Driven – a brand new motoring TV program to debut on April 11th 10.30pm on 8TV

Looking at automotive photography and accompanying text is one thing but there’s nothing like watching the wheels we love in action, in motion. That can only be accomplished with video. 2 years ago we realized that there was an emptiness on the television screens in regard to local motoring. So our team got to work to see if we could fix that. Finally all our sweat and time has been worth it. its finally here! After 2 years of hard work, our team are proud to present to you a brand new motoring television program that will premiere on 8TV on the 11th of April 2010 (Sunday) at 10.30pm.

Television viewers will probably familiar with international motoring programs such as the ones that end with the word ‘gear’ – Top Gear and Fifth Gear. There are also other motoring or motorsports programs on Astro but only the above two can be classified as auto review programs. But where is a show that not only reviews vehicles that are relevant to the Malaysian market as well as feature other local motoring or motorsports features? We believe that Driven might be the answer to this question.

The program will specifically showcase unbiased auto reviews on cars ranging from the most affordable to the ones that most of us can only dream of owning, motor sport features, classic car reviews as well as other informative segments. There will also be an opinion segment called the Insider Review fronted by yours truly :)

In a TV show, entertainment is key and this must also mesh nicely with the information that we would like to convey. Which is why the program will be treated with some humor and a high-quality production that is pleasing to the eyes. We didn’t scrimp on production budget as we hope to raise the bar when it comes to locally produced TV shows. This isn’t a camcorder show – we used proper equipment, good cameramen and top notch editing. Our first-time producer Nazrudin Habibur Rahman is fantastic and I’m pretty sure this won’t be his first and last production! Our aim is to make the show entertaining yet informative to suit both passionate motoring enthusiasts as well as those who don’t fancy the technicality.

There will also be an interesting weekly contest called the Double Barrel Hunt where you can win attractive prizes from BHPetrol, Nokia and V-Kool. You can find out more about this on the show. A selected few will also score invites to the Driven Track Day where you will be ‘chauffeured’ in a race car by a real race car driver, thanks to a partnership with Empire Motorsports.

Selecting the right hosts is important as well and the end result is Sharizan Borhan, Nurul Alis and Harvinder Singh. To most of you, Sharizan in an entertainer and is often referred to as Malaysia’s King of Swing but to us he is a petrol head who loves everything that has wheels, be it two or four. Alis spent many years with RTM in front of the camera lens and her passion for drifting and racing is a perfect fit for the program. Lastly, Harvinder is a motoring journalist that is familiar name especially on this blog as well as The Star’s Star Motoring pull-out. We hope our hosts will give a good balance of professional hosting ability as well as passion for motoring. And most importantly we hope that Driven will be the local motoring television show that you all have been waiting for.

Of course, video content of a few minutes can never convey the kind of information that detailed test drive review stories such as those on this site can deliver. We only have a half an hour slot so don’t expect us to perform magic with limited time ;)

You can enjoy all 13 episodes on 8TV as well as on Driven’s website at www.driven.com.my. Here you will be able to catch-up on any episodes you’ve missed. Of course all of this would not have been possible without our strategic partner BHPetrol who believed in our team, even though we are a first season production and don’t have existing numbers to prove ourselves with.

So we hope you can support us and make the show a success. Be sure to tune in every week and tell all your friends about this brand new show. Be sure to catch Driven every Sunday beginning April 11th at 10.30pm, only on 8TV.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• _Zephyre_ on Apr 02, 2010 at 2:38 pm

This is really awesome. So are all episodes going to be available for streaming online as well?

• Hazriq on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:15 pm

Mr Tony or any orang kaya msians, plz give more budget to this show..
      Fuel efficiency test for the malaysian market car is a must..
      we malaysian wanna see all result or test in term of fuel usage for
      every major/popular car in malaysian.. need more money..
      plz sponsor this show for the next season…

• wan_knox on Apr 02, 2010 at 2:42 pm

TopGear in Malaysian’s version

• nabill on Apr 02, 2010 at 2:45 pm

good , congrats….great idea for sting the market was craving for….i jus hope the show wd be original and NOT imitate those topgear or fifthgear….and proffessional…….good clear reviews…that mite come with experience…bt great idea..! luv it !
    and i hope car companies wd help by providing their cars to be reviewed by the show……..most important word of the day is ” UNBIASED” !

• armpit on Apr 02, 2010 at 2:45 pm

yeah that. hope to see malaysian stig as well. if there’s any. haha.

• About time….great job guys, hope to catch the prog on tv soon

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 02, 2010 at 2:45 pm

Paul, please post each ep on Youtube after the show has been aired. No chance to see it overseas. Unless you got budget to go high end like BBC Iplayer, youtube posting is fine:D

I was right! This was the secret project you guys been keeping in wraps :P

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 02, 2010 at 2:49 pm

I just want to add, hopeful it does not become like that “other car show” before news at 8pm showcasing just one brand of car on TV-because they were sponsored by that car manufacturer.

• Paul Tan on Apr 02, 2010 at 2:55 pm

Don’t worry bro. It took us so long also because we were trying to find a sponsor that was NOT a car manufacturer. It was really tough and there were many times where we felt like giving up but we persevered.

We’re really grateful to BHPetrol for putting their trust and betting their moolah on us!

