Shahrir wants to quit Minister post

Fuel Wallet GaugeOur Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Shahrir Samad (or minister minyak as some of you call him) says he will resign from his Minister post on the day Najib takes over as PM, after his defeat in the recent UMNO general assembly.

“The UMNO election was always a good place for an assessment of ministers or elected officials. So it shows that in the delegates’ view, I have not done well enough. I accept their verdict,” says Datuk Shahrir. He did not succeed in being elected into the UMNO Supreme Council in the general assembly that is currently ongoing this week.

This isn’t intended to be a politics story of course. The point of writing this is that if his job really goes to someone else, there is a possibility that recent developments with our fuel such as the switch to a RON95 and RON97 system and Euro 2 diesel might change, if the new head honcho has his own ideas. Or it might just go on.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Littlefire on Mar 27, 2009 at 9:48 pm

Yup, if this again delayed again.. There goes my Euro 2 diesel from 2006 until 2020?!?

• osh_kosh on Mar 27, 2009 at 9:51 pm

yeah good.. never like Shahrir & all his previous idea anyway… hoping for someone that's far better than him for that seat…

• catdeco on Mar 27, 2009 at 9:54 pm

Thanks Shahrir,its a wise act from u.

farewell!!

• osh_kosh on Mar 27, 2009 at 9:54 pm

i don't think they'll scrap the idea altogether… change? maybe… perhaps the new guy choose Euro 4 diesel instead & that would be nice.. finger crossed

• Noname Takadanama on Mar 27, 2009 at 9:55 pm

We need diesel with decent quality…

• Tiadaid on Mar 27, 2009 at 10:03 pm

Gudbye…have a nice day

• mokkf82 on Mar 27, 2009 at 10:18 pm

Ideal is already there, wheather they want to continue it or to change it….so let's see the new guy trend.

• stroller on Mar 27, 2009 at 10:42 pm

he shouldnt be a minister long time ago….

• telstar on Mar 27, 2009 at 10:48 pm

hope the new guy become more greener.than we will see more fuel come to our shore like ethanol,biofuel or whatever it was.

• if we get euro2@4 diesel in d future, what will be d price/litre? same as current diesel price or higher?

• xstan on Mar 27, 2009 at 11:00 pm

Buy Shahrir!! See U.

• oklah tu, pencen pun dpt….

• msian on Mar 27, 2009 at 11:15 pm

thank godddd!!!no one liked him anyway…..

• john mclane on Mar 27, 2009 at 11:15 pm

hurray!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Mar 27, 2009 at 11:20 pm

hopefully its not going from the frying pan into the fire.

• salehuddin yeaccob on Mar 27, 2009 at 11:35 pm

i bet the next one will be worse

• An apple with another apple, flash or rotten…

• from the tongue of a tiger to the jaws of an alligator. heheh.. hopefully not.

• longjaafar on Mar 27, 2009 at 11:48 pm

Shahrir must be congratulated and respected because he did the noble thing and is resigning. There are also other losers, such as Muhammad Mohd Taib, Syed Hamid Albar, Azalina Othman, and Menteris Besar of Johor, Negeri Sembilan, and Perlis. Besides that we have the Malaka chief minister.

I bet that their stand will be "my fate is in the hands of the PM", thus putting Najib in a spot. They should all resign and let Najib choose freely. But then, we are talking about malaysian politicians here, so we cannot expect much.

• salehuddin yeaccob on Mar 28, 2009 at 12:28 am

look at wat rocky said about shahrir samad…"reputedly incorruptible leaders like Shahrir Samad and Ghani Othman, Najib and Muhyiddin must realize that the current voting system is terribly flawed" see…..the next one will be worse for sure

• maestro on Mar 28, 2009 at 12:30 am

hahahaha… i read the comments and i ROFL… being a sceptic and not doing anything to help the situation is very easy ain't it people?

i agree with Long Jaafar… these people should go gracefully…

• maestro on Mar 28, 2009 at 12:33 am

anybody heard or read the speech given by Najib at the opening of the Pemuda and Wanita UMNO meetings? did you read about the bit where he said and agreed that there is a flaw in the system? that 2562 delegates choosing for 3 million umno members is not right? that UMNO constitution must be amended to provide a better voting system?

obviously not…

• apalalu on Mar 28, 2009 at 12:45 am

He quits b4 being kick out by Najib. Smart guy.

