Comments are moderated.

The comments on my blog are becoming too much of a sore to the eyes for me not to do anything about it anymore.

I am sick and tired of watching people engage in mindless cheap shots at each other just because they disagree with the other’s opinion.

Opinions are opinions and everyone is allowed to have one. I’ve pleaded many times for my readers to argue constructively, and when needed to, agree to disagree.

I didn’t want to do this but now I am forced to. From now on, each and every comment will have to be approved by me first, until I change my mind. Maybe until things cool down. Personal attacks and anything else unrelated to the blog’s topic will not be accepted.

Update: As per a reader’s suggestion, I’m going to try to force registration and login to comment instead of moderating everything outright. Please please PLEASE do not abuse the discussion function of my blog. I have a life, and I don’t want to spend my whole day moderating your comments to keep this place a pleasant read for everyone else. If you want to pick fights or be obnoxious, go to a bar, get drunk and punch the ugliest person you see.

Register here for commenting.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wonderer on Jan 10, 2006 at 12:00 am

Paul, I aggre with you !

• pycazu on Jan 10, 2006 at 12:13 am

Yup, most of the ppl would feel annoying of those extreme personal attack comments, I'll put up my hand to support your decision. But, why not in the way of registered user only allowed to post comments as suggested. U can choose to ban those unscrupulous posters.

This may slow down the response as you have to check n approve every comments, isn't…

• XANAVI Inspired on Jan 10, 2006 at 12:17 am

AMEN to that Paul.

• Jake (Member) on Jan 10, 2006 at 12:32 am

this is your blog, do as you wish,

happy new year 2006

• stevarac (Member) on Jan 10, 2006 at 12:38 am

Paul ,

I understand your frustation but I got to agree to with Pycazu. Just delete off those that you deemed offensive. It will save time. But then , it is your blog , it's your say.

• revver (Member) on Jan 10, 2006 at 12:40 am

sori paul but i had tried not to use any 4 letters word inside my comment. somehow there are a few pest which keep on provoking me to do so. anyhow i do support and respect your decision. may this be the best blog for wheeler.

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 10, 2006 at 12:54 am

i think u took a correct step in doin this, because the bashing was becoming really annoying…

• gegaoff Max (Member) on Jan 10, 2006 at 1:13 am

hi hi, i register. to show some support. :D

how about only register user can view the blog's comment?

anyway, look forward to have good news from this blog in 2006 also. :D

cheers…

• gepochai (Member) on Jan 10, 2006 at 1:27 am

agree!!! thank you paul! peace to all! appreciate and respect the freedom we have!

• homer (Member) on Jan 10, 2006 at 2:42 am

agreed..although sometimes i find it kinda funny.

• jimmychew (Member) on Jan 10, 2006 at 3:48 am

It is not an easy job for a forum/blog owner and care must be exercised to ensure the forum/blog is not abused. Flames are destructive, and much of the attention to the issue at hand simply disappears. Over time, the subject becomes personal. After reading those, one seems to be lost what was the original post about. What a shame!

Having said that, it is high time comments are reviewed before posting.

• Francis89 (Member) on Jan 10, 2006 at 4:10 am

That's why there's a LAW in this world to control human's action…

• Jason (Member) on Jan 10, 2006 at 4:14 am

Making people register is a better idea. Reviewing each comment is too much work.

• narrowband (Member) on Jan 10, 2006 at 4:28 am

Kudos to you. Wise move.

• timmyboy (Member) on Jan 10, 2006 at 5:27 am

Hi everyone! i have been followin this blog for a while now n i must say it's one of the best CAr sites any MALAYSIAN could ask for..great work PAUL..

it's true many unwanted things were said…but finally we could see MALAYSIAN express it out! *lol however reckon this will put a limit to it..well done..n well thought!..

• Andrewhtf (Member) on Jan 10, 2006 at 5:56 am

well… i guess u have read my letter to u… good riddance of some trouble makers… finally i can read ur blog in peace, paul… anyway i know it must be hard for u, but for the sake of other readers, some monkeys had to be sacrificed… nice job done, paul… i morally support u all the way!

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Jan 10, 2006 at 6:13 am

Good job Paul… but i guess it wont be long before some brainless maniacs comes back… while u can ban their username, well, they'll just create a new login a post away scott free once again… guess we'll never be able to totally get rid of them…

• holy_cow (Member) on Jan 10, 2006 at 7:06 am

If you want to pick fights or be obnoxious, go to a bar, get drunk and punch the ugliest person you see.

Hey, that's not fair, Paul?! You trying to get me killed or what? What the hell did I ever do to you?

:-)

Seriously, though, you've been the most patient and even-handed of Malaysian bloggers I've come across so far. Always making sense, with never a hint of the god complex that gets so prevalent amongst other bloggers. You're doing a brilliant job, and I'm behind you 100%.

• yhtan (Member) on Jan 10, 2006 at 7:08 am

Good job paul,

otherwise those people will keep on spamming in your website!

• Isamu (Member) on Jan 10, 2006 at 10:12 am

Brilliant, Paul..!! Registration will to some extent prevent half-baked nonsensical comments from being added to each of your great blog. Why don't you add a bold entry to the top of the blog or after the "Leave a Comment" line urging/warning people to comment responsibly? Afterall MAYBE some people might still have the devil-may-care attitude.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jan 10, 2006 at 9:44 pm

well, this move will certainly reduce tons of traffic. It defeats the main attraction this site had, in difference with other so-called-forums; this site had the convenience of dropping down a message, wait for other's reply, totally the same as a forum, which worked in the blog way.

