Perodua eMO EV spied – hatch/SUV Proton eMas 5 rival, 410 km range, from RM80k, December launch?

It’s clear that development of Perodua’s first electric vehicle, the eMO (Electric Motion Online), is progressing at a rate of knots. Just five months after the eMO-II concept was shown at the Kuala Lumpur International Mobility Show (KLIMS), images of the hatchback have surfaced all over social media, with these ones – posted by Meng Lee Chen on the paultan.org Automotive/Car Discussion Group on Facebook – giving the best view. Testing was only set to commence next month, so P2 is actually ahead of schedule.

How do we know that this is definitively a Perodua? The trade plate number B3598A belongs to the national carmaker, having last been seen in these pages on a Daihatsu Move on test. Being that the car is still months away from its slated launch at the end of the year, the company has obviously seen fit to cover the test prototype in plenty of camouflage, including some hard disguise around the front end and the rear windscreen to obscure the eMO’s true shape.

Still, it’s pretty clear that the eMO’s design will stay faithful to the show car. Look past the rear windscreen shroud (gives the car a bit of a Citroën C4/Renault Avantime vibe, don’t you think) and you’ll see that the actual glass has a similarly fast rake to it.

Also carried over from the eMO-II are the thick C-pillars and the upswept window line, the latter helping to disguise the rear doors in concert with the hidden door handles. Further forwards, you’ll be able to spot flush door handles for the front doors, plus a wraparound windscreen design with what will surely be blacked-out A-pillars, à la Ativa.

Not much can be seen from the blurry front photo, but we can see that the car has sprouted split front headlights, with the main units visible lower down in the bumper. We can expect the production model to retain the eMO-II’s full-width light bar up top, as well as the same aggressive air intakes.

One thing that’s clear is that the production model will be significantly larger than the Myvi – the mule dwarfs the Honda City next to it, and it doesn’t look to be much lower than the Mitsubishi Triton behind it. This suggests that Perodua may position the car as an SUV instead, as hinted at by the black plastic wheel arch trims on the prototype.

Few technical details have been revealed just yet, but initial specs released at KLIMS include a zero-to-100 km/h sprint time of between six and seven seconds, as well as a range of between 400 to 410 km from a CATL-sourced lithium iron phosphate (LFP) battery. Perodua says it will initially import the battery and motor but plans to eventually assemble these components in-house; it has also floated a possible RM80,000 starting price without the battery, which it said may be offered through a subscription.

The Perodua eMO is set to take on Proton’s forthcoming small EV, widely tipped to be called the eMas 5. That car is expected to be based on the Geely Xingyuan, which also has a maximum range of 410 km, this time on China’s ridiculously lenient CLTC cycle. Which one would you buy? Sound off in the comments after the jump.

GALLERY: Perodua eMO-II Concept at KLIMS 2024

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• ThePolygon on May 04, 2025 at 8:48 am

Hope can price it right… with the battery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Celup King on May 05, 2025 at 8:06 am

Nothing more than just another Daihatsu rebadge… sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
      • AkooIm on May 05, 2025 at 10:44 am

Ur smartphone definitely smarter than u but u dont know how to use it…
        Which Daihatsu’s current model or upcoming model is EV…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • P2 fanbois are too EMO that P1 beat them to launch our 1st national EV car. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • AkooIm on May 05, 2025 at 8:45 pm

LOL!!!
            Being the first never guaranteed u to be successfull & P1 is the living proof…
            P2 is what P1 was originally envisioned to be but now they just assambled whatever crap the Mainland people gives them…

• That Guy on May 05, 2025 at 12:21 pm

Wow, such a dense take. When it has already become common knowledge that this is an in-house design specifically because Daihatsu has no available EVs to rebadge.

Other than concepts for an Ayla EV (even with the camo anyone with eyes could see that the body shape is barely similar much less the same) and a commercial minivan.

Sidenote: potential revival of the Rusa line?…

• Celup King = Mega Troll on May 08, 2025 at 12:31 pm

Lolol celup king = P1 buttlicker

On different article, you said P2 never enginereed anything themselves. I guess you forgot about the third gen myvi.

• anonymous on May 04, 2025 at 11:26 am

80k. lol. whatever lah perodua…i hate them so much. absolutely pointless to have a ‘local’ car when they’re unaffordable to most. mind you, median salary according to dosm is RM2,745.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 19
    • This is the lazy people’s matter. All the production assistant that have been working 10 years in my factory, around 35yo, with salary above RM3000.

Those non value added workers, after changed a new job, will start from zero again, their salary will not increase. If they can stay in a company for long time, definitely, the salary will not too low.

