First full view of the Hyundai ix35 released!

Hyundai ix35
Click for enlarged image

Here’s the first undisguised full image of the new Hyundai ix35, which gives us a clear view of Hyundai’s new C-segment SUV. The ix35 is the replacement for the aging Hyundai Tucson. Thankfully that new “Genesis’ grille that has recently graced the facelifted Starex did not really find its way onto the ix35, instead we get a front end which has more in common with the Veracruz.

In other markets it will also be called the Hyundai Tucson ix in Korea. Under the hood will be Hyundai’s new all-aluminium “R-engine” diesel in 184hp tune (of which specs sound pretty good by the way), or the 166hp Theta II petrol engine, both mated to Hyundai’s new 6-speed automatic.

The rear view mirror has a built-in 3.5 inch colour LCD to display images from the rear view camera to assist with parking. The ix35/Tucson ix will feature typical SUV driver assist functionality such as downhill brake control to help the driver negotiate a downhill slope, and hill-start assist control. The car will of course be available with stability control, and a panoramic sunroof helps enhance the interior.

More details and information on the ix35 will be available when Frankfurt opens its doors in mid-September. You can watch a movie from the Korean Tucson ix launch after the jump that shows all angles of the car in motion… pretty decent looking!

[zenphotopress number=99 album=447]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Alvin Toffler on Aug 26, 2009 at 6:13 pm

Pretty cool for a k-car.

• munloong on Aug 26, 2009 at 6:17 pm

Wow! very nice …. definitely one of the best looking new SUV besides FORD kuga and Honda CRV facelift but duno when will come and how muchy …. is it affordable as the rest of the hyndai range?

• akuizat on Aug 26, 2009 at 6:26 pm

i'm first..wuhuuuu!!!

Looks like CR-V grill..but more beauty in this then the other "H"..Rear look simple yet sophisticated…haha..good job Hyundai..

• akuizat on Aug 26, 2009 at 6:26 pm

ayaak..not first..

• kaiser on Aug 26, 2009 at 6:33 pm

korean brand…..vs malaysia brand….. grow faster and grow bigger….this car is awesome……they created it with lesses time than malaysian does……we jus ahem…..exora……poor…….anyway, this car's design is gorgeous……

• lazyf on Aug 26, 2009 at 6:33 pm

nice…i like it!!!

• initial R on Aug 26, 2009 at 6:38 pm

Front looks like lancer, rear looks like BMW. Overall nice.

• Paul Tan on Aug 26, 2009 at 6:49 pm

I feel it's got Ford's Kinetic Design, macam Kuga.

• jeffreyee on Aug 26, 2009 at 6:56 pm

Wah very stylish n waiting impatiently for this car to be in Malaysia. Now with Sime Darby, it seems that more new model are coming much quickly as expected. For eg i30. Not surprise to see it by next year. I'm a current driver of Tucson. If price below 110k, there will be a long waiting list.

• At the very FIRST glance, I thought it was Infiniti FX37…hehe my bad

• Kevin on Aug 26, 2009 at 7:33 pm

Very complicated front……..hi-powered engines though

• azrai on Aug 26, 2009 at 7:43 pm

Wah! Look like Kuga's stepsister. The front is too fordish, remind me to the Focus face.

• There are uniformity in terms of Hyundai design lately. From Elantra, to soon to be announce Sonata, the Santa Fe and this one. It reminds me back when hyundai came out with first Sonata, Elantra where they almost have similar curvy theme like this

• Paul Tan on Aug 26, 2009 at 7:48 pm

I added a video from the Korean launch.

• an alternative to Q5 / tiguan / X1

however, KIA Sorento is coming soon….

• farghmee on Aug 26, 2009 at 8:08 pm

exterior cantik..ala bmw, lan evo, gtr.

• don't worry about the price lah!! wait 1-year after launch, the Hyudai logo will change to Inokom, and expect price drop…. take a look at the latest i10, already change to Inokom….

• Black Dog on Aug 26, 2009 at 8:46 pm

Compared with the current Tucson, it has improved tremendously! The front still looks a bit complicated to my liking though.

