Taiwan’s Luxgen7 SUV offers plenty of gadgets and luxury

Here are more details of Taiwanese brand Luxgen’s second model, the Luxgen7 SUV. A big SUV that has the same footprint as a Porsche Cayenne (4.8m long, 1.93m wide) but taller, the Luxgen SUV has plenty of presence, if not beauty. The fussy front design could have been inspired by the Peugeot 3008 – with the same elements in the same position!

Curiously, the press release makes no mention of the engine, so we presume that under the hood is the 175 bhp/255 Nm 2.2-litre MEFI Turbo engine from their earlier car, the Luxgen7 MPV. The Aisin sourced transmission is a “10-mode” 5-speed automatic with tiptronic. This is combined with the SUV’s 3-mode 4WD system, which shuffles torque between axles on-demand.

Inside you’ll get premium leather seats, airline style head restraints with ventilation, electronic massage, lumbar support, Clarion audio system and JBL speakers. Most noteworthy is the anti-theft driver seat which slides and leans itself to the front to rest against the steering wheel when the driver locks the car, making it harder for thieves. There’s also a powered tailgate.

Also included is a Think+ on-board computer system (developed by HTC) which offers video, audio entertainment, telecommunication, GPS, personal safety and visual assistance systems. The latter consists of Eagle View+ (a 360 degree surveillance system), Side View+ (blind spot monitoring system), lane departure warning and night vision. Safety equipment such as dual airbags, ABS, EBD and Brake Assist are standard. Side and curtain airbags and ESP are optional.

Prices start from NTD 838,000 (RM86,000) to NTD 1,148,000 (RM118,000) in Taiwan. High res images after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1175]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• Peter on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:36 am

Well, pretty good…..But can forget about them reaching our shores….It just won’t happen….

• richerjoe on Jun 08, 2010 at 12:29 pm

how did u know?

• Peter on Jun 08, 2010 at 3:56 pm

Do you get cars from China, India domestic market? These models only solely sold in these markets. Furthermore, Taiwan is a left hand drive country. What makes you think they will make right hand drive for export?

The company is only concerned with domestic market, or the very least left hand drive market as well….

• Im in the Land of Incredible on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:38 am

Its offered more than our Perdana but cost less.

• ccb88 on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:55 am

for the price of Exora, we get Cayenne.

i think proton supporter will say,

with 1.6 CPS engine with manual gear, i can potong this luxgen kao kao.

2.0 liter turbo with 5 speed auto flappy gear can go fly kite.

EXORA WITH lotus handling tau??? Remember lotus??? lotus yang bankrupt tuh.

• Someone on Jun 08, 2010 at 1:54 pm

Lotus isn’t bankrupt; in fact it’s doing better than proton in terms for consistence.

• Jefferson Galt on Jun 08, 2010 at 4:40 pm

Are you mad, ccb88? What a scurrilous and malicious rumour.

Lotus is absolutely not going bankrupt.

It is at the forefront of technologies in many fields including electric / hybrids, sound for electric cars (so people who listen instead of looking don’t get mown down) and it produces the underpinnings of sophisticated tech, including chassis and suspension tech, in many supposedly run-of-the-mill cars produced by major manufacturers.

And, of course, it is heavily involved in the development of Proton vehicles.

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Jun 09, 2010 at 7:01 am

he just a teenager with daddys car with plate number ccb 88…

• p4k4bu on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:38 am

Nice colour. The seat that is! 8)

• littlefire on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:45 am

Wah.. Taiwanese also more advance than us… We r so doomed for our local car industry..

• dumbfucks on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:35 am

Hahaha..want to look at our skills, just read the papers. I think few weeks back, an article about an event held for Proton staffs. They use their parts bin to create something special. It ended up like shit cars everywhere. Like kids building cars with lego blocks. Disgrace. Why put it up in the first place. You think proud, we thought otherwise. Even people like Hyundai, Kia, China cars,now Taiwan can do it. We have that Emas. Ugly!

• Taiwan memang more advance than us le…. they are already negara maju where as malaysia still not…

• Pro Foxcon on Jun 08, 2010 at 3:12 pm

Of course taiwan more advanced than us, their primary school mathematics and science level equivalent to our secondary school form5 level de and that was 2 decades ago, not sure how much they raised their standard now. So I m no surprised at all they can come out with products like this Luxgen, asus, acer, htc, benQ, n many advanced electronic components. I think it’s a matter of times the Luxgen ll be on our road. Let’s Pray Hard.

