Traffic police director says lane hogging is an offence, up to RM2k fine; middle, right lanes only for overtaking

We’ve all seen it before – you’re overtaking on the highway only to come across a car sitting square on the right lane, dawdling below the speed limit. No matter how much you flash your high beams, the motorist remains unmoved, seemingly either unaware or unwilling to give way. Before long, a whole line of cars forms behind you, all trying to make progress.

This is the unfortunate reality of driving on Malaysian highways. Lane hogging is a serious problem here – entirely separate from the equally egregious one of speeding – which can cause congestion by forcing those behind to slow down, creating an accordion effect.

Lane hogging can also cause accidents as those stuck behind them the offenders have to “undertake” on the left lanes or weave around slower cars just to get ahead, increasing the risk of a collision. There are plenty of motorists who think that just because they drive at or just below the speed limit they are entitled to sit on the middle or right lanes, but that simply isn’t the case.

A lot of people don’t know this, but lane hogging isn’t just a nuisance but an offence. In an interview with TV3’s Buletin Utama, the director of the police’s Traffic Investigation and Enforcement Department (JSPT) Mohd Yusri Hassan Basri said this “highly irresponsible” behaviour carries a fine of between RM300 to RM2,000.

“If drivers want to reduce their speed, they should move to the left lane of the highway to give way to other road users for them to resume their journeys smoothly and at the set speed limit,” he said.

Meanwhile, the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) said lane hogging reflects the lack of awareness and discipline of Malaysian road users, as do distracted driving and the use of phones while driving.

“They feel they have the right to be in [the middle or right lanes] as long as they don’t drive over the speed limit,” said the agency’s senior research officer Norfaizah Mohamad Khaidir. “If we ask Malaysians, most will say that driving over the speed limit is wrong, but they don’t realise that driving slowly in the fast lane is [also] an offence.”

So the next time you’re on the highway, practice lane discipline by driving on the leftmost lane and only moving to the middle or right lanes on the highway to overtake. Not only does it make highways more efficient by smoothening the flow of traffic, but it is also safer and more considerate to everyone around you.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments highlight ongoing confusion and frustration regarding lane hogging and speed limits on Malaysian highways. Many drivers believe that maintaining 110km/h in the fast lane can be considered slow, leading to aggressive overtaking and accusations of lane hogging. Several express concerns about inconsistent enforcement and unclear regulations, with some drivers feeling unfairly penalized for overtaking or driving at the speed limit. There are calls for better education on lane discipline and stricter enforcement, especially against heavy vehicles and luxury MPVs that refuse to move to the left. Overall, sentiments range from support for the traffic police's stance to skepticism about the practicality of the law, with many emphasizing the need for clear rules, proper enforcement, and driver discipline to improve highway safety.

• Tell that to the heavy vehicles. On CNY eve, I see lorries, busses driving on the right and middle lanes on E1. Some hogging and some speeding. Did not see any law enforcers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • how about we improve the railway and move all heavy vehicles to use that, reserve the highways to light car & motor? ever see a lorry going at 70kmph being overtaken by a bus going at 75kmph and blocking the entire road while they re-enact a neck to neck race of 2fast2furious…

• Squid on Feb 03, 2025 at 11:02 am

This comments section gonna be good for this topic haha

• i am a daily PLUS highway user, i can say that the lane hoggers are usually from Big MPV like Alphard, Vellfire, Estima and etc.. probably they think they “deserve” to be on the right lane cuz their car is big. and they are very stubborn too, they wont move even highbeam has been flashed many times. hopefully PDRM can monitor this group of people first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • plakad on Feb 03, 2025 at 11:17 am

but speed limit is only 110-120km/hr, so one have the right to stayed at right lane… so how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 47
    • Jason Leong on Feb 03, 2025 at 11:37 am

Which part of “ikut kiri jika tidak memotong” you don’t understand?

What makes you have the right to stay on the right lane if you are driving at the speed limit?

