CKD Peugeot 407 initial specification revealed!

Nasim 407

Nasim – the new Peugeot distributor in Malaysia – has released some initial specifications for the upcoming locally assembled version of the Peugeot 407.

• Xenon headlamps with automatic levelling
  • 17 inch alloy wheels
  • Premium 240 watt JBL 8.1 sound system with boot-mounted subwoofer
  • Electrically-adjustable front seats
  • Leather seats and leather-wrapped steering wheel
  • Dual zone climate control
  • Safety features include ABS, EBD, EBA, ESP, DSC, pre-tensioner seat belts, ISOFIX points for seats and a 5 star EuroNCAP crash test score

Expected price tag is quoted to be not more than RM135,000 for the 2.0 litre model, which is quite decent for the high-ish equipment level. These are just indicative specs at the moment of course.

The locally assembled Peugeot 407 will be badged with the lion badge and not the Naza badge, so I guess the 206 Bestari is a one off thing.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• terracottaz (Member) on Feb 23, 2008 at 8:56 pm

“Premium 240 watt JBL 8.1 sound system with boot-mounted subwoofer”

no need to buy ah beng subwoofer from Brothers…hehehe

• terracottaz (Member) on Feb 23, 2008 at 8:58 pm

Nice spec there but peugeot?…hmmmm ‘timbang kati’ the resell value..

• tommy73 (Member) on Feb 23, 2008 at 9:26 pm

Plus: handsome, unique, big, safe, comfortable.
    Concerns: underpower, high depreciation, fuel consumption, maintenance, reliability, after sales service

• normaluser (Member) on Feb 23, 2008 at 10:10 pm

Tough job for Naza to market Pugs here. Some more its CKD (fit finish, quality & reliability questionable), and maintenance costs in the long run & residual value remain as two of the biggest issues.

Let see how well it performs. The 407 is indeed technologically superior compared to its Japanese counterparts (Camry, Accord, Mazda6). At below RM130K, it would be the cheapest D-segment continental car sold locally. Hopefully, Naza delivers in the long run (low cost on spare parts & services).

• jepakazoid (Member) on Feb 23, 2008 at 10:26 pm

I think the biggest problem of Naza cars is its after sales service. Not too many competent mechanics are available and they keep on promising cheap stuff. Previously naza bestari was sold with free service which was only labour and the new naza kia vehicles are sold with free service package which comes only with mineral engine oil. Plus those who purchased bestaris in the past will have to face the transition period where we have nowhere to go to claim the warranty when Naza takes over Peugeot from cycle and carriage.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 23, 2008 at 10:29 pm

Don’t compare with Naza group or Naza Kia. This Peugeot team is separate and different. I was at the new Blue Box Glenmarie this afternoon, and checked out the lovely 207 Spider. It seems 17 units have already been sold!

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 23, 2008 at 11:25 pm

That sound system comes with a AUX?

• hyundai (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 12:03 am

How many airbags left for us?

• Andy214 (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 12:05 am

normaluser,

In terms of CKD quality, you can review it for yourself. Of course, nothing is 100%, but there’s a limit of acceptance/tolerance in each person. Even CBU units have minor defects, just that with CBU unit, people tend to tolerates it more. When they know it’s a CKD, it’s totally a different story. If nobody ever said it’s a CKD, then how would people see it? Particularly for this car, if it didn’t involved Naza, then how would people see it?

Secondly, as you mentioned, it’s technologically superior than it’s Japanese counterparts (Camry, Accord, Mazda6). The features and specs are better. Actually, I strongly think it’s a different league car with those.
    Now it’s even priced better/competitive.
    Now, let’s look at it this way, let’s forget about where these cars are from.
    With the same pricing, the 407 is already better in terms of specs and features.
    Now, here as a consumer, we think about tax structure differences between the cars. If 407 can be priced at such low price, isn’t the Japanese ridiculously OVERPRICED, in terms of consumer point of view?
    Second, this car is sold by Naza, which means they’re not the supplier/manufacturer. So, they’re considered third party from our consumer point of view. For Camry, Accord, they’re sold by their own company/manufacturer. From consumer point of view, this is same as getting things from Supplier.
    Not to mentioned, this 407 selling below RM135K, and the Honda Civic 2.0 is selling around RM130K.