Nevertheless i've registered. I'm previously, the new Bob.

Happy new year.

• Paul Tan on Jan 10, 2006 at 9:46 pm

ingolstadt: is registering once that hard to do? the comments are not moderated if you are registered, they appear instantly.

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Jan 10, 2006 at 11:44 pm

so how does that stop shaymen and param from continuing to spam here?

• shooter (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 2:06 am

I've been following this space for a while now,and frankly speaking its about time, you have a good thing going on here Paul, lets keep that way.

• marmitecrab (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 2:44 am

I've commented on this topic before and my stand is still the same. Paul, you need to see why your site is so popular. There are many die-hard fans who log in and post comments and you can see the passion in them. There are some really good contributors who make really good quality comments and you'll know they are the ones we look out for.

This is a good site to learn things about the automotive industry and I'm sure many will agree with me. I've just completed my Masters and the automotive industry is one of the topics we study. Well, guess where I learnt most of the "insider" stuff?

It's just a few rotten ones who really spoil the whole lot. I'm not saying I never did anything to raise any eyebrows before but that's the point of it. I feel that this site is the best forum not only for discussion but to bring out the best (and worst) in people. My point is, if you really feel passionate about something, then defend it. I'd love nothing better than a good verbal spar (in this case, typing spar).

The thing that endured so many to this site is the interesting, sometimes humorous and often infuriating things people say. So I get enlightened, tickled and angered at the same time. Show me a site or medium that can do that all at once (not including TV and cinema, please). What I'm trying to say is that this site gives me more than what I can ask for and it's exactly that which keeps people coming back for more.

Do what you feel is necessary to keep people in line but also bear this in mind, you got a good thing going here. Don't let a few bad seeds spoil the whole crop.

Keep the faith.

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 5:10 am

Nobody cares about threats over the internet. Don't try to act hard with the keyboard…that's so sad. unless you actually physically beat someone with the keyboard. then thats ironically hilarious.

• SEE FU (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 2:56 pm

Hei Paul you did the right thing! I FULLY agreed and SUpport YOU!

I was stopped commenting on your blog recently, first Due to busy Second Due to Some ppl out there giving bad words to someone without any reasons.

As I said before, everybody is FREE to give their comment and voice up your own point of view but must not Mis-use the FREEDOM. As you all might be or not know that I'm the kind of JOKER …..like to make fun on my comment but you all NO need to take it seriously RIGHTS!?

Couldn't understand ……Why Forced Paul to use the LAST MOVE like this…..really YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!!

• pycazu (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 6:11 pm

Hi Paul, I'm the one pick up my hand to support this final move, but i'm at the same time the "victim" of inconvenience also. I registered long ago, but I found that the WordPress may have some bugs to login and leave the comments. I've tried log-in several times to comment on the 2006 Civic spyshot but it kept asking me to log-in again. But I can put my comment if click on the previous or next post link. What's wrong on the newest post – 2006 Civic? Why???

OK, I'm the one fond on the Civic design, always… But look at my pocket, it's too shame to go for it, sigh…

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 6:28 pm

actually i felt alot more comfortable reading the comments here after not seeing that 2 (or one) monkey(s) spamming here… way to go paul… u did the right thing!

• Paul Tan on Jan 11, 2006 at 7:02 pm

pycazu: can you try pressing CTRL+F5 to force refresh the post page?

• waimak (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 7:06 pm

Well Paul, you're the host, I'm just a guest here, and I want to stay, longer…

Agree with the house rules.

• assimo (Member) on Jan 12, 2006 at 12:55 am

thanks Mr Paul,now i can log in and join the blog…thanks again and i hope no more posting from somebody that make me sick…..

• honda_driver (Member) on Jan 12, 2006 at 4:29 pm

All the best paul, i guess all things have to change and adapt. Hope things improve overall and that the community grows in a positive manner.

cheers.

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 4:50 am

hmmm… guys, the spamming duo are back…

• eCUN (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 3:49 am

Paul, finally you're accepting the password idea… congrats… havoc isn't it with free posting when somebody don't respect others…

I was stopped posting recently because of fire fighting issue… and I can't finish reading as well… too long and the thing is repeated again and again… ahhh… just forget it…

Now it's even better than before… not even hundred postings… well done Paul…

• Abu (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 3:07 pm

SEE FU Good to see you again ~~~ Yea it only took me 2 minutes 34 seconds to register myself + getting the password…well its good that maintaining ur profile is not necessary…Geez who's tat so call shaymen and param??? Damn been bz with jobs and got spinned by my SAP system knn…and not been follow up closely on wat happened here…neverthless its always great to have some first hand info on cars, cards and cunts (SEE FU's delight) :P … Good to enforce and keep this ongoing ~~~~~

SEE FU: YAO MOU GAO…………CHOR !!!! (TM)

• pycazu (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 6:57 pm

OK, thanks Paul, I managed to post it… and learned a new thing.

• SEE FU (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 8:39 pm

abu arrr!!

Wishing you a GONG XI FA CHAI!!!

ANG POW like the recent USA TWISTER…..GUNG GUNG LAI~~~~~!!!

Good to see you again TOO!

Paul arr!! When is your BLOG new year EVE?

Shutdown for how many days!!?? I will balik kampung loh!! :P (2 weeks holidays) GONG XI GONG XI!!

YAU MOU GAU ….CHOR!!! CHeers! :)