The running of red lights is unfortunately a frequent occurence, with among the latest instances captured on camera by Instagram user faiz.aziz.
Through the footage, we have counted up to 34 motorcycles which were seen running the red light at the intersection of Jalan Sungai Buloh and the DASH highway, heading towards Subang Skypark near Subang Perdana. While all of the aforementioned motorcycles passed through the intersection without incident, there clearly remains risk presented in doing so as traffic joining has the right of way.
Last year, police issued a total of 95,298 summonses from January to November 2024 for red light running offences, and car drivers recorded the highest number with 44,889 summonses issued, followed by motorcyclists (39,468), lorry drivers (3,937) and other vehicles (7,004).
That is, when road users are caught committing the offence, and while car drivers top motorcyclists on this count, the video posted demonstrates otherwise, at least in that instance.
Bukit Aman traffic investigation and enforcement department (JSPT) director Datuk Seri Mohd Yusri Hassan Basri said last year that the department is collaborating with other government agencies, including local authorities, to ensure that red light violations are acted on under Section 79(2) of the Road Transport Act 1987. The penalty, if found guilty, is a fine of not less than RM300 and not more than RM2,000.
Ive seen motorcyclist jump red light in front of police, they couldn’t give less of a f. No enforcement this is what happens, raise the fine by 10 times also useless.
First of all,the main culprits r the delivery riders.The balance 20% r those who r willing to cheat death n spinal injuries.
We cant expect PDRM to be at every traffic junction.The least they can do is have CCTVs.Nowadays,u go to carparks,they can capture your number plates.So,why cant we have CCTVs to nab those recalcitrant idiots?
Hello,Madani govt..call it bailout or cash injection..1.1 Billion Rm to “save” drowning Sapura Energy..whats so costly to install CCTVs ?
Perhaps,ahlokekor should direct all the proceeds of the Syiok Number plates sales,to install CCTVs.
High time,we lock up these moronic riders.A fine is not gonna to work.
True. Bulks of the offense commiter are p-hailing rider trying to shed off 1 or 2 seconds delivery time. Also those dispatch clerk rider on last minute job hustle by their boss. Lastly some rider has mindset once motorcycle is moving in speed too lazy cumbersome to slow down or brake to stop must reaches destination asap
this faiz just migrate back to malaysia? it is already understood by public that motorcycles are not bound by traffic rules, they make their own rules, and when they langgar you, you will have to claim your own insurance if you are lucky, if you are unlucky you may have to go to court for letting them langgar you.
Just ban motorcycle
WeeWee
I am a motorcyclist myself, this is not uncommon. I see motorcyclist running through red lights almost ALL THE TIME.
Is this news? Daily occurrence leh. If I shared every single instance of red light running happening in front of me, my dashcam’s memory card reader would probably die first.
You must be kidding, the entire country is doing this even city area. With the difficulties of submitting complain report required by authorities 0 action is taken
Road traffic offences which can be reported include:
Failing to obey traffic lights
https://paultan.org/2025/02/25/how-to-report-road-traffic-offences-on-the-myjpj-app/
Yes, but are they reporting? If people are reporting such happenings, we would see a drastic drop in cases. Then, more fake registration numbers would be used.
The reason for not stopping – no wind to cool the riders.
Solution? Ask motorcycle manufacturers to install built in blowers, similar to aircond unit so there will be blown air while waiting.
Yes, but are they reporting? If people are reporting such happenings, we would see a drastic drop in cases. Then, more fake registration numbers would be used.
It is every where….motorcyclist running over red light. Is authority so soft for motocyclist?
The difference between a human and an animal is that a human has intellect to follow the rules; while an animal has no intellect to even thinking about following the rules.
This has been going on for years. Running red lights, going against traffic. Riding without license, roadtax n insurance. Nothing surprising.
Perhaps not years, it decade…
I feel that law enforcement should be predictably unpredictable in their presence at traffic lights, illegal roadside parking etc. Everyone will be always on their guard because, “Don’t know when got police so have to be careful.”. That way, law enforcement does not have to be there all the time.
Yawn…nothing new. Happening everywhere all the time. And right in front of police. Nothing surprising.
When these of “acts” happening for far too long, it has become the “norm” due to lack of enforcement. Until something “big” happened and all the hoo-haa…then hanghat tahi agam again.
Its Ok worth it too since police conduct their checks and found that car are the ones who broke running red lights the most – well believe la.
They don’t realise puasa batal when they do this
Nothing to surprise with, and its happen everyday and everywhere, is like their exclusive rights to run the red light, we as car driver sometime we really feel our life being threaten by all this irresponsible driving attitude.
I see this daily at every traffic light. Many are good deliverers while the rest are colour blind.
each time a motorcyclist runs a red light, what is the percentage of accident that results in injury or death? very very low and that’s why no one cares as most likely they will get away with it.
If everybody takes your argument and ignore regulations, we would have chaos as in some third-world countries. Shouldn’t we be a disciplined lot?
It’s all about the lack of enforcement. Even Singaporeans who were disciplined in their own country behaved worse than the locals when they are here.