• kimi_ on Mar 28, 2009 at 12:47 am

Oh yes!!! Finally Shahrir did something right!

• bmpower on Mar 28, 2009 at 12:54 am

Actually he resigned because he is tired already calculating subsidy and petrol price related thingy. Not because of his defeat .

• azrai on Mar 28, 2009 at 12:55 am

Wait for KJ to fill the post. :-)

• Actually i think Shahrir is a nobel man with proper principle compared with the rest of the Umno politician. He stood to his principle during his backbencher days, getting lots of flak from his Umno members for doing the correct thing along with the opposition. He couldn't take the political bias from his own BBC team and quit. I think he should stay on to drive changes still. For all you know, he may have lots of resistance internally for getting out fair price on our petrol.

• journalist on Mar 28, 2009 at 2:04 am

Shahrir is the better minister among those hopeless.

• Prem3377 on Mar 28, 2009 at 2:51 am

agree wih oreo,

he is a great man…he is not power crazy and he has don the right thing!!

all the flip flop from is ministry is not up to him..all fuel or domestic matter is still under the prime minister control!!

he was even there when they decided to increase the fuel to 78 cent i mean in the meeting!!

so its obvious he is not the one with the last say!!he is great man!!my best wishes for him!!

he step down when he knows the people dont like him..even if he dont have to…how many minister would have done that??

• corolla_KE70 on Mar 28, 2009 at 3:21 am

Yup..Farewell bro..

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 28, 2009 at 5:57 am

[quote comment="224904"]Shahrir is the better minister among those hopeless.[/quote]

i agree ..

at least he is not racist, not poweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer craze ..

• Mig29_ria on Mar 28, 2009 at 6:13 am

I am more worries his successor. Gurantee no better than him. History would tell…………………..

• Tanta on Mar 28, 2009 at 6:16 am

sour grape…unhappy becos he lost… and no! umno election is not a good place for assesment of ministers! this is not an UMNO country…this is malaysia…plain stupid

• God.of.War on Mar 28, 2009 at 6:28 am

[quote comment="224900"]Actually i think Shahrir is a nobel man with proper principle compared with the rest of the Umno politician. He stood to his principle during his backbencher days, getting lots of flak from his Umno members for doing the correct thing along with the opposition. He couldn't take the political bias from his own BBC team and quit. I think he should stay on to drive changes still. For all you know, he may have lots of resistance internally for getting out fair price on our petrol.[/quote]

I thk i agree with him, do not just look at negative side. Not much the bad things he has done, and we do not know the true story behind the curtain here. Anyway, he is already tired la i thk…

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 28, 2009 at 7:32 am

Yep. He's actually a very clean n rational person. He's a case where ppl should vote bcuz of the person rather than party, cuz his works dun reflect his party.

Bt that's msian politics. Just look at Mukhriz, bcuz he's very lantang bersuara, he lost to KJ. I definitely support him more, but at the same time, I realise that his frankness will not garner support the BN style. True enough, the richest unemployed man won as I predicted.

That's the problem with BN, they're just too inflexible. Whereas PR are more flexible, PAS sanggup drop the 'negara Islam' ideology to give way to 'Islam for all' n 'welfare state', DAP talks abt justice, accountability, transparency, good governance instead of hitting out at hudud, PKR talk abt well, a lot of relevant issues.

It's too late. Unless Anwar gets assasinated or thrown into ISA, BN's extinction is guaranteed this coming GE13.

• Future Millionaire on Mar 28, 2009 at 7:33 am

[quote comment="224949"][quote comment="224904"]Shahrir is the better minister among those hopeless.[/quote]

i agree ..

at least he is not racist, not poweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer craze ..[/quote]

Thumbs UP ^-^

• newbie on Mar 28, 2009 at 7:37 am

good riddance.

