First ever speed limit imposed on Autobahn!

Autobahn

It’s official – the autobahn now has a speed limit! Well, just one 60km stretch of it anyway. A 60km stretch of the legendary unrestricted German motorway that goes through the northern city of Bremen in Germany now has a 120km/h speed limit.

“This is a good day for traffic safety and we are also sending a signal about protecting the environment and climate. Our goal is to introduce a general speed limit on motorways in the whole of Germany together with other states,” said Bremen’s environment minister Reinhard Loske.

What is the autobahn?
Environmentalists want autobahn to be limited
TV Poll: More than half of Germans want autobahn speed limit imposed

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• xenith (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 3:43 am

Let me guess, that stretch probably had a few “cases”…

• wrong-turn (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 4:31 am

No, we should impose on law that support better environment…less pollution! In this Autobahn case, vehicles travel at excessive speed tend to consume more fuel compared to those travel at lesser speed!For instance – between 90kmh to 110kmh the efficiency in term of distance travel is better than 150kmh and above!

• abtm (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 7:23 am

THIS IS THE END OF CILIVILIZATION AS WE KNOW IT!

Although most of us will never see an autobahn, it give is hope that we can still go flat out on the public roads.

• azrai (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 7:37 am

Less usage of petrol. good move. Now, even Kancil can be driven in Autobahn. :-)

• wrong-turn (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 9:41 am

The only difference between the Germany Autobahn and our PLUS highway is that the former has no speed limit , while ours got 110kmh! The rest are all the same…

• Alifz (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 9:46 am

Haha…now the end of Autobahn, as a no-limit speed motorway…

Now the East Autobahn will be famous…Begawan-Tutong, Brunei DS..hehehe..

• wrong-turn (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 9:51 am

Azrai…
    even at current ruling, any car can enter autobahn as long as you dont drive and hog the road at the speed less than 90kmh…! And furthermore not everybody drive to their limits, thru my experience, you rarely see people drive more than 160kmh on the Autobahn…and those who done so are the porsche and the big mercedes..
    I drove during winter time, just cant exceed 140kmh simply the road condition too slippery…

• kadajawi on Jan 13, 2012 at 10:04 pm

Not true. The vehicle has to be able to drive at least 60. Cars with trailers are limited to 80 (100 when they have a small trailer that has a special permission to go 100).

• wrong-turn (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 10:00 am

Alifz,
    The autobahn is not totally without limit. There are limits but they never put it permanently like our roads do.
    When the road condition is poor, the speed limit will be shown on an interactive screen similar to our ITIS info board.
    On a sunny bright day light, no limit will be displayed and all are left to your vehicle capability and your brain to set the limit…

• Alifz (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 10:01 am

wrong-turn,

I agree with you, should our G to imposed this too to our Highway, so that now ‘siput’ car will hogging at the right lane. Seriously they who make accident more prone in highway..

• wrong-turn (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 10:03 am

Sorry the minimum speed is 60kmh

• wrong-turn (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 10:24 am

It is a relative speed that may cause an accident….or in other words the difference in speed!

There is no right or wrong as what is a least speed you can do on the right most lane. A heavy or slower vehicle can only accelerate at a much slower rate and takes ages to overtake another vehicle on a double lane motorway. The best way is to compromise on this slower vehicle rather than blaming them for being slow. We on a faster vehicle can always ease of the accelerator just to reduce the relative speed between us and the slower vehicle.

In Malaysia, people on the faster lane always think it is their rights not to slow down and flash their lights indiscriminately without even consider that the slower vehicle is trying their best to pull away as fast as it can to clear the right lane. Why cant the fast vehicle slow down in the first place?

Remember, it is the relative speed that kills…not just due to the slowest vehicle, the faster vehicle also needs to know how to slow down!