• WALASiZO on Aug 26, 2009 at 8:51 pm

just comment about the car la…why comparing the Exora plak …adoiihh…anyway cool Hyundai car!..i am a Hyundai user…chill!:D

• KitKat on Aug 26, 2009 at 8:59 pm

At the first sight I thought it's a Mitsubishi.

• Caddilac Wong on Aug 26, 2009 at 9:22 pm

It is going to give the RAV4 and CRV a real competition in the world's market… It seems that Hyundai is now leading the game instead of being led by the Japanese in 5 years ago… The specifications of the ix35(6AT+Direct Injection) won't even be shy besides a Tiguan compared to the "kosong" of CRV(5AT) and RAV4(4AT)… Hope that the entry-level 1.6Turbo engine will be announced soon…

• MBX Boy on Aug 26, 2009 at 9:56 pm

Wow .. I love its looks. Sooo hot..! Not really an SUV person, but after seeing the ix35, I feel I want one!

• 4G63tDSM on Aug 26, 2009 at 10:36 pm

Looks good, but a as paul mentioned, bit too Ford Kinetic though.

CUVs are getting softer looking by design as more and more people associate brutish looks to truckish excess and wastefullness. I like.

First to the ball game was the decidedly softer looking CRV.

Very soon we will have our station wagons back. ;p

Would love to see this duke it out with the Qashqai (or whatever its called here) and especially the notable long wheelbase +2 version.

• Elvis on Aug 26, 2009 at 10:39 pm

Looks like Hyundai getting better and better with their car design, exterior and interior. I am tempted to buy Hyundai cars already. Hyundai are very competitive compare to Kia i think and price wise also much cheaper to Japanese brands. Since Naza is rebadging Kia, Inokom however not very active in rebadging Hyundai. If my memory serve me rite so far only see Matrix and Atos been rebadge which are very outdated Hyundai line. But i dont know if you guys agree with me or not, the logo of Hyundai very spoil ler. Should try to come out with much better logo design like Toyota or even our Proton. Logo can make or break customer to buy…

• chaku on Aug 26, 2009 at 10:42 pm

looks like the design was stolen from FORD.hahaha

• scanzew on Aug 26, 2009 at 10:55 pm

the rear exact design of ford kuga….ciplak

• scanzew on Aug 26, 2009 at 10:56 pm

waiting for ford kuga entering malaysia market……

• This one looks great!!

• Wow. nice.

• KenKen on Aug 26, 2009 at 11:12 pm

pls price it at RM115K 2WD.. can fight Suzuki Vitara… yeah.. 2.0 petrol enough di.

• ambipur on Aug 26, 2009 at 11:25 pm

side profile looks like the new lexus rx.

front kinda like ford fiesta.

• Xylitol on Aug 26, 2009 at 11:40 pm

Will it have Dual clutch transmission on it.

• Maverick on Aug 26, 2009 at 11:47 pm

lol.. the Britney Spears soundtrack feels.. off. But the car is ridiculously impressive! The Korean are going places..

• @ntiPerOdua on Aug 27, 2009 at 12:00 am

Hyundai is ranking no 4 in the world !!!

• BRAZBUZ on Aug 27, 2009 at 12:08 am

that is why Korean carmaker now top 5 in the world

• Phelix on Aug 27, 2009 at 12:21 am

Sexy SUV… drool~

• AutoAlert on Aug 27, 2009 at 12:31 am

I've seen the center dash design and I must say it is really striking. Good job Hyundai, hope this hot SUV arrived in M'sia asap. 1.6 liter petrol turbocharged will be a gem as it will offer consumers significant savings in terms of fuel & road tax.

• Wak Rempit on Aug 27, 2009 at 12:47 am

Apa lar korang ni, bila proton buat mirip2 kereta lain, korang komplen tiru itu.. tiru ini… tapi yg ni terang2 copy cat punya design korang cakap NICE..!!!

so typical malaysian colonized mentality…. sad

Other than the obvious copy cat design the performance spec is kinda impressive.. 184hp… ouch!!

• lambov12 on Aug 27, 2009 at 1:08 am

Looks very Ford-ish to me ..

