Transport minister Anthony Loke has said the government will not consider building light rail transit (LRT) or mass rapid transit (MRT) lines from the mainland to Langkawi, reports FMT.
Winding up the debate on the 13th Malaysia Plan, or Rancangan Malaysia Ketiga Belas (RMK13) in the Dewan Rakyat yesterday, Loke pointed out it “does not make sense” to build a train line from Kuala Kedah or Kuala Perlis to Langkawi, which involves distances of around 50 km and 30 km respectively.
“That would definitely require massive expenditures,” he said, adding that the government will instead focus on upgrading the facilities at the jetties located in Kuala Kedah and Kuala Perlis. “We have other proposals to increase connectivity between Langkawi and both Kuala Kedah and Kuala Perlis. Among others, we are studying the introduction of more modern and comfortable ferries,” he noted.
Loke’s statement comes after Suhaimi Abdullah (PN-Langkawi) again proposed the construction of LRT or MRT lines to Langkawi in the Dewan Rakyat last week. Loke has previously rejected an earlier proposal in 2023, saying at the time that building such lines across the sea would be difficult.
He added that the transport ministry had not yet received a proposal from the Kedah government to build an LRT line in Langkawi, although the state government announced such plans a year later. However, a recent report by Utusan reveals Kedah’s plans to build a maglev LRT system in Langkawi will not proceed.
If only the leadership in Melaka push for LRT or MRT.
Its badly needed here.
The take up rate will be guaranteed high due to insufficient parking space at workplace and the fact that i need to spend at least 1hr 15mins to drive 15km.
Even layman can see…track should start at town like Masjid Tanah, Alor Gajah, Merlimau and Jasin. With few stop along the way to the city and industrial area.
This will not just spur the economy and value near the track but almost anywhere. People will have more cash to spend elsewhere and better quality of life.
It needs to be done now just like when the old2 gomen started constructing flyover despite being mocked by some party. Go ahead and try to construct a flyover now and walk the talk.
Do u even take Panorama Melaka or BAS.MY Melaka before
Msia is KL and KL is Msia. if u understand my meaning. too sad but too true. Same as Japan with its Tokyo. Out of Tokyo, nothing special anymore. Melaka is too small in term of economy benefit no company will invest there. under Najib era he actually wanna build Mekala into world class together with China bosses but too bad everything dall apart when Chinese kicked him out. if he is there till now, we might already have KL2, shinkansen style bullet train to Sg, lower electric with Nuke plants, JB hub and melaka hub running good. now? we are bracing for ron95. see what the rakyat did?
Aiyo, stop your blind worship of najib la. If he’s still PM now Malaysia already bankrupt and jho low will be richer than Elon musk
if we didnt kick bijan out we would already have 2MDB and who knows how many billions donated by saudi santa into his own personal account.
Loke says does not make sense, and yet they tried to push for LRT or MRT from Penang Island to mainland. Itu pulak dorang boleh justify?! Apa double stended DAP mamat ni?!
Penang rakyat beratus ribu. Langkawi berapa saja.
Bukan beratus ribu tapi 1.7 Juta penduduk bang, sebab tu sesuai.
Langkawi pulak 85 Ribu penduduk je, kesesuaian pembinaan LRT hanya untuk bandar yang mempunyai 1 Juta penduduk ke atas.
Langkawi bukan setakat 1 Juta, 100 Ribu penduduk pun tak sampai so memang tak sesuai, bas jarak dekat seperti myBAS atau RapidBus lagi sesuai untuk pekan seperti Langkawi.
compare dulu jumlah penduduk pulau pinang & langkawi bongok
Just quick search from Google, both Penang bridges served a total of 34.66 million vehicles in 2015, whereas Langkawi received 2.9 million visitors in 2024 which is split between air and sea. Penang bridge’s daily average vehicles plying it is between 70k-80k, vs only 75K ferry passengers during d 5-day span of LIMA 2025.
I’m from Kedah, but sadly there are a lot of suggestions from politicians that often make no business sense. Makes more sense improving ferry services to be more on-time and less weather dependent.
13/24km distances over a small relatively calm channel, WITH existing infrastructure works in both bridges and the seabed surrounding them. The Mutiara LRT is literally riding close to the 1st Penang Bridge to take advantage over the established shortest distance and prepared seabed.
VS
30/50km distances across open, sometime TURBULENT ocean waters. Are you high?!…
Perhaps build flyovers at busy intersections like near the General Hospital to cut short the journey time. Yes, I travel 15km to work and almost an hour of my life wasted especially when going baxk due to a lot of time spet at traffic light intersections.
And just for 1 stop lol well what do you expect when previous-previous Environmental Minister stated that Malaysia is not a climate vulnerable country back in 2021. Guess sama-sama
already living tax free life then dont ask for this and that infrastructure lah… want infrastructure then pay more tax…
That’s the real definition of penumpang . Enjoying other people fruit.
Want to ask stuff from Ah Lok Kor also need to use a bit of common senselah. Straightaway ask for something so outrageous of course kena reject kau kau. For comparison, the Channel tunnel need both England and France and billions and billions overbudget to get it done. Plus the high traffic between London and Paris which are 2 major cities to make it worth while. Hong Kong-Macau bridge also China Central government have to put ALOT of resources to build it.
Instead should ask for airport upgrade, new runway, new deepwater pier for ferries confirm sure get wan.
So 16bilion for LRT in Penang’s Island only make sense??
Maybe check how much Penang is contributing to the national coffers every single decades compared to others then its just pure sense.
well it does if you look at penang GDP and taxes paid
We can sponsors roller coasters bridge connecting Langkawi and mainland
Aiyo, stop your blind worship of najib la. If he’s still PM now Malaysia already bankrupt and jho low will be richer than Elon musk
why lrt straight hyperloop la