Lotus Evora S and Evora automatic due at Paris 2010

Coming soon – an Evora without a clutch pedal…

A certain “e-mail malfunction” has revealed that Lotus will be unveiling two new variants of the Lotus Evora at its 10,000 square feet stand at the 2010 Paris Motor Show alongside some new mysterious cars (which should include a new Esprit) that is apparently so hush-hush that it isn’t being discussed openly even internally in e-mails.

The two new variants are the Lotus Evora S and the Lotus Evora Automatic. The first is presumably a variant of the Evora that’s had its 3.5 litre Toyota V6 boosted up in terms of horsepower and torque via a supercharger, and the latter mentioned model is quite self-explanatory – an Evora with an automatic transmission. The Evora is currently available only with a 6-speed manual transmission.

The e-mail goes on to say that both cars will be tearing up the Nurburgring’s Nordschleife from tomorrow for 3 days – we should see some spyshots soon!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Anti Proton on Aug 17, 2010 at 2:39 am

sissy version. manual is for real drivers.

• Tiadaid on Aug 17, 2010 at 5:05 am

Drive through a traffic jam and you’ll see who’s the sissy!

• mr_3m on Aug 17, 2010 at 9:52 am

in traffic jam, the Evora is just as fast as any other car… even a Kancil can be faster than Evora in traffic jam because you can ‘cilok2’ through the gaps, which I bet the Evora owner won’t even dare do…. haha…

• I won’t race a kancil if I drive a Lotus.
          It’s meaningless to beat a kancil with a lotus.
          Why don’t you just ride a bike in traffic jam?
          Even a turbo powered kancil can’t beat you :)

• mastermind on Aug 17, 2010 at 5:17 pm

want to be fast, drive ambulance la.

why do Ferrari change from manual to F1 gear style and after that today model only use DSG ?
          because people love auto with manual control (AMT),
          do you remember lotus paten for dual clutch last year?
          may be proton will have it hand on it too someday

not America people like manual, major of them are auto users, it huge market la

do all of you read Ferrari development report?
          Ferrari drop manual and only use DSG,
          1) shift gear fast
          2) more fuel efficient

• carsut on Aug 17, 2010 at 10:26 am

agreed, stick works..huhu

• The Loner on Aug 17, 2010 at 11:19 am

Should I say for driver who want direct full control of the car?

• mitlanevo on Aug 17, 2010 at 3:27 pm

ya, as if evo x and gallardo very sissy……

manual is so dinosaur…..

• nabill on Aug 17, 2010 at 2:54 am

not really , if it has smooth paddleshift , u can stil ‘boss’ the car around…..bt too bad this wont be a double clutch , since its probably be taken out of toyota n i tink toyota stil dont have a mass market gearbox to rival the VW’s dsg……
    paul , u should ask for a test drive for the evora btw !

• toyotaguy on Aug 17, 2010 at 5:21 am

stupid proton when want to close down???? this shity car still nid use toyota engine?? why ??? coz toyota better dat y them own car use toyota engine oni stupid will buy dis better buy real toyota supra or gtr

• lancer on Aug 17, 2010 at 10:22 am

please use proper english.

• Another interesting commend\t from an interesting guy :)
      Of course they were using the engine for very good reasons.
      Why don’t you you just ask the Lotus engineers before you leave any comment.
      If you’re smarter than the engineers, why don’t you just be the engineer?
      Perhaps you can be the chief engineer for Chevrolet and Pontiac too since they are using Toyota engine in Chevrolet Prizm and Pontiac Vibe :)

• autojohndoe on Aug 17, 2010 at 12:35 pm

you dream until you wet… that is when toyota come into your dream and satisfy you… haha

• FLIZZARDO on Aug 17, 2010 at 6:11 am

They are for wimps.

• Jijan on Aug 17, 2010 at 6:49 am

i cant wait to c the new esprit, try to find its spyshot Paul. it should look damn nice!!

• apexg2 on Aug 17, 2010 at 7:59 am

gen2 big broder meter panel..huhu….this version can attract lots of people coz nowadays, people always ask for auto transition..so the demand is high…

• Evora? no wonder our new proton name is Ixora…… hihihihi…..