• scanzew on Apr 02, 2010 at 3:00 pm

i wish paul will start with own motoring TV programme…Paul Tan’s motoring TV show….haha….not Fifth Gear or Top Gear….Reverse Gear maybe…LOL

• eposuer on Apr 02, 2010 at 3:06 pm

yeah..Reverse Gear sounds cool though..!! haha!!

• trav_da_man on Apr 02, 2010 at 3:20 pm

I recalled on what Jay Leno mentioned that he dont think the idea of Top Gear US is good with a given example what if KIA USA decides to sponsor the show.

So the moment Proton sponsors Driven, well expect the show to be cancelled 2-3 episodes later.

• This is Paul’s own motoring tv program. He just doesn’t host the program himself. This program is his brainchild!

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 02, 2010 at 7:29 pm

Good to hear. I don’t mind if you have BHP adverts or are compelled to sell their oil products like after each segment like what Fifth Gear does. Maybe extra income can be obtained from people calling in like in Fifth Gear. Calls charge RM xxx amount. Winner get a car (if too expansive, get sport rims would go down well I guess)

I think there will not be a pimp my ride segments in this new show. Correct if I am wrong. Pimp my ride on MTV works, the Malaysian version some time ago did not work as the only physical change was new wheel rims.

When the show becomes successful, you can invite your forum readeasr to go there to make a segment like how to drift or being ferried all over by Russ Swift :P

“WINK WINK”

• scottloeb on Apr 02, 2010 at 2:45 pm

Congratulation Paul! Hope it can be a benchmark programme for locally made motoring show.

• lol

• King Samurai on Apr 02, 2010 at 2:55 pm

Great! Hope this wont be like the other program on TV3 that is solely ‘BIASED’ by the sponsor.

• bean maeko on Apr 03, 2010 at 12:37 am

i don’t think any biased thing in ‘ronda bersama proton’. It just a simple marketing strategy that emphasis on good driving attitude. On top of that, proton shows that the capabilities of the brand. I don’t see any other brand bashing in the programme. What i know is, it’s the local programme that proud of what they have and to share with the viewers all the specs attributes. Some sort of driving class. Its fun and informative though, the target audience is totally different altogether. And i drive a korean car. Biased that.

• fort minor on Apr 03, 2010 at 12:13 pm

i second bean maeko….haters can’t never see anything positively…

• SY0H (Member) on Apr 04, 2010 at 10:14 am

Nice try bro. But a biased show will always be a biased show. Let the 27 million population witness and judge it by themselves. Most of us are Proton owners, so we know exactly how S%#KS the car is.

• xzibit on Apr 02, 2010 at 3:04 pm

awesome paul … i was really looking forward for shows like this in malaysia … unbiased review of cars r very important … as v as buyer doesnt know the truth of the information dat is enclosed bout a particular car in malaysia .. like they say 145 hp satria … prove it is 145 hp by bench marking it with cars with same hp … dont get petronas as sponsor … as u may hav to bias to malaysian car or merz

• sudha on Apr 02, 2010 at 3:04 pm

Congratulations Paul!..Been hearing about this for some and was looking forward to it. Now we, the motoring audience can look forward to a fresh perspective of the motoring industry and most importantly, and unbiased perspective at that.

The last two shows were a big let down … So, I am looking forward to see some pretty good quality performance and content from you..Cheers!

• Jarum on Apr 02, 2010 at 3:09 pm

Well done and congrats, Paul! Hard work really pays.

Looking forward to viewing the first episode.

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Apr 02, 2010 at 3:13 pm

congratz Paul!!…hope u dont act like jeremy clarkson in this show!

• Baron on Apr 02, 2010 at 3:13 pm

Very Good program.Thanks BHP :) Good luck Driven. Can’t wait to watch this.

• trav_da_man on Apr 02, 2010 at 3:16 pm

I looking forward for this show as well. Just as long they just like fifth gear they will do fine. More car review centric in Malaysian perspective. It is air on sunday evening which is just nice as many ppl dont go out on that time, just like how TG UK shows on sunday evenings too.

• farghmee on Apr 02, 2010 at 3:19 pm

i’m looking fwd to watch this program :)

All the Best for the Team!

• BUS-MINI on Apr 02, 2010 at 3:21 pm

BHP BOLEH !!!

• With Paul involved too, I’m sure this is going to be good but think of a way of letting us who are residing overseas to enjoy the show too. Thanks~!

*With so much anticipation for this show, no doubt someone will upload to some online video streaming in no time.

• Paul Tan on Apr 02, 2010 at 4:06 pm

You can watch the episodes online at driven.com.my after the episode is aired on 8TV

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 02, 2010 at 3:23 pm

hmm,,,,nice….hope it doesn’t disappoint like all the top gear spin offs.

• Wau! i bet it’s going to be a great show! proud of u paul!

Btw, will it feature ur face on TV?

• i think it will end like previous DAPAT tv programme.. what else they want to highlight?

maybe for the first episode can compare Alza vs Exora.. but after 30 episode… what else to compare? Unless got big sponsor, or can borrow ferrari from naza..

But, who will buy it? Proton basher’s like me? oh no way…

Want to introduce any technology? from who? Of course only Proton got its own tech.. but perodua wat else to show? latest bumper???

