2008 Honda Accord Sedan Spyshot

accord sedanThe Toyota Camry is in for some serious competition soon. Soon after the latest minor model change facelift, the next generation Honda Accord is already going on test routes in the USA. It shares a similiar front to the Honda Accord Coupe Concept, but with 4-doors of course.

Fat, square, boxy, and VIP-looking. A hint of the BMW 5-series there too. Looks quite nice really. Click on the image on the left to view the full spyshots.

No news of when the new Honda Accord Sedan will be launched in Malaysia, or worldwide even, as the latest facelift has just been launched. We might be looking at the end of 2008 or beginning of 2009.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 10:13 am

nice looking car, i hope that will give serious competition to toyota. it has a bit of honda euro looks

• NiceCar (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 3:27 pm

more euro design look..

hopefully this all new accord can bit the camry..

• normaluser (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 3:41 pm

When a new Accord is launched, it always comes out sportier than the latest Camry on the market. The rear light has some of Acura RL DNA. The front design has the same design concept with the Stream. From side point of view, you may notice that the C-pillar is similiar to BMW designed cars. Overall, its OK but not revolutionary nor striking.

• happymeal (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 4:29 pm

C pillar similar to BMW? nnnaahh.. think it looks more from mazda3….

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 4:41 pm

Lol…..the new accord ends up looking like a Sonata NF…..

I like the present design, especially with the 06 Rear end. The 08 version will end up looking even more conservative..not exactly a good thing…but it being a Honda, will sell well nonetheless.

I wonder why TC Nissan wont bring in the Altima instead of the Teana.

• moha774 (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 4:42 pm

That front design looks just like Hyundai…boot lids and bumper design just doesn't look right for a coupe…

• moha774 (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 4:46 pm

Tht front looks just like a Hyundai ….. and the boot just not impressive enough

• sxe10r (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 5:00 pm

The front looks T. camry & the rear looks like the BMW 7series MIX blood ??!! but the accord too fast to product the new model ….. almost not enought 1 year it will design new model … too fast man …

• ab (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 5:02 pm

r u sure that is an accord? doesn't look like a honda, more like a camry or phaeton

• hondadriver (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 6:28 pm

strange, doesn't seem to have any "honda DNA" at all, unlike what is seen clearly in the CRV, civic, oydssey and stream.

sxe10r : please take your proton bashing rubbish elsewhere.

• KL-ATR (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 6:46 pm

I find it funny how so many seem to have forgotten that Koreans have a long history of copying popular Japanese designs. I think the current Hyundai Sonata has more than a passing resemblance to the pre-facelift Accord. So, to even think that Honda mimics Korean designs is almost insulting. Today, Honda has 3 Design Studios in California, including Italy, Germany and Japan of course.

If one were to dig into Honda's design DNA, I personally think this Accord has more links to the Legend. Chunky and muscular, a nice upgrade to the current model, which had a bad facelift.

• tokmoh (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 6:56 pm

The eyes certainly look like the previous gen. Accord, or the current Sonata, wtf? Honda wants do adapt retro style to their models now?

• tokmoh (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 7:13 pm

I just noticed another thing, the 3rd brake light looks like the normal bulb type, wtf? LED is the way to go!! Honda still wanna go backwards or what?

Even the current Civic is still using normal bulb light, while even the ancient Saga got LED. Shame Honda…..

• kei9 (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 11:03 pm

tokmoh…….saga got LEDs? well….why cant i see one then?

• sxe10r (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 11:28 pm

hondadriver said,

May 15, 2007 @ 10:28 am

strange, doesn’t seem to have any “honda DNA” at all, unlike what is seen clearly in the CRV, civic, oydssey and stream.

sxe10r : please take your proton bashing rubbish elsewhere

hondadriver : if not where to bashing ?? only at front of other brand can bashing …. if not bashing at proton club forums ?? u r nuts

• kei9 (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 11:37 pm

keep it down man………..try to keep each other respective……u can commen twateva u want but keep it subtile…ok!

• motherker (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 11:59 pm

speaking of sagas n leds..lol… ask urself tokmoh..will that ever happen??

lol… you should know that there's something called brains which you should possess before commenting blindly..

• longjaafar (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 12:31 am

I notice some very aggressive comments, such as accusing others of not having brains, etc.

Come on,lah! It's a matter of opinion, and we should learn to respect each other to make this forum enjoyable and friendly.

• layman (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 12:35 am

What is so special about LED light ? It looks cheap, even a 'Cup Chai' has a LED light for long time already.

• hondadriver (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 1:35 am

sxe10r: the moderator has deleted your earlier comments, so maybe i'm not the only one here who is nuts as you claim.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 2:02 am

KL-ATR

The 2nd Gen Legend is an awesome looking car, especially the coupe. I had the honour of owning one for a year with the 3.2L V6 6 speed manual.

That was before Honda cars got bloated….c/o the American market.