• howitzer on Aug 27, 2009 at 1:17 am

this side design is kind of trademark for hyundai now…

• meteoraniac on Aug 27, 2009 at 1:23 am

awesome car, not a fan of korean car but this car stands out compared to the rest … might consider this over teh CRV if priced reasonably

• Charger on Aug 27, 2009 at 1:30 am

I've never like the looks on Tucson. Now, this is something that I'd call it "pretty".

• ericfoong81exe on Aug 27, 2009 at 1:32 am

Bought it from Inokom with cheaper price then change back to Hyundai logo….hehe….

• c14man on Aug 27, 2009 at 2:01 am

more like a Hyundai Santa Fe replacement?

the dimensions, shape and lines looks more like Santa Fe than Tucson..

• mystvearn on Aug 27, 2009 at 2:36 am

Looks like an evo but less daring, mixed with Kuga and Satria neo lights

• tamaki on Aug 27, 2009 at 3:12 am

Korean automotive industries perception really make me impress this and new

aluminum R-engine could produce 184hp with 6speed wow i like that

• rce46 on Aug 27, 2009 at 3:15 am

Nice Design…cool

• nice balanced look unlike the older korean models which always had a kinda awkward quirky look.job well done.

• OrangSarawakModen on Aug 27, 2009 at 4:18 am

Sure minat to buy one…….kind of car suitable to suit our "adventerous" highway here….Wait till INOKOM bring this one in…

• it looks good. but the Kuga still looks more sleek and smooth. same goes for the tiguan.

• karipap panas on Aug 27, 2009 at 7:48 am

aiyoooo c14man, Hyundai press release and ad already stated it is a Tucson not a santa fe…

• i just hope the diesel engine is reliable.

• elww78 on Aug 27, 2009 at 11:50 am

This new Tucson really rocks! Sexy Utilty Vehicle is the way to move.

• hurgg? sorry to me just another korean looks design cars, korean curves, korea quality, & overall soso nia, to me is normal modern design looks & not nice.

• p1basher on Aug 27, 2009 at 5:30 pm

design not bad

• Kambing Laut on Aug 27, 2009 at 5:38 pm

When proton to make SUV?

Is there any rumor regarding it?

i'm waiting…

• jiliv on Aug 27, 2009 at 6:56 pm

Rear = Toyota Ipsum (sebijik!)

Front = New CRV? Ford? or a bit of both world

Well executed Cut & Paste Job from the Korean! But don't worry we Malaysian will definitely but it if you sell much lower compared to….say CRV?! Then again, you have to sell much lower because we are not gonna buy Korean Car for the price more than Japanese Car & that's the fact!

• Bring the diesel….powerful but frugal…

• kevin on Sep 06, 2009 at 9:05 am

was hunting for a replacement car…i think i have found it…

• jeffreyee on Sep 10, 2009 at 8:51 pm

Very nice lah. Want to place booking already.

Sime , when is the expected launching date in Malaysia

• ritchie on Sep 21, 2009 at 2:48 am

Nice & good car.

When is the expected launching in the middle east region?

• TURBOfans-VW FANS-An on Jan 09, 2010 at 1:25 am

DAMN kaw cun!!

• begovic on Jan 26, 2010 at 3:28 am

I'm looking for my first SUV. KIA/Hyundai is cheaper but same goes to trade-in value.. my 1st MPV dropped more than 60% than purchased price.. thanks to NAZA/KIA.. as compared to Honda only at 30%.. lesson learned, maybe prefer CRV, at RM148000 now.. new ix35 maybe RM20k cheaper but could be later RM40k cheaper than CRV same year. But who knows 4-5 years what would be happened. :)

• sorry, don't lean against the door panels. you will leave your mark. Door panels flex when shut. you can see panel rattle . just shut the door and watch door panel. Its a joke. Some door sound deadening would help. poor mans SUV.

lost me.

dissapointed.

• muzza on Mar 22, 2010 at 11:31 pm

wow what a great looking bus wish i could have one. but how good would it be in soft sand or any off road situation for that matter could it match the land cruiser gxl i currently own?

• ahmadJB on Mar 28, 2010 at 5:24 am

paul.if they change the brand to inokom . where does they assemble the car? any diiferent in quality?

• angel on May 09, 2010 at 4:05 am

i wished, body – tucson – engine and technology by toyota or honda. no doubt, i would buy even the pricing is priced at rm130k

cheers