I confirm that only 10 episode can consider okay..but later too boring..nothing new to gain from this tv programme..unless they show a beautifool, charming girl besides the car…

For me, watching channel 734 Turbo on astro better.. wasting time watching Alza… unless they show 75km/h crash test..

• Paul Tan on Apr 02, 2010 at 3:34 pm

Interesting how you can make all these conclusions without even watching a single episode. Well, all we can say is we hope to prove you wrong. We’re not going to show Proton/Perodua related stuff only, that’s not what we meant by Malaysian content.

• campromania on Apr 02, 2010 at 5:16 pm

paul, just ignore SYOH comment, wasting ur time..btw congrats to u..hopefully this programme will success..i’m waiting for the 1st episode.. :)

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 02, 2010 at 5:46 pm

i guess he must have mistook this show for desperate housewives

• There’s so much going on about cars in Malaysia, Syoh have no idea. In fact, too much to talk about. Can’t wait for these Malaysian market related car show.

I saw “paultan.org’ was in the clip, Paul, you must be so proud :D

• rimuz53 on Apr 03, 2010 at 8:56 pm

a narrow minded person making a comment….reading his comment brings tears to my eyes….hahah

• SY0H (Member) on Apr 04, 2010 at 10:22 am

The comment above there is NOT THE REAL SY0H, that’s why I prefer a website/forum with compulsory LOG IN account.

The ones we have right now allows creation of nicknames and emails to be done immediately without verification. Please take this identity security under your consideration too.

Notes:- Hey “prick”, use your own nickname lah!

Thank you & sorry PaulTan, but the comment above is just not me. I respect your hard-work in setting up Driven, no questions on that! Keep up the good work and avoid those biased local car manufacturer from grabbing your balls!

• SY0H2 on Apr 02, 2010 at 3:42 pm

ntah…sengal macam dah tengok je

• SY0H (Member) on Apr 04, 2010 at 10:24 am

This is another prime example of a person lack of imagination. Get your own nicknamelah~

• aksMs on Apr 02, 2010 at 4:40 pm

True bashers at heart. Hahahaha. Paul, perhaps , if you got good reviews after the season finish, you could go IPTV next. We need more local content!

• Harvinder Sidhu (Member) on Apr 02, 2010 at 6:20 pm

We have studied various local and international motoring shows before we started to develop Driven. The final product will be very different compared to Dapat Auto or any other motoring shows. You will have a better understanding once you have watched the first episode.

• MADBOY on Apr 02, 2010 at 6:20 pm

Then, he got a point there. All this while, our local motor programs were totally dependant on the sponsor that it became some sort of advert for them.
      Then we had good TV presenter with no knowledge on motor industry or we had a person with good knowledge on motor industry but was a bad tv presenter.

I’m sure that you will do your best to avoid that, but the risk is there. let you dictate how the run the show.

Good luck

• sick&tired on Apr 02, 2010 at 8:39 pm

jesus dude, don’t get your panties in a knot! You do know that there are other car manufacturers other then perodua & proton rite?

• BMW M-Problem on Apr 02, 2010 at 3:31 pm

Cant wait ………Finally a show about cars that are available locally.
    I hope they are objective in their review and be critical as well.

• BMW M-Problem on Apr 02, 2010 at 3:33 pm

Bravo to BHP ……. I will patronize them from now.on…. do they have ron97…..

• good work!!unbiased is good…show us the real facts!!!

• libralcl on Apr 02, 2010 at 3:54 pm

Great! I will be a true supporter for this! Thanks Paul & team for bringing this! :)

• trav_da_man on Apr 02, 2010 at 4:03 pm

Reminded me of dapat auto which is actually still okay the moment ex CBT shamsul yunos joined. Initially it wasnt good.

But one of the worst i watched is sensasi auto at astro ria. Host is horrible, test drive is a joke, just turn the steering 270 degrees n the driver says the car got good handling. WTH???

There are some recent car shows like phat rides or another one in NTV7 but all wrongfully timed, perhaps that explains the show was unforgotten and met its demise.

Looking forward for the 1st ep of driven n expect some comments from a TG head like me!

• bean maeko on Apr 03, 2010 at 12:46 am

yeaaa bro now i remember, that sensasi auto! really laa pain in the a55. every week the same statement. the host feel like an expert by always measures the space of the driver head room by pointing his finger as hukum tangan kiri faraday…wat a joker!

• lambov12 on Apr 02, 2010 at 4:04 pm

will they have the lunacy and the madness or the creativity of Top Gear ?

• he he like racing a car (say lotus f1) against our MIG29 on sg besi airstrip? now that’s crazy…

• Tiadaid on Apr 02, 2010 at 4:14 pm

Well, good luck to the Paul and the team! Here’s to unbiased journalism, since many motoring journalist in Malaysia are either pro-Proton or pro-P2, just like the ppl commenting on this site.

I’ll be waiting for the 1st episode.

