2008 Honda Accord Sedan Test Drive at Tochigi R&D

Honda Accord at Tochigi R&D

A group of Malaysian journalists visited the Honda R&D center in Tochigi, Japan during the 2007 Tokyo Motor Show, courtesy of Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd. The R&D center visit was very interesting indeed, as we got to witness a real life crash test between the new 2008 Honda Accord and the new third generation Honda CR-V.

The main highlights of the R&D center visit for me were the test drives. You’ve already read about one of the cars I drove – the Honda FCX Concept, which has since entered limited production. The other car driven was the new 2008 Honda Accord, in both 2.4 litre and 3.5 litre guise.

The new 2008 Honda Accord looks nothing like an allegedly confused Hyundai in flesh. Think BMW and you’re more on the mark. The car generally looks very eye pleasing with the exception of the crease line on the side of the car – I can’t put my finger down on what’s wrong but I think the line curves in a strangle angle that doesn’t match the rest of the car’s mostly angular body. Styling is a subjective thing.

The test drive car interiors were done up in either a very aesthetically pleasing black, or beige. You sit lower in this new Accord, and the seating position is good. The car’s huge front seats are very comfortable as well and do alot to give the car’s interior a very luxurious ambiance for the driver.

At a glance, all of the in-car entertainment and climate control functions look very similiar to the previous model, but they appear squashed vertically to be more compact, and all of the controls have been pushed higher up the dashboard. This is presumably to reduce eye and hand movement when the driver needs to adjust controls while driving.

The new 2.4 litre engine puts out 177 horses, about 7 more than the Accord 2.4 facelift currently sold here in our market. It is very smooth, something that most manufacturers cannot lay claim to with their 4-cylinder engines. As our test drive was on a high speed oval, it is hard to say really how the car’s driveline would behave like on our local roads.

The Accord 3.5 litre V6 is delicious – floor it and the Accord rushes off from a stand still with urgency, but sadly if it comes to Malaysia that particular model wouldn’t just share similiar looks with a BMW – it would share a similiar price tag as well. The new 3.5 litre V6 features cylinder deactivation, and when its running on either 3 cylinder or 4 cylinder mode, a green ECO indicator will light up on the meter panel. This the only way for you to know that Variable Cylinder Management is active as the transitions between the cylinder modes are so smooth, you don’t feel anything.

Speaking of meter panels, I was disappointed that the new Accord’s meter panel doesn’t look as “grand” as its predecessor. There is just something about a huge self-illuminating speedo that lights up with crisp clarity during day or night that gives the car an upmarket feel to it, especially since the meter panel is what you’ll be looking at most of the time. The new Accord’s meter cluster consists of two prominent dials with silver rings around them – another homage to BMW?

The new 2008 Honda Accord deals with curves better than the current generation – there is not as much body roll, the steering has more weight, is faster and more responsive. Some of this enhanced driving dynamics are thanks to a lower center of gravity thanks to the 15mm lower floor and the lowering of components like the fuel tank. Again, it’s difficult to judge entirely how the car would act on a curvy B-road as the test track was a high speed oval.

Plenty of nice photos after the jump, including one of a crash test between the new 2008 Accord and the third generation Honda CR-V.

2008 Honda Accord full details and photos
2008 Honda Accord Coupe details and photos
Honda Factory Performance (HFP) Accord Coupe
Honda Inspire for the Japanese market unveiled
Honda Inspire Modulo Touring Concept
Mugen kit for the Honda Inspire

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BW (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 11:03 pm

wah veeerrrry nice car!!! This is my new fav honda…. But then to be honest the back looks like BMW 7 series le

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 11:03 pm

wow, the crashing photo is nice!!

• hyundai (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 11:13 pm

This is lot better than the Camry… But i still prefer Sonata

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 11:17 pm

nice car… nice car….

• Tracks (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 11:21 pm

The cabin structure seems to be very strong from the pictures. The A pillar did not show any significant deformation during the impact. Great safety. Good job Honda.

• altimate (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 11:31 pm

front looks good.. but the rear styling looks very 80’s

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 12:25 am

nice. very nice looking car. looks even better on the move than just parked at some motorshow or something. very muscular looking but still retains hints of the previous accord models.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 2:30 am

wow….like a chris bangle product

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 6:31 am

Paul, is this a better Accord compared to the current Accord/or Camry for that matter?

• King Samurai (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 8:34 am

1st look like a Hyundai, 2nd look like a BMW, finally its a Honda lah..Nice pics Paul. Anyway.. an interior shots? Wonder how it looks like.

• abtm (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 8:54 am

i think the current accord is better in terms of performance, this is just bigger and heavier, look at those wheels on the big body, looks like an old camry. the 2.0 will struggle i think

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 9:10 am

Of course the 2.0L will struggle…as it already does on our 05.

But then again, the K20 was never really the engine for the Accord (which is the base engine for the smaller RSX/Integra), base engines in most countries start with the 2.4L.

• farmcow (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 10:26 am

it will still sell in malaysia…..as long as it is new and good looking..haha….and its honda

• mohdjiman (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 11:31 am

good good…but the tail lamp is almost similat to BMW 7 series…

• mohdjiman (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 11:32 am

errr…similar…wrong spelling

• KL-ATR (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 11:55 am

Not as elegant as the current but looking at the way Paul puts it, I think I’ll have to see it in the metal to pass judgement. A sedan this size will surely need at least 2.4L to be able to haul all the weight around.

• drebar (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 1:55 pm

it does look like hyundai sonata, but i’m sure the briefing in japan would have mentioned that they get the design cues from the bmw…

when the spy shots first came out.. it looks uninspiring… but these shots over here got me drooling…!! is it the angles of the picture or it’s really that nice??? hahaha…

• BMW fan (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 2:19 pm

I don’t think anyone should say or accuse Honda of copying Hyundai because as we all know, hyundai’s current Sonata model is a copy of Honda’s ex Accord model…so yeah!

