Gen2 R3 at DreamCarsAsia

I wanted to go to DreamCarsAsia to get photos of the Gen2 R3 prototype but as I did not have a camera, couldn’t do anything. Autoworld has some photos here. Looks hot.

500 units of the Proton Gen2 R3 will be built, an increase over the 150 unit availability of the Proton Satria R3. Unlike the Satria R3 which carries over the bodykit from the Satria GTi, the Proton Gen2 R3 will have a redesigned bodykit. Looks pretty good, and it comes with the trademark RaceRallyResearch Advanti Racing rims. I just love that design. Thin, five spoke rims are my favourite.

More updates on the stats once I get hold of information, but for the meantime check out Autoworld’s article here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• the girls look prettier then the car,…. :)

• Wingz on Jul 14, 2005 at 7:50 pm

*agrees with EDW*

• December on Jul 14, 2005 at 7:56 pm

cars are pretty hot..and sure the price will be ridiculously pathetic too..

• Opps!!,

Proton did it again?……And I'm not supprise if they produce "Perdana Limosine R3" in future.

• Verne on Jul 14, 2005 at 8:13 pm

Hey Paul,

Just thought I'd add some inside info. The Gen.2 R3 will not receive the same level of performance mods as the more track-focussed Satria R3. This has a more mass market appeal, although still exclusive at 500 units. I was quoted 135bhp for the 1.6litre Campro, which is NICE. Part changes are extensive though, including interior items. It will still come with a similar MOMO steering, but no bucket Recaros. The CF adjustable rear spoiler is a major plus. I do hope they sort out the long ratio gearbox, and apparently they are working on a solution. Gears 1,2 and 3 need to be closer, and perhaps a higher final drive. I dunno for sure. The brake system will be uprated, but will not run on the superb Mintex as on the Satria R3, most likely only available as a hop-up Stage 2 kit.

That's all I know for now. :)

• Philip on Jul 14, 2005 at 8:16 pm

I find the car looking more macho than the original. Paul if you can find some pictures of the interior it would be great. I like what I see, not the girls, the car. I think R3 did a good job with the front of the car, not too sure about the rear as I haven't seen it. Hoping that the rear wouldn't be a let down and certainly the interior must be improved from the non-R3 Gen.2 in terms of build quality and the materials used. Best if it is priced below RM80k.

• bumboy on Jul 14, 2005 at 8:45 pm

I have seen a MOD Gen2 in Singapore, in orange with huge front scoop and side skirt and big twin exhaustpipes. Will take a pic next time I see it. Looks hotter than the R3 pics.

The reason I will not buy a Gen2 is coz i can't get comfy in it, the steering keeps hitting my knee no matter how I adjust.. and the position is just awkward.

Being a car enthusiast and Malaysian, i want to have great hope for proton. BUT reality is.. a big S I G H

• Dangerous Variable on Jul 15, 2005 at 12:23 am

Sorry ler boys, I won't buy junk from Proton. I had trumendous faith in my Waja 1.8 and I end up getting hurt.

• cbljkkj on Jul 15, 2005 at 12:27 am

Although it looks nice, i have to agree with Verne on it not being to match the track ready Satria R3.This just looks like a Gen2 with a front lip and rims slapped on, anybody can do that.

Even if there was an increase in power and braking ability it would no justify the price.Even current prices of Proton cars are not accurate but i guess everybody wants to make money =)

You wanna see a Gen2 that really opens up your eyes??? Check out the Gen2 in Zero To Hundred Forums with an Evo4 inside.Now thats a Gen2

Kudos on comments

My 2 cents

• Best part with the R3 concept, you don't need to buy the Gen-2 R3 to be a R3. Proton R3 had completed the bolt-on items which is priced nicely for the Gen-2. For a budget of RM3500.00 give and take:

1) 1/2 Race Cams + Siemens upgraded comp.box for will increase 11HP

2) High-end silicone s/plug wires increases 3 HP

3) Mandrel bent 4-2-1 extractors increases 6HP

4) Performance Back-box increases another 6HP

That'll increases the Gen2 horses to a 136HP and add another

5) Bolt on K&N open pod air filter will increase 4HP

6) High-end performance s/plugs 1HP

Overall, the Gen2 will get to the 140HP with 158Nm of torque. With a body weight of 1100 kg that will get 215-220km/h on the road. Max rev will also be increased due to the reprogrammed comp.box. Forget the bodyworks, just bikin the engine, upgrade the suspension and brakes and go chase the Japanese made 1.6 cars..VTEC or VVTI, watch out for Malaysia Boleh Proton.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Jul 15, 2005 at 4:34 am

agree with adan..

