New 2008 Honda Accord spotted in Malaysia!

These photos of three of the latest 8th generation 2008 model Honda Accords in Malaysia was snapped by Tony Yew as he was driving along the North South Highway.

The new 2008 Honda Accord will be in showrooms sometime this year to give the Camry a good fight. It will also be joined by the new locally assembled Peugeot 407 in the 2.0 litre range, so the battle for D-segment executive sedan sales should be an interesting one this year. Expect the Accord to be offered with 2.0 litre and 2.4 litre engines, with the latter having its power upped to 177 horses from the current 170.

The new 3.5 litre V6 model may be offered but probably as a halo model only, as exceeding the RM200k price bracket for the top of the line model puts it head to head with luxury C-segment cars and the Volvos.

I’ve driven the 2.4 litre and 3.5 litre V6 versions of the Accord in Japan last year, so visit the related links listed below to find out what my initial impression of the new Accord was. Look after the jump for three more photos.

2008 Honda Accord Sedan Test Drive at Tochigi R&D
Honda Inspire for the Japanese market unveiled
2008 Honda Accord Full Details and Photos
2008 Honda Accord Coupe Details and Photos

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nuajon (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 2:51 am

nice…

• naikmotoje (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 3:27 am

wow…

• charles27 (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 3:29 am

wow.. what i waiting for is finally here.
    thinking the 3.5L with VCM for sometime..
    bet this 200k car can smoke 5 series effortless :P

well, hope by april, this accord is ready for booking.
    as the current accord promo ends by 31th march. And hopefully by april we will see this model in the showroom :)

• xenith (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 5:19 am

Nice…
    This car is already open for booking.

• abtm (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 5:54 am

This car looks like a 7 Series BMW insideout, but it’s so cool, very big and imposing…but hard to park, too bad the 3.5 V6 with VCM is not offered

• blazerSST (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 6:30 am

CBU Japan, Thailand or CKD Malaysia?

• azrai (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 7:21 am

Too chromish. By the way, this definately will be the CKD from Pegoh Alor Gajah plant. Just look at the trade plate with M capital which mean the trade plate originated from Malacca. Is there gonna be a hefty discount for the current Accord? It’s a bargain. Somehow they look like mutated & series hybrid with Sonata. :-)

• ICER (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 7:24 am

Hope I have enough $ to buy it…ai

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 7:57 am

The side C-pillar looks unmistakeably like the Beemers. Looks that the new accord has grown oversized, especially on the butt. Hope Honda Malaysia can price it below RM140K, sure can give the greedy UMW a scare, and compete with the locally assembled Pug 407.

Since I’m sure most of the technical parts are from Japan and our government have entered the Japanese Malaysia FTA (allows cheaper imports for auto parts), its possible for Honda Malaysia to push the retail price lower, given the cheaper costs.

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 8:32 am

I have a feeling they’ll put those weird tailight strips on the boot like the US version…

But anyways, side looks like a Beemer~ nice :)

• waimak (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 9:46 am

The philipines have just unveiled the new accord recently and Honda does give VCM there. I hope Malaysians are given the same option too.

The Toyota ‘Corolla’ Altis veil has been lifted too recently there.

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 10:01 am

damn..i just love those samurai handles :D sick kunt!

• nanashisan (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 10:08 am

from the pic, there is no 3.5l model since no twin exhaust at the rear bumper.

anyway, im looking forward for this honda.

• Poxxue2 (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 10:19 am

Honda..Honda, what happened to your design language?..Civic I would say is still the nicest design to date from their line up..tis Accord….mmm.. ok je la..European version is better..

• IsaacVky (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 10:36 am

charles27 said,

March 13, 2008 @ 3:29 am

3.5 V6 Smoke E60 520i ah? Hahaha ..
    I would say this 3.5 V6 Accord got no chance to catch up with lower displacement 530i M54B30 2979cc.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 11:31 am

it’ll be great visual (and hopefully practical & performance) to have twin pipes!

• wat the (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 12:49 pm

issacVky why do you think bmw 530i with 231 hp and200 foot-lbs would win 268hp with 248foot-lbs 3.5 v6?
    tranmission? or weight?or just simply honda car cannot win bmw car?

• nmh (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 1:46 pm

Saw it in bandung…its bigger

• lifeisbeautiful (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 2:09 pm

I’ve booked mine 2 weeks ago. My sale rep told me that the estimated price for the 2.0 version is RM 145k. The price has gone up and I do hope the final price can be somewhere around RM 140k.

• nanashisan (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 2:19 pm

last time, the 3L accord is CBU, not like 2.0L and 2.4L accord which are CKD unit. since the car in the pic is single exhaust pipe, i think it is CKD unit from malacca and it will be 2.0L, and 2.4L unit. the 3.5L accord is CBU, i presume..

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 3:39 pm

funny. i was under the impression they were all from thailand. like the crv and civic.

i beleive the price should be 160k rm. unless if it was from japan then maybe different story. 180?

• kjryth (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 4:25 pm

crv is from pegoh, melaka.. not sure abt the civic tho..