Anyway, for parts and after sales services, currently, it might still remain a problem. Current and future Peugeot owners have to rely and hope that they’ll improve over time.
    But, if you’re not interested, then what’s the point complaining at all?
    Sincerely, whichever makes (even Proton), we as consumer should hope that their after-sales services improved, and not worse. We are consumers/drivers, we should/suppose to help out each other and stand together.
    Whichever car is expensive, or better, or not good, there’s no point if the person doesn’t likes it. What’s worth is up to the person who’s buying. Many may say the Yaris is overpriced and expensive, but people who loves it will think it’s cheap. So, the final decision is still up to the buyer.

In terms of specs, features, class, there’s really no arguement cos it’s a fact. Even within the same car, you have higher and lower spec, there’s no arguement that the lower spec is better. The only thing argueable is the looks, feels, etc which depends on inidivual preferences.

• Andy214 (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 12:15 am

tommy73,

Fuel Consumption? Well, it’s a heavy car, but I don’t think it’s that bad comparing with the Camry/Accord/Mazda6. The engine is EW10J4, it’s used in the past 406 and also 307 and also the 206GTi. You’ll be surprise about the Fuel Consumption even with a old technology engine without VVT. Many wouldn’t believe either.

As for maintenance. First off, what car are you buying, and at what price?
    Do you think Altis has same maintenance cost as the Vios? Do you think Camry maintenance is cheap?
    Yes, the maintenance for this car is not cheap when you can’t afford the car.
    Someone posted how much salary needed to be able to buy the Civic in LowYat.Net forum, you can clearly see that it isn’t enough by just being able to buy the car with maximum loan. With the Civic, you’ll also have higher maintenance cost, more expensive parts, not to mentioned road tax and insurance to pay every year, more expensive tyres, etc.

Every car has reliability problems, that’s one reason why we have clubs to share out problems and help each other out. It shouldn’t just be limited within the same makes/manufacturer.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 1:48 am

Peugeot is always a Peugeot, what u expect? spare parts as cheap as a typical Kancil?

why care about maintenance, after sales service, resale value, high depreciation etc.?

if u really like a car, just go ahead and buy……

just blame ourself (Malaysians) for being too fancy about BMW and Merc…..

how about changing to Alfa Romeo? Audi? Volvo? Skoda? Volkswagen?

• terracottaz (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 2:24 am

don’t forget Aldo..if u dare mitlanevo..

• trustgtr (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 2:44 am

conti’s are not longer in any way superior than its jap counterparts these days..infact their quality are worse and very pricey to maintain plus poor after sales by the well known naza group..its not just m’sia, jap cars are the leading auto manufacturer of the world today..

• Andy214 (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 10:11 am

trustgtr,

The Japanese have learnt from the westerns, so does the western learns from the Japanese. There’re also collaboration/Join-Venture/etc between Japanese and Western, such as Ford-Mazda-Volvo. For your love of the GTR, the Nissan almost gone down but save by Renault. So, the new cool looking GTR is the result of Renault JV Nissan, that explains the more western look and fututistic interrrior. Look at the OLD GTR’s interrior.

True, there’re Japanese which can compete with Continentals, but that is OVERSEA. We’re talking about the specs cars here, clearly, the specs and features of the 407 outbeats Camry, Accord, Mazda6. This has nothing to ague as I mentioned, let’s say a Vios Low Spec and a Vios High Spec, you can’t argue the Low Spec is better. You can argue, which you prefer and you want.

Of course, we should also push the Japanese to bring in those “actual” or “similar” spec and features like in other countries. If nobody thinks that way, keep thinking it’s very good, and better than these cars, then I “think” the trend will just continue. Not to mentioned the price they’re charging for the stripped down specs.

Quality are worse are perception by common people, this statement are vague unless you can prove it. You can argue comparing agains SOME models, but it’s still a vague statement. When you mentioned pricey to maintain, it clearly just shows that you’re not experience and well informed about other makes but just making assumptions. When you buy a 100K car, you expect you’re have same maintenance cost as a 50K car? When you buy a 200K car, do you expect to have same maintenance as a 100K car? Do you think maintaining the GTR is cheap? It can out-cost many luxury car easily.
    As I mentioned, you can find many more experience and more logical answers by LowYat.Net members in LowYat.Net post regarding how much salary is needed to buy a Civic. That’s just a Civic, mind you. And if you don’t already know, the service interval for Peugeot cars are 20,000KM. (Some may argue with various XXX reasons, for BETTER VALID INFO, kindly visit Total Lubricant UK website and download their PDF on maintaining a Peugeot Cars. They developed those lubricants with PSA Group. The Actual Service Interval for Peugeot are 30,000KM, for tropical countries like Malaysia, Australia, etc is 20,000KM due to our hot climate, stop-and-go traffic, etc.).

