Once again, the police has issued a stern warning to motorcycle convoys not to obstruct the movement of other vehicles on the road. This comes after a video showing marshals controlling traffic while escorting a motorcycle convoy went viral on social media channels, Bernama reports.
According to Bukit Aman traffic investigation and enforcement department (JSPT) director Datuk Seri Mohd Yusri Hassan Basri, the use of escorts or marshals to control traffic during convoy movements is strictly prohibited.
He said that action can be taken against individuals or group for performing traffic control duties without the presence of traffic police, and that if charged and found guilty under Section 48 of the Road Transport Act 1987, offenders could be fined between RM1,000 and RM5,000 or face imprisonment of up to one year, or both.
“Every group movement or convoy must be reported to the police for coordination purposes, to ensure the safety of all road users. If a motorcycle convoy does not receive official security assistance from the police, it must fully comply with all traffic regulations,” he said.
In the recent incident, which is believed to have taken place on the North-South Expressway, southbound, near Nilai, Negri Sembilan, several individuals wearing yellow safety vests or with marshal gear can be seen escorting a convoy travelling from Kuala Lumpur to the south of the country, disrupting traffic in the video clip.
@turtleispenyu Aku pagi2 auto baran tau. Pakai vest ada tulis POLIS/AADK automatic boleh block2 jalan, tahan kete lori atas highway ke?!!
then fooking do something about it! dammit whats the point barking about all these rules if you don’t enforce it??
indeed! i have been seeing so called Marshall blocking traffic for some private motorcycle ride, this and that. don’t just give statement, take action please!
Asking for the authorities to do their jobs in this country? The extent of action in this country is :
a) statement
b) kita kena teliti/pantau
c) ada jawatankuasa
After that all go for teh tarik and then nothing. If we are lucky maybe there will be a laporan on someone’s desk. And if we are even luckier they might read it. More likely cleaner will see it in the tong sampah.
This is the same BS that gets wheeled out every time someone complains about these marshals blocking traffic. If it gets bad enough there is a bit of enforcement to wayang kulit then we are back to the same old crap.
Funny how these convoys think they need marshals on the side to keep people safe. All the riders are experienced hands. You just need a lead and sweeper bike. If you really need an escort then pay police outriders who can do the service. At least that is official and they can stop traffic.
If u check the background of every rider who joined the convoy , then u will be surprised why they bravely stop the trafic
Now, that’s the real cause of all the problems above.
that’s exactly the reason why they are so brave. the riders/marshalls themselves are pdrm or work for some other govt department.
Once i comment on a youtube channel who defended themselve doing similar thing like this. He also called me ‘bodoh’ and said their activity is legal (and he thought i dont know about law also) stupid rempit always die earlier
haha…
how many times these kind of escort being viral? kereta keh motor keh b40 atau t20…. masih orang buat juga….
PDRM – Pls ask them to surrender or take action la.
All hantu think their grandfather’s highways; brought up to be entitled.
Mouth says this but their actions says another, typical lah these tongkat nepobabies.
Saying they have no authority is insufficient. There should also be a law which absolves car and truck drivers from any fault if they were to mow down such marshals.
Try mowing them down and end up in ICU, with their numbers and brotherhood. Best to leave it to PDRM and JPJ.
Put the dashcam to good use.
Abuden…cakap aje…mana enforcement? Authorities got go saman / catch them or not?