New locally assembled Kia Sportage launched

Kia Sportage

As previously reported, Naza has unveiled a locally assembled version of the Kia Sportage. One suprise that might come to some is that Naza has kept the Kia badge on this one, unlike it’s previous moves rebadging the Carnival, Sorento and Picanto as the Naza Ria, Naza Sorento and Naza Suria respectively.

This leads me to believe Naza might be changing it’s marketing strategy for its locally assembled Kia cars, or perhaps it is a licensing issue, or perhaps some models will always remain a Kia, locally assembled or not.

The new locally assembled Kia Sportage features a 2.0 litre DOHC CVVT (Continuously Variable Valve Timing) engine making 142 PS at 6,000rpm and 184Nm of torque at 4,500rpm mated to a 4-speed Shiftronic automatic gearbox. It’s 4WD system is Kia’s Active Torque Transfer 4WD with manual override.

Wheels are 16 inch split-spoke alloys, and other specs include reverse sensors, chrome inner dor handles, dual SRS airbags, antilock brakes, traction contol, a Saturn Black interior with metal grain trim, an MP3-capable 2-DIN head unit with both USB and AUX input matched to a 6-speaker system, a trip computer, real aluminium trim assist grip, fog lamps, as well as signal lamps on the wing mirrors.

It’s available in four colours – Smart Blue, Satin Silver, Black Cherry and Natural Olive. The Kia Sportage scored 5 Stars on the American NHSTA NCAP crash test.

It goes for RM112,000. Dealers have been taking bookings since mid-April 2007.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 11:35 am

pretty decent value for money there… esp when the Vitara cost rm140k… its even cheaper than a 1.8 Civic..

Hyundai is screwed with their Tuscon… as its pretty much the same car but Tuscon will cost much more…

• NiceCar (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 3:24 pm

X-trial is the winner for the SUV market in m'sia..

hope once the Naza Sportage launch will threaten X-trail sale.. then the Nissan will become more aggressive and having some new models andlatest facelift models..

• ... (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 3:43 pm

I think there are other Kia cars that is locally assembled but still retain Kia badge. The Spectra is one i think.

For RM112K i think it is very value for money, as the new sportage is a very nice car. Will give people who are looking at CRV or X-trail a new choice.

• normaluser (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 4:04 pm

People will be concerned about the interior quality of this car. Its a common perception that locally assembled cars are of poorer quality than the CBU cars.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 4:04 pm

Paul, Not using NAZI badge on Sportage reason is SIMPLE: THEY wanna to SELL higher Price on this model.

Putting NAZI on it, the price wouldn't became RM100k OVER. Should be RM80 to RM90. NAZI wanna to GET more PROFIT. Local THEFT from Nazi.

Sorry you can't made any money from ME, because I don't buy any model from NAZI group. Now and forever.

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 4:15 pm

This car is a stupified version of the Rav4. Sportage are always underpowered, and lack soooooo much torque.

I like what auctioncenter2u said….Don't buy car from NAZI

• mits27 (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 4:43 pm

Very decent price for a SUV and quality of Korean made has been improved in recent year…

• mits27 (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 4:51 pm

Also, it has all the standard safety feature too, not bad…

• Alifz (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 4:59 pm

At last….Naza don't re-badged Kia car anymore.

At least no more further and unfinished quality of further car. Naza proven all the rebadged car from their production always have trouble and breakdown. Most of Naza Citra have problem with alternator, in my cousin case the gearbox out of order, maybe because Naza downgrade the product and produced it at China…

So Naza has learn a lot…or maybe Kia has no more trust to them…

• szw (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 5:28 pm

i would be interested if they sell the turbodiesel here.

• ab (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 5:30 pm

makes the cr-v looks expensive

• moto_moto (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 6:11 pm

A great option for malaysians. agree with auctioncenter2u, its a marketing strategy for not changing the badge and another reason is for higher pricing. Should do the some to bestari too because i show a lot of bestari on the road replaced their Naza badge to Peugeot Harimau. Naza should redesign their badge.to simplier design like perodua/toyota/honda.

• nyawere (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 6:11 pm

guys,

comparing this car to other japanese makes, is like comparing proton with Honda. The engine technology is still very far apart. No doubt, the CRV is overpriced, but it comes with the latest technology offering…

What i want to know is the rationale of putting the price of only RM 8k cheaper than the Sorento. For RM 8k more, you get a commonrail diesel engine with 5 speed auto, leather seats, electric seats, wayyyyy bigger car and a lot more classs….