If you are not overtaking, move to the left.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 1
    • one lane hogger spotted here. PDRM pls find this guy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • plakad on Feb 03, 2025 at 3:11 pm

No need to find me, i am very happy to have this kind of support

• Gomorrah on Feb 03, 2025 at 12:12 pm

There is no right to stay on the right lane. Understand the law lah. As it is you already salah interpret the speed limit, no speed limit sign on public roads in Malaysia goes to 120 km/h. Leave it to cops to catch speeders and your lane hogging vehicle as well. 2 different offences.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • kopi o driving school on Feb 03, 2025 at 12:57 pm

which driving school taught you this? need to report to the JPJ, they should not be continue doing the teaching which will create more problem to Malaysian traffic!

• plakad on Feb 03, 2025 at 3:19 pm

School of fast car hahahaha. Cos too many driver way to slow. But i wanted to see this kind of supports and comments to wake up those go SLOW. Thanks thanks

• bro.. speed limit only apply to left lane, right lane is autobahn speed limit :-)

• I totally agree with this article. So many times drivers just hog the road with the care of other drivers. If only we can report such incidences or at the very least educate them to drive on the left.

• Highway king on Feb 03, 2025 at 11:26 am

Since when pulis catch lane hoggers? Abam pulis bawah jambatan gonna issue saman to lane hoggers?

• Enforce it..

• Syaiful Nizam Hassan on Feb 03, 2025 at 11:47 am

I strongly agree that lane hogging is an offence, not a nuisance anymore.

• Victim of Police on Feb 03, 2025 at 11:59 am

Problem is police speed guns usually nitpicked on overtakers. I was a victim near Sabak Bernam when I tried to overtake a car, my speed was 95kmh (only 5km above 90kmh speed limit). It only lasted few seconds to overtake to get a summon for the sake of overtaking. Since then, I rarely overtake cars for fear of being victimized by police enforcers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 2
    • lolpanda on Feb 03, 2025 at 3:45 pm

all cars from factory have speedometers calibrated to read higher than your actual speed. If your speedo is showing 100km/h you’re probably doing about 95km/h (it depends from car to car, but it’s usually around a 5% margin – based on my tests the D74A Axia a 100km/h has a true speed of ~94km/h but a G20 3 series at 100km/h has a true speed of ~98km/h)

did you size-up your tyres by any chance? switching to larger diameter tyres will cause your speedometer to read slower than your actual speed – which means your speedo could be showing 95km/h but you’re actually doing closer to 100km/h.

• Victim of Police on Feb 04, 2025 at 11:36 am

Police summon says my speed was 95kmh, not my meter. If I can recall, my meter was also around 95kmh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Interesting article. If you’re driving in the speed limit you should not stay at the right lane? Theoretically if you are the speed limit and everyone is following the speed limit then no one should overtake you? Everyone knows driving “slow” in the right lane is bad, but what speed is considered slow to the traffic police? 110kmh? 130kmh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • Jonathan Lee (Member) on Feb 03, 2025 at 12:39 pm

As the law (and signs on highways) clearly states, keep left unless you are overtaking. It doesn’t matter whether you’re driving at 10 km/h or 110 km/h, you should not be driving on the right lane unless you are passing a slower car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • in real world practice, if one were doing 110km/h, and given the interval of cars on the highway; that would require the car to constantly switch switch between slow and fast lanes every few seconds.

the issue is that those on the slow lanes drive way below 110km/h and the ones on the right lane are going way above 110km/h.

not a very efficient way of driving to keep slowing down to 80-90km/h and then accelerate back to 110km/h again every few seconds (yes, literally seconds…you’d be hard pressed to drive a full minute straight in the left or middle lane at 110km/h before having to overtake again).

true, you’re not supposed to stay on the right lane even at the national speed limit – but in reality, we all know the majority of cars flashing you on the right lane on highways are going way above that limit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
        • kokatoa on Feb 03, 2025 at 2:16 pm

“in real world practice, if one were doing 110km/h, and given the interval of cars on the highway; that would require the car to constantly switch switch between slow and fast lanes every few seconds.”

