According to China’s ministry of foreign affairs (MFA), the fentanyl issue is a flimsy excuse to increase United States tariffs on Chinese imports. This comes shortly after US president Donald Trump raised tariffs on all Chinese imports to 20% on March 4 this year, which is up 10% more than what was stated in a prior executive order posted several weeks ago in February.
In an amendment posted by the White House, Trump said that China, along with Mexico and Canada which also got slapped with a 25% tariff, did not take adequate steps to reduce the influx of synthetic opioids, including fentanyl, to the US that “constituted an unusual and extraordinary threat.”
In posting on X (formerly Twitter), the MFA said countermeasures to defend China’s rights and interests are fully legitimate and necessary. This includes fresh 10-15% retaliatory levies on US agriculture and food exports, while 25 US firms have been slapped with export and investment curbs on the ground of national security.
The fentanyl issue is a flimsy excuse to raise U.S. tariffs on Chinese imports. Our countermeasures to defend our rights and interests are fully legitimate and necessary.
The U.S., not anyone else, is responsible for the #FentanylCrisis inside the U.S. In the spirit of humanity… pic.twitter.com/OjvSEcZS6o
— Spokesperson发言人办公室 (@MFA_China) March 4, 2025
“The US, not anyone else, is responsible for the fentanyl crisis inside the US. In the spirit of humanity and goodwill towards the American people, we have taken robust steps to assist the US in dealing with the issue,” the MFA wrote in its posting.
“Instead of recognising our efforts, the US has sought to smear and shift blame to China, and is seeking to pressure and blackmail China with tariff hikes. They’ve been punishing us for helping them. This is not going to solve the US’ problem and will undermine our counternarcotics dialogue and cooperation,” it added.
The ministry added that pressuring, coercion or threats are not the right way of dealing with China. “If war is what the US wants, be it a tariff war, a trade war or any other type of war, we’re ready to fight till the end,” it ended.
What war can you fight? How much do you import from the US compared to them importing from you?
The Chinese always say
“talk east talk west”
They know the answer to your question but
can’t afford to lose their biggest client
In 2024, the United States imported $438.9 billion worth of goods from China, while exporting $143.5 billion worth of goods to China.
What says you?
There you go. Who do you think will lose more with the tariff?
No need for tit toe tat, just stop selling items to US.
U know they just
wayang for pro-China
supporter to watch only
To gain brainless solidary
Biasalah orang putinh jenis Anglo-Saxon ni. Semua problem dan semua jaha mesti salah orang lain walaupun puak anglo saxon ni lah yang jajah satu dunia, guna media hari hari untuk menipu dan magatakan bahawa semua negara lain jahat. The US is like the jerk or biatch all of us know in our life. I am sure we all know that 1 person who goes around complaint about everyone and talk bad about everyone. They’ll probably talk bad about you to some else. That type of person is Amerika and UK. Pepatah lama dah bagi tahu kita bila kita menuduh sesorang dgn satu jari,3 jari akan kearah kamu sendiri. Hope China and the rest of other brave country will topple these evil anglo regime once and for all.
Tak kisah siapa jajah siapa dulu. Yang kita tahu sekarang, China ceroboh perairan negara kita dan negara Asean lain.
China yang ceroboh dan bukan Anglo-Saxon.
Luckily ketum is unknown to MAGA otherwise heavy tariff surely be slaps onto you KEK
Ccp forgot to read sun tzu or forgotten what they’ve read. Kiasu wants to be “number 1” overnight. Then what
China has double meanings on war with the US. Seems that WW3 is near the corner…