• Honda Civic on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:28 pm

Oh really? 90% of the taiwan people i know can’t even speak a full sentence in english, and none of them know what does E=MC2 stands for. Therefore, I really doubted your statement.

• Mr honda civic, pls read again, Mr pro foxcon was referring to ‘mathematics’ and ‘science’ subjects of ‘primary school’ / ‘secondary school’. And there are only few people on the planet earth fully comprehend E=MC2. I have friends who studied in private chinese independant school told me the same story before, most of them graduated from National Taiwan University.

• IchimaruGin (Member) on Jun 09, 2010 at 3:46 am

speaking fluent English is a benchmark for the asians? then Japanese will be behind of Filipinos! LOL, Honda, look at the ranking how many top Unis in Asia/World Taiwan has. Asians dont have to learn foreign language to get rich!

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Jun 09, 2010 at 7:03 am

do you think English language is everything ? just see how our country (so called english speaker more than english native themselves) progessing in term of mathematic and science

• moriz on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:48 am

for that price….IT’S A STEAL…wif all those gadgets… :D

I LIKE!!!!

• Alanore Chong on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:50 am

Do U think P1 could produce the same & sell to us between RM 86,000 to RM118,000?

• Of coz not…not even after taking hundreds of millions in R&D research grant from the govt/rakyat

• BMALOI on Jun 08, 2010 at 12:01 pm

I REALLY DOUBT SO!!!!! even a RM80K+ car is coming with cheapo plastics for interior.

By the way the price for this Luxgen hasn’t included TAX and etc…. please do a simple calculation after the blood sucking tax and dealer’s profit?

• richerjoe on Jun 08, 2010 at 12:23 pm

sure can .. ;)

• Rassan on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:52 am

Quite affordable…. Damm cheap…
    Aduhai Barisan Neraka….. abolish import car tax, improve infrastructure / services / etc… if want to implement GST!

• PakAbu (Member) on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:11 am

To abolish the import tax will be a disaster. Too abrupt.
      Gov. should start by reducing import tax for “clean” & “green” engine cars first. Cars with low fuel consumption eg. hybrids, EVs & clean diesel; and/or low emission should be taxed less or NO tax at all.

Then only fuel subsidy can be reduced. It most go in tandem. Hand in hand. Bit by bit. Slowly. Yearly. Anually. Sedikit-sedikit. Beransur-ansur. Jangan buat terkejut. Jangan buat tapi tak muktamad. Jangan acah-acah. Sakit jantung.

I hope they’re are listening. And UNDERSTAND. But I’m not holding my breath.

• NiceCar (Member) on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:14 am

last time one of our PM raise the petrol price and he said the saving subsidy will use to improve the public transportation..
      Now he had even “retire”, the Q are: Where is the money that had saved? When the public transportation been improved?

• Black Dog on Jun 08, 2010 at 12:27 pm

Excuses…excuses…for G to raise prices.

– our oil will finish in a few years
        – money saved will help the poor
        – money saved is for transport
        – our country will go bankrupt

But if public raise prices, we’ll catch and punish you!

• Elvis on Jun 08, 2010 at 4:19 pm

Many years oledi said improve public transportation my ass. Where’s are those MPs ‘personal’ trying out public transportation many many years ago? Singapore oledi way way ahead in fact down to precision on time of arrival of their public transportation. After so many years of empty rheotics from TM, TAB, and now PM Najib, STILL no improvement! Change Gomen lah better!!!

• Elvis on Jun 08, 2010 at 4:19 pm

Many years oledi said improve public transportation my ass. Where’s are those MPs ‘personal’ trying out public transportation many many years ago? Singapore oledi way way ahead in fact down to precision on time of arrival of their public transportation. After so many years of empty rheotics from TM, TAB, and now PM Najib, STILL no improvement! Change Gomen lah better!!!

• paultan fan on Jun 09, 2010 at 10:16 am

agree. give other party a chance to rule our country

• squawk on Jun 09, 2010 at 3:54 pm

I read in SG papers that said public transportation board still not happy with the system’s efficiency. For example, if you need to wait 15min for a bus now, they aim to cut it down to 10min. I was speechless. Over here, if your wait is 30min you’re damn lucky (I was a frequent public transport user before).

• Tiadaid on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:35 am

How can Barisan Neraka improve infrastructure when Malaysia’s full of third-world people who are first-world wannabes without first-world mentality?

And if you think Pakatan Rosak’s any better, have I got news for you. They’re not!