• bavarian (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 10:28 am

trustgtr

i think the japanese cars only dominate the family car market
    the germans still dominate the luxury car market

and…… fuel quality in malaysia is low and are not suitable for some cars especially european cars

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 12:57 pm

wil never buy a car from naza..their service suck big time…dono who the hell thy tink thy r…..if thy jus listen to only 1% of customers complain thy wil do sting…bt thy r jus too crap…

peugeot should know that making naza assemble their carsand provide their after sale service wd give the peugeot even more bad name….

• kevin62 (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 2:54 pm

Make it OTR RM135k, with this price for 407 is extremely worth it. Myself driving 406 bought it 1997 at RM123k. If you make a comparison about this 2 cars there are so many thing has been improved.
    The handling of this car is superb.

• szw (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 3:45 pm

love the specs wei…

• Andy214 (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 4:36 pm

keivn62,

If you look at the 308 specs, you’ll be mre amazed, especially the THP engine developed by BMW-PSA. It’s the same one used on Mini Cooper, with choices of N/A and Turbo. It’s powerful, torquey and very good fuel consumption, also cleaner. Just the light-pressure turbo model is already more powerful than the 2.0L EW10J4 engine, with 150HP, not to mentioned better fuel consumption.

Anyway, talk about pricing, even for the CBU, it’s worth to get considering the competitive price with the Japanese. Usually (or mostly), any continental are easily priced much more than a Japanese due to the different tax structure, and also exchange rates. Back then, those which “REALLY” go and test out each model would understand, but the big problem is the poor after-sales services recieved. For now, I can’t comment on the after-sales services as currently, everything is just set-up and running and also they’re expanding their after-sales service network. The Glenmarie SC are operational but not fully operational on it’s services department and also they’re very busy attending many vechicles coming in for service with just 4 quick service bays currently available. We’ll just see in time how it goes.

• tommy73 (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 5:57 pm

There is a significant group of potential customers here who are around the age of early 30s, lives in big cities, earn good salary, western-minded, technology savvy, want to be different, live a fast life and willing to pay for life-style. Naza should focus on this segment by bringing in the latest 308 THP 150 (most importantly the manual tranny), fully spec it (8 airbags, leather seats, safety features A-Z blah blah blah), dish out 3 years or 60k km warranty, 2 years free service, max 1-hour lube service pledge and price it 115k OTR. I am sure that will easily make 308 the Malaysian Car of The Year 2008. Naza should really forget about this dated 407 elephant, it’s a 4-year old car, gosh.

• Andy214 (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 8:11 pm

tommy73,

Do your research before commenting, they WILL bring in the 308, just go to the showroom and see get the brochure with estimated price. It’s been on the news quite long ago, that Naza will bring in 308 CBU High End, and locally assembled the low end.

The 407 is a different class. The 308 is a replacement for the 307. The 407 is NOT old. Don’t get confused with Japanese cars. Continentals don’t fancy changing their car version that often.

Just FYI, the 308 Premium (High End) CBU will be the 1.6L with Light Pressure Turbo with 150HP 240nm Torque, estimated around RM140K.
    The 308 (Low End) CKD is estimated around 90K++. Not really sure about it’s spec as there’s no brochure yet when I go there.
    There’s also the 308 Feline (GT), which is like the 206GTi, 2 Door Sports version with 175HP 240nm Torque (6 Speed Manual) – same engine as the Mini Cooper S. It’s estimated less than RM150K. Just FYI, that’s cheaper than the 206 GTi 138HP (which has the same engine as the 407), and it’s more powerful, more Fuel Efficient, more clean.

To find out more, just visit their Showroom instead of assuming things here. Besides, you can molest some of the car models there for FREE. What for looking at pictures and assuming things?

• Andy214 (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 8:22 pm

tommy73,

I missed your RM115K OTR. You’re joking man, this is NO Japanese. Let’s assume the 308 Premium is same price with the Civic UK, and Naza import the 308 from France, Honda import the Civic from Japan.
    Now, with all due respect, the tax/duty and exchange rate are different between the two country, so, definitely the 308 will be priced much much higher than the Civic when it reach Malaysia, even if it’s same price in UK (assuming).
    Secondly, is the Civic even from Japan?
    Thirdly, the Civic is sold by Honda, aka, Supplier/Manufacturer. The 308 will be sold by Naza (aka, third party dealer).

