Facelifted Mitsubishi Grandis in Malaysia

Mitsubishi Grandis

The new facelifted Mitsubishi Grandis will be available in Mitsubishi showrooms nationwide by the end of this month. On the exterior, you have a newly designed front grille, front bumper and fog lamp inserts, while on the interior there are some changes like the switch from a 2-DIN head unit to a 1-DIN head unit.

The Mitsubishi Grandis is powered by the 4G69, a 2.4 litre MIVEC engine putting out 165 PS at 6,000rpm and a maximum torque of 217Nm at 4,000rpm. This is mated to an INVECS-II 4-speed automatic transmission.

The Grandis list of standard features includes power steering, power windows, retractable wing mirrors, fully automatic climate control air conditioning, dual SRS airbags, corner sensor, ABS with EBD (Electronic Brakeforce Distribution), RISE (Reinforced Impact Safety Evolution) body, ETACS (Electronic Time and Alarm Control System), plenty of storage areas, and flexible three-row seating for 7 passengers. A DVD entertainment system also comes standard with an 8 inch LCD monitor.

The Grandis is fully imported as a CBU from Japan and retails for RM158,629.80 on the road without insurance, a big drop from the previous price of RM205,635.00 on the road without insurance. Colours available are Black Mica, Cool Silver, Medium Purplish Grey Mica and White Pearl.

The Mitsubishi Grandis comes with a 5-year or 100,000km warranty and a 3-year or 60,000km Maintenance-Free program. Owners will also be provided with a Mitsubishi Assist 24 card which offers privileges like 24-hour roadside assistance.

More images after the jump.

Mitsubishi Grandis

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• joeysis (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 6:27 pm

another big step from Mitsubishi, keep goin n bring more good car!

• J (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 7:18 pm

Why a big drop in price ? Similarly CBU Japan, but price drop of RM50K. Import Tax has been reduced ? (is it a non-transparent to us ?)

The new Lancer 2.0 would have been RM140K (now is RM113K) if it was available previously.

• jackson91 (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 7:22 pm

the front bumper lower grille looks like the refreshed,not facelifted ;-), BMW 5 series.

since there is this facelift launch, would this mean a total model change would be coming up in the next 2/3 years?

• szw (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 7:25 pm

what happen to the price ?

• endy (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 8:07 pm

Maybe the FTA with Japan is starting to show the impact to the price of import CBU from there?

• AmiR (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 8:14 pm

wow….Grandis VS. Toyota Estima…..xD

nice, hope Mitsubishi lancer Evo 10 will have such a drop also!!…xD

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 8:15 pm

Yup.. i heard the AP is going to abolish soon between Asian country starting with Thailand imports… 1 AP can sell from RM10k-RM100k, if the current AP for this Grandis is RM50k, maybe can sell cheaper after AP abolish.. Anywayz i am not hoping for the 2.4L Mivec, is still a SOHC engine.. in Japan the GDI engine perform more better then the SOHC Mivec..

• s60t (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 9:03 pm

I wish they had launched this earlier.I was thinking of buying this car but thought the price as a bit steep.Bought a toyota wish which is smaller for RM156K instead.But I suppose I should count myself lucky that I didn’t buy this car for RM205K. Would really kick myself then.

• kimmy (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 10:57 pm

Looks great, but if I’m looking for an MPV the Odyssey still tops my list.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 11:33 pm

Odyssey is still the king of mpvs. thou i dun understand why estima outsells it.

• nmh (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 11:34 pm

Noy this Odessey competitor want to compete with toyota wish

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 11:41 pm

This is great car with bigger dimension, higher hp, CBU Japan, 5 years warranty, but similiar price compare tp toyota wish and stream…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 12:47 am

yup.best looking mpv around…beter than those terribly chromed alphards going around

• kimikim (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 3:01 am

damn cun… definitely will buy if got RM. surely beat wish & stream, but new stream saw in s’pore road damn masculine cun

• azrai (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 6:41 am

A big drop in price? I wonder those who are buying Grandis previously just manage to pay the discount amount of 50k on their loan. :) Looks it gonna compete head to head with Wish and Stream on this price bracket. Good move. We want more FTAs.

• arcana (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 8:19 am

good move…but it could be bad as well……their customers will probably go..omg, i lost 50k just by buying this car earlier…..zzzz
    new buyers will be happy on the other hand…..50k drop and a 2.4 larger mpv for that kind of money and equipment levels.
    looks like mitsu is serious on competition, keep it up.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 8:32 am

50k drop in price?