Whats so insulting to say a Honda ends up looking like a Hyundai? Its a competitive field out there, eventually everyone ends up looking like each other. there are only so many ways you can design a headlamp…etc….

Given the market's perception of an Accord being a luxury car, they should just have brought the better looking Acura TL and the smaller TSX (Euro Accord – which would be a problem because the new civic dwafts it) instead.

• Charger (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 2:03 am

It has lost the Honda's touch in it. *tsk tsk tsk*

Trying too hard perhaps?

• nmh (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 2:47 am

It has hofmeister kink at c-pilar

• floyd (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 5:41 am

look sportier than the all new camry to me.

but launching in 2008? thats one year lagging. By then camry would have well recovered its production cost and suck all the juice out. Will it sell RM140k? RM150k?

Honda can never catch up with toyota. But UMWT? sux!

• aesthari (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 6:54 am

Nice and more executive looking, probably because of the grill, but I think Honda might lose younger customers this way, since the car looks more uncle-ish now.

• mystvearn (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 7:39 am

Did honda just copied the Hyundai Azera. It looks a lot like it. Almost same front profile, and back profile. Well have to wait right…Expected here 2009?

• McQueen_CARz (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 8:15 am

New Accord does not turn me ON!!!

It seems like Honda has no idea how to compete with Toyota in term stylish..

New Accord totally a failure to compete with present Toyota Camry… But Civic managed to cannibalize Altis…

Im not pro Toyota… but seems present Camry so mascular and macho..

By the way, is the new look of all car manufacturers are back to squarish (ke-kotak-kan)?? All car manufacturers are duplicating BMW… boring… This year and next will be BMW era…. New S class following BMW concept…

• KL-ATR (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 7:43 pm

4G63T DSM

What I was trying to say was Hyundai started off copying Honda designs but there are so many accusing Honda of looking like Hyundai now, forgetting who's copying who. It's like accusing Macintosh of looking like Windows Vista. Or saying that the new RAV4 looks like a Cherry. Get my point?

I agree that Legend was a sweet ride. Too bad the roadtax here narrows the opportunity of owning large cc cars. As I get older, a 3L V6 sure is more appealing than a 2L turbo. ;)

• tokmoh (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 10:54 pm

#

kei9 said,

May 15, 2007 @ 3:03 pm

tokmoh…….saga got LEDs? well….why cant i see one then?

———————————————

I'm pretty confident the 3rd brake light is LED. It definitely looks brighter n lights faster than the red lights which uses normal bulb. Unlike the Honda Civic, u'll see the 3rd brake light is using normal bulb.

P2 is kinda strange wit the Myvi. Usually, car manufacturers use 3rd brake light as LED (like most Proton n low-end Europeans), bt Myvi is the other way round!! Why's Myvi's 3rd brake light normal bulb, bt the normal red lights are LED? Sounds silly to me….they could've saved $$ by using oni 1 type of light for the red lights instead of both!!

================================

#

layman said,

May 15, 2007 @ 4:35 pm

What is so special about LED light ? It looks cheap, even a ‘Cup Chai’ has a LED light for long time already.

———————————————

LED is theoretically cheaper, more stable cuz lower voltage required, brighter, shines faster, lasts longer, blabla. In short, there's hardly anything that the LED is inferior to the normal bulb, short-term or long-term.

Strangely, the Gen2's LED cost RM700, that's expensive!! And some say it's not reliable cuz it's Taiwan-made. Go figure……

• HONDA FANZ (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 11:15 pm

Hmm Honda Accord 2008 …. Do shares lotz of similarity to All NEW HYUNDAI SONATA … sure do.. at front of the car design of course.. I dun und why Honda does not come up wit a better design … or maybe becuz of itz unwilling to dare take challenge !!! TOYOTA CAMRY is far more superior den THIS new Accord …not overall but slightly better in terms of class and rival … Honda should have itz design MORE FUTURISTIC like what it had succeded on HONDA CIVIC ….wich far more outrage den number of carz and perfectly design tough !!! I do hope that the Thai's would change the design of The Accord when its assemble there ….DO MAKE THE FRONT DESIGN MORE PERFECT AND FUTURISTIC … I do hope it would like The local Thailand assemble CAMRY which is much more Better in terms of design !!! THE NEW 2008 ACCORD do look nice case at the rear design I really applause for that… BUT THE FRONT END NEED LOTZ AND I MEAN LOTZ OF IMPROVEMENT

….THEN THE POWER OF DREAMS Honda's LOGO WOULD be more realistic to many others…

• TESTDRIVER (Member) on Apr 07, 2008 at 7:35 pm

Yap , many of my friend agree that first look of the front takes up new sonata + some BWM too at the back. I think Honda designers need to do better as this is not what expected in the outlook as HONDA suppose to be.

Anyway interior look better than camry and sonata. But then I heard more new cars like nissan,peugeot, mazda also look good in thier new designs.

So watch out HONDA and take care your price competativeness ! I was quite stunt with sonata look and price !! Lets see what we could get from HONDA coming Mid April !