• appetite4destructions on Aug 17, 2010 at 8:16 am

the auto version must be for malaysian market since many malaysian like to drive auto…..

• The Loner on Aug 17, 2010 at 11:21 am

People live in city areas particularly, with terrible traffic jam.

• alldisc on Aug 17, 2010 at 8:18 am

this is just a marketing strategy, since those who can afford 400K car prefer not to drive a stick, or stig perhaps?

too bad.

• akupunya on Aug 17, 2010 at 8:41 am

this car running using toyota engine. so, better buy toyota rather than this car..akekeke

wasting money to buy this kind of car in malaysia.
    cannot go to tesco or ikea, only for clubbing, play golf and business show.
    useless..better buy bimmer…sport car is just for showcase in showroom..

• Raixa on Aug 17, 2010 at 10:43 am

Is that what this kind of car is all about to WOW everyone and in the same time unofficially tell the world your bank balance??

• nebula87 on Aug 17, 2010 at 10:48 am

Yo bro, did u seen someone driving a porsche going to tesco or ikea buying a huge wardrobe?!
      maybe a sportcar can let auntie owner go to pasar pagi for her breakfast..not for tesco lar frenn….
      if one can afford a sportscar, they will buy another car for tesco use..

for u, i think a hummer is a better sportscar for u…XD

• Another interesting comment from an intersting guy :)
      If sport car is just for showcase in showroom, I wonder why do people driving Ferrari and Porsche to work everyday?
      There is a different between sport car owner and normal people…
      Normal people work everyday for money; but sport car owner have money work for them everyday :)

• carsut on Aug 17, 2010 at 12:05 pm

“sport car owner and normal people” – so sport car owner are not normal people.. you may said “ordinary car driver” instead of normal ppl.. we all NORMAL!!

• Mur7hy on Aug 17, 2010 at 2:05 pm

probably your dad is running the money for you..you’re prolly some geek who likes to please yourself while looking into the mirror..

• this guy is retard, or mayb he just jelous ….

• bubur lambuk on Aug 17, 2010 at 9:28 am

Nothing in here for Msian in general.
    P1 owns Lotus but its a shame that Proton gains nothing from Lotus.
    Enough of the Lotus tuned whatsoever.
    Next …

• What do you mean proton gain nothing… have you drive latest proton lately?? the Ride and Handling la.. thats from Lotus…

• I think he is not a Malaysian… That’s why he know nothing about proton :)

• could be much2 more.. ride, handling, the apx concept, performance thru lightness, eve hybrid, range extender… what a shame

• akupunya on Aug 17, 2010 at 11:47 am

Lotus itself use third party engine.
      Lotus only do the design, tuning and system.

yeayea..waja is the first model uses lotus technology..drive by wire..akekekeke..
      u drive waja actually u drive lotus car… like mat jenin handle kerete lembu but he feel like he is driving a porche..

what proton get from lotus till now?

1. dahsboard design especially the meter and air cond vent look like lotus..so you get lotus car under proton national car..so jimat..

2. the proton logo also flip flop logo from lotus. yea..we want to become a lotus car..

proton buy lotus just bcz to copy paste only, not to converging the future technology for proton cars. better be a chinese car maker who stoled the design almost 100%..
      but proton so honest need to buy lotus to copypaste the simple design and put it to it own car model..

has lotus, but still design the car like school student..even cannot beat japanese / korean and even more the continental car designers…

that is benefit from lotus engineering in proton.

• autojohndoe on Aug 17, 2010 at 12:40 pm

you comment shows that you are a man without knowledge…

it just shows your stupidity… i feel very sorry for you…

• akupunya on Aug 17, 2010 at 6:17 pm

i’m just a consumer.
          I don’t care how proton manage the business.
          I judge proton by it’s product.
          and I used to hv proton car and now i can see how proton car it is.
          Proton has 25 years long life to pursuit the “car maker” title.
          but what I can see along the 25 years, it just nothing to be proud of.

ugly design, bad finishing…
          buy lotus but only produce B-segment car?
          what for?
          where is the original c-segment car and more higher segment?
          and the engine, only can go for 1600 liter only and just use it for all car models, even for a big shy MPV.
          what for?

where is the fast track which should come from buying lotus.

ting tong ting ton..I think I can use my words for proton for next 50 years.