+ again

+ racing exzaust =+hp

+ a must disk break set for 4. (top speed without a good brake? :o )

+ downforce for stabile driving..

bla bla bla..

but… campro ? turbo? .. ermmpph..

• The gal are hot man… !

• nice….the girls.

• Bamboo on Jul 15, 2005 at 8:01 am

ada air bag ak?i wonder how to drive fast if the break won`t work enough at high speed..lagi2 at 200+ km/hr :-(

• wa sea hokkien lang on Jul 15, 2005 at 10:38 am

argree with all what you say

and bamboo you know lar proton… PRO konon…

• Good work sawi for generating some interior shots. Alcantara and real leather trim..nyumnyum, if only that comes in the standard Gen2. Then nobody will make a fool of Proton.

• sawi batang putih on Jul 15, 2005 at 11:56 pm

I'm also wonder why Proton didn't think of showing the R3 Gen2 during the launching or just make it as standard Gen2. Talking about "Berani Berubah" but I'm not really seen the guts there.

By the way, can someone tell me about the R3 itself? Is it still under Proton roof or somekind like Wald instead?

• sawi: r3 is under proton. it's their motorsports division.

• boleh bagi idea ker nak upgrade kat mana tuuu….

• Upgrade apa Shah? Gen2 R3 punya bolt on kit?

Cuba tanya kat Proton Edar, itu pun kalau Gen2 R3 dah on the road la…

• STOOI on Jul 17, 2005 at 9:16 am

huh… i think the internal Gen 2 dash board from original one looks better than this R3 la. just my taste which i think don look nice on the color. i dun care much on the horse power for chasing VVTi or VTEC. i only hope that the power window can work enuf lioa la. QUALITY la man…. come on… show us the result of Gen 2 R3 crash test…

• cbljkkj on Jul 17, 2005 at 6:50 pm

Actually i kinda like the dashboard colour configuration.One thing though, the guys at R3 forgot to cover up the glove compartment!!!

Imagine hitting a bump at high speeds and your CD's or sunglasses come flying at your face or passengers at 200++km/h..Hahaha…i can imagine the headlines "Driver killed in accident due to confrontation with "Shuriken" CD in an excess of 2++km/h . Car, on the other hand is in perfect condition"

LOL,ROFL

• Verne on Jul 17, 2005 at 11:10 pm

Apparently, TM, CEO of Proton has instructed to have a R3 version at every new model launch, after seeing what was done to the Savvy. The Gen.2 was initially planned to be the first R3-spec car after the Satria, but due to limitations and weaknesses in the platform, the Savvy was chosen to come first. Work is being done extensively on both, we should see both on roads sometime next year.

I am looking forward to the SRM though. I think that's a compelling platform to work with.

• The R3 upgrade parts can be enquired at the Damansara Mutiara Platinum Branch..not sure available now though..Overall, if you saw the R3 brochure and the parts available to upgrade (Satria, Gen2, Savvy and Perdana), a lot of R&D had been put into good use.

Regarding power window, my Gen2 has no problem and already 20k on the mileage. Everyday will use power window to enter the office parking which means average of 4x of up-down. Its a matter of lucklah, my friend bought a Spectra, power window problem jugak, and he's more pissed off since he paid more than me for the Hyundai.

• azree on Jul 23, 2005 at 12:07 am

kalau dapat kat aku lagi best

• azree on Jul 23, 2005 at 12:09 am

modifide enjin dan interior yang kemas seperti kereta negara lain.tingkatkan kualiti kerata negara malaysia

• azree on Jul 23, 2005 at 12:11 am

jika keta malaysia x masuk pasaran china , kereta china (alado)pun x masuk pasaran malaysia……………………………………………….:)

• sharm on Jul 26, 2005 at 6:47 am

tak tahan…verne Satria R3….kalau camni kena beli GEN2 R3 la..yeahh bebeh..

• daripada keta china..lagi baik proton…tak konfiden aku nak drive keta buatan sana.tunggu ler itu satria replacement (SRM)..cun!

• I bought my Gen2 3 months ago.So far i'm satisfied with it Not…

Well, my front left door couldn't open for a month and i have to open it from the inside to get my passenger in. I'm also shocked to find out there is a dented or bumped on the right side of my rear door and i saw the same thing to some of the gen 2 on the road.Anyway its only a few minor problem so i'm cool with it.

Next, i'm interested in changing the looks of my gen2.Anybody can help me to find some cool gen2 bodykits? I'm from Sabah, thanks for your help.

