If you don’t already know, Hyundai Motor Company (HMC) is taking over its namesake brand in Malaysia, and with the principal coming in, Hyundai Motor Malaysia (HMY, as they want to be known) would be the equivalent of Honda Malaysia, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia and other OEMs directly controlled by the headquarters.
Today, HMY’s social media pages went live, and you can search for ‘Hyundai Motor Malaysia’ on Facebook, Instagram, Youtube, LinkedIn and TikTok.
“Annyeonghaseyo, Malaysia! A new era begins — We are here and ready to drive forward into the future with you. Follow us for all things Hyundai,” HMY said in its first post, which says ‘Hello’ in many languages. Now that they’ve gone live, we’re expecting an official introduction announcement from the new entity soon.
Late last year, HMC announced a RM2.16 billion investment into Malaysia, which involves a strategic partnership between the Korean carmaker and Inokom to upgrade the latter’s capacity to meet HMC’s requirements. It was reported that the investment will be over a period of six years from 2025 to 2030, and it will include an EV battery assembly factory in Kulim as well as six CKD locally-assembled models.
Then, Korea’s Yonhap reported that the upgraded CKD plant will assemble MPVs including the Staria from mid-2025. There are also plans to expand the range to include mid- and large-size SUVs. HMC’s Malaysian plant will assemble vehicles for local consumption and other ASEAN markets, with production starting at 20,000 units a year.
“We made this investment decision considering the growing importance of Southeast Asia and the Malaysian market. We aim to contribute to the economic and social development of the region through job creation and local talent development,” HMC said then, reported by Yonhap.
What becomes of Hyundai Sime Motors, longtime local guardians of the brand, you ask? They would probably be a ‘super dealer’ akin to Auto Bavaria for BMW and Cycle & Carriage for Mercedes-Benz.
Another brand gone down the drain by sime
So,as expected Hyundai Korea kick out underperforming Sime Darby.
Anyway,Sime Darby is accelerating BYD sales,which is more profitable.
Pity those Hyundai local dealers who may have to sell nasi lemak, incase Hyundai Korea set up their own outlets.
Byd coming in on their own dah. Ditching sime darby soon.
I do hope they will all out and not abandon small car segments like Accent, Elantra and Kona instead of just focusing on medium to large vehicle in Malaysia. The most lucrative segment is the B-segment and below.
The most competitive is the B-segment and below, dominated by Perodua and Proton which has government backing. Trying to gain niche in that segment is not easy. Hyundai launched two generations of Elantra and not many bought it.
Bagus. Ditch sime darby.
Last time pipu buy from UMW
Now pipu buy from dealers
Solve warranty pon xtau
Korian 2-steps forward
Jepun 2-steps back
They should have done this long time ago. The brand has a bad perception…no thanks to the current and previous so-caller dealers / distributors. It’s a good brand (quality) but those local distributors mark-up the price so much with useless accessories that doesn’t justify the pricing anymore. Good riddance.
Welcome HMC.
Please bring in Ioniq5 N performance!
Good bye Sime Darby.
Sime Darby : we still have Perodua, Toyota, Lexus and BMW. And Porsche.
So Toyota Malaysia. Your turn?
How old were you in the year 2000?
Toyota Japan did plan to take over Toyota sales and distribution in Malaysia, either a full 100% like BMW Malaysia or JV with local company like Honda Malaysia.
The plan did not materialise though, instead UMWT just offered TMC Japan to open a dealership and it is known as UMW Toyotsu. The reason? UMW was performing well in car sales in the 90s and continued to do so in the entire decade of the new millenium.
TMC had no excuse to set HQ in Malaysia unlike what happened between Honda Motor.Japan and Kah Motor.
You were 5 years old I think back then, still in kindergarten. But today you got to know something new.
can still compete with chinese cars meh?
great news – Hyundai makes genuinely good cars. from my personal experience the build quality rivals its Japanese competitors.
either way, more options in the market is always a good thing.
nice, always liked hyundai but the pricing in Malaysia is a barrier to entry.
their cars always stand out on the road – sure, some may not be a fan but it turns heads and doesn’t blend in with all the samey designs on the road.
finally, this should be a positive move! SimeDarby has been destroying the hyundai brand in Malaysia for too long! now is a good time to get the Ionic
They should snatch Kia away from bermaz too!!
Parts from SC is too expensive for Hyundai Ioniq PHEV..