MoT will work with KPDN to ban dummy seatbelt buckles, MoT has no authority over their sale – Loke

The transport ministry will work together with the domestic trade and cost of living ministry to ban the sale of dummy seatbelt buckles – the inexpensive item used to silence seatbelt reminders in vehicles – as the former has no authority over their sale, transport minister Anthony Loke has said, reports the New Straits Times.

“We know that most modern vehicles are now equipped with sensors. If the seatbelt is not fastened, an alarm or siren will be activated. So, these ‘creative’ individuals have come up with dummy buckles to silence the sensors, but they do not wear seatbelts. Therefore, we will discuss with the domestic trade and cost of living ministry to ban their sale in the market.

“I have always emphasised that wearing a seatbelt is not just about following regulations but about safety. Do not think of it as merely avoiding an alarm or siren. Seatbelts protect both drivers and passengers, especially those in the front seats,” he said today at a press conference.

Negeri Sembilan road transport department (JPJ) director Hanif Yusabra Yusuf revealed last week that alarmingly, 195 saman were issued over Chinese New Year for not wearing seatbelts, and over a third of them involved the use of dummy buckles. When asked why, some said the seatbelt was uncomfortable while others said they simply forgot.

The Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) and the Penang consumers association (CAP) has also chimed in, with the latter urging both ministries to immediately ban the sale of dummy buckles.

“CAP has raised this issue several times, yet no action has been taken. The sale of these products must be banned, including online purchases,” CAP president Mohideen Abdul Kader said in a recent statement as reported by NST, adding that although awareness campaigns have been conducted since 2020, the dummy buckles continue to be on sale.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• yusrykru on Feb 17, 2025 at 5:33 pm

nah let them use it, good way to reduce the idiots in the population

what they should ban are those nuisance aftermarket HID blinding other road users and loud buluh rempit ekzos

• Hardcore adamant people..send them to jail on Feb 17, 2025 at 6:17 pm

A friend has a 2litre car,but the seat belt buckle is failing.So instead of spending 300bucks,he spent 8 RM on a dummy buckle,insert it into existing buckle,and can fasten his seatbelt.So,it can be useful.Why ban?
    For those who are adamant they can cheat death/injury..why bother? They r like rempits,who deny counseling,want the easy and syiok way.
    It is like we r counselled against dadah,yet we go ahead.
    PDRM,your job is not counselling.Your job is to nab the bastards..send them to lockups if possible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • Hmmmm on Feb 18, 2025 at 9:11 am

Its like buying a sirim sticker and stick it on that dummy buckle.
      That dummy buckle does not obtain approval to be use as safety equipment in any country on earth. If it does then its a different story.
      Same goes for those idiot installing HID on headlights that are not designed to run HID. It works right? Should it be allowed?

• safety concern on Feb 18, 2025 at 10:27 am

yes, it can be a temporary solution. but, permanent, i think not? the dummy 8rm buckle has no safety guideline and wont offer the same protection during hard braking.

my 2 cents, thoughts?

• ROTI CANAI on Feb 17, 2025 at 6:17 pm

support the ban

• Ben Yap on Feb 18, 2025 at 9:00 am

when comes to his ministry, all also no authority… only can taichi and sell number plates. until now cannot even show to the public who are the other companies that bid for the vehicle inspection. good for nothing.

• Kurious Worm on Feb 18, 2025 at 9:41 am

so fast want to ban this little item, but other more serious things that KPDN can ban includes giving out fines to car/bike modification shops, that perform illegal mods. Why never take action on these?

• Barry Gardner on Feb 18, 2025 at 9:59 am

Seat belts save lives. Accidents happen all over the world but those where seat belts or crash helmets KILL 7 times as many per head of population. That applies to back seat passengers as well.

• Reckless lorries on Feb 18, 2025 at 10:49 pm

Always lose focus. Set your sight straight to reckless heavy vehicle drivers and companies!! No maintenance and cheat here and there. Need heavier punishment like a multi-million fine, caning and ban licences/permits!!

• Palatao on Feb 19, 2025 at 5:40 pm

Ban the sale of laud exhaust, fancy plate, and any services to make vehicles dangerous to others like making albino brake light. These things affect others. Dont just ban those buckle, if the user die not a problem.

• Really fed up on Feb 23, 2025 at 5:52 pm

If I am transport minister or head of JPJ I would like to add these new rules or ammend

1)using seat belt dummy buckle.Fine RM5,000 and ban driving for 2 years

2) Double parking fine RM10,000 and repeatrd offence (2nd time) will get your car confiscated and you are not liable for any insurance claim and you will be fined RM50,000

3) Cut Q, fine RM20,000 and jail 5 years

4) dodging around in busy traffic , ban driving for life and jail 20 years

5)not using signal when changing lane, and cause accident, ban driving for life