Smaller, cheaper Proton eMas EV to debut at MAS – rebadged Geely Star Wish, up to 116 PS, 410 km CLTC

It looks like Proton has something big in store for this year’s Malaysia Autoshow (MAS 2025), which will be open to the public from May 9-15. In social media postings, the company is teasing what should be the next model in its eMas line-up of electric vehicles (EVs) that currently only includes the eMas 7.

Widely believed to be the eMas 5 (trademarks have already been filed), the vehicle depicted in the shadowy teaser bears a close resemblance to the Geely Star Wish (also known as the Geome Xingyuan). Cues that point to this include the shape of the side mirrors as well as horizontal lines on the trim piece near the C-pillars. This could also be the eMas 3 for all we know, as that name has also been trademarked.

The Star Wish/Xingyuan first broke cover in September last year and is meant to compete against the BYD Dolphin. It is smaller than the eMas 7, measuring in at 4,135 mm long, 1,805 mm wide, 1,570 mm tall and with a wheelbase spanning 2,650 mm.

In China, the EV is offered with rear-wheel drive and CATL-sourced lithium iron phosphate (LFP) batteries that take 21 minutes to get from a 30-80% state of charge. The first option is a 30.12-kWh unit that is good for a range of up to 310 km following China’s CLTC standard, paired with an electric motor rated at 79 PS (78 hp or 58 kW) and 130 Nm.

Geely Star Wish/Xingyuan

The alternative offers more range at up to 410 km thanks to a 40.16-kWh battery, while also having higher outputs of 116 PS (114 hp or 85 kW) and 150 Nm. Pricing for the Star Wish/Xingyuan in China ranges from 68,800 to 97,800 yuan (about RM40k to RM57k).

Depending on the variant, available equipment includes 16-inch wheels, LED exterior lighting, a 14.6-inch infotainment touchscreen (or a smaller 10.1-inch unit), 256-colour ambient lighting, six speakers (or four), an external power supply capable of 3.3 kW, manual or powered front seats, an 8.8-inch digital meter panel, a 50W air-cooled wireless charger, automatic air-con with rear vents and a suite of ADAS functions.

Given its positioning below the eMas 7, the eMas 5 (or eMas 3) is poised to become Proton’s most affordable EV. The dealers have already had a chance to get up close with the Star Wish/Xingyuan, and we met with the EV in Bangkok in March this year. Are you looking forward to this one?

GALLERY: Geely Star Wish/Xingyuan at the 2025 Bangkok International Motor Show (BIMS)

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• I can no longer expect any meaningful cosmetic changes from proton. I gave up backing them up. It’ll look 99% similar and the cosmetic changes won’t mean anything. Weaved grills? It doesn’t change the look in any way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
    • Why So Serious on May 08, 2025 at 8:15 am

Call it Proton Star Fish. Or better yet, Proton Star Wars! Huat ah!

• efzam on May 08, 2025 at 9:06 am

don’t buy la, apa susah2 cry here.. lots of other models to choose.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • That Guy on May 08, 2025 at 12:07 pm

What Proton Engineering has been reduced to. And if anybody wants to pipe up of about RHD conversion, we used to make the whole car, not just managing the readjustment of the steering column over to the other side.

Perodua is still making the whole car, say what you will about the quality of them (certainly not as comfortable or exciting of a drive). And even making their own BEV (Daihatsu has no EV’s in production with only concepts for a minivan and an EV Ayla). Again, I don’t have high hopes for it’s longevity, but it’s still an impressive endeavor.

Proton actually started work on EVs way before Perodua, or even Geely! But due to what I can only assume was corporate/political bumbling, they’ve squandered all that progress. Did Geely even look into Proton’s EV work, and see if they can incorporate any of it into theirs? Sad if even they considered all that work as irrelevant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • AkooIm on May 07, 2025 at 9:35 pm

Let see if P1 copy Cili’s homework wholesale or give the people at Grill Re-Engineering Department something to do…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • Why So Serious on May 08, 2025 at 8:16 am

The best recipe is just tweaking the best recipe better, why would Proton need to do anymore? Save cost somemore when they follow P2 example.

• real b segment killer on May 08, 2025 at 10:37 am

When EV under rm80k enter market, those jual rm90k+ b segment jepunis model can tapao dy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • It depends, some people without landed property will need to charge outside. Then if the EV sales went up and charger is still lacking, where do these people charge their EV? EV ownership should be seamless where you put it to charge while you go on with your life.

• pyzuri on May 08, 2025 at 2:49 pm

the unholy trinity of new car entering market: chinese, electric, suv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Mohd firdaus bin Mohd sukri on May 09, 2025 at 2:24 am

You ikan is colek bush buahan.is colek is Colet.