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 11:09 am

“…sending a signal about protecting the environment and climate… ”

WAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKA
    KAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAK
    AKAKKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKA
    KAKAKAKAKKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKKAKAAKAKAK

Like this, all aeroplanes n space shuttles shud be banned from operating at all, cuz they easily burn sooooo much more fuel than cars. Then we shud all be hippies living in VW vans cuz a house consumes so much electriciy. Or maybe in a cave. Back to nature, are we? yohohohoohohohohoohohohoho

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 1:21 pm

It’s called starting small bro…you can’t stop aeroplanes and space shuttles, but u can at least reduce the fuel usage, plus AFAIK, Germany doesn’t launch rockets into space..the German government might be just using that as an extra reason to justify the speed limit tho..
    ——————————
    wrong-turn said,

The only difference between the Germany Autobahn and our PLUS highway is that the former has no speed limit , while ours got 110kmh! The rest are all the same…
    ——————————

Other than that, the Autobahn has one of the smoothest roads I’ve ever rode on, ever! There are cracks here and there, but the PLUS can’t even come close to road quality. Maybe the fact that I was in a S-class had something to do with the smoothness…heh heh…

• bavarian (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 4:12 pm

no more fun

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 7:43 pm

I can imagine people going over the speed limit there to be absolutely furious with this news

• aksMs (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 8:55 pm

This maybe the 1st step to introduce a permanent speed limit all over the Autobahn. If I’m zee Germans, have passions for engineering and SPEED, hell yeah, I’ll be furious! Those nimwitts thinks that by banning a few types of ‘things’ on 4 wheels that can move just quite a bit faster than everything else will make the earth greener, yeah?

Why don’t they just ban any means of transportation or ban electricity. Heck, ban everyone from living for crying out loud. I’m sure that will work 100%!

I guess sooner or later those Carrera GTs, Veyrons, Enzos, Reventons, AMGs or Gemballas will be useless, eh? No point of making them if you cant use them.

Sheesh….I hate politics.

• szw (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 11:01 pm

wasted…

• mdjqs (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 11:40 pm

hmmm….as far as i am concern…there’s speed limit on autobahn but it is not fixed! it depends on the weather and road conditions…

• jtshin (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 3:15 am

awww… that’s a shame…

• KL-ATR (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 10:05 am

I think this should read First Permanent Speed Limit coz they have electronic signages that imposes speed limit, depending on traffic.
    And Wrong-Turn was correct… most of them drive at the 140kph region and they usually buy small cars like Polo with 1.4 engines. Plus 60-70% of their cars are diesel. Only the rich in Munich area owns those fast gas guzzlers. Most Germans don’t care about how fast their car can go… they’re more concerned about consumption and cost of ownership because they usually only use their cars on weekends. Most of them use public transport or cycle to work and that is what we need to improve here, public transport system.

• kadajawi on Jan 13, 2012 at 10:27 pm

wow. While it is true that most drive 140, I do not think it’s 60-70% of cars. Sometimes 50% of all cars of a model are diesel, but they are not in the majority (it doesn’t make sense due to diesels being more expensive and costing more road tax, so only those who drive a lot will buy a diesel).

It’s not just “the rich” around Munich who buy big cars, it’s a decent mixture of big and small cars IMHO.

Public transport is very overpriced for longer distances (cheaper to drive, especially if you share the car with others), in bigger towns it can make sense, especially for students (they usually get to use public transport for free).

There have always been speed limits on the autobahn, I think the number was like 50% of the autobahn is without speed limit, the rest is limited because the area is dangerous, the road is in “poor” condition, it is too curvy, it is slippery when wet (then a speed limit that only applies on wet surfaces is enforced), …

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 10:34 am

aksMs said,

Why don’t they just ban any means of transportation or ban electricity. Heck, ban everyone from living for crying out loud. I’m sure that will work 100%!

I guess sooner or later those Carrera GTs, Veyrons, Enzos, Reventons, AMGs or Gemballas will be useless, eh? No point of making them if you cant use them.

Sheesh….I hate politics.
    >>>>>>
    Korek korek korek!!! A human being breathes out 400kg of CO2 a year, n AFAIK, there are more human beings today than 50 years ago cuz today’s human lifespan improves due to development. How abt we start downsizing the human population by killing all the environ-mental-ists 1st? Show their dedication to “save the world” with their lives, MUAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!

U know, the ironic thing is, there’s actually more SUVs today than ever. I read in the latest Evo magazine (not sure M’sia or UK version, I just pick it in MPH, eheheh), and I love it when I read something that goes like: “Despite all the political pressure for more green cars, the consumers decided to vote with their money – and buy more SUVs.” I remember it did mention sales of Cayenne rose by above 10% compared to last year n all other SUVs save for a particular Ford model n Hummer enjoy an increase in sales.

I’d rather vote with a Ferrari, yohohohoho.

• bmpower (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 1:19 pm

speed limit?
    such a sad story..
    autobahn’s legend no more. :(