Detroit: Honda Accord Coupe Concept

accord_coupe_detroit_1.jpg

After teasing us with concept drawings back in early December 2006, Honda unveiled it’s Honda Accord Coupe Concept at the Detroit Motor Show 2006. The Honda Accord Coupe Concept carries Honda’s new trapezoidal grille on it’s nose. This new grille style first appeared on the new Honda Stream, and then a variation of it appeared on the new 3rd generation Honda CR-V. Concept drawings of the upcoming Honda Jazz/Honda Fit also show this new grille, and with the Honda Accord Coupe Concept, it makes it’s first appearance on a sedan.

I’m not sure about you, but to me the new Honda Accord Coupe Concept reeks of Audi design language in it’s styling, which isn’t a bad thing at all as I think Audis look really really good. The concept does not have an overly busy design that concepts usually have, indicating that the production version of the 8th generation Honda Accord Coupe might look very much like this, with toned down light cluster designs perhaps.

For this concept, Honda employed a 3.0 litre V6 with Variable Cylinder Management (VCM) technology which shuts off 3 cylinders during low load operations. It also has an ACE body structure – Advanced Compatibility Engineering(TM), a front-end structure that helps absorb and disperse crash energy over a large area in frontal impact.

Enjoy more photos and a video after the jump.

accord_coupe_detroit_2.jpg

accord_coupe_detroit_3.jpg

accord_coupe_detroit_4.jpg

accordcoupeconcepttttt.jpg

accord_coupe_detroit_5.jpg

accord_coupe_detroit_6.jpg

accord_coupe_detroit_7.jpg

Video: Honda Accord Coupe Concept

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• motherker (Member) on Jan 14, 2007 at 11:39 pm

wow!! im d 1st one here…LOLx!

damn nice coupe…

hope honda msia brings it down ere to bolehland..

haha!

n paul, can u explain a lil bit more abt the VCM tech in the engine?

means, theres no more vtec izzit?

• i'm run (Member) on Jan 14, 2007 at 11:41 pm

Damn nice laa.. hope that the new Honda Accord sedan will also look like this.

• Paul Tan on Jan 14, 2007 at 11:53 pm

for vcm, pls refer to:

http://paultan.org/archives/2006/01/17/hondas-var…

• albagmane (Member) on Jan 15, 2007 at 12:42 am

hmm… i wonder later when its on production, whether honda will divide the design into 2… such as asian version and us version, which is like wat we have currently for the civic… i think this design is very nice and with kinda bit evo10's sharp-look headlights…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 15, 2007 at 12:46 am

ya da rear is plain audi bt the front reminds of the new volvos,x70 n so on…specially the nose…bt again it has a hint of the audi R8 oso…the vcm is actually not a new tech,as far as i know,in america it has been used for some time now….not sure which engine though bt its under GM…or maybe the hemi…need to check

• Charger (Member) on Jan 15, 2007 at 6:16 am

Was it normal or the car is too lame? No one even bother to clap or cheer?

• umarss (Member) on Jan 15, 2007 at 6:31 am

Was it normal or the car is too lame? No one even bother to clap or cheer?(Charger)

i think it was both.seriously, looks like a concept design in the late 90-s. I think probably they wanted to design it to look as close as possible to the production model. but then, whats the point of calling it a CONCEPT??!!

• armandd (Member) on Jan 15, 2007 at 6:37 am

looks wierd..

• Initial D (Member) on Jan 15, 2007 at 6:44 am

why nowadays the design for the frontal area of the car is gettin shorter and shorter? wonder one day there wont be any "nose" on a car……….

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Jan 15, 2007 at 6:44 am

I got confused

Or I guess it's a norm these days that thngs are look-alike

The first front pic, as first glance, like Evo-X

Then from the side, look like up and coming Nissan GTR

The back, errrr, anybody has any idea?

Anyway, it does looks sleekkkkkkk

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Jan 15, 2007 at 6:45 am

Paul, feed us more from Detroit 2007,K?

Thanks in adavnce

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Jan 15, 2007 at 7:38 am

FAIL.. looks too american to me.. eew.. front view looks.. so uninspiring.. Pls pray that the saloon would not follow the design cues.

• aesthari (Member) on Jan 15, 2007 at 8:15 am

Very nice and true to the concept drawing, though i must say I'm a little bit disappointed the car is not as wide as that in the drawing hehe. Front looks very Camry-ish.

