TOKYO LIVE 2007: Mitsubishi Concept-ZT

The new Mitsubishi Concept-ZT was on display at the 2007 Tokyo Motor Show. The Concept-ZT carries the same design language as the new Lancer (called the Galant Fortis in Japan), but looks like an enlarged version. It should point to how the next generation Mitsubishi Galant will look like.

Just a short recap as regular visitors would have already read about the car in a previous post – the Concept-ZT is powered by a 188 horsepower 400Nm 2.2 litre turbodiesel engine with a VGT turbocharger mated to a Twin Clutch SST gearbox. The car also has an electronic LSD differential for the front, and ASC based on Mitsubishi’s AWD system.

More information on the Concept-ZT is available in the previous post I wrote about the concept car, linked below.

Check out more live photos from the show after the jump.

Mitsubishi Concept-ZT to be unveiled at Tokyo 2007

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 8:46 pm

Wow! rebadge for Perdana in 2057!

• syanas (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 8:58 pm

shark!

• bpkid (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 9:32 pm

Something out of topic:

Subaru has released the new Impreza WRX STI in Japan:
    http://www.subaru.jp/impreza/wrxsti/index.html

• BuLaiEn (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 9:57 pm

another Ganas lookin car from mitsu, i bet people would get bored if they incoperate this design language into every one of their new cars…

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 10:09 pm

Mits know what the market want! Won’t be any boring car release in the market.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 10:10 pm

that chrome grill i tink is made for the US market and their obssesion with everyting chrome !

• tariq (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 11:37 pm

mean mitsu! abit fo volvo from the side profile. from the pic, rear headroom would suffer abit.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 11:44 pm

Hei Paul, so this car is AWD or just FWD wif LSD n ASC? I cant understand wif “ASC based on AWD” ? A bit confuse.. But if this car sell in Europe, i think is gonna hit, coz it is a diesel engine mated wif the SST. Is using VGT turbo and have massive 400nm of torque!!! Wah i want one! Should be good in overpassing and climbing mountains! Good job Mitsu!

If price good below the VW passat or jetta in Europe i think is gonna sell…

• BMW fan (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 11:48 pm

The front lights design similar to 5Series! But nice overall look!

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 12:55 am

Mitsu better looking

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 1:04 am

BigFish said,

November 18, 2007 @ 8:46 pm

Wow! rebadge for Perdana in 2057!

——————————–
    i admire your sarcasm. but hopefully proton wont be around by 2010. and to think 2057….Oh Your God!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 8:37 am

Very stately, like a big Volvo. The front clip would look at home with Audi’s 4 rings plastered to the grill.

Hopefully Mitsu will be kept in the running with its Accord/Camry and newly revived Mazda and Nissan competition. They have been missing a larger sedan in its lineup since the 8th gen. The 9th gen “380” has been a flop in markets where it was sold.

I still lament the lost of the groundbreaking E39 VR4. They sure dont make them like they used to.

• wildthingz (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 10:12 am

hope proton produce perdana replacement like this sooooo nice hey proton design something like this lah

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 11:35 am

The side view doesn’t really compliment the front look. Trying to look like a race car up front but looks like some jag from the side. @.@

• adibmuhammad (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 3:26 pm

wow!
    it’s just awesome!
    very menacing look, elegant as well.
    this could surely be competing with some of the European marques in the same class.
    judging by the size, maybe it could be within the same range as the Merc E-Class / Beemer 5-series.
    very nice.

• ys (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 6:17 pm

first impression.. it looks like shark
    nice design and very sporting look.
    em.. will it launched in malaysia? let pray….

• szw (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 10:03 pm

bigger lancer

• DrA (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 1:56 am

beautiful!!! A grown up more mature Lancer. Love the grill. Hope it drives as good as it looks.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 4:38 pm

Nah, this is WHAT I called CAR! GOOD looking GARANG face.