Lotus F1: 6 drivers shortlisted, Fairuz Fauzy named

According to a recent report by Malaysian news agency Bernama, Lotus F1 has shortlisted six drivers where two will be officially announced sometime next month. Team principal Tony Fernandes further revealed that Malaysian Fairuz Fauzy is one of them.

“What I can say is, Fairuz Fauzy is on the list. We will announce the line-up in November. I hope the Malaysian driver will be selected as either the second driver or third driver for the team,” Fernandes said.

Jarno Trulli who is racing for Toyota is also rumored to be selected, although when asked about the Italian, the man behind AirAsia remained tight-lipped. There is a high possibility that the Malaysian-owned team will select a fresh face like Fauzy and a more experienced Formula 1 driver. Looks like we have got wait for the official announcement!

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• old man on Oct 19, 2009 at 8:13 pm

Is F1 a main stream sports anymore?

• kimi_ on Oct 19, 2009 at 8:24 pm

As we always singing the "MALAYSIA BOLEH" sprit…NO doubt finally there will

and must be a MALAYSIAN driver and DO NOT care about the capability or

suitabilty whenever Malaysia participate in something

This is typical Malaysia….always want to show off and proud of ourselves eventhough there are more better choice……

eg the useless ANGKASAWAN program to send someone find out that the earth is round and not flat

• nabill on Oct 19, 2009 at 8:33 pm

id take nick heidfield….very experienced and consistent

• Ferruccio on Oct 19, 2009 at 8:35 pm

It's less a sport and more engineering and glitz but it will always be 'the pinnacle' of motorsport. It has lost some of its appeal in recent years but thats normal. not the first and it's cyclical. I remember in the early 90s when Bernie and Max as usual tried to shake up the series because the race was getting dull. Too much engineering advancement like the Williams FW13 (I think) which had a effective active suspension among other things. Mansell after he won the championship with Williams and left the team said any monkey can drive the car! in reference to how everything was automated

• why must malaysian drive in the list? cause of MALAYSIA 's team?

if they really want a malaysian driver, pls select the Malaysian driver 1st, then only invest to the game.. sounds better

• bmpower on Oct 19, 2009 at 9:19 pm

nick heidfield a big NO NO.

he such not a great driver anymore.

since this back 2 years with BMW, his achievement is… so so. and worst.

None of his moment driving are golden moment.

I wish they can catch kubica, but he's already into renault.

Kimi raikonen will going rally next year.

I vote for fairuz fauzy as 2nd driver.

• Ferruccio on Oct 19, 2009 at 9:20 pm

No need to be so cynical kimi.

This is F1 we're talking about and Mike Gascoyne who is at the helm is aware of the team's priorities. He does not understand concepts like 'jaguh kampung' etc

The team is first an foremost Lotus F1and run by people that know the F1 game. The 1MalaysiaF1 element is just PR spin that is made to fit.

Fairuz is 1 driver among 6 who are shortlisted and no assurances that he will be picked despite the spin from the media. Gascoyne himself doesn't think Fairuz is high up the list if it had to be ranked. At most I think he could be their '3rd driver'/test driver

• f1miri on Oct 19, 2009 at 9:32 pm

A big NO NO NO also to Jarno Trulli unprofessionalism after last night clash with Adrian Sutil.

Seriously – they should reconsider him.

• Jeremy Clarkson for LOTUS F1 !!!

• pahlawankentang on Oct 19, 2009 at 10:20 pm

Does the Stig included in the list?

• Minardi Magnum on Oct 19, 2009 at 10:33 pm

M3 said,

October 19, 2009 @ 1:47 pm

Jeremy Clarkson for LOTUS F1 !!!

—-

YA SOKONG…!!!

and

How about ALEX YOONG? huhu…

• osh_kosh on Oct 19, 2009 at 11:08 pm

M3 said,

October 19, 2009 @ 1:47 pm

Jeremy Clarkson for LOTUS F1 !!!