• DtG (Member) on Jan 15, 2007 at 8:19 am

Quite a nice looking car, it has a Sonata front…

• shooter (Member) on Jan 15, 2007 at 9:01 am

the 'face' looks sharp enough but it's a bit plain. however you guys gotta admit the overall appearence is sleek aggression, and there is that 'audi-ness' in the design, facinating stuff. I'm hoping it's the same for the interior design and quality. now then, if they could just make it rear-drive…….

• mits27 (Member) on Jan 15, 2007 at 12:00 pm

It feels like more acura look mix with G350 coupe together.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jan 15, 2007 at 1:49 pm

Does anyone see an Audi TT inspired design in this Honda Accord Coupe like I do?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 15, 2007 at 7:43 pm

Gallardo1988 said,

January 14, 2007 @ 11:38 pm

FAIL.. looks too american to me.. eew.. front view looks.. so uninspiring.. Pls pray that the saloon would not follow the design cues.

It is American , And so is our current Accord. Your point then? Only Americans have a good appetite and excess for big coupes. So of course its designed for the demographic.

As per most cars, you have to see in in person to appreciate. The current accord coupe looks nice in pictures but in person, it looks a little off in proportions. This new concept looks better balanced although it does look weird in pictures. Still looks a little nose heavy, and yes, it does look Audi'ish.

OT : Another nice coupe on the Show was the Altima Coupe, kind of a FF version of the G35 Coupe/Skyline. It would be the Accord Coupe's direct competitor since the Solara is getting long in the tooth and the G6 is not selling to expectations.

As for the Cyc Shutdown feature, its actually been first used on GM's 4-6-8 Caddilac in the 80s. Its a V8 that can run on 4, 6 or 8 cycs on demand. Not very reliable but for a "first time out" try, not bad.

The Chrysler Hemis (not GM) can shut off 1 bank (4 cyc) of its V8. Even Honda has been using cyc shut off in the Honda V6 Hybrid Accord and Oddysey Minivans for the past 2 years.

Cyc shutdown can be more easily deployed with the onset of electrical valve actuation.

• bummerboy (Member) on Jan 16, 2007 at 1:24 am

actually, looks like a LEXUS. Honda has boring designers now.

• dawgHause (Member) on Jan 16, 2007 at 2:03 am

yawn…

the front is definately reminiscent of the volvo s40. i can see the audi TT-ness in the rear pillars, rear wheel well and boot length dimensions.

the only people in the whole world who knows how to make a concept car, annoyingly, are the creators of the concept car idea, the americans.

• protonGL (Member) on Jan 16, 2007 at 2:32 am

—average—-

need something 'distinguished'

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Jan 16, 2007 at 2:53 am

4G63T DSM

I am aware that the accord we have now is catered for the american market.. hence the difference in size when compared the the euro version.. but it still looks unique in its own way.. my opinion is that.. the coupe concept looks a little too muscle-ish.. Atleast the current one looks.. like a honda. Thats my point.. looks too american. =)..

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 16, 2007 at 4:40 am

exhaust inside body, nice:D

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Jan 16, 2007 at 6:50 am

New image, with trapezoidal grille. The Jap want to follow as continental concept, Merc with star, nostril of BMW…and so on. Futhermore, it's combine of Audi, Ford (Falcon), Bently…. mix it to be like this. I can't deny this is a good looking car. This how a Proton Putra replacement model should be. So what, Honda copy the continental, Proton copy the japanese. It's a deal right? Go on la, make new model like this, Putra PRM. Orait geng?

• normal_user (Member) on Jan 16, 2007 at 3:39 pm

it would look better if u guys see it live. only then can say beautiful or not.

• mpls2007 (Member) on Jan 26, 2007 at 6:11 am

Actually I think the front looks like the Lexus IS250.

It does not look like an Audi.. Audis look like jaoanese cars nowadays especially Lexus and Honda, the same with BMW.. take away the BMW grille at thr front, what is left is a a Honda, Mazda, Toyota.. In the past people would say that the Japs were aping European.design now, its the other way around.. Just look at the new Audi TT.. it looks a like an old design of some japanese sports car.. sort oif like.. been there. done that..

• mpls2007 (Member) on Jan 26, 2007 at 6:12 am

The new Accord has a nice front but the back looks terrible..