• its also not nice to call our Malaysian made car a Junk. Where is your National pride?

• sabah ka?..jauh tuu…

• Wan Ben on Aug 01, 2005 at 9:24 pm

Haiya..the proton cars are good in engine specifications but the worst in

plastic panel product. Like a toys..e.g door panel, dashboards and window rubber grip.

Even the 80's cars better than that.

• why worry with picky things like that?…if panel kaput..just get a new uns!..spare parts cheap maa..& many to choose from…just go to our local 'abang' superstore…

• shanR3 on Aug 12, 2005 at 7:32 am

F#%K up la proton! another R3? this wat they call limited huh?

i owned a satria R3..early booked but hav to wait til 4month..quality? huahahahaha…like Cibet! all goyang..replace this replace that but at the same time they REMOVE some goodies ( ABS,windows not motorized,1.3satria panel meter,no air-bag, etc…so many geng….) gti quality is much much more better..tougher than r3! disc brack noisy like tarian singa! dung dung cheng! whoa….blah la proton..im so angry man! hehehe

• Paul Tan on Aug 12, 2005 at 7:37 am

The meter panel for the Satria R3 is not the Satria 1.3 but the Putra's meter panel. Satria 1.3 does not have a revmeter and even if it did, the redline is at 6500rpm. The orange and carbon fibre meter is the Putra's.

• kongim on Aug 12, 2005 at 11:38 pm

I have test drive a gen2 in Klang valley and the road holding is of the best of its kind. Sadly the automatic transmission is not as smooth as the wira although it has a 4 speed transmission and you can feel the gear change. Its drags while going down hill. ''… and the car is designed for midgets. Not all asian are midget size. Come on… wake up Proton Engineers, you are given too much protection in your home ground , you are just like a frog under a coconut shell

• kongim on Aug 12, 2005 at 11:59 pm

Put a nasty comment on Proton,. ..off it goes from your comment column….so you are also one of the cronies… then.delete this column on viewer comment….its a waste of time

• kongim: pls dont misunderstand… my comments system works like this: if you are a first time commenter based on your name and email, i have to approve you first. then after that, all your other comments will appear immediately from now on. this is to avoid spam.

• shanR3 on Aug 14, 2005 at 7:44 am

u r right paul tan..i've made mistake..that is putra's meter panel not satria 1.3..but stil they save budget lor….y dont they go out with new meter for R3 like gen2R3 did?hey paul tan..do u know where is actually SR3 engine come from? is it Gti engine they just upgraded or a new built engine special design for R3?

• shanR3 on Aug 14, 2005 at 7:49 am

where can i find so so many pic of malaysian race queens or malaysian car autoshow babes…? anyone know the site? hehehe….love malaysian babes…

• shanR3: it's a gti engine but with different ecu profile and different cam profile, extractor, etc. so you could consider it an upgraded gti engine.

• gen 2 1.3 really available in town (kl)?????

• Jadore on Aug 30, 2005 at 7:05 pm

I heard so.I heard one of the netfriend order it already. There is Gen 2 1.3 in a Proton showroom at Jalan Genting Klang Setapak there. Next to Galleria. Go to check it out if you are keen on. Im going there to check it out soon.

• James Hatsfield on Sep 10, 2005 at 1:54 am

Come on babe…. I hate those performance car wanna be and i guess you guys know what car i'm meaning. If "YOU" are trying to make a really good performance car, come on… not taking these parts or that parts from the previous models, modify it just a bit, bolt it in and call it a performance car. This is truely so damn lame. I don't find any car in Japan from sedan having or turning into sport/performancnce edision by the producing/manufacturing company unless modified by Mugen, TRD, Nismo etc(modification company). Well i guess there is a modification department in "YOU" but "YOU" can't even produce or modify a car having 1/2 of thier quality….*SIGH*…too dissapointing even with **LOTUS** and such mighty protection from the "Mother". Try not always thinking about profits, gain back the trust of your countrymen or "YOU" wouldn't go anywhere even in another 10 years time.

• I'm totally agree with James Hatsfield… Have u guy out there saw Kancil with 1.3 or V6 sticker… What's their point man… :)

• so what man, its their cars and their money…and these are all big business to certain quarters..so what?

open up your world man..

• Gooseman on Sep 20, 2005 at 11:03 pm

Actually, the meter panel of the R3 is the older version of the limited edition wira 1.8 (tiang gol) the putra meter panel has a CF face. I own a putra.

My friend has the R3 and i've driven it. Yes the suspension is alot better than the GTI and Putra.

