Most vehicle fires have been caused by overloaded electrical wiring systems resulting from modifications, the Sarawak Fire and Rescue Department (Bomba) has said, according to a Bernama report.
“Based on our statistics and findings, when a car catches fire, it’s usually due to electrical issues. Rarely is the engine the cause. If it is, it’s usually due to an oil leak. Owners modify their vehicles, adding accessories such as sound systems and radios that require higher power.
“If they try to make a claim with the manufacturer, it will not be entertained because modifications have been made. It’s best to maintain the vehicle as it was when it left the factory, for the owners’ safety,” state Bomba director Jamri Masran said.
A parked Jaecoo J7 recently caught fire in Sarawak – post-investigation, Jaecoo Malaysia revealed in a statement that a third-party workshop’s improper dashcam installation was the cause. Do you keep a fire extinguisher in your car?
install dashcam also susah.. china car company hard to take up responsibility? lousy accountability
You really think Toyota, Honda or any car brand would honour warranty on issues arising from third party accessories?
Is the wiring dashcam really cause the fire? Dont think so….
statement from heaven itself come also no use one, people will still complain why my empty spec japanese cars can mod now i buy chinese car so expensive but cannot mod, chinese cars cannot use one
One wonders about how transparent these EV manufacturers are being about their electrical systems. Or if the accessories shops have adapted their practice for EVs. ICE cars don’t seem to have this issue (unless you pasang amplifier besar besar and run a thin power wire from battery and don’t think about relays or something equally boneheaded). Both ICE and EVs use a 12V system for accessories. That Jaecoo fire came from a dashcam installation which is a fairly well understood device at this point in time.
what are you getting at? the Jaecoo J7 is an ICE car.
“ICE cars don’t seem to have this issue” ???
bruh the J7 is an ICE car…stupid comment looking for opportunity to poke at EVs at every chance.
My bad. Assumed it was an EV. In saying that, why aren’t Toyota ICE cars blowing up then?
the car didn’t blow up – the dashcam did.
install a dodgy dashcam (the type without supercapacitor like lolpanda said) and the risk is equal whichever car you put it in.
dashcams draw minimal power (generally, max 1A) and even installed with a hardwire kit, comes with an inline fuse so it seems rather suspect.
it’s more likely that dashcam is the type that uses a battery rather than a supercapacitor. All it takes is for a cheap dodgy battery pack to expand under the hot sun resulting in a fire.
always use dashcams that are powered by supercapacitors rather than batteries for this reason.
Weak excuse la, its not like most cars come standard with dashcam anyways. If ah beng shop can cause fire with installing something harmless like dashcam then surely all the other cars should be catching fire too
Jaecoo by Chery, first got rear-axle problem, then side mirror causing window glass crack, now this? Not only are they unreliable but they will taichi until kingdom come.
When things go south, it’s always the blame game. Instead of taking the criticism as improvement exercise.
Probably next thing, they will blame, non stock brand tyre fitted…causing the axle to come off. Or, even non-approved tint brand…power window KO. Or probably, non-listed named driver (owner)…55555.