According to a report by NST, the pilot testing of the point-to-point speed monitoring system under the Automated Awareness Safety System (AWAS) has yet to commence. “The point-to-point system pilot project has not started. So far, there is no information on when it is scheduled to begin,” said the transport minister’s office.
The pilot AWAS project is intended to replace the static camera setup currently in use and will detect speed violations by measuring travel time and distance. It was previously revealed that two routes would be part of the project, including from the Genting Sempah tunnel to the Gombak rest stop on the KL-Karak Expressway, as well as from the Senawang toll plaza to the Simpang Ampat toll plaza in Alor Gajah on the North-South Expressway.
Accident-prone areas along longer routes have also been flagged for installation, such as the route from the Menora Tunnel to the Sungai Perak rest stop. The system was expected to be implemented starting June, but the latest clarification from the transport ministry indicates that the actual rollout of the pilot project has not yet begun.
With point-to-point speed monitoring, the system will record travel time based on distance. For example, if a driver travelling from Jalan Duta, Kuala Lumpur, to Tanjung Malim, Perak, arrives earlier than the estimated time, their vehicle’s licence plate will be detected, and a summons will be issued automatically. Through the use of artificial intelligence, the system will also be able to detect if a driver has stopped at any location to extend their travel time in an attempt to evade detection.
Hahaha.. habis laa.. speeding 180. Then stop 1 hour for makan at R&R. Still can detect?
Place one after toll and one before RnR. If you can think of it, why not the cabinet?
Question, what is the compound cost if I arrive 1 minute early? Same cost if I arrive 30 minutes early?
If so, this policy simply just encourage speeding.
Because many people don’t care paying speeding compound- its the value of their time.
Saya rasa budget utk kamera ni kalau ditempatkan untuk lampu jalan, lebarkan jalan lebih mengutamakan keselematan
Betul…agreed
Install speed cut untuk semua vechiles. Kan boleh maintain seluruh Malaysia dari kabinet ke kapcai semua ikut had laju….
Rasanya lebih baik semua kenderaan yg berada di msia nie diwajibkan speed limit nya max 120km/h shj..kenderaan yg lebih drp itu tdk diluluskan/ dibenarkan… ‘selamatlah msia ku’.. duit2 bolehlah diguna utk pencahayaan dijln2 juga luaskan/ perkemaskan jln dgn lenih baik utk pengguna..
meaning if I enter NSE from sg besi, exit JB, the travel time is taken at exit or between the cameras? i’m still confused
Might be between cameras…so yeh we are cooked…no more 3 hours drive kl-jb
Hope this prove to achieve lower accident rate effectively.
People going to sleep on longer driving at 110 km ride. Might increase accident rate if all move too slow people might failed to see the person infront got put brake or not and could create a massive jam
This is just a parking system…
What about the Singies who still driving their R35s speeding using the emergency lane?
Saw a batch last saturday at Sg.Dua
Ban them for entry or confiscate their vehicle until jail time is done.
“Through the use of artificial intelligence, the system will also be able to detect if a driver has stopped at any location to extend their travel time in an attempt to evade detection.”
Can you please elaborate more on how is this done using AI? they going to install more camera in R&R to detect that? How long a stop in R&R will be consider trying to evade? I eat very slow bang…
I think just let AI drive the car, better in this case. I sleep, wake me up when it is about to exit the highway. All cars install AI, move all move together, stop all stop together, confirm no crash. Only system or computer crash.
you could hire a driver
Brainless bunch! What if ppl stop for baby diaper change and feeding? Stop because someone feel car sick and need a rest. Stop because someone need a nap? Stop because someone need to replace a punctual tire? So many reasons for a stop and now categories as evasion? now we need a time frame to reach a destination? Need to set a stopwatch? Where is our freedom? Where is gov brain? Ppl shld allow this bunch of heads rest forever. The biggest joke on earth. Just install at all traffic lights la.
Lol. It’s common for the brainless to assume everyone else is just like them. Read the article carefully — at no point is stopping considered direct evasion. It is only taken into account when calculating your total travel time, Mr. Brainlxx.
Let me break it down for you with a simple calculation:
Traveling from KL to Penang is approximately 330 km. At a constant speed of 110 km/h, the minimum travel time should be 3 hours. Now, let’s say you stop at an R&R for 1 hour but still exit in Penang after 3 hours and 30 minutes — that means your actual driving time was only 2 hours and 30 minutes. That’s below the legal threshold, and thus, you would be summoned for speeding.
What “freedom” are you talking about? The freedom to speed and endanger and kill others? People like you should rest forever. And by the way, your comments sound like the biggest joke.
I actually took the time to write this because you’ve completely crossed the line of my tolerance for idiocy.
Roket supporter detected here. Based on your logic and Jibb logic , what if they stop for exactly the same amount of time? Stop for more than 1 hour? Stop because waiting for foreman to change battery? Your logic dont stand a chance. Cabinet know that thats y they postpone it. Jgn berlagak pandai la dude. Buat malu jer.
Lol. It’s common for the brainless to assume everyone else is just like them. Read the article carefully — at no point is stopping considered direct evasion. It is only taken into account when calculating your total travel time, Mr. Brainlxx.
Let me break it down for you with a simple calculation:
Traveling from KL to Penang is approximately 330 km. At a constant speed of 110 km/h, the minimum travel time should be 3 hours. Now, let’s say you stop at an R&R for 1 hour but still exit in Penang after 3 hours and 30 minutes — that means your actual driving time was only 2 hours and 30 minutes. That’s below the legal threshold, and thus, you would be summoned for speeding.
What “freedom” are you talking about? The freedom to speed and endanger and kill others? People like you should rest forever. And by the way, your comments sound like the biggest joke I’ve read today.
I actually took the time to write this because you’ve completely crossed the line of my tolerance for idiocy.
Simple mah.. just dont overspeed, then u stop la hovever long how many times u want, change your baby diaper ke, your own diaper ke. First world countries already have this system. Tin kosong saja complain
This comment I need purposely write to shot you. Tell me if you drive more than 15kmh in shopping mall parking. Tell me if you drive 30 around town. Pls la pakcik, who can follow the illogical speed limit the gov set in a few decade ago? If you have ever break a limit and i bet you surely had, then dont come here and lecture ppl la. Dont act like a saint saying dont overspeed. Do you think all section highway 110kmh? If you drive a BMW then you have live info on speedometer the speed limit and most many highway section can suddenly change to 90 or even 80. Otak kosong.
Buat hump sepanjang highway..confirm semua kenderaan slow …. payah buang duit berpuluh ribu nak pakai kamera..maintanent lagi cost..
What happen if you enter and exit the highway in between to camera points? Can the system still monitor?
Well, if a lorry got stuck on traffic in the 1st half and speeding the 2nd half and they arrive at their destination more than actually time needed. For example, a lorry travel from Butterworth to Taiping at 12pm and the distance need 1 hour, but jammed for 30 min from Butterworth to Nibong Tebal, and after the lorry got out the jam in Nibong Tebal, it speeds at 120kph from Nibong Tebal to Taiping but arrive at Taiping at 1:10pm, is this count as speeding in the AES system?