From what I see, G2 R3 is quite OK considering the production costs and meeting the general targeted market. I don't mind the dashboard colour although I don't really like balck and red… heheheh… But lets just say that it's an R3! needs to be a bit different.

As for performance, 140bhp is OK… good enough… what do you expect? You need to consider that the MOtorsports Division has to take into count cost against pricing… they can bolt on all the goodies and make it 240bhp but is it cost effective? And my R3 friend showed me the price list and catalouge for R3 parts even for other model sold at the Motorsports Division. Sooo if you want a 240bhp G2… just spend the money laaaa

And yes … I'm thinkin of getting my own R3…. hehehehh could'nt get the satria as I have a family and my first car is a 2 door turbo charged coupe…. sooo the G2 R3 fits nicely….

• James Hatsfield on Sep 27, 2005 at 5:18 am

Yeah… i guess u guys have a point there, big business huh. But i just wondering a Mazda RX-8 only cost $25,935 = RM 95,959 without gov. tax and R3 cost RM80k.Hmmm… what a big business and high profits over us they are having. Well done.

• well, if you're talking about 'the exorbitant' gov tax on import vehicles in this country…that's the policy!

just think what the gov use with the money;

..pays civil servants salaries and perks

..pays development projects

..for scholarship

..subsidise our petrol

..buy weapons from the us and the west (as if, the weapons can protect us, if the us wants to play around with us?)

..etc

as for proton r3 price, you just cant accept with all the upgrades and exclusivity for it to be sold at the same price with stock gen2? and as far is proton is concern, it's struggling to make profit (last quarter it loss) and go figure it yourself…

but these local automotive industries (even if proton loss) is indeed big business to a lot of quarters of all sizes and employs muc much more…

Thank you.

• MaXeR on Oct 12, 2005 at 12:34 am

yo mike.. i'm from Sabah also.. any luck with the Gen2 bodykits?.. do let me know kio..

• James Hatsfield on Oct 12, 2005 at 1:24 pm

Jake, What i'm trying to say and the great main point is price over quality. Proton earn or not, that is out of the concern so do the other quarters. For the taxes… the main reasons aren't as u said, its much more towards protecting proton by highly increasing the price difference between impored cars and theirs so that most ppl will have no choice but to choose proton(exclude those whos rich). Most simple example which in the specification range of protons; Mazda3: 148+hp, 2.0L, 180+Nm etc. is only at USD 15k = RM 55k. This is even cheaper than a sorely plain stock Gen2 which is only 110hp, 148Nm, 1.6L . Why can ppl have such marketing price while proton can't?. Proton isn't cheap, is just that the gov. make them 'look' cheap and they are actually more expensive. What kind of tax rate is that? exceeding 100% some even 200%, this is so a joke in other countries. I dun mind the gov. implement such high taxes(its so fake to say that these taxes aren't implemented to protect proton) on the imported car if proton can produce a car with the same quality, even a slightly lower i dun mind. The main concern is they don't. Proton is so into my nerve truely because of this and they are limiting our statisfaction towards automobile and performance, they are limiting the choice of luxury in our life.They are the so core factor for such crazy price for imported car. I rather they doesn't exist 20 years ago, izzit to tell the world ?"oh yaa… we can make cars…" Goshh…wat a joke…

• Well, you can have a cheaper car with less tax, however one way or the other, they will charge you to cover for the loss tax for instance:

1) They can do like Singapore where you have to buy the permit to own a car. Forgotten what's the name of that thingy + roadtax + insurance. Cars above 10 years have higher insurance premium bla, bla and bla.

2) Or we can be like Hongkong, where not only you have to have a permit for the car, you have to proof that you have a parking space – meaning a house/apt etc to own a car.

The same goes for the other countries where there will be pros and cons in car pricing. Too bad Malaysia is like this – my advise to you James wanabe Metallica Fan Hatsfield instead of Hetfield, go migrate.. Ta Ta!

• Gooseman on Oct 20, 2005 at 8:04 pm

well james…. quite true…. proton is charging us more for less quality if we compare with other car producing nations. The question is why? maybe the answer is there are basically 2 companies in Malaysia who produce cars and a few producing components for these cars. sooo the word is monopoly… the components are expensive just because that they are he only ones capable of procuding the parts here in Malaysia… and to import costs more…. and maybe proton was forced to sign contracts legaly binding them to take supplies form these companies for years to come at a fixed price…. When other manufacturers lower thier prices… proton could not…

For export cars… the resrtictions on quality is more strict and higher… means proton would have to use more expensive material and stuff to satisfy this regulation…. question… who pays the extra cost?? WE DO…. the local buyers…..I heard (not confirmed) in S'pore, GEN 2 comes with full leather and 17 inch Advan rims…. OEM…

• yusgen2 on Oct 20, 2005 at 10:58 pm

altil.city.vios.habis dah aku ratah..cayalah gen2….220kmj.peehhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.apa mau cerita.