• PakAbu (Member) on Jun 08, 2010 at 2:24 pm

Somebody said:

“Politicians are like diapers. They both need changing regularly and for the same reason.”

8)

• paultan fan on Jun 09, 2010 at 10:18 am

but we must 1st give their chance be4 judge them. after more than 50 years under BN rule, so why cant give pakatan rakyat 5 year

• jaguarXJ on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:55 am

eh,its quite nice!

• RM86000 for this car in Taiwan? It simply shows how we’re being ripped off here in Bolehland. They want to cut all the subsidies but not those stupid excise duties, otherwise our government will go bankrupt. So others have expensive petrol but cheap cars, we have expensive petrol and expensive cars.

• richerjoe on Jun 08, 2010 at 12:26 pm

well said.. ;)
      can win short essay

• lance on Jun 08, 2010 at 12:30 pm

yes, 110% agree with u. As long government can forgo the excise & import duty of car, i also willing to forgo petrol subsidies…But the question is, will this happen in M’sia?? No way as long BN in power cos they will never learn & understand us, rakyat of m’sia. They only good in accusing us not being grateful…..aiks..

• WoW

• Paul Tan on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:03 am

I think it looks like an oversized Hyundai I30, just take a picture of the i30 and compare.

• paultan fan on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:17 am

not bad. our local brand is somewhat nowhere as neat as this model :-)

• squawk on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:51 am

Doesn’t score in the looks dept but well equipped.

And to think we were on par with Taiwan only 30+ years ago. Now they have HTC, Asus, Acer……..

• ccb88 on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:53 am

if proton make this car, they will sell at 200k, becos its 2.0 liter turbo.and it looks like cayenne.

looks at the exora, 1.6 liter camtakpro, already rm80k.

hahahhaah, malaysia kaya, malaysia boleh!!!!

• azrai on Jun 08, 2010 at 12:15 pm

Wow..Taiwan so front in moving forward. they don’t even have English at the school.

• hyper junior on Jun 08, 2010 at 6:30 pm

Taiwan is know as the little sister of big brother japan…

• hen rou on Jun 08, 2010 at 12:23 pm

well proton, we need a suv…..

• Black Dog on Jun 08, 2010 at 12:28 pm

Paul, is this a prelude for somebody to bring it in?

• Gajen on Jun 08, 2010 at 1:17 pm

people are moving fast…even taiwan can make such a good car…i actually like it…looks very comfy

• zaff1984 on Jun 08, 2010 at 2:07 pm

how come they can put the pricing so affordable…? I like exora but looking it cheap interior, turn me down.

• PakAbu (Member) on Jun 08, 2010 at 2:37 pm

I think they outsource some from mainland China.

Maybe proton outsourced to the wrong people…. :cry:

• Amiran on Jun 08, 2010 at 3:12 pm

Also assembly gaps you can even slot in your finger (especially the tailgate) which the story you can traced back to the first SAGA in 1985!
      25yrs and yet keep on continuing!
      Improving?…. (dream)

• quite impressive this is just LUXGEN 2nd model..

BTW look at our bolehland,
    Proton is 25 this yr and still need gov to breast feeding them..
    and make those low class but high price model to suck our blood..

• Amiran on Jun 08, 2010 at 3:05 pm

Ha ha ha, thats funny man… 25yrs old boy(man) still need breastfeeding!

• ya.. welll said.. imagine grown up to 25yrs old for a man shd be able to work & survive yourself & not stretch your hand to your mum for “SUBSIDY”.. somehow even shd “SUBSIDY” your parent.

• hyper junior on Jun 08, 2010 at 6:33 pm

25 yrs old is still a baby dinosaur. guess it will only grow up another 25 yrs to come…

• azrai on Jun 09, 2010 at 7:44 am

Luxgen already established since 1953, Proton 1985.

• typical BN style,
        dont find excuse for own mistake lar…

LUXGEN is established at “2009”
        but Yulon is established since 1953..