• osh_kosh on Mar 28, 2009 at 7:41 am

[quote comment="224910"]agree wih oreo,

he is a great man…he is not power crazy and he has don the right thing!!

all the flip flop from is ministry is not up to him..all fuel or domestic matter is still under the prime minister control!!

he was even there when they decided to increase the fuel to 78 cent i mean in the meeting!!

so its obvious he is not the one with the last say!!he is great man!!my best wishes for him!!

he step down when he knows the people dont like him..even if he dont have to…how many minister would have done that??[/quote]

everyone know that Shahrir didn't have the last say lah bro.. but as Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister, he's the man responsible to prepare/study/advice/suggest to his Boss on what to do in everything related in his ministry… so if he give bad advices & misguide his boss in making wrong decision who's to blame? him? NO! it's the MAN who elected him in the first place! (& why on earth we want to acknowledge him or his Boss a great man?)

ok, let flashback a little.. i still remembered PM said he was given 3 option on how much to increase the fuel price back then & he choose the middle one (78cent) as it's better to have 1 time 'sharp' increase than 2 times increase in short span… & who do u think prepared this to him (PM)? if Shahrir is so great then he should know that the fuel price bubble will explode sooner or later & should opt for stages increase just to play on the safer side. b'coz by increasing sharply the fuel price will surely make the price of almost everything go haywire… no doubt, he's doing something about it in the past couple of months but it's just too late! all i see is a move by someone who want to correct his previous mistake (& he didn't even admitted it was a mistake by his part on that)… & u called him a great man? owh come on! gimme a brake.. if he's a responsible man, he should have step down much earlier when the fuel price take the 'U' turn… & not after losing some Supre Council spot! enuff said..

• lchan on Mar 28, 2009 at 7:43 am

"….So it shows that in the delegates’ view, I have not done well enough. I accept their verdict…."

Bodoh….you work the people or the party first. A straight and clean person would get even less votes. So, if everyone practises this, we will have a government full of cronies and people with self-interest.

• aliBaPa on Mar 28, 2009 at 7:48 am

so-so his performance

• well i though sharir is the better one among the other useless ones.

he did bring in some changes, and i really hope the next guy is rational and not power crazy.

• chinff on Mar 28, 2009 at 8:31 am

He is a good guy but i think he try to scrap the AP issue that why the king of all the AP want him off the pirate boat. Reasons he don't belong to the pirate ship, right guys

• Littlefire on Mar 28, 2009 at 9:01 am

WTF.. politics issue also in here… Even Anway were killed or ISA, his ideology will continue into peoples heart. Ideology cannot be terminate and people's will is the one that evil cant beat.

Watch V for Vendetta and you will know what i mean…

• tanasi on Mar 28, 2009 at 9:16 am

UMNO should also resign from further harming the country. I know I won't miss them. Say what you want, we are better off without these greedy farkers.

• What can rakyat do :?

They easy to let rakyat no choice but to them :(

It was too late for rakyat, but at least rakyat know what was going on.

And where is the future?

Forget about party future.

The future is for rakyat, not to party, racist, hero and idiot.

• mystvearn on Mar 28, 2009 at 11:54 am

His performance was quite ok, well the only problem is that he has an economic crisis to tackle. Too short, and people don't remember you. Can I say he did not get involve in this money politics?

• _xXx_ on Mar 28, 2009 at 2:46 pm

No matter how good you guys think he performed, I guess I never heard any good news from him. Even on the day everyone was so sure that we will get a big fuel price cut, 50% of what we expected in the end.

• AkuMenyampahNRU on Mar 29, 2009 at 4:30 pm

Somehow or rather I'd expected this news would drifted into some political discussion, not that I mind though hehe..

The result shows he is not such a popular figure, probably for his frankness or principles. Well, what do you expect out of a party full of greed, bigots and idiots…

• I don't understand why you guys bombarded Sharir??? To me he is one of the best. I would vote for him anytime anywhere! For sure he will resign because the new PM is "ibarat raja yang zalim" …. :(

Well, I am with you guys who respect and honour Datuk Shahrir. All the best to you.. God bless you.

And to Muhd. Taib…. well he is my father's friend so no comment.. Cheers sir!

• anyone who had and will fill the post had pros and cons.its hard to satisfy everyone hope..in the end, whats the good price of a liter of petrol or diesel??1cent?2cent?rm1?rm1.10? i was really sad with the premature mindset of malaysian.very very childish….when the price is at 1.95 then people say it should be 1.80..and when its 1.80 people say that it should be 1.50….and so on it would be…..please malaysian, think like a father who raise his kids.a father couldnt give all things that his kids want..think about it