• lifeisbeautiful (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 4:26 pm

I booked mine 2.0L two weeks ago and the sale rep told me the estimated price is around RM 145k. I hope the final price can be around RM140k.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 4:47 pm

wat the said,

March 13, 2008 @ 12:49 pm

BMW is built for Autobahn
    Accord, Shutoko? haha..

• White Jack (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 6:47 pm

Those in pictures are 2.4 version. Bec it has extra back light/reflectors on both sides of the number plate.

2.4 version comes with 17″ rim.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 7:37 pm

poor us to gt d jpn spec accord…

• neoracing87 (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 10:10 pm

the accord comes out with so many new replacements and so fast doesnt it? seems like yesterday i just remembered the newer one w/ the triangle rear lamps coming out, i wonder how long the camry is going to last over here?

• B1u3Be@m (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 10:18 pm

I saw the whole model when I was in thailand…and if I remembered correctly the front looks much bolder and looked a litte bit like the camry(ecpecially the front lights).The back is like the 7 series without the LED lights..

• farmcow (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 10:36 pm

this is going to be a hit haha

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 11:06 pm

I thought the tape was suppose to conceal the looks of the car. White tape does not help anything, you can see thru it clearly.

• terracottaz (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 11:34 pm

Haiyaaa…sudah bersepah in Bangkok…boring already…anyway it will be launch end of this month…run on Goodyear RunOnFlat tyre!!!!!!!!

• charles27 (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 3:57 am

IsaacVky
    this accord can do 6 second 0-100. :) have to watch out yaa.

BMW is nice.. but a 450k car compete with a 220k haa… err..
    not to mention when u bring in the M3… haa.. 600k…
    price can not compete laaa. :)

anyway, if i can afford it.. sure take M5 loo :D… who likes to race one. sure go buy sport car laaa. hahaa… one day maybe. Pls dont wake me up now, i am dreaming.

erm.. i still think the 3.5L will be very attractive.. even its going to be a cbu.
    :)… someone said its open for booking already aaa. so fast. Think i need to drop by honda dealer soon oso laaa. see what they offering.

• mct (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 9:54 am

lifeisbeautiful:may i know the price for honda new accord ,thank you very much

• kakilubuk (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 9:43 pm

Tak lawa lah! Berbungkus macam nasi lemak je.

• charles27 (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 10:20 pm

haha… today i drop by honda and placed the booking liao.
    wa… super long waiting list laaaaa. Until JUN only i can see the car leeh.

i booked the accord 3.5 VCM. Hope i not regrete later laaa. CBU from japan.
    268hp should be more than enough to smoke a 3 series. neeh nehh

erm.. salesman going training next week for this new accord, price unknown yet. Buooking carry ON first.. money take first… hai.. like that laaa.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 11:36 pm

charles27 said,

March 14, 2008 @ 3:57 am

Watch out for facelifted
    N52B30/N53B30 200 kW (272 PS,268 hp) and 320 N•m 530i
    and
    N54B30 twin-turbo I6, 300 hp (224 kW) 335i hehehe

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 11:36 pm

charles27. the salesperson gave me the staff manual/guide for this accord. not sure whether on purpose or by mistake.

im hope this forces toyota to stick thier own 3.5 litre 200kw engine in the malaysian camry as well like the aurion. it would be an even match then.

• wan@auto (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 9:39 am

my comment…ugly car. im better of with camry. this new accord has lost its fluidity design. more boxy and out of proportioned. interior is nice though

• charles27 (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 11:38 pm

yalo.. i was interested in camry bigger CC.. too bad, not available here.
    accord VCM maa… very good feature to have for big cc car.

IsaacVky..
    lol.. u bring out the twin turbo haa…
    haiya… i got money buy NA sedan only leeh.
    no wan fight with u already laaa. hehe.

to those concern about the look of the car. not to worry laa.. got more uglier car on the road now maa. haha. erm.. see later bodykit or grill upgrade. then handsome looo. Its not a race car or a rambo laa… wat to do, limited budget on hand maaa. Now look back, the ‘older’ accord become not attractive already, to me at least.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 12:15 am

charles27..

how much is the cost of the accord 3.5…izit arnd 200k-230k???wwaaa…u can buy audi a4 wit dat kind of prize…but nt powerful enginela…bt still…gt a better ride than the honda…

• charles27 (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 4:53 am

ya, the price is about RM220k.. still havent confirm. As the honda havent officially release the car yet. Expecting by april this year.

i do consider vw, audi and many others car as well. balance between price + power… still can’t match this one. Not to mention second hand value when u selling it.

hope i not regret laa :)

• IsaacVky (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 1:36 pm

charles27 said,

March 15, 2008 @ 11:38 pm

Anyhow good car you will be driving soon. SMOKE ALL THE CAMRIES!!

• GrandMarquis (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 5:53 pm

I have seen many of this Accord in Saudi Arabia and frankly I like it very much as compare to the previous 2 generation (which I consider them to be very mediocre). Some said it looks korean, but I strongly disagree.