• kerelbort on Apr 02, 2010 at 4:22 pm

well.. congratulation!!.. after successfully provide malaysian with online malaysia auto scene, now you are on the screen, i guess with ur affectionado with automotive, ur team might be able to create a motoring show that is much different from other malaysian made motoring show shown on the tv that is almost showoff and no go. ((just pretty face on the tv.. huhu))

i could guess what some of the commentator means by sponsored by manufacturer and for me its their own right to promote their brand thus having the tv show solely to themselves? come on guys. no need to bash blindly when u hoping for unbiased show…

well… i wish [email protected] a very successful run and having its own concept and speedlane success, i know most of ur reader hoping for a top gear malaysia but I’m hoping to see much more relevant malaysian review car show. surprise us!!

pst pst.. don wan to invite ur lucky paultan reader for a test drive any car u have on the show?? (hint: me!) har har

• hahah, good luck la. But I doubt it’s gonna be a good show. Knowing that Malaysia’s auto scene is all politics, sensivity, etc. Besides, the Malaysian journalism is timid. Cant say thing, cant show that, can reveal this, and that.

All parties trying to look after their own interest, and dont dare to step on ppl’s foot in business in the name of FACT and TRUTH. At the end, I hope the show won’t be clinical to watch.

• Joshua on Apr 02, 2010 at 4:29 pm

MAn, THIS IS AWESOME, I AM SO GONNA WATCH IT.
    GOOD JOB, PAUL AND YOUR TEAM :)

• Ordinary Joe on Apr 02, 2010 at 4:48 pm

Nice!! Can i audition to maybe co-host a slot for next season? I can represent the thinking of ordinary joes on car related issues!! like Jonny or Tom Ford on Fifth Gear hehe… Nways, kudos and keep up the good work!

• Ultraman on Apr 02, 2010 at 4:48 pm

Woah, finally Paul will be on TV !!

• ford_ton on Apr 02, 2010 at 4:49 pm

Can I suggest you add road manners as an ingredient. I know many Malaysian lacks this flavour in their driving. And please throw in some car care maintenance and tricks pulled by unethical workshop operators on unsuspecting motorists (hidden camera maybe). Malaysian are so inadequately educated on motoring aspects. I knew lots of my friends still in the dark on what is the best maintenance on their rides. For them anything pricier is the best parts for their car and they always end up paying for what they don’t really need such as draining their fully synthetic motor oil at 5k interval when it can be safely extended to 10k. There are many more tricks pulled up upon us the motorists that I hope you can help to enlighten us.

• fort minor on Apr 03, 2010 at 12:11 pm

road manners are important,but kinda boring isn’t it?let’s leave those stuff to MIROS…i wanna be entertained by this show…bring on the fun stuff guys!!lol

• littleboy on Apr 02, 2010 at 4:55 pm

congrate…Paul is tat u in the show???? as long as the content is localize its ok forme….don like to c caplang Vicki….jeremy in the show like the show be 4…..

• exlive3 on Apr 02, 2010 at 4:56 pm

paul, congrat…gonna watch every episode…lol

• tanasi on Apr 02, 2010 at 5:10 pm

Paul – remember to keep it unbiased. I see too much of Bimmer stuff on your blog bro, honestly. I mean, the kiddie pushcar, what’s that for?

• Paul Tan on Apr 02, 2010 at 5:18 pm

There is alot of BMW news because BMW has alot of stuff for people to talk about. It’s as simple as that. The kiddie pushcar was a joke ;)

• double helices on Apr 02, 2010 at 5:15 pm

Hmmm seems like a combination of 5th Gear and Top Gear. Like the content but dont like the presenters especially Sharizan; some-what pretentious Clarkson wannabe.

• Paul Tan on Apr 02, 2010 at 5:17 pm

What do you not like about the presenters?

• double helices on Apr 02, 2010 at 5:54 pm

Based on first impression of the preview; the chemistry between the trio seems superficial and lack substance. Well probably my views might change after watching the show. Until then.

• Paul Tan on Apr 02, 2010 at 6:30 pm

OK, hope to hear more comments and criticism when the episodes air.

• sick&tired on Apr 02, 2010 at 8:35 pm

And you impression is based on a 1 min 39 seconds promo clip? How the hell did you come to that conclusion!? Looks good to me, wish you guys the best of luck.

• even in topgear, i dont see chemistry between jeremy and james may. more like james being bullied by jeremy.

look forward to watching nurul elis.

• RS Fan on Apr 03, 2010 at 1:16 am

Paul, I have to second this comment on one of the presenter acting like Clarkson in this clip and wish it wouldnt happen again it made lot of us cringe.

Dont get me wrong, I’d love to see this show up and running rather well. but then it is quite easy to get into the frame of Jeremy Clarkson / Tiff Needle / Vicky Butler rather than having own identity.

Wish you lot all the best.

• Paul Tan on Apr 03, 2010 at 1:24 am

Which part seemed Clarksonny?

• RS Fan on Apr 03, 2010 at 1:46 am

the one in the grey merc when he was about to test a corner or something. that is soo Clarkson.

I knew it as I watch Top Gear everyday at least two shows or I just leave it open whilst doing something else…..yes, it’s a sad life, but what can u do if that’s the only interesting daytime telly.

• Harvinder Sidhu (Member) on Apr 02, 2010 at 6:31 pm

The video above is a quick promo and its best to watch at least the first episode to understand the chemistry between the hosts.

