2026 BMW i3 teased winter testing in Sweden – new 3 Series EV is part of Neue Klasse range with 800V tech

BMW is following its teaser for the next-generation iX3 by revealing prototypes of the upcoming i3, which was previewed by the Vision Neue Klasse back in 2023. Not to be confused with the discontinued city car and China-exclusive long-wheelbase G28 electric sedan, the new i3 is part of the BMW’s new range of electric vehicles (EVs) dubbed the Neue Klasse.

Internally codenamed NA0, the i3 is expected to go into series production after the iX3 – the first Neue Klasse model – that will roll off the assembly line later this year. While the iX3 was shown undergoing hot weather testing in South Africa, we get to see two i3 prototypes slogging it out on icy Swedish terrain.

The concept’s signature double headlamps and wide grille are notable cues on the prototypes, which appear to have similar profile as well. The transition to production also sees flush door handles and conventional door handles, while the contrasting body kit of the concept is omitted.

Inside, we can expect the new Panoramic iDrive that forgoes a traditional instrument cluster for a full-width display in driver’s line of sight. The customisable pillar-to-pillar display will be joined by a large central infotainment touchscreen.

As BMW previously revealed, all Neue Klasse models will be equipped with an 800V electrical architecture as well as batteries that charge 30% faster and provide 30% more range. Meanwhile, the Gen6 power unit will feature an electrically excited synchronous motor (EESM) for the rear axle, while xDrive models add an asynchronous motor (ASM) on the front axle that is said to be more compact and cost efficient. A high-performance electric M3 was teased in February this year.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Yes these are all for show. Show that yes we have EV dont scold us. Behind…all money came from combustion sales. Look at Porsche VW Merc EQ now bleeding hard. Trump would only make EV harder too. Msia quite smart, used car dealer smart too. Porsche Taycan owner now all vanished into abyss and no more otr. iX gone otr too. Why? Haha, all the money echanged for hardship and inconvenient and senyap senyap semua jual murah murah….My friend who bought i5 feel so regret he told me he shld have buy the 520i or 530i where he can fully use it being travel Kampung or far away. His i5 only sit in the hse travel weekend avoiding jam or outstate route. And after 8 yr battery warranty expired, siapa tau apa nak buat. Jual takda org mau. Battery mati puluh puluh ribu.