While it did not make it into the amendments introduced under the Road Transport (Amendment) Bill 2026, the transport ministry is aiming to introduce a compensation mechanism for victims or their lawful next of kin in cases of road accidents resulting in death or serious injury in further amendments to Road Transport Act 1987 later this year.
Transport minister Anthony Loke said under the proposed amendments, the court would be empowered to order offenders convicted of serious offences under the act to pay compensation to victims or their next of kin based on the facts and merits of each case. Speaking in the Dewan Rakyat, he said among the factors to be considered are the severity of the injuries or loss of life, the losses suffered and the offender’s ability to pay, Bernama reports.
“This reflects the government’s commitment that drivers who cause deaths through dangerous driving and illegal racing will not be treated as ordinary traffic offenders. Instead, they will face the heaviest legal action commensurate with the circumstances of the case,” he said in response to a question from Datuk Yusuf Abd Wahab (GPS-Tanjong Manis).
Mention of this was made last month during the special media briefing by the ministry outlining the changes that were set to be introduced with the amendments. Back then, Loke had indicated that there would be two transfers to the act this year, the first being that which was introduced.
“Another amendment that we want to include, but didn’t have time for this parliamentary session, is regarding compensation to accident victims, whether it’s caused by drink driving, while under the influence of drugs, or speeding.”
“I think there’s a lot polemic or talk in the community about justice for victims, and we see that there is precedence in our law that there is indeed a space or a legal provision in other acts that provides compensation to victims, so we want to include this in Act 333 as well. We didn’t have time for it this round, but we will bring it about at the end of the year parliamentary session,” he said in June.

simple. block sinkies from driving in malaysia. problem solved. not always so lucky these bad drivers will burn themselves like the ferrari bbq last weekend. if a good malay family was killed by these sinkies how? will singapore govt pay?
compensation meaning e.g. 1 million ringgit ? thats pocket change for TanSris or Tulsans.
Malaysians should be required to buy Perodua QVE to reduce road accidents that involve mostly old outdated cars
Aiya just bundle in compulsory 3rd party insurance into road tax like how other countries do. JPJ acts like an insurer. Pays out to the not at fault injured party. Apply scaling for high risk categories like young drivers and motorcyclists. You can bet the driving behaviour will change because road tax costs will increase especially motorcyclists and all those retards in souped up cars.
You do it the way Ah Loke says they’ll just declare bankruptcy and no one wins unless the at fault party is from T10 or above.
You do realize insurance won’t pay out in criminal cases or illegal activities. And you can’t just declare bankruptcy when you have assets in your name
The right way is it to make it extremely expensive to own Moto or cars for new drivers, insurance be reduced only based on history and after 7-9 years of incident free driving. People will still try to settle incidents without polis or insurance involved but that can only be done for minor cases, for serious incidents the victim will definitely not be financially inclined or kind enough to settle it in private so that alone takes care of risky drivers and incidents. Also change the laws for car loans, nonpayment mus be 25% with loans of only 75% max and the duration be 7 years, not 9 years. That will reduce the number of cars being sold. Right now it’s grocery sales, just about any low life can buy a car. Too many cars in the streets with bodoh behind the wheel causing jams and accidents.
Sports cars and Super/Hyper cars must be banned outright, they are meant only for the tracks, you want to drive them go down to Sepang and pay a high renters fee to drive it around in the safety of a closed track.
Of course who are we kidding? these are very sensible things so we cannot expect the crony automotive industry to support because it affects their sales and greed. Only a good statesmen who looks out for the rakyat will enforce this without compromise, such a person does not exist in Malaysia.
what you suggest would decimate the automotive , roadworks , fossil fuel industry . and drop malahysia GDP by a few percentage points . i mean it makes sense but at the end of the days cars are meant to address personal mobility so if you take that away then whats the alternative?
why not start with compasation for those damages caused by motorist?