Soon, it will be mandatory for heavy vehicles to have speed limiters in Malaysia. Transport minister Anthony Loke said the policy is being thoroughly reviewed to ensure there are no loopholes or opportunities for manipulation once implemented.
“The government will not relent in strengthening road safety measures. We are committed to protecting road users, especially from the risks posed by reckless drivers and heavy vehicles that fail to meet safety standards,” he said in a Facebook post, reported by Bernama.
This comes as the country mourns the death of 15 students from Universiti Pendidikan Sultan Idris (UPSI). A bus chartered by the students for the Hari Raya Aidiladha holidays was travelling from Jertih, Terengganu to Tanjung Malim where UPSI is, overturned at a bend after colliding with a Perodua Alza on the East-West Highway near Tasik Banding, Gerik.
The incident also left 33 others injured, including the bus driver and attendant, as well as the driver and three passengers of the Alza.
Now, this isn’t the first time we’re hearing about speed limiters on heavy vehicles. Back in 2016, then transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai said that bus companies must install speed limiters in their vehicles, and stressed that they have one year to comply or face suspension. That was after a bus lost its brakes and rammed into 10 cars near the North-South Highwway’s Menora Tunnel.
No loopholes? Plug in OBD can change settings already la. I think so….. Agree?
Translation to what Tony Loke Chat really meant – Mandatory speed limiter for heavy vehicles policy being drafted, no checks and enforcement if implemented. Implementation to be executed through tender process where only one company is invited for tender.
Start with all new Bus and commercial vans equipped frm the factory itself. For those already on the road, ensure these are installed during the next round of road inspection.
forever cakap saja the government.. tukar which party also sama pattern…
the current one is the worst since they are the ones who talk so much before taking over the helm. the minute power is given to them, they go into coma.
All driver required to undergo mental check
this morning nearly got knocked by RapidPenang bus as a motorcycle rider
Though only earlier it was mention that the fast lane is only for overtaking and seeing how many people likes to hog the middle lane nowadays so everyone is free for all to use the fast lane now.
Lack of enforcement. Period.
After awhile, back to “usual”…minister cakap milo tin kosong aje. It’s not this is new, it’s being happening long long long time aleady. Until something big like this…then come talk kosong…later back to “norm” again.
Ministers are only for 5 years so they just wayang for that period. What we need is good director general which can continusly carry out MOT policy regardless of which Minister of the day .
No loopholes??? Minister Loke, I will tell you where the loopholes are at. JPJ, Traffic Police, & Puspakom!!!
Mobile movings LOOPHOLES. INSTANTLY GOT BIG CASH.
The onus of regulating the drivers should foremost come from the transport company itself. MOT should without fear imposed jail sentence on the company OWNER and revoked the transport permit if accident involved loss of lives. And all heavy vehicles MUST be equipped with a working dashcam at all time and be able to furnish video recording upon investigation.
talk like 5 year old. criminal charges has to go thru judiciary court, and AG/PP
mot has no jurisdiction.
Forever talk , since 2016? Or even earlier in 2008 and 2009.
https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2016/06/16/speed-limiters-for-all-commercial-vehicles-from-jan-1-2017
talk only, no action… how many lives need to be lost before proper action is taken? after a while, all will go quiet… makes you wonder are certain parties being protected to avoid actions being taken on them… after all, Malaysia Boleh…
Speed limiter should also be imposed on cars based on engine capacity. I was on the WCE on Sunday night traveling to Changkat Jering and witnessed Myvi, Alza, Honda City and Vios sped by at breakneck speed in the pitch dark expressway. Don’t these drivers care for their life or their family traveling with them? I opined with the AI cameras being installed on the NS Highway more cars will be using the WCE unless AI cameras are also implemented.
What happened with the previous implementation of speed limiters?
Was there any accountability from anyone?
How will MOT and JPJ ensures this time, it will be followed through?
Mr Loke Wher R u or what R u ? Ada Operasi, U Ada K Mana, ?
LOOPHOLES is Something MONEY BOLEH KAUTIM.
When this fatty just be the minister, patrolled MRT, everyone said he was good, including those DAP haters! Now?