Now, let’s forget about Peugeot and look at other Continentals car price. Funny when there good specs and pricing, there’re still funny response. The 407 CBU before was priced around RM165K with lower specs than this CKD is already competitive and better than it’s rivals. Now offering at such price is even a better bargain.
    Just try and look, which Japanese have CKD which drops up to almost, *coughs*, RM30K and higher spec?
    The 206 CKD itself drops almost a whopping RM20K, with latest specs.
    It’s funny when some good opportunity/choice of car is made available to more people by introducing a cheaper price and some people thinks otherwise.

• tommy73 (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 10:14 pm

Andy214,
    Your points are interesting. But I see things from the customer’s perpective. Customers don’t give a damn about your supply chain model i.e. whether your are supplier/manufacturer or third party dealer. That’s your internal problem or competitive advantage. The customers also don’t give a damn how the world looked like 4 years ago when 407 was selling at 165k. The time is now 2008 and the market has changed considerably.

What customers care about is, for the price he pays, what value he can get out of it. Customers value how the car looks, what feel or sense of pride it gives, how it rides and handles, how comfortable it is, how safe it is, how fun it is, how it accelerates, how reliable it is, how much to run and maintain, how convenience to maintain, how much it depreciates, how easy to resell it. Sadly, the truth is Pugs are good at the front end of the above list, and it gets worse and worse as it nears the end. Now compare a Pug with a typical Jap or a much improved Korean like Elantra along this logic.

The other thing is risks and uncertainties. If you want me to take the risks, then you have to pay me. It’s like buying insurance. You cannot expect me to pay high price if I were to take higher risks vis-a-vis reliability, maintenance costs, depreciation, inconvenience. Pugs are considered “high risk” car in these areas. Alternatively, you take the risks by giving me longer warranty, better service packages etc. There is always a price for a risk.

For example, the new Fiat Bravo GT is a great continental but I won’t buy it at 140k. The risk is too high, and it’s not worth the money. Of course, there will be a few hard core enthusiasts who would buy it. Naza’s image is also not much better than Torino. I hope Naza don’t follow their foot step or benchmark agaisnt Bravo when selling the 308 CBU, unless they plan to sell 5 units a month. For the risks I expect to take, and for the value I expect to get, I think 115k is a reasonable price to pay for the 308.

• Andy214 (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 12:55 am

tommy73,

I’m talking in Customer’s perspective. As a customer, if I know I get from the supplier, I wouldn’t expect to pay more. That’s why we keep searching for cheaper price product. Whenever we purchase things, we find the cheapest we can get. If we know we can get direct from supplier, we could go directly to the supplier. Unless of course, you’re willing to get from a third party.

And also, you might no care about the tax/duty and exhange rate issue which is what you say in terms of internal problem. Fine, no problem with that.
    But there’re MANY people who complains about tax/duty issue, that’s a fact.
    Second, when you know about these things, most people would CARE about it. There’re some customers who just buy what they want, there’re those which will do research and find out the details, and pricing they can get, etc.

Regarding the how the world look liked 4 years ago, it’s just your point of view. There’re those who always want something new and be the first to get it, there’re those which prefer stable or long-term. If this is not your cup of tea, then… why are you here?

As for what the customer wants for a car. That’s different from each individual. You just merely covers everything. The problem with people interests in Pug and also other continentals are mainly the resale value, and maintenance. That’s the two main reasons. Of course, there’re others but these two is always the issue raised by customers.
    The typical Jap in our country can compete in terms of spec and feature at all,sorry to say. They have good specs and features in other countries, but sadly, not here.
    As for the Koreans, yes, I agree they provide good specs and features and also coming up.

From a customer point of view, it doesn’t matter which car is good or no good. It depends on the customer if he/she likes it or not and also fullfill his/her criteria. If you read what I’m said previously, I’m just saying in that this is a good price with good specs and features. I did not say anybody must buy this. I simply answer those which do not understand and saying it’s expensive and expect it to price cheaper. As mentioned, this 407 is competing against the Camry, Accord range. Previously, it was sold at RM165K which is already VERY competitive, now it’s selling at less than RM135K, that’s the price range of the Civic.