• Bruce Ban on Apr 02, 2010 at 5:30 pm

I’ve always wanted to watch an unbiased, unprejudiced and fair automobile tv show, but sadly there aren’t… but after all this years spending on Paultan.org, I think I can trust Paul’s show…. anyway maybe Paul can show us old vs new car? (I mean 1st generation vs 2nd generation comparison)

• Toyota drivers are idiots on Apr 02, 2010 at 5:37 pm

Looks ok but i agree with @double helices that shahrizan wants to be a clarkson wannabe just like NTV7’s GET@CAR TV show which doesn’t work out well for them.

• Harvinder Sidhu (Member) on Apr 02, 2010 at 6:37 pm

Every auto review has a different treatment or story line to it and to get a full understanding of what we are trying to achieve, its best to watch an entire episode.

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Apr 02, 2010 at 5:38 pm

hope not cut short to just 30minutes program….

too much advertise if that happens

• rally_fan on Apr 02, 2010 at 5:42 pm

well done paul.. a bold move.. wish you all the best and hope you get the same success as you’ve gotten thus far with your web blog.

• 2fast on Apr 02, 2010 at 5:58 pm

Congrats for making this show possible.

If possible, include a comparo segment and let the viewers vote for the cars they like best via SMS.

• Paul Tan on Apr 02, 2010 at 6:01 pm

Come on guys. This is our first season. Everything is a first for us. Go easy on the criticism until you watch the show lah :)

• BMW M-Problem on Apr 02, 2010 at 7:27 pm

Paul.. … blind bashers strike again… Haven’t watch the show already got criticism.

Ignore them….. I personally cant wait for it. I am optimistic cos i know it will be better than
      previous attempt by others…..

• Don’t worry, even Bugatti Veyrons get criticisms. Bashers are just envious.

• RS Fan on Apr 03, 2010 at 1:34 am

Ya ler Paul, just filter through good comments only, we know u can do well..u’ve already proven your passion here on this website..the show is just another step forward.
      if u’ve run out of idea just stick an email address at the website where the auto enthusiasts like us can give u more ideas we see fit.

again Good Luck to you and your team!

• tkaira on Apr 02, 2010 at 6:14 pm

go paul on your team!! ill be anticipating this!! ignore the bashers.. most of them dont even know what is auto industry like =)

• muryadi on Apr 02, 2010 at 6:20 pm

Tahniah

• since it is gonna be unbias, it would be great to do a fuel efficiency test. say 5 protons and 5 perodua on the road with all of the know petrol in the market.

• Paul Tan on Apr 02, 2010 at 6:28 pm

We hope to do that kind of massive scale of test, however we have limited sponsorship budget so we have to make do with what we have. You’ll be seeing a fuel consumption comparison between Exora and Alza though. :)

• torque (Member) on Apr 03, 2010 at 4:07 pm

Don’t worry Paul, we’ll support and watch ur show until it become so huge like Top Gear. By then, all those party with their ‘green’ will soon ‘race’ to pumping…sorry…i mean sponsor u on the budget that u seek. Just 1 advise Paul, don’t misuse la plak the budget and get urself a Bimmer like some politician/cronies do…hehehe….just kidding…best of luck Paul! :-)

• what kind of car will be featured?

any exotics? :P

• Harvinder Sidhu (Member) on Apr 02, 2010 at 7:18 pm

We try to feature a wide range of cars sold in Malaysia, ranging between both ends of the price spectrum ;)

• andymervingeorge.com on Apr 02, 2010 at 7:15 pm

Well done, Paul! Good start delving into video production. You make Bolehland proud lah! Cant wait to catch the first episod! Kiki and Harv pairing is a great idea too!

• shawal on Apr 02, 2010 at 8:01 pm

Congratulations , hope you guys will feature Tengku Djan & Kiki…

• Harvinder Sidhu (Member) on Apr 02, 2010 at 9:39 pm

Kiki is the co-host on the show… Her name is Alis :)

• dchegu on Apr 02, 2010 at 11:54 pm

any chance of seeing Kiki burning rubber in show? Like Vicky from fifth gear?

• wishy on Apr 02, 2010 at 8:03 pm

Gratz paul and harvinder!!! still remember the go-karting days back in school….and now u guys have your own motoring program….salute! Keep up the good work guys!

*will you be in any of the 13 episodes paul? hahaha….i hardly recognized harvinder in the first picture….

• Yo paul, u should be in the show.

• V70T5 on Apr 02, 2010 at 8:28 pm

congratulation

create a FB fan page plisss
    ill be fan of it ;)

awesome Paul!!

• acerman on Apr 02, 2010 at 8:44 pm

I’m with you…there should be Facebook page.

• Harvinder Sidhu (Member) on Apr 02, 2010 at 9:41 pm

Don’t worry guys, there will be a Facebook profile for Driven :)

• acerman on Apr 02, 2010 at 8:42 pm

I’m with you all the way. Who cares about those bashers that only sees those whitemen making fool of themselves. (U know what I mean)… Malaysian Made own Motor tv show.

• freeze on Apr 02, 2010 at 8:42 pm

Paul, how about crash testing an old Saga or Wira. Don’t have have to be a real crash test with expensive dummies, just to satisfy some people’s curiousity. Wouldn’t cost much either.

Should also consider a segment where you test or “review” used cars to show the state of those cars after certain number of years – headlamps turn yellowis, dashboard squeaking, interior plastics fading and becoming brittle, etc.

Is that Paul, dancing in the video at the petrol station? If its him, seems like he’s lost a lot of weight.