Yulon did launch a model name Feeling101 at 1986
        but due to poor quality,Feeling was stop production at 1993..

their gov didnt BREAST FEEDING yulon
        and Yulon didnt cry and yell at his mum said,
        “i dont care~!tax them 300%~ i want subsidy”

taiwan ppl dun need to paid those stupid bloodsucking tax just to save YULON!
        and u have to know,taiwan automotive industry is much smaller and competitive frm us..

but in BOLEHLAND?????
        PUI~~~~!!!!!!!

sorry for my broken english.. hehehe

• Nutty Dad on Jun 08, 2010 at 2:13 pm

Taiwan is the main technical support behind lot of Malaysian so call OEM manufacturers to P1, P2 & etc. They already have the know how to do precision mould for various part of a car. So, it’s no suprise if or when they decide to build a whole car in a flash. As u know, they don’t get government preference or “tongkat” like our good old Proton. So, that’s more remarkable archievement than our Juara Kampung.
    Taiwan is the king of OEM b4 China come along.
    Remember, Taiwan companies design & build most of the PDA in the market & your PC motherboard too. Throw in iPhone, laptop, ic board etc…..

• Mujahiddin on Jun 08, 2010 at 2:14 pm

The interior is the most interesting, looks more stylish & premium than most P1 cars!

• Amiran on Jun 08, 2010 at 2:31 pm

There it goes, that long list of electronic controls and lux. equipments only for the price of between Vios Dugong and Corolla Al-pi-tis

• shawal on Jun 08, 2010 at 3:54 pm

Looks like a hyundai i10 on steroids…

• linear_system on Jun 08, 2010 at 5:07 pm

its cheap maybe bcos they just did a reverse engineering..not a fully R&D from the sketch..yes u can see the 3008 shapes on it…

• One very impressive thing is the ant-thift system but a bit low tech, driver seat ban to front when alarm on… pencuri can not drive liao…

http://www.luxgen-motor.com.tw/cars/SUV/default.asp

• undergraduate on Jun 08, 2010 at 5:53 pm

Luxgen with luxury interior design. Good name BTW.

• hebat fatimah on Jun 09, 2010 at 3:59 am

not impressed with taiwan made scooters.. they are all wannabe quality & design – won’t be surprised if this vehicle is made of the same quality ..

u pay for peanut, u will get peanut ..

• I was considering to get a Toyota Wish. A new one is just too costly and a 5 years old 1.8 Wish still cost about 108K to 120K. In Taiwan, the brand new latest model 2.0G is only selling at NT865,000, that is less than RM90K.

Thanks to Tun M, thanks to Proton.

• odi862 on Jun 09, 2010 at 10:51 am

If this is selling in Malaysia for that price, many will but it instead of Exora or others that is in the same price region.

• nighttrain on Jun 09, 2010 at 11:25 am

Oh man! Even new manufacturers are beating us? Wake up, boys, we desperately need to build something similar to this quality, and quickly.. Why are the supporters being very quiet?

• ghvictor on Jun 09, 2010 at 6:55 pm

This is the news release from Luxgen at http://www.luxgen-motor.com/, check it out.

” LUXGEN unveils world’s first Hi-Tech LSUV

2010/06/04

? Largest exterior dimensions (4800mm x 1930mm x 1760mm) in its segment.

? Intelligent powered tailgate and exclusive anti-theft sport seat as standard equipment.

? Four visual assistance systems supported by a powerful “Think+” onboard computer.

Taiwan’s first passenger automobile brand LUXGEN is steaming ahead with the launch of its second model the LUXGEN7 SUV. After the unprecedented success of its debut model, the LUXGEN7 MPV, which received comprehensive media coverage during the world debut at the Dubai motor show, achieved phenomenal sales volume which surpassing the sales volume of the entire Hyundai brand in Taiwan and became the first automobile ever to win the prestigious Taiwan Excellence Award, LUXGEN has poured everything it stands for to create the next new LUXGEN model—the LUXGEN7 SUV.

The LUXGEN7 SUV represents a milestone in vehicle design. The distinctive wing-shaped chrome nose trim and cascading grille express both power and confidence; meanwhile, its coupe-like profile and upward sweeping beltlines conveys a sense of dynamic motion as well. Measuring at 4.8 meters long, 1.93 meters wide and 1.76 meters in height, the LUXGEN7 SUV is also among the largest in its segment while maintaining an elegant and svelte proportions.

In order to offer an impressively solid body structure, the LUXGEN7 SUV adopts the Multi-H floor structure and HRSS High Rigidity Safety Structure to achieve a flat and spacious interior floor and excellent level of impact-resistance characteristics. For the powertrain, the LUXGEN7 SUV comes equipped with an intelligent 10-mode, 5-speed automatic transmission with manual shifting function co-developed by world’s famous automotive transmission manufacturer Aisin for responsiveness, efficiency and driving enjoyment. LUXGEN7 SUV’s intelligent 3-mode 4WD system can actively divide engine torque between the front and rear axles based on the road condition and driver input.