Lastly, no, nobody is forcing anybody to buy this car, right? I don’t understand your stand point here. If you have no interest at all in the car why read and comment? We’re here to provide each other information and point of view, if you think it’s not worth and not your cup of tea, then just read and leave it right? Isn’t it funny and wierd if I go to each car which I’m not interested and post “i don’t like it”, “ugly”, “outdated”, expensive”? Sincerely, to readers it provides no info but a person who don’t want to buy or have no interest at all.

If you think the 308 CBU is expensive, then that’s your point of view because you just think this is the price you’re willing to pay, and doesn’t care about other details. Imagine, I can tell you, for the Civic CBU, if it’s 80K OTR, then it’s reasonable for me to get one… Not to forget, base on your point of arguement, then anyone can argue the price of any car.
    Worth or not worth, is up to the person. The Yaris which most people think it’s not worth, can be worth for someone who likes it. Likewise, for you, you may think it’s not worth for the 308 to be priced more than RM115K, so, that’s simply a point of view from each person. But if we take into account comparing the previous 307 prices, and also current market prices of the same range, as well as the tax/duty and exchange rates, rational and logical prices would surely around RM130K. That’s also the estimation by many members EVEN before we heard about the estimated price.

But, the CKD price surely gives a shock as it’s told that its only 90K++. Not sure what are the specs tough. Hopefully it’s STILL a 1.6L engine.

• coolguru (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 8:08 am

To ignorant drivers never owned and driven a continental cars, it’ll never get into their mind of the level of drive quality of the car. I used to drive an old Citroen Xsara, I must say, even today’s Civic 2.0 is still uncomparable to its drivability during cornering, high speed cruising stability, road noise level and seat comfortability.

But of course, erasing all the maintenance, resale value, spare parts & service ctrs.

• Bebelon (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 9:39 am

do not think about its resell value, if many buyers for this car of course it will appreciate. let see honda city first and second generation(low resell value) and compare with third generation(still hot selling)..support continental car. too much japanese cars in malaysia nad they are all overpriced.

• CYC (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 9:48 am

Just placed booking for the CKD 407 … my 01’s 206 will soon leaving me …

• intermilan (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 11:42 am

andy,

perhaps there is no need to educate people who dont want to be educate. this trend has been gaining strong foothold in this blog sphere. but bravo for standing to the usual antics of people who couldn’t care less about comparing apple-to-apple and understand the underlying issues regarding conti vis-a-vis jap car price in malaysia automotive environment.

sadly, people like above simply don’t see the point no matter what. worse,they either become more anti-Pug or conti car in general for all the wrong (pathetic) reason.

that is the prove of how the 15+ years plus dominance of Jap car mentality has struck it’s blows to malaysian public n consumer in general. how can u choose a City (RM80K – 85K) or Vios (RM79 – 88K) over a 308 when a 308 is selling at a low rm90+K? do an apple-to-apple comparison and see the result.

side talk: i’ve driven and ride on both car above, many of you out there too… i supposed… had to say that overall this ‘brand new’ car couldn’t compare even with the ‘old technology’ of the peugeot 206 in many areas. want a ‘disconnected’ car to drive from point-to-point? get the SAGA or Persona.

ok continue.. the usual culprits of the above questions are concerns over resale value, maintenance cost and maintenance availability. maintenance cost and availability can and should be tackle immediately as these factors where within Naza controls at the very least. the perception on resale value will improve along with ‘standard ‘ warranty (3 years/100,000km Free service) and the improvement on the above two factors.

To me, the main factors for jap success in capturing and maintaining its dominance over the malaysia market come down to its large service network; as these translate to many other sub-advantages.

to reverse and re-balance the bias perception is Naza (in case of Peugeot) job. They need to tackle and change the mindset of people towards Peugeot car. these required a large sum of monies and they better prepare to walk the talk. strategy to CKD is a good start as this allow Peugeot car to be offerred at very competitive price tag.

it is sad indeed to stuck in automotive market that ‘worship’ city and vios as THE definitive benchmark of excellence (even proton use them to promote persona.

Hope the new alliance between PSA & Naza could pave the way for re-emergence of Conti car in general and Peugeot particularly in Malaysia.

There is a reason why many Jap marque choose M’sia to introduce their new models first in Asia (after lauching it in Japan). Every year ‘new’ model… When people bite the cake, they got ‘enhanted’ and would be very hard-pressed to remove themselves from the ‘kiasu’ mentality.

