Audi sets up e-tron game in Playstation Home

Audi Vertical Run

Audi will be using the Playstation Home “gaming social media” service as part of its Audi e-tron concept’s marketing campaign. I’m not sure if motoring and gaming go together so I think some explanation on what exactly Playstation Home must come first. Essentially its a community that you can access on your PS3, and membership is free.

Users can travel throughout the Home world within their region, and the world is constantly updated by Sony and partners. Each part of the world is known as a space. Public spaces can just be for display, fun, or for meeting people.

Audi has set up its own space, quite generically but aptly called the Audi Space. Basically you can head onto the Audi Space to check out the e-tron concept. The Playstation Home world also includes free minigames within the world, so Audi has also come up with a game called Vertical Run. It will only be launched in December though.

The goal of Vertical Run is to beat the competition in a multiplayer challenge by collecting enough electrical energy and avoiding driving errors in the e-tron, in order to reach the highest possible speed. The best drivers in the Vertical Run game will be able to access special spaces around the world called “Audi apartments”, though I’m not sure what exactly are in the apartments.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• orido on Sep 22, 2009 at 12:32 am

first!

• peroempat on Sep 22, 2009 at 3:53 am

The new generation much more enjoy computer games then the F1, and cheap cost leh, has Proton learn it, huh?

• Conrad Max on Sep 22, 2009 at 7:36 am

What exactly does "It will only be launched in December" mean. Does it mean that after December, the space will be pulled?

• mystvearn on Sep 22, 2009 at 10:01 am

After reading this I am still clueless what Audi is trying to do. Go for younger audiences? Their cars are not really that cheap. Cheaper compared to the other germans, but then parrent company VW has cheaper priced cars

• Paul Tan on Sep 22, 2009 at 10:02 am

Conrad: It will only be available from December onwards.

mystvearn: Branding… get the younger generation to think Audi > BMW+Merc and when they grow up, they buy Audis. Hopefully.

• goldfries on Sep 22, 2009 at 10:54 pm

haiyah PS game mean i no chance liao. :(

nmind, this week gonna install NFS:Shift. :D