In order to facilitate the cargo access, the LUXGEN7 SUV is the only vehicle in its segment to be equipped with the intelligent power actuated tailgate as standard equipment. The intelligent power tailgate can be configured to open partially in order to prevent collision when parked in confined spaces such as an underground parking lot.

The LUXGEN-exclusive anti-theft sport seat is another standard equipment to demonstrate LUXGEN’s attentive consideration for its owners. When drivers press the button on the anti-theft seat for three seconds before locking up the doors with the remote control, the anti-theft system will activate by sliding itself forward and leaning against the steering wheel to deny unauthorized access of the vehicle.

In terms of the interior design, the LUXGEN7 SUV uses the premium leather seat with airline first class style surrounding head restraints together with the available heating, ventilation, electronic massage and lumber support adjustment functions to ensure upmost comfort anytime. In addition, the Hi-end Clarion audio system and JBL speakers provide premium sound quality and surreal vocal reproduction to music lovers.

In the LUXGEN7 SUV, safety is the utmost priority. Standard safety equipments includes dual front SRS airbags, ABS Antilock Braking System, BAS Braking Assistance System, EBD Electronic Brake Distribution system; furthermore, dual side protection airbags, dual side curtain airbags, ESC Electronic Stability Control, TCS Traction Control System are also available options.

The Think+ onboard computer system which offers video and audio entertainment, telecommunication, GPS navigation, personal safety, owner exclusive and system settings functions are complemented with four advanced visual assistance systems including Eagle View+ (a 360 degree surveillance system), Side View+ (Blind Spot Monitoring System), LDWS+ (Lane Departure Warning System) and Night vision+ (high sensitivity night vision enhancement system) offering unparalleled functionality.

The LUXGEN7 SUV is available in five trim levels at prices ranging from NTD 838,000 to NTD 1,148,000.”

Wow, what can i say, it is only their 2nd model and it already has some safety features that are leading the world….the first in a production car. Even the best car manufacturers can’t offer those feature. And this is a 2 yr old (technically speaking) car company…………..it just showed that auto industry outside malaysia is developing at a cut-throat pace, whereas in the bolehland, P1 is still crawling on the floor and asking for more breast milk. P1 still struggles to offer cars more than bread n butter and ancient 2 front airbag / ABS, and their pride CPS Campro is still belt-driven (i can’t recall any normal engine with VVT which is still belt-driven).

Mind you, Luxgen is at the moment has a production volume that is less than P1 or P2, but their ability to offer this car at a very attractive price is unbelievable.

Over in bolehland, P1 always complains that they need to increase volume to achieve economy of scale (basically just to increase their profit margin)….. that is their main problem…..always talk and talk…….while still offering boring cars with old tech.

• JBL ice as standart?? nw dats cool…bak dtg lah exora…hahahha…shame on u p1…p2 xyh ckp lah… =.=” p2 mcm xde hasil je..it will be better if they jst bring daihatsu brand here :D cuz p2 is like buying a daihatsu but with a very2 damn low spec :\ hmmm…n cheap price ofcourse..

• just my personal opinion btw :)

• OpenMind on Jun 11, 2010 at 1:31 am

you dont need a degree to realize what sort of people we have in proton or P2, that produce sucha result over so many years…..This is exactly the problem when you give too much spoon feeding, people will not grow. Give us another 20 years, looking at the batch of student produced iout of the education system in malaysia. and when they become the new work force in the industry, you will realize it is just too late…..We dont have natural disaster, but the way the country is set up, low qualtiy education system, ultra shortsighted economy program, biased policy, etc WE ARE CREATING THE BIGGEST AND MOST DANGEROUS MAN_MADE DISASTER

than i think we will by then compare against zimbabwe, afghanistan, africa…. Look at the result and car produced by proton / P2, it is actually a disgrace.

there are a lot of proton owners out there, give them the choice of buying this at RM8x k and a exora at RM76k, how many percent would swap to this car……

by the way, P1 and P@ car sales stil pretty much on top of the list but, the reality is our car is simply to expensive, and many people are actually being ripped off their chance to own a safer car………

• Dear hebat fatimah,

do you know Modenas Elegant scooter? Is it look nice and quality? I am driving one, no problem after 7 years riding. You know what? This is a rebadged scooter from Taiwanese motorcycle manufaturer.

Do you know a new motorcycle brand called sym? Please check it out, their quality and their range of products and compare with our Modenas.

• Hi Where can I find parts for this car in UAE. I need spare parts for Luxgen7 SUV