The new design look much bold, luxury and unique. I seriously like it. But since the car is too new, I can’t find a reasonable 2nd of this model. Otherwise, I would certainly trade in my Mazda 6 for this one.

p.s. Expat like us don’t usually buy new car :-D

• King Samurai (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 10:21 am

My SA fren just came back from training in Melaka. The car will launch somewhere in April… When i ask for his training manual he said his manager have it…must ask first. Aiseh…he only showed me his sales kit..tentative price mentioned there 2.0L is about RM145k, 2.4L RM170k…and 3.5L V6 is wow..RM250k.. 3.5L is coming from Tomyum land CBU, the other 2 from Melaka. Internal sources said the pics posted here is taken somewhere last week..R&D engineers from Japan test it on Malaysian road from melaka to kuantan.

• takashimaya (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 7:03 pm

Hi there,

I just managed to create an account for this forus after browsing for quite sometimes : )

Gotta put some comments as i was so excited about the review and updates on this 8th Generation Accord.

Tell you what, i ordered on the Camry in Sept 2007 but there was a 4 to 5 month waiting period and it was kinda turned me off as everyone was driving that piece on the road everywhere.

Morever, i am always attracted to Honda Accord and i found out there was a new model 8th Generation will be lauching in first quarter of 2008, so i cancelled the booking with Toyota in Nov 2007 and convinced myself twice to go ahead with the booking with Honda Accord, by not knowing where it’d come to KL.

I did place an order in Nov 2007 with one of the salesman, he also accepted the booking. From Nov 2007 til recently, i’ve been checking all the updates from the forum, magazines, google it… until my salesman called two weeks ago that they would attend a new honda accord training in last week.

Yes, we have 2.0 and 2.4 models too, the 2.0 will range from RM 140K to RM 140 K, might be lower but it does not have leather seat, no HID, no paddle shift but the driver seat still comes with the electronic seating though.

For 2.4 model, it ranged from RM 170 K to RM 175 K or might be lower, it’s HID, 17′ inch Rims, with curtain airbags too, 8 way seat and 4 way seat for passenger, 180hp ? or 190hp?

Was told any bookings that being taken from now onwards will be considered as 3rd batch and the expected delivery will be at least on Jul or later, that’s crazy? July onwards and later? LOL

Really looking forward to this New Accord : )

• TESTDRIVER (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 7:25 pm

Not like was expected as seems like new SONATA look. Anyway seems like CAMRY, SONATA and New Accord are like brothers & sisters. What ever it is they all look GOOD !

• acc_cam (Member) on Mar 20, 2008 at 8:54 am

Besides does not have leather seat, no HID, no paddle shift but the driver seat comes with the electronic seating, do you know if there’s auto cruise, optitron, side mirror light, dual sys air cond, hp/torque info for 2.0?. like to compare with Camry 2.0 spec :-p, thanks

• takashimaya (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 5:27 pm

To : – acc_cam said,
    March 20, 2008 @ 8:54 am

if i am not mistaken, i was told, New Accord 2.0 is equipped with Optitron display, dual zonez air-conditioned, about the HP, i think it should be 156hp, compared to Camry 2.0 E/G = 147hp, only 9 hp different but it’s good enough, for Accord 2.4, the hp has been increased to 180hp, that makes a different, you know, of course the price will be a lot higher, to be honest, for accord 2.0 and camry 2.0E, i rather go with the Accord 2.0 unless you would not mind to pay additional approximately RM10 K for the Campry 2.0G for the all-featured.

I am still in Hong Kong, not many new Accords but managed to see few here and there, really looking forward to the new Accord in Malaysia, wonder when i am getting the new accord?

• charles27 (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 8:24 pm

just got a phone call from honda sales..
    haiz.. the car end up at 250k…

i still thinking, is ‘honda’ worth paying for 250k.
    really still thinking this one.

• TESTDRIVER (Member) on Apr 17, 2008 at 9:32 pm

I think you are reffering to the 3.X version. Frankly it is not worth at all and better go for BMW !!.

Try 2.0 or 2.4 which should be OK but compared to other car price it seems still high. So check out more cars before making final decision.

I would recomend to check and test drive Mazda6, Peugeout,Chevrolet, Sonata,Mitsubishi EVO,Toyota Camry. You will sure rethink.

• JaeJun (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 2:26 pm

Well, Tried on the test drive for 2.4 and it is very interesting as the power and cornering is good. Well there is no test drive for 2.0 but was told it is better on the power compare to Camry.

i’ve made a booking for 2.0 earlier on and the car should be arriving next week. Hope it is not underpower like everyone been telling me for Camry 2.0

• james on Jan 02, 2010 at 7:46 pm

Is there a latest new Honda Accord 2010 model????

• Ya, anyone know if FL will come soon? =)

• Drove Accord 3.5 V6 since 2009 compared to my BMW 6 series 4.5. Accord is awesome apart from BMW setup interior & extrior. Both are fuel economy for my standard driving. Accord is my daily commuting transport due to it performance of the front wheel drive.