Anyway, not really a fan of the female there.

• Artz3 on Apr 02, 2010 at 8:52 pm

Congratz on the “newborn baby’! Hopefully this isn’t just a one season show! I guess I reserve my judgement about the show till I at least watch one whole episode.

• Hooray brown-asian kids pretending they are Top Gear and reviewing the silly rubbish econo boxes their market enjoys.

• Harvinder Sidhu (Member) on Apr 02, 2010 at 10:18 pm

We are certainly not trying to pretend that we are Top Gear. Its an auto review program that caters for the Malaysian market.

We are trying to establish that we are different and we believe that you will understand this after watching the first episode.

It has no resemblance to the BBC show and only shares the fact that its an auto review show as well although the UK show does it differently.

• S.Roma on Apr 03, 2010 at 2:37 am

Dear Mr Harvinder,

Thx for the clarification. Jus ignore that stupid person that have negative thinking. I hate him. Felt wanna punch his face.

• racist assholes like you dont belong here.

• torque (Member) on Apr 03, 2010 at 4:11 pm

WTF? What kind of dumb schmuck comment is that? Could u at least watch it first, then only u come out with that genius comment? Sigh! People…

• chaku on Apr 02, 2010 at 10:20 pm

they bashed Proton, they bashed the G, and now….they even bashed paul’s brainchild.

they bashed P1 can just by seeing a pic of a newly launched car.
    they reviewed P1 car handling even without any test drive.

so i’m not surprise that they will bash this program without ever seeing even an episode of it…

these bashers only have one thing in their mind:
    Anything that is made in malaysia or by malaysian is a joke.

• kimi_ on Apr 02, 2010 at 11:46 pm

Great, i am always a motoring fan and i still remember that i always watch NTV 7′

auto motorsport motoring program at 1.30 pm FIVE YEARS AGO …..For me, that is the

best as they do the car review and test drive in detail and no – nonsense unlike the top gear

which is more for entertainment……So, i hope DRIVEN will do that also in the test drive, be serious and professional…..

HOPE THIS SHOW WILL BE MORE CAR FOCUS , REDUCE THE FUNNY AND COMEDIAN ANTICS WILL DO BEST FOR MOST CAR ENTHUSIAST RATHER THAN FOR ENTERTAINMENT !!!

P/s i am dissapointed cant see Paul Tan handsome face as the host in driven…….FML

• wow, paul, any chance i may get to join in this production?

• redline on Apr 03, 2010 at 12:17 am

Looks great! Can’t wait to check it out. The preview looks impressive too. Let’s all give our best support for the 1st season so that there will be many more to come! Any chance of a 458 and SLS shootout…?

• blowwaterguy on Apr 03, 2010 at 12:51 am

Long time didn’t put any comment on paul’s blog…

Congrat Paul !!
    Really look forward to this show !! :D

• barca96 on Apr 03, 2010 at 1:09 am

who are the hosts for the show?
    that girl in the pic looks familiar.

• clone on Apr 03, 2010 at 2:31 am

wow, congratulation Paul.

• Zack hakimi on Apr 03, 2010 at 2:59 am

promo looks cool man….

now malaysia osohave sumthng like top n fifth gear in UK…

hopefully more episode to come…13 not enough…huhuhu..demanding paul

• MetalHeadS on Apr 03, 2010 at 3:01 am

sweat, one of the host is my friend.. lol

• overflow (Member) on Apr 03, 2010 at 7:39 am

i’m hope they can sell driven series to other country, if can do that maybe driven doesn’t need any other sponsor to support..

• Joe labou on Apr 03, 2010 at 10:37 am

who is “Stig” in this program guys? hahaa…hope he will be Tengku DJan or Karamjit or Alex Yoong…

btw, can’t wait to see this show…congrats n good luck guys!

• Black Dog on Apr 03, 2010 at 12:33 pm

Go Paul, Go! Go! Go!

We’ll support you all the way!

• Anonymous on Apr 03, 2010 at 2:12 pm

Despite car test, also include anything about being a driver in bolehland:

Bumpy-holes road surface, sickening traffic lights, automotive insurance, worsening kl / penang traffic jam, bolehland driver habit, gomen policies, etc. But make it simple or funny or anything non-documentary like segment. You know what.

I watched Top Gear about railroad car accident in Britain mostly contribute by grandma/grandpa. So hey conduct a test and wa-la! Train vs renault mpv.

Or u can make our bolehland poor road surface an issue. So you conduct a drive test and count how many holes u get hit just along Jalan Tun Razak or Sultan Ismail or Putrajaya or etc. I feel sick even driving in front of klcc also got holes ka. It cost me new absorbers and new tyres ! Rural road are even more headache!

Typical so called 3rd country!

all this factor also contribute us to buy car.

• paultan fan on Apr 03, 2010 at 3:29 pm

good job paul.. can’t wait for next sunday

• paultan fan on Apr 03, 2010 at 4:18 pm

da tengok video tu. memang setaraf ngan top gear. Gud luck paul

• valandil on Apr 03, 2010 at 5:38 pm

i hope you guys can talk about the grey importers too.. as i see a lot of grey imported cars but mostly higher end vehicles on the road. the pros and cons.

