Genting Group’s plan to impose charges on vehicles entering Jalan Genting Highlands is necessary for road upkeep which is costly, according to tourism, arts and culture minister Tiong King Sing.
“As far as we know, it’s a private road. All the maintenance is done by the Genting Group. For sustainability, they have no choice but to do it,” said Tiong, as reported by FMT. The minister was replying to a question from reporters at a recent event on how the proposed road charge might affect tourism in the area.
Tiong noted that increased development in the area, much of which falls outside Genting Group’s control, necessitated the road charge. “There are really too many people coming in to use the road, and too many heavy vehicles. So, the cost will be there. I understand where they are coming from,” he said.
However, he stressed that Genting Group must ensure the charges are fair and transparent, rather than functioning like a profit-driven entity. “If there are people coming up and frequenting places such as the casino, I think the toll should not be a burden to them,” he said, adding that employees, motorcyclists and business partners should be exempted from paying the road charge.

Oh minister, how much are they paying you? Genting profits so high, maintaining the road should be cheap for them. Don’t tell me that they never taught of it when constructing the road?
road was constructed 50 years ago, things were a lot different back then.
Loke and Tiong must resign!
In Malaysia
regardless private onot
We want everything FREE
road was constructed 50 years ago, things were a lot different back then. for example, 50 years ago all malaysians were still allowed to display their hair in public
It’s already mentioned clearly that this Jln Genting Highland is a private road belonging to this Genting company. Like any other companies in the private sector, Genting is free to make any profit oriented decision, especially with its own private property. If there are members of the public who disagree with Genting’s business decisions, they are free to spend their money elsewhere. There are other hill resorts like Camaron Highlands & Fraser’s Hill.
The entire land belongs to the state.
Genting only owns a portion of it.
It cannot arbitrarily deprive others for the right of way.
The government should have prevented it by allowing the state to manage the toll revenue and cost, why privatise it again ?
The Genting company was formed in 1965, and during the next 5 years, it had progressively received approval for the alienation (pemberimilikan tanah) of up to 12000 acres of land from the Pahang state government and up to 2800 acres of land from Selangor state government. It had also started work on the construction of the access road from Genting Sempah to the peak of Mount Ulu Kali, which is the present day location of the Genting resort, and that access road is now known as Jalan Genting Highlands.
Therefore, it is no surprise that this Genting company has publicly declared its full ownership of Jalan Genting Highlands as a private road on its Resorts World Genting website, without any fear of legal action by the Pahang and Selangor state governments.
” employees, motorcyclists and business partners should be exempted from paying the road charge”
– can the numerous highways around klang valley can follow example set by kind caring genting , give us toll rebates and discounts ?
Taking PLUS highway as an example, let’s say you are an employee or contractor for PLUS Malaysia Bhd or their shareholders UEM & EPF, you can try to ask them for exemption.. Good luck..
are u a genting employee or elected official paid taxpayers money? let them answer this themselves
Based on info from The Edge, Genting Bhd was taxed by the government RM348.61 billion for the 1QFY2025, making it a major taxpayer who indirectly pays the salary of the said minister as an elected official.
100%
Sustainability? They’re running a multi-billion dollar business…if they can’t sustain it because they’re blowing the money elsewhere then it’s on them. Not changing the rules for people who bought homes there with the understanding that access to said homes was not part of their cost equation. Tomorrow someone charge toll/entry fee/levy to masuk your own taman then baru you tau. It would be laughable if it wasn’t so ludicrous…the only company granted a casino licence in the country and they’re taking about difficulty managing costs of a road?
Genting can collect money from those other rich taiko developers la. At the end of the day who is approving these developments? Some layer of government is involved whether local, state or federal. Always pass the buck to rakyat.
“However, he stressed that Genting Group must ensure the charges are fair and transparent, rather than functioning like a profit-driven entity” – wahh this minister must be smoking some good $h!t lah. Can lose IQ points listening to our ministers.
Fair enough. there are many developement along the way which use the road but without paying a single cent to maintain it.
if genting wants to charge, let them charge… what’s the issue? it’s their road on their land. if not happy just don’t go to genting highlands la. all these politicians come in and talk, talk also no use. for me, i wouldn’t care much.
it’s NOT their land
You guys are funny. Private road and they want to implement a collection for usage and y’all be bitching.
Look from Genting point of view, all these wanna be touge drivers crashing into divider and not paying for damages on private road expect Genting to pay to repair the dividers & road, how is that fair? I go to your house, smash all your things and tell u dont need to pay ok?
this is before the cable car station right? so if i want to take the cable car….i would have to pay new toll for a short drive (cost same?), pay parking at the cable car parking lot, pay cable car. That does not sound right to me.
its immediately after the cable car station , immediately after the roundabout. wont kena toll if you drive to Premium outlet for shopping and then take the cable car from GPO.
hope genting will charge toll for the noisy motorbikes
Well…its their land and their rights (provided no law is broken).
If people decided not to go there, its their loss oso.
All that we get is just a topic to hoo haa on for a few weeks.
it is NOT their land.
haiya… minister you better be a tukang kipas for Genting… better still resign from your post and apply to Genting to become their newest spoke person
yg rosakkn tu lorry tanah naik atas buat casino. hek eleh
Menteri yang jawab eh, lain macam
What a load of BS… why is the minister talking about private property? If you’re speaking in the capacity of tourism minister, then you should not be siding the corporations, instead you should be questioning them since they benefit from a lot of tourism.
It is a private road. There is absolutely not necessary for this minister to come out and comment.
And if he does choose to come out and comment, it should be the voice of the rakyat majority, and from a tourism angle, not on behalf of Genting.
if the minister should not comment bcos it’s not a govt road, then the rakyat should also do the same bcos they are not the majority shareholder of genting.
should hand over the road to the G, so they are to one who need to maintain it.
private property why need to hand over to government? can the gomen also ask you to hand over your land and house?
This fellow is an accountant? Doesn’t look like it…
Great to have a Minister in the Madani Government as the spokeman for the Genting Group.
genting is a major corporation also being a big tourism draw
Was there last week after 5 years not visiting. Saw the toll booths, although not yet charging money. I think the toll is justified. Too many boy racers thinking it’s like the initial D track. Subsidize the hotel/bnb operators to give their clients access for free. It’s a private road, I think non of the commenter’s tax money is used to maintain the road.
I hope genting will pay me for this comment after screwing me with a takeover or genm shares at a price lower than what I paid for years ago.