BYD Yangwang U9 Xtreme sets new production car speed record – 496.22 km/h beats Bugatti and Rimac

In August this year, BYD revealed it had set a new electric vehicle (EV) top speed record of 472.41 km/h with its Yangwang U9 Track Edition. Not content with that result, the Chinese carmaker returned to the high-speed oval earlier this month and managed an even higher top speed of 496.22 km/h.

The returning electric hypercar, now known as the Yangwang U9 Extreme, achieved this feat at the Automotive Testing Papenburg test track in Germany, which was where the previous record was set. With a top speed of 496.22, the U9 Xtreme (formerly U9 Track Edition) further extends its lead over the previous EV top speed record holder, the Rimac Nevera R that managed 431.45 km/h.

If that isn’t enough, the BYD EV is also the world’s fastest production car, eclipsing the Bugatti Chiron Super Sport 300+ that hit 490.484 km/h back in August 2019. However, because the U9 Xtreme’s record was only logged in a single direction, the SSC Tuatara still retains the official two-way average title with 455.3 km/h.

To get to the face-melting top speed, the U9 Extreme packs plenty of power, with each of its four electric motors rated at 755 PS (744 hp or 555 kW) for a total system output of 3,018 PS (2,977 hp or 2,220 kW). This is more than double that of a regular U9 that packs 1,306 PS (1,287 hp or 960 kW).

The U9 Xtreme is also the first production EV to utilise a 1,200-volt electrical architecture and has significantly denser batteries, the latter capable of a 30C ultra-high discharge rate. The dampers also have a wider bandwidth, while the suspension hardpoint structures have been optimised for wider tyres and aviation-grade aluminium alloy is used for the front and rear suspension arms to work with the optimised suspension geometry.

Other upgrades include titanium alloy brake callipers and custom tyres that can withstand the demands of high speeds up to over 500 km/h. Will you be able to buy one? Yes, but only 30 units are scheduled to be built, with each unit likely to cost significantly more than a standard U9 that starts at 1.68 million yuan (about RM994k).

If securing two top speed titles wasn’t a big enough flex, BYD also revealed that the U9 Xtreme lapped the Nürburgring Nordschleife in 6:59.157 minutes, effectively stealing the EV production car record from the Xiaomi SU7 Ultra that set a time of 7:04.957 minutes earlier this year.

10% discount when you renew your car insurance with us

Compare prices between different insurer providers and use the promo code 'PAULTAN10' when you make your payment to save the most on your car insurance renewal compared to other competing services. You can also pay with instalment using Grab PayLater or Shopee SPayLater.

Renew Car Insurance

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• sabri dont cry on Sep 22, 2025 at 4:51 pm

nice now even T15 can afford buy car to drive at 400kmph

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
    • BrozLan on Sep 22, 2025 at 5:29 pm

The car roars past 280 mph (450 km/h) and 292 mph (470 km/h) with ease and doesn’t even appear to break a sweat reaching 308 mph (496 km/h).

It appears likely the car could have breezed past 310.6 mph (500 km/h), but Basseng had to lift off the throttle and jump on the brakes as the car started to drift towards the left-hand barrier next to the track.

anyway, we can buy BYD with this ~500km/h achievement is simply amazing!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • haters gonna hate on Sep 22, 2025 at 5:47 pm

this BYD costs 1.68 million yuan (about RM994k) in mainland. after come to malaysia it will surely cost a bit more.

patriotic T0.2 better choice to buy bufori CS8 costs only RM2.2 million ringgit (made in malaysia so tax free) which uses chrysler hemi v8 engine along with interior parts donated from chrysler 300C taken from usa chopshop

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0