BMW i4 gets SiC inverter – eDrive35/40 gains up to 22 km EV range; new M60 replaces M50 with 601 PS

BMW has announced some changes for the i4 electric vehicle (EV) as part of its summer 2025 update plan that sees powertrain and/or equipment revisions.

From July this year, both the eDrive35 and eDrive40 variants of the i4 will come with a silicon carbide (SiC) inverter that reduces energy consumption by around 4.5%. In turn, the WLTP-rated range goes up by up to 22 km depending on the variant and equipment installed.

In the same month, the i4 will get a new range-topping variant called the M60 xDrive which replaces the current M50 xDrive. The M60 xDrive offers a total system output of 601 PS (593 hp or 442 kW), which is 57 PS (56 hp or 42 kW) more than its predecessor and enables a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 3.7 seconds (0.2 seconds quicker than the M50 xDrive).

BMW also notes in its release that Digital Key support will be coming to more models. The iX was the first to be updated in March 2025, with the following models set to get the feature from July 2025: 1 Series, 2 Series Gran Coupe, 2 Series Active Tourer, X1, X2, 5 Series (Sedan and Touring), M5 (Sedan and Touring) and 7 Series.

Digital Key support will also be rolled out to the X5 and X6 (including full-fat M variants), X7 and XM from August, enabling more customers to use their mobile phone as a key and sharing access to up to 18 devices.

Another noteworthy improvement involves iDrive, with the Intelligent Personal Assistant set to support more languages in cars with BMW Operating System 9. Interface upgrades for BMW Operating System 8.5 include faster access to frequent used navigation functions, with direct touch buttons for ‘Home’ and ‘Work’ in the BMW Maps QuickSelect widget being an example.

Meanwhile, Parking Assistant Plus will be enhanced for many BMW models. It will now also use marker lines around parking spots to help identify available spaces and ensure parking precision – this feature was only available as part of the Parking Assistant Professional previously.

In addition to the updates, various BMW models will gain new equipment and colour options, including an Ultimate Package for the M versions of the X5 and X6. This adds carbon mirror caps, a carbon engine cover, the Sky Lounge panoramic glass roof, a Bowers & Wilkins Diamond surround sound system, M Driver’s Package as well as seat ventilation and massage functions.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Sabri on May 30, 2025 at 2:24 pm

byd seal owners laughing at people who buy this junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
    • SHANGhai guy in KL on May 31, 2025 at 11:47 am

Too bad you don understand chinese words. Go youtube then and look for china chinese complains on BYD and all china EV. U might get more on Chinese apps but mandarin I bet you dont understand. Then you will hesitate to buy a chinese car these few years until they clear all their junk on Msia first. Long quality issue and complains And yes I m living in both Shanghai and KL. I drive 3sec Xiaomi in Shanghai it is new and cheap and looks like a fake Porsche. Regarding overload inventories and marketing fakeness The China Gov is cracking down on them too. If not for the right hand drive they will throw all the junk here and flood the market. BYD China just drop another Rmb 50k (rm30k) this week in case u missed. Their EV and other company Dongfeng GWM share price in HK is falling crazy this week because of over inventory and another price drop investor is throwing their shares. Good luck. Dont compare a BMW and BYD. A car is never only about sprint speed. If u have no money, u can buy BYD. If you have money and rich and want all safety and sure and quality product with more than 100 yrs legacy, go BMW, this is the rule in Shanghai. We call BMW (BaoMa meaning prestigeous or precious Horses). I m driving a 3sec Xiaomi in SH buy I still enjoy my BMW530i G60 in KL here. BmW feel much accomplished and refined to drive or seated rear. Feeling is hard to explain in words. For your info, I can get 3 Xiaomi for my 530i KL price. Chinese national see BMW and Merc as luxury and our national car(ev) as comodity. Chinese beauty looks for men in BMW and turn down invitation from BYD guy, sad but true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
      • Sabri on May 31, 2025 at 2:31 pm

Lol american propaganda get out

• Cool story but that never happened.

• I think bmw is throwing this junk to M’sia since it can’t beat Chinese ev…come on, 5 series n Lexus es are dropping price till rmb20-22k to clear their stocks, u thought u are the only one who knows Chinese news? Haaa

• BYD Observer on Jun 02, 2025 at 4:10 pm

BYD is a brand for people with less money, people having more money will definitely choose BMW. Don’t get mixed up ye, that is the reality.

• Not Really on Jun 05, 2025 at 10:12 am

Smart consumer will buy BYD while low IQ zionist Naz1 supporters will choose BMW. Only sohai will choose Lithium ION over Lithium IRON.