• yusgen2 on Oct 20, 2005 at 11:01 pm

kalau nak test datanglah sepang on weekend.meh tengok kehebatan gen2…

• What about the price of proton in Singapore, even WIRA cost $80,000. I am sure gen 2 cost more?

• afzanizan on Dec 03, 2005 at 7:01 pm

when i look interior design of gen2, oh, what a bad thins, a lot of plastic material….but i still bought bacause i just can afford for it…..but is still sastify with their engine and performance….after one year i'm thinking to replace that car with imported car…i look for hyundai getz…(dalam dia pun a lot of plastic material, baik lagi gen2)…..chevrolet (dalam dia jauh ok gen2)….picanto (macam hitler je…dalam dia baik lagi gen2)….spectra( interior si better than gen2, but gen2 performance is better than spectra… honda jazz ( very cute but too small, but i'm still thinking to take it)….

• Gelas on Dec 07, 2005 at 12:39 am

Japan could never made a good car if their citizen has the same mindset as most malaysian ..

remember old Datsun, Nissan etc.., performance and look like kereta lembu, but if you said that to a japanese, perhaps you kena penampar jepun ..

to me, proton did a good job with gen2 .. minor2 problem, other cars also have lahh .. it just that many people drive proton car, that's why the scope of problem look big enough for you to fire proton ..

about the price, I don't think its that expensive .. and remember, tax generate income, by having higher tax rate for imported car, not only it protect proton, also it generate income to our country ..Remember, Malaysia are developed country, not like USA, Japan lah ..

to me, if you want to change proton .. you simply can't .. but you can change yourself .. perhaps if everybody changed their mindset, be more supportive, provided CONSTRUCTIVE input .. not fire-fire, maybe there will be changes in proton .. if not, don't mimpi having proton with quality of honda ..

Thank you ..

currently driving proton waja, and looking forward to change to Proton Gen2 Highline ..

• infinity on Jan 04, 2006 at 8:17 am

how to make a car shinny like tat ar??

• Hi guys. I want buy for new Gen 2 1.3 soon. So can u guys tell me more about gen 2. Actually I wonder if the quality not what i think. Especially the air noise from the window when the car is running. Please… TQ

• daniel (Member) on Jan 31, 2006 at 10:11 pm

aza,

i just bought a new gen2 1.3L, my advice is, if u r looking for a performance car, this is not your choice, but city drive(sometime outstation), is kind of enjoy!

i do like the car alot, and i'm not those people like to speed car, and i'm quite comfortable with the power(1.3 auto, what u expect bro.. :>)

i don't feel any noise from the window when the car is running, and i do comfortable with the sound prove too.

if really wanna pin point any disavantage of the car, i do willing that the car come with reverse sensor and cd player.. that's all!

when i'm doing reverse parking, i look like stupid, coz is kind of difficurt to justify how "long" is the real, so reverse sensor for me is a must additional device.

i do hope i can answer your question, if you have any future question to ask(if i know how to answer u, please email me, [email protected])

cheer brother!!!

• Seanooi (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 4:16 am

wow..all R3 edition so nice…i thinking ti have 1 savvy R3….!!!! so nice!!!

• SY0H (Member) on May 15, 2008 at 12:17 pm

Asalamualaikum/Hello

I QUOTE from:
    Adan said,

July 14, 2005 @ 8:11 pm

Best part with the R3 concept, you don’t need to buy the Gen-2 R3 to be a R3. Proton R3 had completed the bolt-on items which is priced nicely for the Gen-2. For a budget of RM3500.00 give and take:

1) 1/2 Race Cams + Siemens upgraded comp.box for will increase 11HP
    2) High-end silicone s/plug wires increases 3 HP
    3) Mandrel bent 4-2-1 extractors increases 6HP
    4) Performance Back-box increases another 6HP

That’ll increases the Gen2 horses to a 136HP and add another

5) Bolt on K&N open pod air filter will increase 4HP
    6) High-end performance s/plugs 1HP

Wahhh, the way you explain mesmerize me, it’s like playing online-games such as WarCraft and Final Fantasy where you buy this magic potions and it will increase your Stamina, Strength (measured in HP), Intelligence and et-cetera.

Furthermore, the first post by “edw” is absolutely right; the girls are prettier than the car. Haha.