———————

i think it would be very hard for him to fit in the F1 cockpit… stuck coz of his beer belly hahahaha

• elpaciko on Oct 19, 2009 at 11:27 pm

jeremy clarkson is not a good driver… hes more an entertainer, hes popular because of his loud mouth.

calling him a "driver" is like calling the rock an "athlete"

• Nick Heidfeld is a consistent driver. He can easily scored podiums in a competitive car ie last year's BMW. If not mistaken, he has higest rate of races completed/ no. of races than anyone in the grid so far.

• ray said,

October 19, 2009 @ 1:09 pm

why must malaysian drive in the list? cause of MALAYSIA ’s team?

if they really want a malaysian driver, pls select the Malaysian driver 1st, then only invest to the game.. sounds better

———————————————————-

USGP f1 team..also hav their US driver ..y malaysia cant?

• kemosabe on Oct 20, 2009 at 12:28 am

Jarno Trulli would be a good experienced driver, but being experienced his remaining years in F1 would be rather limited. Same goes for Nick Heidfield.

Adrian Sutil would be a good driver to go for. Young and talented, and possibly cheap too.

Heikki Kovalainen may be out of a drive next year, so he's could be rope in as well.

As for our Fairuz he'll be the local poster boy in the test drive unit until he can handle a F1 car and hang out with the other boys on the track.

Anyways our F1 dreams should start at the go-kart track. Just imagine the development programs that can be done with that amount of funding.

Malaysia just love to start at the grass level and not at the roots level, which the results are grass like most of the time.

• + it will be most probably woman in USGP f1 team…y malaysia cant field malaysian driver

• osh_kosh on Oct 20, 2009 at 12:55 am

F1 are becoming A1GP… nation based motorsport… 1st Force India, then USF1, now 1MF1… who know next we can see SingF1.. :P

• R0NaLD0 on Oct 20, 2009 at 1:13 am

em… fauzy got super license ah?? i think putting such an inexperienced driver on the grid is hazard to himself and to other drivers too……

Here is the malaysia boleh spirit… can spend hundred of millions in F1 but cant even pay RM30m to conserve Heritage in Penang…….zzz

• Safetybear on Oct 20, 2009 at 1:22 am

Malaysia will need to start selecting/training local talents.

Hire a few old retired racers to help in the grooming programme.

Maybe start off as test drivers first before moving on to actual races.

It is kind of embarassing to have DNF and last in the races, consecutively for most of the season.

Negative publicity.

Malaysians are excellent racers and this is not a joke. Just look at the way we drive on a daily basis.

Cornering without indicator lights is quite the norm.

• car nuts on Oct 20, 2009 at 1:46 am

Some say there will be a possibility that Alex yong might make a come back to be a F1 driver…

Hell Yeah, Alex rocks… LOL

• LP560-4 on Oct 20, 2009 at 2:00 am

I don't understand why some people think this is bad. I don't see any problem with that… Donald Trump always says, in order to success, we have to THINK BIG! That’s why winners always win, and losers always lose ;)

• Ferruccio on Oct 20, 2009 at 4:00 am

??? said,

October 19, 2009 @ 4:18 pm

USGP f1 team..also hav their US driver ..y malaysia cant?

————————————————-

USF1 team is unlikely to field an all American driver line-up. They announced it already. More or less in similar predicament with our LotusF1. They feel reluctant to put an american driver just for the sake of putting an amercian driver. The difference compared to Malaysia they a large driver pool to choose from and the American drivers are not really keen for F1. They seem to be happy racing in the US only.

• orang on Oct 20, 2009 at 5:22 am

must take f1 licen to drive

f1 car

• Tiadaid on Oct 20, 2009 at 5:33 am

R0NaLD0 said,

October 19, 2009 @ 5:13 pm

em… fauzy got super license ah?? i think putting such an inexperienced driver on the grid is hazard to himself and to other drivers too……

Here is the malaysia boleh spirit… can spend hundred of millions in F1 but cant even pay RM30m to conserve Heritage in Penang…….zzz

—————————–

Hello, Fairuz Fauzy was test driver for Spyker, raced in GP2 raced in A1GP. He's got a licence.