• kamal on Aug 17, 2010 at 9:11 pm

read more la bro, you will know more , then try it yourself, even on sharp corners like on old road to cameron, braking is needless for a waja if drive around 30-40kmh. kelisa? even civic? in your dream la.

• autojohndoe on Aug 17, 2010 at 10:14 pm

you think by buying lotus, proton is to produce sports car?

thats what i mean with your comment.. see beyond what you can see…

what proton get from lotus is not the sports thing.. its the knowledge behind it…

• malaysia memang boleh on Aug 17, 2010 at 1:23 pm

Haha,are you sure although they design like ‘children’ but proton’s design are way better than the dugong of toyota,and even the so-called smiley face of mazda,yeah no doubt proton’s design are way way better!

• yeah, the design is getting awesome on Neo, Saga, Exora, PErsona Elegance…and the incoming models (except the Waja Lancer, of coz)…. no more that kind of ‘nose’ design thingy anymore…
          the only thing that Proton need to improve is quality..and quality does not mean parts quality only….their service is the main thing too.

• mr.eng on Aug 17, 2010 at 2:15 pm

Brother go do more research, study or perhaps read more automotive magazine so that u will come up with more inspiring and better comment :D peace

• mr.eng on Aug 17, 2010 at 2:20 pm

perghh i must say buburlambok…urs even better..short and straight to the point. memang smart laa care ko komen…heheh mcm professional…siap ader NEXT heheh…are u sure malaysia gain nothing from them? not even a single screw? owh dear…kesian proton yer?…heheh

• sutheshkumar on Aug 17, 2010 at 12:07 pm

from what I heard a year back, its not really automatic the evora will be getting, its a dual clutch transmission.

• all the proton and lotus bashers are freaking losers man… i oso donno how malaysia will grow with these kind of people around. as if they know what is best… BS kings…

• nicholas on Aug 17, 2010 at 12:44 pm

C’mon ! a dual clutch please…i really looking forward dual-clutch for evora.

• Mur7hy on Aug 17, 2010 at 2:14 pm

guys guys… even after 25 years if im not mistaken.. proton still cant stand on their own feet.. what more about lotus.. sigh.. lets face the fact.. due to failure of proton.. we have to pay premium for foreign cars.. Proton should be pride of malaysia.. dont get me wrong.. i luv Malaysia.. but our automotive industry is just shameful..

If proton truly is a good competitive car.. can it compete with others (same segment) ? i was in australia for many years.. what amazed me was proton savvy = price with Yaris, gen 2 = altis.. . Try to guess how many protons i saw in Australia while i was there…. 2.

i really hope we have a good car of our own that we can really take pride off.. but after 25 years… seriously we need to do something about this.

• anybody who studied basic economics will know why proton is a joke.

• dickybird on Aug 17, 2010 at 9:24 pm

too right!

• goproton on Aug 18, 2010 at 1:58 am

true though….haha…proton is so behind of everyone….their design,those design should come 5 years earlier…
      the tech…..slow improvement….
      look at how TATA manage those 2 monsters…..can proton improve their lotus as good as TATA?
      maybe proton needs it’s own supercar to gain more international attention & reputation….just 1 will do…..

• Automotive_Critics on Aug 17, 2010 at 4:02 pm

Interior look cheap. Looks the silver paint in steering wheel will soon chip off like in Gen2. Should give texture and full leather wrapped like Aston or Lambo.

• LewHam on Aug 17, 2010 at 4:25 pm

No email malfunction here…its pure viral marketing

• sranua on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:12 am

Whatever news on Proton must be a hit. Anyway I admit I’m a Proton man, own 7 years old wira..well the car like us…sometime dizzy, flu, got to see a doctor and sometime bring a smile…why because its parts are feaking cheap.
    But I guess I will change camp to H brand since I really want the car…so better please myself while still can. And it does not meant that I won’t use any Proton anymore. If they have a good product line up that is worth to buy…why not.
    What to do..buying a car is more like using your heart rather than your head…so better enjoy life rather than bashing Proton.

• carls on Aug 22, 2010 at 1:13 pm

so ugly steering wheel…