My opinion is that the Sportage whoud be below RM 100k, or is it just Naza's dirty tricks. After 2 months, start giving big discount….

my 2 cents..!!

• Jay (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 6:54 pm

Good thinking from NazaKia. Yah very affordable indeed.

I think CRV is a good car, but the new design sucks…same goes to X-rail.

Even Naza Ria (2.5) is a solid MPV compared to Estima. I have driven both cars.

Ria is solid, agile, powerful, comfortable, v6 is smooth only the consumption is a bit high. Anyway full tank gives about 350km for city/urban drive. My wira gives the same though in KL traffic / urban as well. So the Ria suits to be your weekend car.

Estima (2.4), not solid as the Ria, the door feels cheap…you can find out from the opening, closing position. comfortable indeed, power wise not as good as the Ria, ride is quiet compare to the Ria, consumption not very great compare to the Ria…slightly better only. Suits to be your weekend car too. But price is high for a used car. New Estimas are expensive ! Ria is way cheaper and you get a new car. I think most Estima owners out there didn't buy it new. Estima has launched their latest model, and yet i do see people with latest number plate on their older Estima.

Anyway the choice is different for every individuals!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 7:12 pm

KIA SPORTAGE is RM112,000 OTR, NAZA SORENTO is RM138,888 OTR. There's a clear difference. SUV like this UNDER RM100k? I think the Japanese can do it because they have a LOT of localised parts. The term 'Local' parts these days under the new policies means that ASEAN content is considered 'Local' so it's VERY possible for Honda to price CR-V at RM88,888 to RM95,000 and still laugh all the way to the bank cos they can source parts from Honda Thailand and Indonesia.

• nyawere (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 7:22 pm

Bro,

Just got a brand new Kia Sorento for RM120K. U can check any KIA dealers.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 7:52 pm

KIA brand? must be CBU stock eh? Sounds like a good deal though.

• One of my friend told me once, buy Kia and you'll see how screwed up your resale value will be.. example, first they brought in a new CBU model – 120K. Then they decided to CKD – 100K. Lastly they rebadge it – 80K. Go figure

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 9:16 pm

The price spread of the Sportage and the Serento is too small to make much sense. The Sorento is one class size bigger, based on a more rugged platform instead of the Sportages, car based platform.

On Top of that, Its no where as nice to drive than the Sonata which is priced at about 100k now. So unless you MUST have it, the Sonata is a better "car", and the Sorento is the better "(4×4) truck". (and again, the RIA is a better "people carrier" at the Sorento price range)

So where does the Sportage fit in? Not very well. Unless there are clear future discounts to be given.

If you look at the sister KIA, thier Citra is now under 80k. Which is even better value for money if you need space and utility, which places the Sportage (and Tuscon sister) in a pretty nasty spot.

• NiceCar (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 11:08 pm

Hey razor_clawzz ,

Kia Sportage engine with 184Nm torque not bad liao lah.. compare to Toyota Rav4, only less 10Nm only mah.. not to say "underpower" lah..

Hey auctioncenter2u,

If u say the Naza is local theft, then how bout the P2?

what a irony if next time u buy the Naza car.. =)

• msmar_453 (Member) on Jul 05, 2007 at 12:06 am

thank god Naza do not intoduce KIA Sportage model 2007.

that new model is sucks!!

• hyundai (Member) on Jul 05, 2007 at 3:16 am

a good car with a nice price! I am waiting for the Cerato now…

• ys (Member) on Jul 05, 2007 at 3:27 am

not sure about you guys but i dont think many malaysian can affort a RM100++K car.

these car is for upper market ppl.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 05, 2007 at 4:16 am

those who can afford a perdana, and want a SUV may go for this one

• s60t (Member) on Jul 05, 2007 at 4:41 am

In response to Jay's comments,probably 80-90% of the estimas on the road are recond models since UMW doesn't import it in.So it wouldn't be fair to compare a recond vehicle to a brand new ria snce the condition of the recond vehicle would vary according to age,usage etc. But generally, I find it hard to believe that a toyota can be of inferior standard compared to a ria? As for the comment that the estima is expensive, the japanese cars will always be more expensive and european marques even more so.