• mobile chicanes

• try karamjit lorr

• hitman on Oct 20, 2009 at 6:44 am

at the rate f1 is going these days, might as well run an unmanned vehicle race. just remote control the sucker.

then, instead of 6, teams will have 6 thousand potential "drivers" to choose from thanks to the people who gave us xbox, ps2 and nintendo.LOL!

my money is on fairuz. i believe he has matured enough as a driver.

• singh on Oct 20, 2009 at 9:31 am

y dont we have a F1 talent show?? ask Malaysian to join the search. Then choose the best like how we chose our ANGKASAWAN. Then we really Malaysia Boleh!! :) No country ever did this type of show. Can make publicity to the world. LOL

• Cyrus Low on Oct 20, 2009 at 4:00 pm

Money waste project that does not represent the heart of Malaysian.

Why don't they cut off billions of sales tax on automotive that would better give a better life to Malaysian ?!

Simply Pathetic and irritating !

• Im so sick of reading negative comments regarding "tax, govt, spending too much, our money, your money" bla bla bla.. You people are embarrassing our country.

Where's the love and support?

• Tiadaid on Oct 20, 2009 at 7:51 pm

tim said,

October 20, 2009 @ 9:21 am

Im so sick of reading negative comments regarding “tax, govt, spending too much, our money, your money” bla bla bla.. You people are embarrassing our country.

Where’s the love and support?

—————————-

It's ok if you don't love and support it, but those arguments concerning like you said “tax, govt, spending too much, our money, your money” bla bla bla.. really just pisses me off…

• formulaone on Oct 20, 2009 at 10:06 pm

just pick me..hehehe.. i got superlicense 2..!!

• formulaone on Oct 20, 2009 at 10:16 pm

Im so sick of reading negative comments regarding “tax, govt, spending too much, our money, your money” bla bla bla.. You people are embarrassing our country.

so true.. just give them a try.

• formulaone on Oct 20, 2009 at 10:27 pm

fairuz fauzy got a couple of podium when he competing WSR (World Series of Renault) this year under MOFAZ FORTEC TEAM. He so talented than his teammate. i think he deserve to be one of the LOTUS F1 team driver. And dun ever forget at A1GP also last couple of year…. Malaysian team at 5th place!

• go fauzy

• LP560-4 on Oct 21, 2009 at 5:51 am

so true.. just give them a try.

———————————————–

Agreed with you guys. Hope there will more positive minded people in Malaysia. We should support each other, not condemn.

• blasting on Oct 21, 2009 at 10:35 am

trulli….i dun think so..but…i rarely choose HEIDFELD…..he must being the first driver….

• formulaone on Oct 21, 2009 at 10:01 pm

trulli….i dun think so..but…i rarely choose HEIDFELD…..he must being the first driver….

go go for heidfeld!!

• fasgen on Oct 23, 2009 at 4:22 pm

i think besides fairus… robert kubica is better than nick hiedfeld or jarno trulli. kubica more competent and constant… he had more podium than two them.

• squawk on Oct 26, 2009 at 2:35 am

Not many US drivers are keen in F1 because they become unknowns outside of US and also because the racing style of F1 is very different from US.

My pick for senior driver will be either Jarno, Rubens or Jenson. Jenson will be a longshot.

• formulaone on Oct 26, 2009 at 7:22 pm

updates! fairuz fauzy took a superpole in WSR at motorland aragon, spain last weekend. He claimed 5th place in 1st race and 2nd place in 2nd race… another podium for him.

• formulaone on Oct 26, 2009 at 7:34 pm

the comentator just said dat fairuz fauzy will be on seat at Lotus F1 team by next year. He no competing in WSR anymore. So its comfirmed fairuz will be racing in F1!!

• formulaone on Oct 28, 2009 at 12:31 am

fauzy won 2nd place world championship in WSR 2009 with scoring 98 point overall told from neswpaper today. He in front of Jaime Alguesuari (Torro rosso f1 driver) in point. In mathematicly, he deserve in F1.