Volkswagen Polo GTI Cup Edition

polocup1.jpg

There is this junior race series organised by ADAC called the Volkswagen Polo Cup, where young and talented drivers race using a single model – the Volkswagen Polo GTI. Boatsing a 1.8 litre turbocharged engine, it makes 150 PS in stock form. This is a special edition of the Volkswagen Polo GTI named after ADAC’s race – the Volkswagen Polo GTI Cup Edition. It has it’s 1.8 litre 20 valve inline-4 engine boosted up to 180 PS, with a max torque figure of 235Nm from a very low 2000rpm. 0-100km/h takes 7.5 seconds, up to a top speed of 225km/h.

While this is all very nice, I’m wondering when the Polo will get the TSI 1.4 litre engine, or the recently announced new 1.8 litre FSI Turbo engine which makes 160 horses in stock form as opposed to this non-FSI engine’s 150 horses. It’s platform sharing sibling the Skoda Fabia will receive a new facelift soon, so perhaps the Polo will receive an update later as well. I wish I had the opportunity to test a more powerful Polo/Fabia one day, as the car has a pretty solid chassis and I envision 150 horses in that thing could be very fun.

More photos after the jump.

polocup2.jpg

polocup3.jpg

polocup4.jpg

polocup5.jpg

polocup6.jpg

polocup7.jpg

polocup8.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 5:19 pm

I want one!!!

• lowprofile (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 5:29 pm

too bad the polo we get here is still the old one and at a ridiculous price too. perhaps they should consider bringing in the fox which is positioned lower than the polo? hmmm, maybe assemble it here too for the region and that would make good economic sense.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 5:49 pm

VW is considering local assembly of their cars but no firm decisions yet. I really like this car's looks. Sao pei la, Proton Savvy!

• transformer (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 5:56 pm

this is what a CAR should look like…

this is what a CAR should perform!

INSIDE OUT DAMN SEXY!

but in BOLEHLAND, we just DREAMS ON…..

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 10:46 pm

wah this car can potong sawi……..

• ed0r (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 11:02 pm

transformer,

i agree with your first 3 sentences

and i agree with your last sentence too lol

*sighs* later people

• notorpkcuf (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 11:08 pm

"lowprofile: …too bad the polo we get here is still the old one and at a ridiculous price too…"

The Polo being sold here by VW Malaysia IS THE LATEST facelifted model currently sold in Europe. And another thing, I dun hear many ppl complaining that the Honda Jazz (CBU Thailand) at Rm100k++ as being overpriced??

• drM (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 1:42 am

Hey, WV got it with Mark V Golf GTI quite sometime ago. but I dont think WV can 'GTI-ed' every model, right? although this is a Polo, but I still look it as the Golf GTI with smaller size. bit smaller I guess.

I dont think we can 'GTI-ed' every car, everytime…

• aesthari (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 1:49 am

The rear lamps look cute, it's as if the car's staring at you with wide eyes! It's sad that while these cars are affordable to many in other nations, we have to be pretty well-to-do to own one of these beauties.

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 2:22 am

wait a while longer. the new golf is coming out soon.

and people are still on 6 month -1 year waiting list for the golf gti.

• notorpkcuf (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 3:00 am

"topgunthang: wait a while longer. the new golf is coming out soon.

and people are still on 6 month -1 year waiting list for the golf gti."

An average Golf Mk has 8-10 yr life span (dun count face lift lar)

Mk1 – 1974-1983

Mk2 – 1983-1992

Mk3 – 1991-1999

Mk4 – 1997-present

Mk5 – 2004-present

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 03, 2006 at 11:27 am

sorry….read the news from an australian motoring site….

they are indeed replacing the golf mk5 in mid or later 2008. citing suspension changes and cost cutting. and yes they have mentioned the mk5 will have a short life but promised the new golf will perform better even with cost cutting involved.

im quite sure about that coz i was considering to buy one.

• Romaunt (Member) on Dec 03, 2006 at 12:45 pm

sweet ride..

better than golf in terms of looks

• acbc (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 12:33 am

This is what Proton Savvy should look like if VW has control over Proton!