 on Jan 24, 2025 at 2:58 pm

how can a national carmaker sell more than 300k units annually?

-offer entry level cars (A-B segment)
    -jepunis engine & transmission reliability
    -decent quality
    -no-nonsense aftersales service
    -CEO not making promises (quietly working in the background, let the sales chart speaks for itself)

• Aziz S on Jan 24, 2025 at 4:01 pm

Totally ignoring the mid to low M40 family category that the Exora filled well.

• Proton is so slow.. in other word, “lembab”.

• paanjang16 on Jan 24, 2025 at 6:50 pm

Proton, you are now are fully grown adult in the working world. No longer in university with full scholarship + free makan + free lodging. Your younger brother does not seem to complain/make a big fuss and is doing much better than you.

I think the simple answer is: Proton is too slow

Chinese brands like BYD, GWM, SAIC, Chery are coming in full steam into ASEAN, Australia and Europe. Geely seeing its Chinese rivals going into new markets decided it must catch up or be left behind. It cannot rely on Proton to do the work because Proton is already struggling against P2 in its own turf, imagine Proton going against another Chinese rival in another country. If in China Proton would long ago KO.

Then there is the issue of models. X series is outdated. There are newer version of X90 and X50 in China with better engines. Proton home grown models are also very outdated compared to models by the other Chinese Rivals.

• Proton user on Jan 26, 2025 at 4:10 am

He should put his money where his mouth is and take huge salary cut until 2030 for making such stretched goals

• @NotBruceWayne on Jan 26, 2025 at 11:22 pm

Snail pace. Look at Kia/Hyundai.