• adyman (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 12:26 pm

only peugeot owner / lover knows, whay how they always deserve to drive peugeot… Ready to upgrade my 406 to this CKD 407. Dont mind about the resale value, price of parts etc..etc..etc. Check tgok org yg coplain peugeot tu what car they drive hehehe

• lowprofile (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 3:18 pm

there will always be supporters of both camps. there will always be resistance. it takes a maverick to step out of japanese mentality. that’s why those who drive euro cars are always considered connoisseurs of fine automobiles. european cars won’t be to everyone’s taste and i’m sure that nasim is not looking at trying to convince that market either.

the 407 and 206 are alternatives to those who are tired of owning a car that with a stone’s throw you could hit. fact is, they want something that is not too commonplace and will let their personality stand out.

these fine european cars, with their better steering feel (not many who drive japanese cars know what steering feel is, unless they drive a type R) better composure and handling will not appeal to those accustomed to the soft wafty ride of japanese cars and the low cornering limits. i also know that most do not drive like crazy and won’t need the superiority of a european car, to those, i say, ok, well and good. go buy and drive your japanese car.

it would cost too much to change their minds. better to have happy customers tell their happy story instead. works better than trying to convince non-believers through advertisements, press releases etc. anyway andy, thanks for standing up for all european car owners. you’re doing a great job and i’m sure that nasim would be proud to have you on their side.

• trustgtr (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 4:37 pm

for the luxury car segment, Lexus is leading the way in the US as well as europe..mercs and bmw’s are only making good head way in asia..merc models from 96’to 2005 are really crap in terms of build especially interior and eletronics..i own a 01′ s320, and a 88′ 300ce, and the 320 has been giving me issues since purchased new. the ce however is built like a tank and still running everyday with almost 500k kms on the clock, good thing is that i heard merc has gone to its old ways with the current new models..I’ve owned bmw’s since 84′ 323i e30..it was CBU and lasted well until 96′ when i sold it for 328i e36 ckd which was a pain due to local assembly..99′ got rid of it..in between those times i owned a 95′ citroen zx 16v 2dr and a 96′ fiat coupe turbo..both cars were good but issues such as proper insulation of the wiring gave its eletronics a mind of their own..after owning these car and given TLC so that they work properly…i bought a gtr33 in 99′ with was awsome, the car functions like clockwork and even with 600bhp, nothing has ever broken down,overheated or anything despite some track days in the hot sun it never skipped a beat until today…so today my fun cars are the gtr33,gtr34 and a mr-s..i went through some sort of culture shock as i don’t get my hands dirty anymore..plus only time you see a ferrari moving over on track days is when they see a GTR on their behind..its an amazing feeling..

• intermilan (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 5:07 pm

well bro,

407 isn’t for the luxury market segment nor for the super fast car market segment either.

Placing a RM160K CBU 407 (soon to be RM135K CKD) in-line against Lexus – RM300K (IS250) & RM400 (GS300) ain’t playing nice.

This isn’t apple-to-apple comparison.

Toyota have spend 10billion USD (and counting) to build the luxury image of Lexus. Dont think 407 is their rival.

and showboating is much not appreciated. tq.

• s60t (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 11:01 pm

The 407 is for the person who dares to be different,have a stylish comfortable car(I think the french seats are the best).You get a good highway cruiser and good handling too but the acceleration is not too good. Also the back seat legroom loses to the accord(because we hare having the US version) and camry. Resale value will be less than the japs but if you are willing to keep the car for 8-10 years then it becomes less of an issue because the japs change models faster this dropping the resale value with each model change.BTW the resale value for bread and butter japs like city/vios/altis/civic are fantastic but don’t expect the same for mazda/mitsu/subaru and even bigger toyotas/hondas.My friend tried to trade in his 2 year old 2.4 camry when the new model came out last year and was shocked to be offered only about 50% of the original price….. a loss of 80K ( 40K per year).

But the 407 can’t be considered as a luxury conti marque. In the UK it is in the same league of the mondeo.

• Andy214 (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 11:42 pm

lowprofile & intermilan,

Thanks. Many also didn’t know that some Japs they’re in love are actually, mixed breed of european and the japanese. Nissan has gone down since years ago, it was sort of saved by Renault. If we’re looking at truly japanese looks and interrior, I wonder how it’ll look. Also, there’re those Jap makes which makes it to other countries and sell well, while there’re those which only stays here, and selling at incredibly high price. I’m not saying they’re not good, but because everyone keeps supports it, no matter how pricey they are with low specs, and features, they’ll just continue the trend. While others struggling to compete and lowering their prices, trying to let people enjoy and feel by offering great features and specs at very competitive price. Too bad, over here is a different market with other countries. People wouldn’t even look, see or try for themselves, but instead continue to hear and believe negative stories whether it’s true or not.