But I echo your last words the choice is individual.

• trustgtr (Member) on Jul 05, 2007 at 8:14 am

actually the reasons for not re badging is that in a license agreement, naza would have to commit to a substantial volume..citra for example requires naza to purchase at least 30,000 ckd packs a year..naza also got away with the local content requirements with the citra as less than 40% of the components are not local..our previous PM was making a lot of noise on this matter..kia products are getting much better, don't forget they're rated 4th of world auto manufacturers in 2006..

• trustgtr (Member) on Jul 05, 2007 at 8:16 am

sorry correction, less than 40% are of local content..

• king (Member) on Jul 05, 2007 at 9:31 am

i think the hyundai tucson 2.0 is slightly less than 100k. why is dis model higher priced compared to its sister? nasimuddin is really greedy.

NiceCar said,

If u say the Naza is local theft, then how bout the P2?

what a irony if next time u buy the Naza car.. =)

P2 is national thief in sheeps clothing.

• nmh (Member) on Jul 05, 2007 at 12:10 pm

Sorry SPORTAGE…still not enough. Pricey and uglier than previous model. Pickup truck is much better, cheaper, powerful and looks demn good

• arcana (Member) on Jul 05, 2007 at 12:49 pm

well the less than 100k tucson was just a stock clearance period and mind u, those cars sold in 2007 are actually 2006 models hence explains the cheap price tag.

if u wanna know the actual price tag…visit the web or get a pricelist from the dealers….u definitely wont see

• arcana (Member) on Jul 05, 2007 at 12:51 pm

post missing 1/2 way…

u definitely wont see less than 100k price tags on the list. unless during discount periods or offers, as for cars selling cheap when its already 1 year old (new ones)…..the depreciation is already there even before u buy 1…..u dont stand to benefit much from it anyway.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 05, 2007 at 4:01 pm

Hyundai Tucson is 2WD dude, and sales are quite low.

• king (Member) on Jul 05, 2007 at 4:59 pm

maibatsu_thunder said,

July 5, 2007 @ 8:01 am

Hyundai Tucson is 2WD dude, and sales are quite low.

thats right….all the better for fuel economy since 99% of SUV buyers never go offroad.

• transformer (Member) on Jul 05, 2007 at 5:46 pm

a nice little SUV… but its price deter most people!

IMHO, Tucson are more decent than this Sportage… Tucson feel more classy/comfort compared to the barebone Sportage…(i feel..)

thanks NAP !

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 05, 2007 at 6:53 pm

Economy may be better but according to my friend who is in the industry, Toyota, Honda, Nissan have all done surveys prior to launch and the overwhelming response from people who actually buy SUVs is that they want 4WD. 2WD sales would be low, hence the big Japanese makers don't want to introduce it even as a lower cost variant. Actually I drove the Tucson, and I cannot even tell whether it's 2WD or 4WD. If you told me 4WD I would believe it!

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jul 05, 2007 at 8:04 pm

On comparison of Sportage and Sorento, there's a difference when it comes to its purpose. Sorento is a proper off roader while Sportage is a city use SUV. Besides, most small SUV owners hardly take them off road. I guess this is why Tucson is 2WD to cater for those who want to look like a 4WD owner but want lower fuel consumption due to only 2WD and lighter weight without the rear axle.

Overall I still think the Sportage price at RM112K is a good buy for a 2007 year 4WD SUV. Tucsons are 2005 models, which justifies the low selling price today.

• sxe10r (Member) on Jul 05, 2007 at 9:30 pm

damn still expensive …. better get the recond Rav4 ~ ….

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 4:06 am

If the sportage has naza badge it can compete with perodua kembara. I wonder why Mr Nasimuddin didn't think about it.

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 4:09 am

Perodua has 4-by-4s, Naza has 4-by-4s (Kia-badged though), Proton when?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 8:08 pm

Kembara will be replaced by Toyota Rush

• sxe10r (Member) on Jul 07, 2007 at 1:17 am

maibatsu_thunder said,

July 6, 2007 @ 12:08 pm

Kembara will be replaced by Toyota Rush

yaya agree …. i'm waiting the new P2 kembara will be the latest toyota rush ~ …. but when ?

• moto_moto (Member) on Jul 07, 2007 at 6:08 pm

kembara replacement = toyota rush = daihatsu bego? yahoo! P2 said its their upcoming 2008 model.