Anwar receives Togg EV as gift from Turkish president

Prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has received a Togg electric vehicle (EV) as a gift from Turkish president Recep Tayyip Erdogan, according to Harian Metro.

“I can use (the car) as long as I am prime minister but after that I have to return it to the country,” said Anwar, who had the opportunity to use the vehicle while inspecting preparations to welcome Erdogan in conjunction with his two-day official visit to Malaysia.

“Yesterday, I happened to try the EV that was gifted by the Turkish president… he gifted it to the prime minister, but the way I see it is, it’s a gift to the country, it’s not my right,” Anwar said at this morning’s prime minister’s department monthly assembly.

While Anwar didn’t specify the model, Togg last year revealed its second vehicle, called the T10F. The C-segment EV fastback sedan has either a 218 PS/350 Nm single-rear motor or a 435 PS/700 Nm dual-motor setup, with up to 600 km of range. Established in 2018, Togg is Turkiye’s (or Turkey’s) first major national EV manufacturer.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Ben Yap on Feb 10, 2025 at 5:16 pm

PMX receive donation, Najib also receive donation. No wonder Najib got a small slap on his wrist only.

• Why So Serious on Feb 12, 2025 at 2:42 pm

But Najib in jail while PMX in Gomen. So to be fair, we need to swap things, let Najib back as PM and Anwar back in jail and this time PH supports pls shaddup.

• Dah Menang Semua on Feb 10, 2025 at 6:28 pm

We should return one
    Geely E5 to Erdogan
    I mean Proton eMas

• Romeo Alfonso bin Kelembai on Feb 10, 2025 at 7:00 pm

LH drive?

• Pak Long on Feb 10, 2025 at 7:04 pm

How much it cost..bring it on

• rosdi on Feb 11, 2025 at 12:00 am

This actually look nice…, unlike some of the China made vehicles…

• At least not made in china on Feb 11, 2025 at 4:54 pm

Good. Real own national car

• Aaron on Feb 12, 2025 at 7:47 am

Gift to the country? This is a question on compliance. Now what do we owe turkey for this gesture? What does the PM owe?

• Why So Serious on Feb 12, 2025 at 2:43 pm

According to PH supporters soon PMX will send Msian soldiers to fight Turkish war with the Kurds.