• top gear malaysia!!!!!!!!!(in tv,not the magazine one….><)

• cd_asan on Apr 03, 2010 at 7:01 pm

funny the presenter are not recognisable as a car loving journalist. i wish tv station should consider more towards the credibility of the presenter.

• transformer (Member) on Apr 03, 2010 at 11:09 pm

hope host review and comment are sincere and not bias…
    hope reviews are down to earth cars and not those cars cost half a millions…

cant wait for next sunday…

will there a review/test on “petrol” says, 10L Ron95 BHP vs 10L Ron95 Shell, on highway drive on the same car, same route, same speed(all under same condition), which petrol give more mileage ?

• ~JviperS2~ on Apr 04, 2010 at 1:14 am

From the promo vid, the presenters are so so fake!
    It’s like imitating the three stooges of top gear!
    I think you’ve got a great show, but please get better presenters~

• Harvinder Sidhu (Member) on Apr 04, 2010 at 12:31 pm

Probably you should watch an entire episode first.. As mentioned earlier we are not trying to copy anyone. Its a unique show which is quite different from Top Gear.

We wanted it to be different and not to carry any resemblance to Top Gear, from the hosts, to the stories and treatment. The format is entirely different as well.

Its just that Top Gear is considered as the No 1 motoring magazine program in the world (an we Malaysians are very familiar with it) so people will always tend to say that we are trying to be like them.

• NICE…………….WELL DONE TO ALL THE TEAM………KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK

• SY0H (Member) on Apr 04, 2010 at 10:05 am

I QUOTE:

“The program will specifically showcase unbiased auto reviews on cars…”

I’m afraid this might be untrue. Once you’ve entered the local mainstream entertainment industry, especially in Malaysia, its either you or your collaborating partners or both, will be forced to promote certain “local products” regardless of its terrible fuel consumption, looks and quality. I think you know which Tin Milo car “brand” I’m talking about.

• SY0H (Member) on Apr 04, 2010 at 10:32 am

Furthermore, my comments (not that it really matters) on this particular thread came in only today, Sunday, between 10am-10.35am.

Any comments before this are all Fake and Imposers. I believed all are the Courtesy of P1 Gay Boys.

• Paul et all
    Just ignore all these idiotic blockheads who seemed to know everyting from a 1.30min promo video.

I think it looks good. Keep it up.

Perhaps, maybe we can have you …er… reviewing something as a voiceover?
    Like Charlie… he he

• Ahmad on Apr 04, 2010 at 11:59 am

Good move and can’t wait to see it on TV…wow very proud we have now own tv show about car from our respected car journalist brainchild’s himself. Very bold move

• Paul Tan on Apr 04, 2010 at 12:11 pm

To be honest, I haven’t really been able to sleep well at night after reading all the ‘bashing’ here. Funny how something truly Malaysian that we wanted to do can be shot down like mad even before it has even started. Now I know what Proton engineers must feel while reading the comments on this site.

To those who are supportive, I thank you deeply and hopefully you’ll like the first episode.

• Dear PaulTan,

Again, please ignore comments from imposers (using my nickname). It’s not that my comments is even better or what. Complain Proton, yes, I did that, complain Perodua I also did that, but for those who have been with the PaulTan forum (I’ve joined PaulTan for about 4~5 years now) but all those comments are for the benefit of our local car industry.

Eventually, we are all merely customers sharing their thoughts and experience. Luckily PaulTan allows most of our comments come into limelight without any biased at all. I truly believe that PaulTan is a true car enthusiasts. This explains why I’m still here, bashing as usual (but with a good cause).

How useful those comments are, depends on how you look at it. A comments against Proton will be seen as “bashing” by Proton Salesman, Proton Staff, Proton Dealers and et-cetera. Same goes with a salute to Perodua will be seen as the supporter of Perodua. Fortunately, I’m NEITHER a Proton nor a Perodua worshiper. I see car as an asset or at least as a product. And I don’t treat my car like I treat my wife (as some people in here claim). My wife is a human being, my car is a product (which could be bought or sold). You don’t buy and sell you wife like a commodity? Understand that logic first.

I have previously driven many car brands. Amongst the most driven by me (for almost entire life so far) are Proton cars (ironically!). Bashing Proton cars due to self-experience is different from people who never actually drive or own one. Let alone Proton Salesmen who sold it and say its fine (that’s still considered a biased statement). We do have plenty of salesmen, dealers and staff in here. That’s why PaulTan is the best place as a customer, for me filed in my complaints (as a customer) as complaining to the Service Center prove to be futile (useless).

My family is somewhere around middle class citizens.

We owned many Proton cars before (not at once, but buy and sell through out the time). This dates from year 1980’s until year 2010.

Proton Saga – belong to my father, I’ve driven it – Problem High.

Proton Iswara – belongs to my father, I’ve driven it – Problem High.

Proton Wira – belong to my father, I’ve driven it too – Problem High.

Honda Civic – belongs to my father, I’ve driven it too – Minor Problem.

Toyota Corolla – belongs to my grandpa, I’ve driven it too – Minor Problem.

Proton Waja – belongs to my late grandpa, I’ve driven it too – Problem High.

Proton Gen.2, 1st Generation – belongs to my mother, I’ve driven it – Problem High.

Then came in Kancil – belongs to my siblings, I’ve driven it, – Minor problem.