Anyway, nobody forces them to buy right? This blog simply serves as an information, but some people I don’t understand why they’re here, is telling people “I don’t like this car”, “It’s expensive”, “It’s ugly”, do anything? Right, everybody have something they don’t like, so we should go each place and post, “Stupid car”? LoL, really can make people laugh. Those that post with reasons and valid points are useful and we can discuss, but some discussions to argue a certain point are wierd, feels like they’re going somewhere else. I truly believe they have a grudge on Peugeot or Naza, or is it they just can’t accept the fact this car is so cheap and they’ve bought something expensive recently? SO they need to LET GO?

• Andy214 (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 11:49 pm

intermilan,

You’re right about their labour charges. It’s expensive. I just went to service on Saturday. A normal service cost me RM81 labour charges, and misc RM5.
    After checking with my friend who owns the Vios, the labour charges for Vios is around RM60 for normal service. From the Internet, I found out for Avanza it can cost from RM70++ to RM90++. All these labour charges, IMO, is very expensive. Imagine when they change more things, like my friend who owns the Vios shared with me, the labour for every 10,000KM is worst.

Seriously, like what you suggested, hopefully they can reduce their labour charges by up to 20%, hopefullly. I’m not sure about the Bestari, somehow when I ask the service person for quote on Coolant flush, he quoted me quite expensive and say “GTi ma”. So what if GTi, isn’t the Coolant the same for all? Is if because you drive a more expensive car, thus your labour is different even for the same work load?

• Andy214 (Member) on Feb 26, 2008 at 12:51 am

Don’t understand the difference. Answer to this!:
    http://www.308.co.nz/
    Nuff said!

(Click on COME ON BOARD > CAPACITY; watch the video, and ENJOY)

• king (Member) on Feb 26, 2008 at 4:06 am

Andy214 said,
    I truly believe they have a grudge on Peugeot or Naza, or is it they just can’t accept the fact this car is so cheap and they’ve bought something expensive recently? SO they need to LET GO?

_____

agreed…i think they feel sad that they are not able to buy a car that they can truly enjoy driving in comfort …they rather buy a car that only has better resale value or more cup holders ( the kiasu mentality…..spread from s’pore)…thus explains the envy/grudge on ppl that own such conti cars… so they condemn conti cars.

• newpugman on Mar 30, 2009 at 6:37 am

Got my 407 three months (Montebello Blue) back after comparing the specs of accord and camry. No comparison. I sat in a Camry and Honda 2.0 and tried to look for the auto-cruise (assuming there was one) for sevral minutes and the sales guy gave a straight face when he said there is none. Even my old Perdana V6 has auto-cruise. Felt Toyota and Honda are taking us for a ride in their pricing. Did feel anything special from the test drives. Maybe it is just me.

Initially the 407 seem a bit sluggsih compared with my old Perdana; after getting use to the pedals and 'sports mode', can get some decent sprint now though felt not as decent as the old V6. I think the V6 is lighter.

The onboard screen is SUPER with GPS, MP3, compass, video and phtoo viewer among other features built in. Pity they disabled the phone function where I can listen to my callers via the car speakers – anybody knows what it takes to activate this? This would be a real cool feature.

Handling is amazing. It is fun to throw the car round corners, the car sticks to the road well. The brakes are also fanstastic. Car also came with 17" Pirelli tyres – fantastic grip.

Also like the cooler glove compartment – great for long journeys where my mineral water comes out cool.

Peugeot built in some intersting touches like the interior light coming on when you unlock the car with your remote and then lock it again if you don't get in within a minute. Also how you can tell if your car is lock or not from a distance by the retractable side mirrors.

All in all, great car. Still discovering stuff about the 407 after so many months of owning the car – they just built so many features into this model.

I like the 407 so much I am considering the 60x series for the future if it can be available in Malaysia.

• Seriosly…these Conti cars lots of people addicted. I had my 206 few years ago and easily its still one of the best looking car around..kudos. Thinking of having 407 soon..can't wait..just can't wait.

Just my thought, new city looks like a lame old model transformer and vios…let's not go there…