Alongside the new Leaf, Nissan has previewed several new models as part of a massive product offensive. Part of this plan involves expanding sales of the Versa (Almera to you and me) to more Latin American markets this year, but the B-segment sedan it has teased looks remarkably different from the current car.
The car in the shadowy image above is still recognisable as the existing fourth-generation model, as evidenced by the general profile shape, the door-mounted side mirrors, the triangular plastic panel in the A pillars and the distinctive window line kick-up near the C-pillars. But the front end is rather different and takes after the fairly polarising X-Trail SUV.
The influence is clear in the split headlights, now featuring eyebrow-style LED daytime running lights. Not much else can be seen here, but the Nissan badge is now located just forwards of the bonnet shutline, rather than being housed in the grille. The rear also looks to have been redesigned with a vertical crease leading downwards from the taillights to the bumper.
No other info as yet, but we can expect the ASEAN-market Almera to soldier on with the same 100 PS/152 Nm 1.0 litre HR10DET turbocharged three-cylinder engine, mated to a CVT. We’re speculating here, but Nissan’s renewed emphasis on hybrids could see the sedan adopt the company’s e-Power system – deployed to good use in the related Kicks SUV – to help it compete with the City e:HEV.
Given that the Almera remains a strong seller in Southeast Asia, expect this facelift to arrive fairly quickly, supplanting the (very) mild revision that was introduced back in 2023. But Malaysia has yet to even receive the first facelift, so we could be waiting for a while longer.
GALLERY: Nissan Almera first facelift at Bangkok 2024
It might not be launched in Malaysia coz by that time Nissan bankrupt already.
Tan Chong Motor Holdings Bhd is joke….1st facelift also haven’t bring in…. no wonder Nissan who simply choose their local partner. Both equally hopeless Nissan also struggling for survival and Tan Chong Motor Bhd listed co also loss making
Even if they bring in also u wont buy lah..talk so much
Knowing TC, this will probably coming to Malaysia in 2035 or they will just stick to current model until forever. Just look at all current Nissan lineup in Malaysia.
lol…well said…knowing them…made worst by the local distributor / holder
if almera use back old 4 cylinder 1.5L na engine, under rm80k maybe i buy.
can get 1.2EV option?
Biasala, TCM sapu old parts assembly for lokal M’sian consumer