Yes, that’s what you’re supposed to do, just like how you’re not supposed to cut queues just to save time. What, you thought driving was supposed to be easy? Or convenient?

The problem with a lot of Malaysian motorists is that they think that driving is meant to be a mindless activity that is only supposed to benefit them, and I’m sorry but it just isn’t. You are supposed to be looking out for other motorists. You are supposed to exercise spatial awareness on the road at all times. You are supposed to anticipate changes in traffic conditions and speed and react to them in a way that is appropriate.

And the way to do that on the highway is to understand that the middle and right lanes are not to be used at your leisure. Understand that there are going to be vehicles that can’t go above 90 km/h (like buses and lorries) that will be using the left lane, and occasionally you will have to pull out to the right to overtake them. And, most importantly, understand that once you are done with the overtake, you are supposed to move back over to the left lane and allow those driving faster than you to overtake you.

If everyone practiced lane discipline on the road, there will be far less congestion on our highways and everyone will be able to drive at the speed at which they are comfortable at. Yes, people will still speed, but there are laws (and, more pertinently, speed cameras) that will take care of that. Speeding and lane hogging are two completely separate issues and should be dealt with as such.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
          • labubu on Feb 03, 2025 at 3:30 pm

except when you’re trying to overtake on the right lane at 110km/h while many drivers on E1 come speeding down north of 120km/h flashing/tailgating you to get out of the way when you’re just trying to overtake without breaking the speed limit.

yes you’re supposed to overtake and switch back despite how inconvenient it is – but i think to Eric’s point; speeding is the bigger issue (yes they’re both separate issues to be dealt with) but i can guarantee you there are significantly more people speeding excessively than there are lane hoggers.

more often than not, you’re probably the one speeding and the person in front of you seems to be “hogging” because they’re trying to overtake at the speed limit. SPRINT Damansara Link is an example; did you know the speed limit is actually 60km/h? if i’m overtaking at 60km/h on the fast lane i guarantee you most people will think i’m “hogging” because they’re blistering through the bend at Phileo Damansara at 90km/h.

have you driven in other countries? do you notice how it takes forever for someone to overtake because the guy in the slow lane is doing 90km/h and you’re trying to pass them at 100km/h at a 100km/h zone. now THAT’S how it’s supposed to be, but people here expect you to bugger off so they can speed on through breaking the speed limit.

• kokokrunch on Feb 03, 2025 at 3:35 pm

bruh…you talking about good driving habits; nobody is disputing that – i think the issue is that the people who think others are “hogging” are just overspeeding themselves and think other ppl are going slow and blocking the road.

i overtake at 90km/h on NPE (which is the speed limit btw) also kena flash kau kau by people who think they’re in fast & furious – i bet those people also think i’m lane hogging.

• Gomorrah on Feb 03, 2025 at 11:02 pm

This is why we are unlikely to ever have autobahn style no speed limit sections despite the infrastructure being able to support it. Not just driver attitude, vehicle inspections and roadworthiness fail, driver licensing also fail. Astonishing the amount of people commenting here who managed to get their drivers license but still can’t understand “ïkut kiri jika tidak memotong”.

• plakad on Feb 03, 2025 at 3:22 pm

korek korek . sappot sappot

• steven on Feb 04, 2025 at 3:33 pm

i tried to overtaking a car at right lane by driving at 140kmh and i got caught by AES saman

• Twitering on Feb 07, 2025 at 8:57 am

So Jonathan

what happens if the middle lane cars are travelling at 110kmh and you are travelling at 110kmh on the right lane ? Go figure what is abiding or breaking the law then

• RicoT on Feb 03, 2025 at 12:27 pm

There could be 1001 laws, regulations or rules but 0 enforcement.

• Hogging the middle and right lane while the slow lane is empty, I really don’t understand why so many of our drivers are like this. Another one is not being fully in your own lane and slightly blocking people in the other lane from passing by.