How does mitsu (more accutately its distributor) do it? Then why not Honda or Toyota?

The bigger Grandis is only a few k more than the Wish/Stream and a whopping 80K cheaper than a similar sized Odysee (CBU).

Dont under estimate SOHC motors, especially Mitsu SOHC motors. They work just fine in a vehicle like this. Even with the 2.4, this is still a relatively small engine for the vehicle size and will need all the low end torque it can get.

• wildthingz (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 8:59 am

wah nice one like to have one as family car

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 10:38 am

The new GDI engine from mitsu is a direct injection engine… It have more torque then the SOHC Mivec, but hp almost the same.. For more better FC, GDI is still the best way to go… Just my 2 cent..

• KL-ATR (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 10:42 am

Ahh… finally they price this to sell. And with the new warranty and maintenance terms, I hope to see more Grandis on the road. They sold like hotcakes in Singapore and I hope they will succeed here too. Similar size with an Estima but way cheaper. Yes, there is hope for a cheaper Evo X after all!!! :D

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 11:18 am

http://english.auto.vl.ru/catalog/mitsubishi/chariot_grandis/2002_5/16452/

This is the previous grandis model in JDM, they already using GDI-V Which is a direct injection engine with CVVT. see his hp and torque compare to this Mivec SOHC.

“Displacement, cc : 2350
    Engine model: 4G64 (GDI-V)
    Max.power (Net), kw(PS)/rpm: 165 ps (121.36 kw) / 5700 rpm
    Max.torque(Net), N*m(kg*m)/rpm: 23.5 kg*m (230.46 N*m) / 3500 rpm
    Engine type: Serial 4 cylinder DOHC16 valve
    Engine information: GDI-V continual variable valve timing mechanism attaching
    Fuel system: Direct injection”

From SOHC MIVEC “The Mitsubishi Grandis is powered by the 4G69, a 2.4 liter MIVEC engine putting out 165 PS at 6,000rpm and a maximum torque of 217Nm at 4,000rpm. This is mated to an INVECS-II 4-speed automatic transmission.”

PS/HP is the same but the torque already win 13Nm and faster get 3500rpm compare to 4000rpm in the SOHC! So? Now u know which engine better? that SOHC MIVEC is an very old engine used in the 90’…

• e-by (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 11:51 am

90’s?? I doubt it. The engine is the same with the current Grandis. I’ve tested the current MPV and I found the torque and top speed is adequate. T

For the price RM158K, this is a real bargain if you compare with Wish/Stream. This is a huge MPV and comparable with Oddesey or Estima in term of size but not in luxury aspect.

Maybe MMM did not bring in the latest version due to the price factor. Well, if they bring the latest one, the price maybe at around RM200K and then no one will buy.

• transformer (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 1:16 pm

this facelift sucks! (i mean the faschia)
    still prefer its earlier looks… remind me of a Skull! SO MEAN LOOKS!
    And its rear taillight comes in full LED! HOT!

mind you! this Grandis are a full size 7-seaters MPV which are in the same league with Oddesy and Estima/Previa. Wish and Stream are consider smaller 5+2seaters , different league! Lower that it!

But most people will compare it with Wish/Stream as its priced in the same region with this new facelift!

Anyway its at least give its competitor a big bang for their bucks!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 5:10 pm

If this current pricing trend continues, maybe we’ll see the EVO X for under 200k…

Mitsu GDI engines have some issues with NOx thus, not have a more widely marketed (for example not in North America). Perhaps the GDI cost much for to produce for instance due to lower quantities and complexity.

Oddly enough, In North America, we have the normal 4G69 SOHC MIVEC.
    The 4G69 MIVEC is actually a fairly new engine debuting sometime in 2004 with the launch of the Sportback Lancer.

The 4G64 engine family dates back quite a bit further, more like the 80, and was one of the original Sirius design

• J (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 7:08 pm

Just know that EON has 40% share in Mitsubishi Motor Msia company. Guess must be some “Special Treatment” on taxes for the cars that they import :)

• funbox (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 10:20 pm

Mazda5 is still the best among the MPVs, it has clean and stylish body.

• weewitt (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 4:11 pm

proton mpv will be based on grandis?..not bad!

• nice car.i like it..

• azman on Nov 18, 2010 at 1:31 pm

No regrets buying one….spacious and practical MPV….wholesome for the family

• bbtan on Jul 13, 2012 at 12:00 pm

Hi , look like miss info. Grandis is been discontinuous . I been waiting for face lift . but end up no more in Malaysia. No more stock