Volkswagen AG to buy Proton shares?

Interesting. Is this Dr. M’s way of giving the rakyat a preview of what’s going to happen without officially announcing anything yet before it’s finalised?

AFX News Limited
Malaysia’s Proton says will not stop Volkswagen from buying stake in co
06.08.2005, 09:55 AM

KUALA LUMPUR (AFX) – Proton Holdings Bhd’s advisor Mahathir Mohamad said Proton will not stop Volkswagen AG from buying a stake in the company.

‘We have no problem in Volkwagen buying shares in Proton,’ he told reporters after the launch of Proton’s new car ‘Savvy’ today.

Last year, Proton and Volkwagen agreed to form a partnership to assemble the latter’s vehicles for sale in Southeast Asia.

However, Mahathir said that Volkswagen and Proton are still in the process of working out the details of a partnership.

[email protected]

clf/ac/net

I wonder what’s Proton going to become. It’s seriously some super rojak company now. A mix of Malaysian, British, French, Japanese and now German.

Malaysian = Campro engine
British = Lotus ride and handling
French = Savvy chassis, Gen2 chassis, Savvy engine, Waja 1.8 engine
Japanese = Waja 1.6 engine, Wira/Satria/Saga engine and chassis
German = Volkswagen share ownership?

Edit: Because of some of my commenters, I have to clarify what I’m saying by rojak. I’m not saying it’s something bad! But I think Proton should focus on a set of design/technologies from the same source so that they’re service center people can focus and be specialised in that same set of stuff. Imagine having to know how to fix all three Japanese, Campro and Renault based cars. With the Perdana Replacement Model we are adding German platforms to the mix. It’s a headache for the service center people.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• karheng on Jun 27, 2005 at 11:10 pm

Next time the name of the car, Proton Rojak.. Hehehe…Lotus handling, German interior like Audis, malaysian styling, French engine, Japanese suspension…hehe…What next? US rims?? ehehehe

• napps on Jun 27, 2005 at 11:38 pm

there is no such thing as a car built 100% from parts sourced from 1 country. this is the industry trend. gm sources parts for their cars from all over…brazil, china, mexico, india, europe…so does toyota…so what's the big deal?

• I wouldn't mind VW buying over Proton.

I wouldn't mind seeing rebadged Golfs, Jettas, Passats and the likes under the Proton name but German quality assurance.

• napps: that's sourcing parts… but i'm talking about sourcing the design!

• Kenneth on Jun 28, 2005 at 12:29 am

actually, long before this many major car manufacturers has been wanting to buy Proton shares… just that Proton was kiasu and afraid that it will be "taken over" by them.

If you notice most car manufacturers holds other's shares (speaking bout major ones here). It's kinda late for Proton to do so now actually.

• akari on Jun 28, 2005 at 1:03 am

always heard anti-perodua keep talk about P2 not fully local car maker, they want to support P1 coz it's real Malaysian car… lol…

• hai napps,….well u r right.It's seem to me that basher is always it is.

• guys, I am not bashing. pls refer to my edit.

Because of some of my commenters, I have to clarify what I’m saying by rojak. I’m not saying it’s something bad! But I think Proton should focus on a set of design/technologies from the same source so that they’re service center people can focus and be specialised in that same set of stuff. Imagine having to know how to fix all three Japanese, Campro and Renault based cars. With the Perdana Replacement Model we are adding German platforms to the mix It’s a headache for the service center people.

• Leong on Jun 28, 2005 at 6:06 am

Probably that Proton thinks that combination of Europe and Japanese model will bring the best of 2 worlds. Unfortunately, it doesn't blend the correct way.

• bangau on Jun 28, 2005 at 6:53 am

SAvvy chassis is more Korean than french dude.

• jonahdiary on Jun 29, 2005 at 5:22 am

if proton bought over by other….then our malaysian can not shout "Malaysia BOlehhhhhhhh" liao lah….

• Malaysian = Campro engine

British = Lotus ride and handling

French = Savvy chassis, Gen2 chassis, Savvy engine, Waja 1.8 engine

Japanese = Waja 1.6 engine, Wira/Satria/Saga engine and chassis

German = Volkswagen share ownership?

I have a good laugh on this, well not that it is bad, finally can proton product a car rakyat want to buy, and at an affordable price.