• lolpanda on Feb 04, 2025 at 2:26 pm

good observation especially on E1…i often notice the leftmost lane is actually one of the smoothest-flowing lanes because everyone is driving on middle and overtaking lanes.

• Kea Was on Feb 03, 2025 at 1:11 pm

So how about motorbikes using the in-between lanes lines to perform their deeds.

• Ben Yap on Feb 03, 2025 at 1:26 pm

lane hoggers defence is to drive safely and speed kills.

• ADI YUSRI BIN ROSLI on Feb 03, 2025 at 2:24 pm

Lori trailer besar bas besar lori tangki lane tengah lebih2 lagi lane kanan apa criter lebih 90km/h apa komen jpj takkan duduk diam je tak reti duk lane kiri ke?

• Clown Follower on Feb 03, 2025 at 4:03 pm

But our puts priority, focus and effort in planting those black poles to catch speeders instead while punishing the majority in return for what? Safety?

Could have make use of that brain a little bit more, not much to ask, just a tad bit more to solve problem instead of fishing in more problems. Try riding on the Plus highway during festive season with your hands on the wheel and legs on the pedal yourself and ask yourself why those jams happen with nothing happened.

Because those people brakes on your AES shit and creating ripple effect

• I’m wonder how public will intrepet this news. Definitely these will build more on negetive behaviour imo. Wonder also how much speed that actually people can drive on the highways. The problem is how user use the middle lane. But then are malaysia left lane are 100% nice n smooth not tampal sana sini and lubang and no flyinh stone from big heavy vehicle? Maybe 3 lane is not enough

• Fk Lane Hogger on Feb 03, 2025 at 4:25 pm

I have been waiting for this article for decades.

• drebar on Feb 03, 2025 at 4:42 pm

the driving exam has to be made much harder.
    and of course, stop the kopi lesen JPJ!
    PDRM should investigate that too

• Confucious on Feb 03, 2025 at 4:49 pm

But there is no sign board showing below limit salah. Driving school only taught not to exceed speed limit .And all those traveling on right lane is overtaking or speeding ? Super ambiguous explanation.

• DonkeyKong on Feb 03, 2025 at 5:13 pm

Dengar dulu la. Even easily-nabbed offenders with loud exhausts and who drive around with rear fog lights permanently switched on are ignored by JPJ and traffic cops. Fancy number plates, pitch-black tinted windscreens.. these are things that can easily be taken action against and yet hardly anything ever happens to such vehicle owners.

Do you think something as variable and dynamic as lane-hogging can be acted against by the enforcement authorities? My bet is that they won’t bother.

Our laws are as good as mere suggestions because there’s hardly any enforcement.

• Kirill on Feb 03, 2025 at 6:19 pm

For 3-lane highways, we need a minimum speed for the middle and right lane and those who want to drive below the minimum speed has to move to the leftmost lane. If a heavy vehicle on the left lane ends up trailing behind a car, either the heavy vehicle is too fast (exceeding 80-90kph on highway) or the car is too slow. Freeing up the middle lane also lets heavy vehicles overtake the said car, assuming compliance with speed limits.

Sometimes it’s difficult to overtake heavy vehicles because someone is driving too slow on the middle lane and it causes vehicles to form a train that closes off the window of opportunity to change lanes. One has to rely on a driver to give some space after seeing the indicator signal flashing or a car that is accelerating slower than the one in front, so that a gap is formed to ease into.

• Jaafar on Feb 03, 2025 at 7:08 pm

Banyak lesen Kopi-O di Malaysia. Keep left unless overtaking, don’t care your grandmother grandfather drive within speed limit or not. As long as not on the most right lane.

• ALuminium LAnthanum Hydrogen on Feb 03, 2025 at 9:37 pm

Norm to see car traveling 70kmph on the left lane which a faster speed 90kmph lorry or bus has to overtake it using the middle lane. Then another car maintaining speed below 110kmph trying to pass the lorry or bus on the right lane will take for ages thus hogging the right lane with many cars behind build up traffic…..

