Use of dummy seatbelt buckles a worrying trend – JPJ

Despite the dangers of using dummy seatbelt buckles, there are still those that continue to do so. As reported by Bernama, Negeri Sembilan road transport department (JPJ) director Hanif Yusabra Yusuf said this is a worrying trend as it poses a serious safety risk.

According to him, the highest number of notices issued during a special Chinese New Year operation was for not wearing seatbelts. Out of 195 offences recorded, over 30% were found to be using dummy seatbelt buckles which are designed to silence the sound of the seatbelt reminder system in cars. Those who committed the offence have been fined RM300, reports Sinar Harian.

“We found over 30% of drivers prefer to wear the dummy buckle to silence the sound of the seatbelt reminder, and their excuse is that it (the seat belt) is uncomfortable or that they forgot… but that is a major offence because it can result in severe injury or death in the event of a road crash,” said Hanif.

The widespread use of the dangerous accessory is enabled by its easy availability, with vehicle accessory shops or convenience stores selling different versions at relatively affordable prices. A quick check on online marketplaces revealed dummy seatbelt buckles can be bought for well under RM10.

Meanwhile, the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) revealed 12.9% of 326 respondents admitted to using dummy buckles. It also pointed out that the use of such devices offers zero protection to occupants that the seatbelt won’t hold you in place in the event of a crash. Additionally, dummy buckles will cause airbags to be ineffective and unrestrained passengers can become deadly projectiles in a crash.

During the special CNY operation, Negeri Sembilan JPJ inspected 12,138 vehicles, with 2,508 having action taken against them for various offences. Offences related to vehicles saw the highest number of notices at 2,027, followed by technical irregularities (1,880 notices) and driver licences (1,419 notices).

From the 6,630 offences recorded, about 424 notices were issued for major offences, with seatbelt-related offences being the highest at 195 notices. This is followed by disobeying traffic lights (113 notices) and using a mobile phone while driving (57 notices).

Hanif also said his department found there were still drivers of heavy vehicles who continuously used the right lane on the highway. In the operation where officers impersonated bus passengers, 31 out of 131 summonses issued were for said offence. Two out of 341 bus drivers also tested positive for methamphetamine use.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Sohai on Feb 10, 2025 at 3:56 pm

Should just let the morons continue using dummy belts. This is part of nature’s selection to weed out morons if they can’t be bothered about their own safety

• Clark on Feb 10, 2025 at 4:04 pm

jpj pun pening jgk, dah tau ada kedai jual, serbu la, jgn buat roadblock je. Aksesori haram blambak dijual. Kalau takde akta, pinda akta sedia ada, sekadar pandangan dari rakyat yg perihatin masalah yg jpj hadapi

• henry on Feb 10, 2025 at 4:31 pm

no matter how advanced is your car’s safety system, all these are just useless without you buckle the seatbelt. Seatbelt it’s still the most useful and critical for your car riding safety.

• Unker Sammy on Feb 10, 2025 at 5:12 pm

Biar these geng bodo die-la, their stupidity, their own lives, wot? Why waste resources on them? Saman also same, wait for 50-70% diskaun saja. Sebat rotan and jail 6 months then only will learn, that also a cost to taxpayers.

• Tweds on Feb 10, 2025 at 5:22 pm

Dummy stuff surely for dummy people.

• As my boss always ask? Do we have data (to prove this part ineffective)? At least it give some protection compare to not wearing it at all… if this statement – at least it look safer to most of the peoples

• Joe Miranda on Feb 10, 2025 at 7:39 pm

The enforcement agency must crack the seller 1st. This can be obtained at Mr.DIY. When the seller is penalised then only can curb the sale of these items

• What’s the reason behind they don’t buckle seatbelt?

• orkid on Feb 14, 2025 at 9:42 am

it’s written there, either they forgot or uncomfortable about it

• KampanaKartagena on Feb 10, 2025 at 8:48 pm

Pelik betul pihak berkuasa ni..dah tau benda tu berbahaya,haramkan terus la benda tu dijual dkt Malaysia.Tak perlu nak gubal undang² baru pun kalau nak haramkan benda tu

• How to turn a 3-6 myr investment into a 300 myr loss.

• Stone on Feb 11, 2025 at 11:11 am

Why the fake buckles are still being sold? Is it legal to sell and buy, but illegal to use? Isn’t that an oxymoronic situation?

• penguin on Feb 11, 2025 at 11:43 am

malaysians generally have low sense of safety in all regard

• Make Malaysia Great Again on Feb 12, 2025 at 2:46 pm

Why do you think we voted PH Gomen? We are serial risk takers and we always assume bad things will not happen from our decision.

• Frankc on Feb 11, 2025 at 11:45 am

Seat belt is meant for driver and passenger safety not to avoid Saman. It is bloody stupid to assume airbag alone is good enough. Airbags system is used in conjunction with seat belts. If you get to see dashcam recording of accident in Malaysia over YouTube, it is a concern the effect of non use of seat belts .. hmm on hindsight, it will reduce more idiots on the road an I right?.. he he being naughty

• rosdi on Feb 11, 2025 at 11:51 am

If you buy this because you couldn’t be bothered wearing a proper seatbelt, then you deserve whatever happens to you during an accident.

Just don’t do this to your kids, that’s all I am asking.

• ROTI CANAI on Feb 11, 2025 at 11:51 am

Penalize the sellers

• Fat mama..can I advice u something on Feb 11, 2025 at 1:38 pm

Those who are adamant in using dummy seat buckle…why worry for them?
    They r like the rempits.
    Nanti,crash,the dude flies out of the front windscreen,baru insaf.They ask for it.
    Enough of education.PDRM..Just focus on those using handphone driving,ignoring red lights,stopping in yellow boxes,illegal u turns,illegal overtaking etc.

• anwar menang, rakyat dikencingkan on Feb 11, 2025 at 2:15 pm

Why allow Mr.DIY to sell these accesories to be sold in the first place?
    The gov under pee mx is really stupid!!

• Abear25 on Feb 11, 2025 at 4:48 pm

Bodoh, larang lah jual benda tu, dah terang2 jual dekat diy…

JPJ- multi billionaire gov agencies.. beaten by RM4.00 of dummy seatbelt buckles

• KukuBird Flying on Feb 11, 2025 at 4:58 pm

More worrying is dumb drivers around us. 3 category Dumb Dumber Dumberest

• Plain BS on Feb 11, 2025 at 5:33 pm

When its openly on sale by a major retailer (you all know who that is) and available in their hundreds of shops, what is the Gomen actually doing? And if the counterpoint that its not illegal, why even bother bringing this up? JPJ got nothing better to do.

• Kurious Worm on Feb 12, 2025 at 8:51 am

There are 2 types of people who uses these.
    1st type is to disable the car seat sensor, when we place heavy objects on the seat.
    2nd type is not wearing seatbelts (punish these type)

• Laugh on Feb 12, 2025 at 9:11 am

Just ban it.
    Impose fine and all their insurance void if found guilty.