You determine your life!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • If you cannot afford just continue drive your old Exora, don’t blame others. Typical B40 attitude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
    • see them perodua defenders. critical thinking is key. no where did op say they cannot afford the car. the claim here is that at 80k it is still unaffordable to most, considering it is a Malaysian brand. reading comprehension fail pas tu blame it on b40 for whatever reason. that classist mentality won’t get you far. i feel like even b40 people should be able to afford things, because it’s not like they don’t have jobs, it’s just that capitalism prioritizes profit over wellbeing of workers (in this case underpaying hardworking Malaysians).

• Laobeh on May 04, 2025 at 11:29 am

BTW PT missed to report new budget pickup truck Slate built in n for US market.

• Beroktua eMo lagi on May 04, 2025 at 4:31 pm

Konfem sourcing body parts from C-HR recycled bin KEK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Test mule spotters on May 05, 2025 at 10:48 am

Agreed. Squint your eyes could visualise the silhouette of gen1 toyota chr on eMo

• opmanmy on May 04, 2025 at 5:49 pm

Subscription service…another form to milk consumers indefinitely. It’s a form of modern day “lintah darat” in disguise. Gone were the days you paid once and you own it. Now eve cars are starting towards subscription based. What’s next…your nasi lemak will also be subscription based?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • paanjang16 on May 05, 2025 at 7:53 am

Like P2 has no confidence in their product and fear it will koyak/be unprofitable after a few years. Like GM with the EV1 where they pulled the plug to the project and all the EV1s were scrapped.

Baik beli Axia/Myvi and with the savings of RM 20-30k can use for petrol, maintenance and keep some in the bank to earn interest. At the end of the loan period the car belongs to you.

• UnkleSohai on May 05, 2025 at 1:24 am

That’s not the new E.Mo EV lah ..it’s the new Bezza to be launched 2026. My Perodua sales person contact said current model year Bezza production have stopped and they are told to just clear stocks till launch of new Bezza next year. So buy the current 4 A/T Bezza model before the new CVT (plus more expensive) model comes out if you can.

• Frankc on May 05, 2025 at 7:43 am

Have perodua ever thought about getting Thai part makers involvement and getting Thai market access? Make a proposal to Thai government that this car is meant to elevate local automotive in Thai and Malaysia… Hmm

• James on May 05, 2025 at 8:42 am

Looks like ready for prebooking

• Squid on May 05, 2025 at 9:38 am

RM80k, batteries not included.

Die lo

• Rough paper car

• FrankC on May 05, 2025 at 10:03 am

I wonder if Perodua ever considered to get thai’s part manufacturer to get involved in this project. perhaps perodua should engage with thai government to bring this model into thailand and eventually this region. with thai stakeholders involvement, perhaps perodua will have better foothold in our neighbour and hence opens up market reach. in fact ev have been dominated by china made and brands. having a local/regional brand like perodua with thai stakeholder may perhaps bring an option to thai government without having to have their own national car and affect other automative maker in the country

• newme on May 05, 2025 at 10:09 am

“Perodua eMO EV spied – hatch/SUV Proton eMas 5 rival, 410 km range, from RM80k, December launch?”

Sendiri bagi information, sendiri letak tanda soal.

• Evy asa 3.0 on May 05, 2025 at 10:32 am

Proton ice car more solid and better handling but lose out on high fuel consumption and leceh maintenance to perodua.

But for EV perodua no more advantages, proton was from geely rebadge while perodua was from unproven R&D.

• Proton doesn’t not have leceh maintenance. Getting on tow truck after just 3 months ownership is not maintenance.

• alldisc on May 05, 2025 at 11:13 am

So, this is the reason for the 100K floor limit of EV prices in Malaysia? National car makers need to be brave now that it is 2025 already.

• anonymous on May 07, 2025 at 11:26 am

but when people bring this up they get hit with the “mAna aDa pRotEcTIonIsM”

• Mohammad Que Qushairy on May 05, 2025 at 2:04 pm

Harga bawah Rm100k, agaknya kenapa bulan Disember baru kereta ni nak launch?

• koochai on May 05, 2025 at 3:42 pm

please take my money

• Maybe this is just me.

But I think from the looks of it. I don’t think this is another rebadge Engineering, just like Bezza albeit Bezza still uses Daihatsu-Toyota Engine and Transmission.

Ok some would say “WeLl ItS StILL USes ToYOta oR DaHAitsu PaRTs” , well yeah but what kind of Daihatsu Model that was look like in the test mule, which is already 100% different and it might be the final version of it.

And let’s not Forget that even Bufori, Yes Bufori (not kidding, check their website if you don’t believe me about their involvement with this) provides technical expertise details for eMO.

Well, All I Hope is that Perodua gain more Independence from Toyota – Daihatsu and starts invest more on their R&D, Manufacturing, and Export ! Yes Export under their name.

I know some of you might think this is a Joke. But what’s wrong for hoping something better and foward thinking even if it might sound impossible? Well dare to believe in the end.

• Proton e.Mas 5 better