Then came in Perodua ViVa – belongs to my other siblings, I’ve driven it – Minor problem. (looks like my siblings make the right decisions)

Daihatsu Charade – belongs to my uncle first than passed down to me, and driven it, in fact my first car – Minor problems and still alive even after 12 years!

Then came in Gen.2 CPS for my spouse and I owned and driven it – Problem Medium.

Then came in Persona I owned and driven it – Problem Very High.

Looks like, 3 generations of my family (The Grandpa, The Father and The Son) suffer under the P1 badge. So who could blame us? The other brand doesn’t disappoint us at all.

Let’s see, don’t tell me the term, “Customer Always Right” doesn’t apply to Proton? Gosh, our consumers rights are sucks then.

Sorry off topic!

As for the TV SHOW “DRIVEN: – I say its a cool episode and I still have faith in it!

PS:- PaulTan, please make it is compulsory to register nickname via email verification first to avoid nicknames to be stolen or impersonate. (Especially my precious nickname). Haha.

• Tiadaid on Apr 04, 2010 at 8:13 pm

SY0H, criticism is never a problem if done constructively. But what you’ve done is repeatedly parroting the same story over and over again, without any constructive comments. That’s bashing. Every post on Proton would be filled with your comments that’s not constructive. Plus, whenever Proton has been praised, where were you? Credit where credit’s due. If you’d done that, then you’d never been bashed.

And before you ask, no I’m not a Proton salesman. I have my own horror story with my car, a 2004 i-DSi Honda City. If I post in a Honda article, it’s usually in reply to those Proton bashers.

• Paul Tan on Apr 04, 2010 at 8:58 pm

Please don’t pollute this story with your Proton rantings.

• kimi_ on Apr 04, 2010 at 10:40 pm

Paul, i agree that sometimes we the basher are going overboard, BUT this is what we

liked about this site where we can freely post our point of view and comments…

And sometimes, we wrote without thinking (APOLOGISE) and we really appreciate what you have contribute so far, Paul……..

Please paul, dont always take it seriously or take it as motivation though :-)

• typical malaysian story. watch first then comment for a good reason. we need our own show & don’t care its our so call version of top gear or fifth gear as long as its entertaining us as vehicle enthusiast.

• Bobby on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:24 am

Congrats Paul. Would definitely help publicize it on our upcoming issue and Facebook page. As for the commenters, LoL~ social media, let them say, let them rant, there will always be neutral fellows and constructive ones correcting them for you. Need not loose sleep over this.

Email me some visuals and perhaps an official YouTube video from your channel? (If there is) I’ll link it up our magazine.

Cheers!

• TV shows are toned down? on Apr 05, 2010 at 9:16 am

My wish is you still keep this blog a priority. Being on the net, this blog has a lot more ‘free-speech’ on it. TV shows have to cater for more general audience and subjected to more authority regulations. Hence, it will certainly contain more entertainment than facts and very much toned down comments and critics.

Don’t get me wrong Paul – I’m not agaist you ‘having your own tv shows.’ I just do not want to see the shows overwhemls you and makes this sites loses its appeal.

• Paul Tan on Apr 05, 2010 at 9:54 am

I have a dedicated team running the show, not even all the scripts is from me – blog is my priority. No worries there. Blog is for serious car buyer research. Tv show is for entertainment.

• Paul & The guys.

good that you have started your own TV program. I was dreaming that somebody could provide us with such stuffs. I wish you all the best.
    I have been thinking of such program too, but as you know, dreams of nobody will go nowhere. I got this crazy idea last time when I put a thought on one of its segments:
    the segment would be called “Crash It”.
    In this segment, you will give a list of cars to crash against a concrete barrier or something..
    viewers would be voting via SMS on what car they wish to crash. probably you could charge them RM1 (or so) per SMS to cover the bills :). The car that got the most votes would be crashed at the end of the next episode. that will show them how good the car really are. probably you could do that with MIROS!.

I think you could buy/import the car without tax for “motorsports related events” (or via MIROS) and then sell the done car to scrap yards.

• To some bitter people, there’s always something wrong in everything.

Since you have virtually unlimited source of bashers from this forum, why don’t you let them prove themselves to be more than anon keyboard warriors by having a public debate on the car you present on the show. If it’s a BMW, bring someone from the BMW club against someone from, say, the Merc camp. Have both of them ride inside while they talk their heads off, while the presenter at the front grin at the camera on how this 2 idiots talk trash.

Of course you might need to run civility tests on the participants in case it turns ugly (We might enjoy the scene but the authorities might not share the same sentiment :P) and probably need to edit a lot (if it turns into Gment/Proton bashing session).

• adijb on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:16 pm

Congrats! Hope I remember the date and time for the 1st episod. Maybe you can post an update 1 or 2 days before the show, just to remind your readers about it. I visit your blog almost everyday.

Congrats again. May the torque be with you ;-)

• nicholas on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:41 pm

congrats paul..will look forward to catchin the show dis weekend

• Hey guys, the show is on tonight! Can’t wait…

• I really2 loved this show!! Congrats Paul.. :-)

• badassdogg on May 03, 2010 at 1:25 pm

This show is ridiculously tantilisingly attractive…….heads up to all those people involved! hope the actual show is as good as its trailer! cheers