Range Rover Evoque test mules say Hello to major cities

Land Rover says that the upcoming Range Rover Evoque is the smallest, lightest and most fuel-efficient car they have ever produced, but don’t be fooled, it’s no pansy. Before it goes on sale in 2011, LR will be running the final phase of testing using hundreds of prototype models for trials in the toughest conditions.

But unlike most car manufacturers who hide their new designs with black tape, a handful of the test Evoques will sport a unique camouflage which is a GPS mapping trail of ten key cities, with each vehicle saying ‘Hello’ to its respective city in their language. These cities are London, New York, Sao Paulo, Paris, Milan, Madrid, Berlin, Sydney, Shanghai and Moscow. These are among hundreds of test mules that will be used to run over 17,000 individual tests.

“The development stage is crucial in the year leading up to launching the car,” said Murray Dietsch, director of Land Rover programmes. “No stone is left unturned; we have a team of experienced and skilled engineers who will work to a tight schedule to ensure we have a top quality vehicle to offer our customers.”

Hi res gallery of this rather cool marketing gimmick is after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1340]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• Finally a rover that doesn’t look boxy, looking forward to see this model

• shawal on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:28 am

cool idea , i wonder if it was Ian Callum’s or Victoria Beckham’s (shes part of the design team it seems, but to what extent nobody is sure…probably seat texture or something ‘

• lancer2010 on Jul 19, 2010 at 3:12 am

this model only has 2door, but undeniably a handsome modern range rover. if priced well, the annual sales chart in malaysia will sit together with audi Q5 or nissan murano.

• Amiran on Jul 19, 2010 at 6:41 am

The fr overhang looked long. Is is going to do 45 degree slope approach? Or this is just another city (only) SUV.

• i wonder wat would it say if it’s in kl…
    “salam 1malaysia” perhaps?

• azrai on Jul 19, 2010 at 7:57 am

Creative one. Funky and groovy too.

• smart advertising!
    i love!

• mutings on Jul 19, 2010 at 8:22 am

They have got Defender, Discovery, Freelander – all very manly names. But now Evoque – Land Rover gone metrosexual?

• ribut on Jul 19, 2010 at 8:38 am

“These are among hundreds of test mules that will be used to run over 17,000 individual tests”- WOW!

• Imagine Jess Ross of My Honda Tak Guna doing the same thing? Jess can travel to major cities with his full of stickers and l don’t think Honda will not entertain his demand. Even better if he use tow truck to carry his unreliable Accord.

• Goniothalamus on Jul 19, 2010 at 9:13 am

This what we called creative and cheerish too!

• meteoraniac on Jul 19, 2010 at 9:23 am

hah ! thats very creative of LR, thumbs up!

• teelim on Jul 19, 2010 at 10:33 am

if there are gonna test it in the “toughest conditions”, shouldn’t KL roads be one of the testing grounds?

• nabill on Jul 19, 2010 at 12:46 pm

haha , ur right…pass the kl road test , u can drive anywhere in the world!

• Lancermania on Jul 19, 2010 at 5:44 pm

u should came sabah and try to drive yurself….
      the road condition here are terrible..

• taboogen on Jul 19, 2010 at 4:32 pm

do they have enough head room at the back… what is the purpose of desgining 4×4 if we cannot chuck all the stuff 4×4 does at the first place….. since this is Range Rover Malaysia ppl say nice of course lah typical malaysia….

• 388900wow on Jul 19, 2010 at 5:20 pm

cool~ guess i would order this one soon!! flood our road pls!!

• vincent on Jul 19, 2010 at 10:50 pm

is this from the LRX concept? it does look like it… lovin it!