DBKL aims for 70% of city residents to use public transport by 2040 via growth of transit zones – report

Amidst today’s launch of the Kuala Lumpur Local Plan (PTKL) 2040, described by prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim as the Kuala Lumpur City Hall‘s (DBKL) most comprehensive plan ever, mayor Maimunah Sharif has said that the plan aims for 70% of the city’s residents to be using public transport by 2040, reports Free Malaysia Today.

This would be a gargantuan jump from the current 25% as said last month by deputy prime minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, who pointed out Tokyo’s 73%, Singapore’s 67% and Seoul’s 63%. Towards KL’s goal, the mayor said at a press briefing that DBKL may provide incentives to increase population density around transit zones where LRT or MRT stations are located.

“This is common in Japan, where people work, live and play around transit zones. This helps lessen congestion and steers us in the direction of a low-carbon city,” she said.

PTKL 2040 contains 191 initiatives, including zoning, which involves coordination with the framework of the city’s rail systems, especially MRT3, which is set to begin construction in 2027. The aim is to create a transport network that allows the public to go from place to place with a walking distance under 400 metres. Themed ‘City for All’, PTKL 2040’s ultimate goal is to shape KL into a more humane, inclusive, equitable and greener city.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Even higher than Singapore? I’ll have whatever he’s having since it’s clearly really good sh*t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Why stop at 2040? Why not 2400 aim to be superpower with the US and Russia becoming vassal states?

• call me by your name on Jun 24, 2025 at 6:02 pm

hahahahahahhahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah

• Vroom vroom on Jun 24, 2025 at 6:13 pm

I swear I am trying to be optimistic. I really am. I will seek help to get there. I promise.

• Kolam Lumpur on Jun 24, 2025 at 6:22 pm

by 2040, no car can run on the road surface inundated by waist high water everday flood. Kindly take public sampan-coach at your nearest jetty.

• Gomorrah on Jun 24, 2025 at 7:00 pm

Increase population density? So apa plan to improve the utility infrastructure? Or after all this then kena paip bocor la, load shedding so blackout, water supply cut cos not enough in the catchment area cos guess what no more catchment area, now all botak got apartment. Left hand dunno what right hand is doing as always.

• Harryho on Jun 24, 2025 at 7:25 pm

People, even food hawkers prefer to drive or ride a friend’s car to go places. People probably feel demoted, relegated or downgraded when riding a bus, having to stand sometimes, & holding onto something. I’ve no problem with that. S’pore spaces is limited & the cost of owning a vehicle is out of reach for most. The current 25% in kl won’t increase to 70% by 2040, maybe 35 – 40%. I’ve a car in S’ban but I take the train or bus to KL, & use public transport there. Good experience.

• Sabri on Jun 24, 2025 at 10:36 pm

mabuk. menteri guna lrt dulu ok?

• Don’t just talk on Jun 24, 2025 at 11:04 pm

What a grand plan. What’s the step by step approach to achieve this? KL is suffering from constant deadlock traffic jams at almost every corner, lack of parking spaces (1950s spacing with 2025 car sizes), double or even triple parking, heavy rain = flash floods here and there, falling trees etc. Motorbikes swerving in and out and even ridding in the opposite direction with no intervention by authorities. Busses and lorry drivers driving like idiots and getting away with “brake failure”. Potholes bloody everywhere causing tyre blowouts and accidents. For the public transport side, it is just inconvenient the LRT stations are placed at locations where you can’t reach by foot, you have to drive there park there and pay up costing RM4-RM8 depending on location and when you return you car may be stolen or your rims who knows. And when it rains after work good luck you’ll be drenched. Moreover, the coaches for LRT is only at 4 which is insufficient for the amount of users especially during peak hours, I lined up and waited for 3 rounds just to board a train in KLCC which is a norm after work. There just isn’t enough coaches and the intervals are too far apart. Additionally, there’s the occasional break down where we board (4 coaches full) and a few stations later they kick us all out and ask us to line up for the next train. There are so many things that needs to be worked out. Don’t just talk, take a step by step approach and actually get it done. The current driving or public transport condition is far worse than it was a few years ago, with more people settling in KL the capacity for road and public transport is already near its peak. Another few years from now it’d be hella jam bloody everywhere if this keeps up

• Hu Er on Jun 25, 2025 at 7:27 am

This names every Robotaxi as Car Sharing / public vehicles.

Then it’s gonna be right.

• Azman Rahim on Jun 25, 2025 at 2:42 pm

ha….ha…. Sounds too ambitious….70% is just a figure to make those politician feel good n proud…. But strategist wise….. full of doubts…

• Ssare on Jun 25, 2025 at 8:07 pm

By 2040 all Msia car will fly leaving only humam on land. Ops sorry, Msian can even teleport no need transport. Thank you to gov. Lol.