But about the copying of the 7 series design….I’ll just keep quiet :P

All in all….I say good job Honda…I always prefer Honda’s sedans to Toyotas…I prefer their design better! : )

• napps (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 2:48 pm

disappointing-looking offering from honda. ’nuff said.

• Xoomie (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 3:37 pm

IMHO, best looking Honda to-date.
    Nice sexy curve !!!

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 3:56 pm

What are the crash test of NCAP rating for this new Accord and CRV?

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 3:57 pm

Nice styling car!

• car_key99 (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 4:09 pm

wow….like a chris bangle product, I agreed wit you benjo.
    Very close wit bmw 3siries on side (chrome area) and rear portion.

• altimi (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 6:28 pm

Honda + Hyundai = Hondai/Hyunda

• topgunthang (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 8:16 pm

wait for the accord euro.
    doesnt matter what it looks like. just that it doesnt look good and honda can do better. this is no mazda 6/ford mondeo competitor.

to be fair, honda never design thier usdm sedans that good looking anyway. so thats a bit comforting.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 8:23 pm

car_key99 said,

January 14, 2008 @ 4:09 pm

wow….like a chris bangle product, I agreed wit you benjo.
    Very close wit bmw 3siries on side (chrome area) and rear portion.

————————————————————-

hurm plus front lights copy from BLM…hihi …this is a joke,dont attack me

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 8:25 pm

i guess european buyers are very demanding that japanese sedan nowadays are forced to follow european design.

• szw (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 8:53 pm

launch when ?

• ront (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 10:44 pm

the side crease seems to give the impression the car is pointing downward on the front..which it already is…and that line simply amplified it….

and what’s with the excessive chrome trim?!?!?!?!?!?

• scudz (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 1:41 am

Take side-profile photos of a BMW E60 5-Series, this latest Accord, and the new Hyundai Genesis sedan… Cover the front and rear-ends of the cars and u’ll be confused at which car u’re really lookin at…

Talk about a lack of originality

• paxter (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 2:06 am

pitty, honda to me has always been about unique japanese designs, this just looks so european or korean wannabe continental car. It just dont look like what a honda ususally looks like… slant the badge lah look like a typical hyundai design… I saw this car parked outside the mall of the emirates when i was there for a meeting… It looks fugly, interior is not bad tho. Dun understand how the tok arab can get this model so fast but then again… tok arab kan kaya….

• car_key99 (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 9:00 am

hurm plus front lights copy from BLM…hihi …this is a joke,dont attack me
    ————————

its ok coz u pakai helmet kalau tidak benjol kepala…

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 9:45 am

Dun understand how the tok arab can get this model so fast but then again… tok arab kan kaya….
    ———–
    Tok Arab kaya and their auto is free market. All manufacturer of course offer latest product to this filthy rich consumers yet their car price is rock bottom. For e.g. Savvy selling aroung RM23K (excluding registration/insurance), Mits Lancer 2.0L start form RM 40K ++.

Thier manager level gaji can be from RM 20K to RM 40K per month. Their purchasing power is way even higher than some Western countries.

• ian (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 1:55 pm

The “two prominent dials with silver rings around the meter cluster” is actually similar to the older Honda Legend models.

• amad_a (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 1:57 pm

Thanks Paul for posting this.
    IMO, dont like the side profile of the car.. the line just doesnt really fit…any interior pics paul?
    seems that the crash was not really a 12 o’clock crash.. kinda curios about the other side of the car which obviously experienced more impact.. any other pic paul? the driver side looks nice with the A-pillar still intact…
    great effort by Honda though.. keep on making good but cheap car (hehe.. tough indeed)..

• lamcy88 (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 1:41 pm

car_key99 said,
    January 15, 2008 @ 9:00 am

MisterBenjo said: hurm plus front lights copy from BLM…hihi …this is a joke,dont attack me
    ————————

its ok coz u pakai helmet kalau tidak benjol kepala…
    —————————————————————-
    Hahahaha. Good one car_key99.

• Truckster (Member) on Jan 21, 2008 at 8:48 pm

buat a bit bigger rear…look at not really balance

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 5:59 pm

dont b look a city, look not balance….

• TESTDRIVER (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 11:18 pm

Haven’t really see one yet. But it look like new SONATA facelift model. The Euro model look better !

• maxaufa (Member) on Apr 10, 2008 at 12:56 am

Look nice…..hopefully interior design for meter dashboard use digital for “hot looking..

• matsu (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 2:07 pm

hi guys. No offense, either its due to a brilliant copying design by proton that I think the new Saga looks similiar to the accord lah – front view! just check out the adverts side by side!

• TESTDRIVER (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 10:57 pm

Well a lot of other choices out there. So don’t get hung up in one brand only !!

Anyway please don’t compare cars in thier out of range categories.

• TESTDRIVER (Member) on Apr 26, 2008 at 3:23 pm

Had a test drive and found it quite imprerssive ! Interrior controls are more complex but cool !

Hope to see price maintained. All other data as mention in some of top US car reviews does match.

Still a wierd outlook but maybe that is what different than others. On the rood still look younger according to my friend and I would agree.

Overall , very good work honda !

• i got black on ….this so cool….

• YourSoundMan on Jan 26, 2023 at 8:37 am

A lot of people don’t realize, especially folks in North American countries, that that the Accord they got for 2008-12 was actually Honda’s Asia market full-size ‘Inspire’, with Accord rebadge, and minor stying changes for the new market.

Alas, moonroofs and sunroofs are few to be found – outside of the U.S. and other Americas.