• Great for the confirmation on lane hogging now please ask how this will be enforced and when we could start seeing some results

• Ridzuan on Feb 03, 2025 at 10:13 pm

This rule is ridiculous , it will encourage drivers to surpass the set speed limit and result in more serious accident. Might as well do away with the speed limit if this is the case, then every drivers can speed as they wish, stupid. Where is your common sense ?

• Ridzuan on Feb 03, 2025 at 10:15 pm

This rule is ridiculous , it will encourage drivers to surpass the set speed limit and result in more serious accident. Might as well do away with the speed limit if this is the case, then every drivers can speed as they wish, stupid. Where is your common sense ?

• G-man on Feb 04, 2025 at 9:26 am

The sheer amount of accidents (especially on highways) in Malaysia is staggering. So, according to 90% of Malaysians and the authorities, the cause is speeding. Absolutely no clue about the real reasons behind the 600’000 accidents annually, this number is taken from the Malaysian statistics website itself. And that is primarily the reason why there is no solutions given by local government. The only way to drive safe for Malaysians is to drive slow. How about the awareness of other road users? So many drivers just do not care about what going on in front of their car and worst at the ones behind their cars. Their understanding of their own car capabilities is nil. I would say that drivers that drives slow are not for safety, it is because they completely lack confidence and understanding of what driving encompasses. Driving correctly is to drive to the conditions of the road, traffic and weather, and not at 70km/h on the highway!!! How do you explain that in Germany there are many stretches of highway without speed limit and accidents are very rare? Because they are disciplined, respectful with each others and fully aware of their environment. This cannot be taught, because it’s a cultural thing.
    Guys, one very useful advice: give way to cars that drives faster than you, you are not replacing the police

• Ex VGM staff on Feb 04, 2025 at 5:39 pm

I drove at 150kmh (because of overtaking) and in front of me another car doing 130kmh. That driver was holding me up. Can I say that car road hogging me?

• alldisc on Feb 04, 2025 at 5:40 pm

Road hogging is under which act? Police should mention that as well. Anybody knows?

• Eowar on Feb 04, 2025 at 7:10 pm

Make it compulsory to install dashcam on ALL vehicles. Link them all to ‘Big Brother’ mass surveillance system, with computer vision AI monitoring all offences, traffic and criminal. Oh, what fun!

• Laugh on Feb 05, 2025 at 10:21 am

It’s really funny looking at all the comments and suggestions.

Just ask yourself one question.

During a jam or just simply slow moving traffic, does all the vehicles on the middle and right lane gets summon for lane hogging or driving slower than speed limit?

Overtaking another vehicle can be done at any speed. So we don’t fine a vehicle overtaking another vehicle driving at 80kmph on the middle and right lane?

I’ve been driving weekly long distance on the NSEW. It’s absolutely normal to be able to drive at 110kmph constant on the slowest lane overtaking other vehicles in the middle and right lane.
    Simply because all of them thought they are righteous.

Even the heavy vehicles will hog the middle lane.

So the usual scenario is….
    Right lane vehicle driving around 100kmph.
    Middle lane driving around 90kmph.
    Left lane empty.

• I have a Question on Feb 07, 2025 at 7:03 am

Travelling at 110kmh constantly is that lane hogging ?

• Need Clearer details . Plz!! on Feb 07, 2025 at 11:10 am

Driving slowly in fast lane mean wat? Maintain 110km/h in fast lane is driving slowly? Can Paultan clarify with JPJ wat is the legal speed to drive in fast lane? If they said for overtaking, so is it ok tht driver drive above speed limit constantly to overtake every other car in the middle lane? or will driver get summon when drive above speed limit when overtaking? Wat is the slow speed they meant, 10? 20km/h? below speed limit? Need to give clearer details plz!

• Someone on Feb 08, 2025 at 9:05 pm

Not just cars… nowadays, even motorbikes hog the middle and right lane moving slowly