Perodua sales grow in East Malaysia, 35% market share

Perodua launched the Viva Elite Exclusive Edition in Sabah yesterday following the Peninsular launch two weeks ago, adding sales momentum to its best seller in East Malaysia. The small car maker aims to sell 600 units of the RM42,000 leather equipped Exclusive Edition per month.

According to Perodua MD Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh, a total of 240,000 Vivas have been sold since it was launched in 2007 and the high spec Viva Elite is the best selling variant of the range from January to October this year, accounting for 41.4% or 24,000 units from a total of 58,000 units.

In East Malaysia, Aminar said that the Viva is the company’s best selling model at nearly 50% of total sales. “Of the 21,300 vehicles sold in East Malaysia, Sabah contributes 46% to our sales in this region and I believe this market still has a lot of room to grow,” Aminar told Bernama.

The firm has high hopes on East Malaysia. “Sabah and Sarawak are our fastest growing regions with nearly 14% contribution or 21,300 vehicles to our overall sales so far this year. We aim to increase sales contribution from this region from its current to 20% within five years,” he added. Perodua is the market leader in East Malaysia with nearly 35% of total industry volume.

Click here to view details and images of the Viva Elite Exclusive Edition from our previous post.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mickey on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:25 pm

Proton now cannot be to arrogant. No more saying ‘ we are the cheapest and you have no choice but to buy what we make’
    Next year, I will boost Perodua sales by getting my wife a Myvi. Had enough of regret buying Proton.

• perodua on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:53 pm

Dun know how is the sales of the Proton Inspira? See in the proton related blog, everybody said so good. Let see the monthly sales statistic, dun know whether is inspira in the list or not?

• VtecKiller on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:18 pm

Proton Inspira is no better than Persona in quality. Try to close/open the door, listen the sound come out from it, feel the pressure you use to close the door. Back to the 19-90 manufacture… Quality and Finishing are no way near Vios/City for that price range..

• Andre on Nov 26, 2010 at 5:07 pm

I disagree with you. I’ve test driven the 2.0 Inspira myself and I found that for that price its a much better buy than vios or city. The finishing is not much of a difference with Lancer itself, except for the lowest 1.8 variant which I find a bit bare. However its all down to the buyer liking to either choose a sedan or a city car.

• then i guess u r not paying a lot of attention to the car n listening to the sales man talk too much. even the leather quality in inspira is different from the actual lancer. they wanna bring a rebadge, they should maintain the quality. buying a city or vios wont lose as much money in 2-3years compared with inspira.

• Wisdom on Nov 26, 2010 at 7:14 pm

Yes the quality of finishing no way near Vios or City coz Vios and City is so ’empty’, going through potholes not with thud, but clunk tin sound.

• Holly F on Nov 26, 2010 at 7:32 pm

But you shouldn’t compare City or Vios with the Inspira. Inspira is C-segment-car, so you should compare it with Altis, Civic, Forte, etc..

• ViosUser on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:41 pm

‘Empty’ hahaha…..wondering why you call yourself ‘Wisdom’.

Read this book: The Economic of Integrity

http://www.amazon.com/Economics-Integrity-Farmers-Toyota-Wealth/dp/B0045JK6B0/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1290785977&sr=8-1

How many books you read in a month huh En. WISSSDOM ?

• People are talking about quality. Not Engine Performance. If I want to compare power, I’ll compare Inspira with a Civic or an Altis. In this particular case, we are talking about QUALITY. FINISHED product. It is sad, the quality is not in par even with the “B” segment class. Let alone I want to compare it with the “C” class brethens. Kah kah kah.

• jtiongwl on Nov 27, 2010 at 9:13 am

Hopefully Inspira is not a milo tin product….

If compare to the same of its class, it is still nothing. The craftmanship of the interior is very rough.. worse than Waja…

The material use is simillar to Toyota Corolla AE100, which is produce in year 1995.

• Wisdom on Nov 28, 2010 at 1:08 am

ViosUser sorry… dunno how you can relate vios’s clunk sounds with the Economic of Integrity.

Don’t feel defensive if you’re owning a Vios. Its a good ’empty’ car really, with some normal lightweight metal sounds here and there thats all. The engine is good and you can always hear the engine sounds from inside cabin telling you how healthy it is.

Once in a while, go and try out your friends, sibling’s, relatives or showroom cars from different brand and model just to get the feel. Test Inspira, Forte, and City for example to get some update on how far have they gone.

We will limit ourselves once we obsess on one thing.

• Viosuser on Nov 28, 2010 at 11:20 pm

Obsessed !? :) That’s why, you never read the book but judge by the cover. Go download pirated copy with bit torrent lah if dont want to buy. You can always get pirated product for a cheaper price like Inspira.

I mentioned b4…..I do not care about the Vios. After banging for couple of years, just dump it and get a new girlfriend. You only live once!

• Wisdom on Nov 29, 2010 at 4:15 pm

Since you showing interest in economy, please watch this.

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=7065205277695921912#

Its really nice. Please spare your 2 hours.
            And yes, later just dump your Vios.

• boyxinan on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:59 pm

you are right mickey, nothing were wrong with bung mokhtar statement.. i meet with one of the proton salesman the said their car are better car than perodua.. at that time i want to laugh in his statement, he said in size saga is more bigger than myvi.. he said people buy myvi to make the car like ah beng car, touch up this and that.. he said people dont know what their are doing.. but for me i dont know what proton doing.. even i wish to buy waja on early launch i cannot fulfill that, now i wish to buy inspira.. hope i can buy but maybe 10, 15 years later.. or not.. because at that time there are more advance car, same grade, better function more cheaper maybe perodua produce will be launch.. so long proton..

• Eyesore on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:00 pm

I never heard proton says that… where did you heard that? In your fantasy??

All i heard is perodua saying… “We sell cheap and half cook cars at expensive price… you have no choice but to buy it cuz you can’t afford a toyota”… =p

• Ferrari 458 on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:07 pm

yes, most ppl cannot afford a toyota, thanks to the protection given to P1. So a lot are driving a knock off TOyota. But the QC Is toyota standard, and the SC is toyota standard.

Well, Proton supporter will not understand this.

• frossonice on Nov 26, 2010 at 6:19 pm

Oh yeah? And Perodua is not protected the same DAMN protection too?

How about stripping Perodua from National Car status and see how it goes from there.

• Tiadaid on Nov 26, 2010 at 8:03 pm

I’m sorry, QC is Toyota standard? How come there’s a lot of complains over P2 cars?

• Initial R on Nov 28, 2010 at 3:48 pm

Toyota QC standard… Hmmm… wonder when passo do recall, Myvi not even have any sound ether to recall or effected. Keep mute until today (or maybe they do secretly during service).. even all around the world, Toyota customer complaint the error but in Malaysia not even 1 car been recall… I don’t know what going on but lot’s of thing in term of safety issue they keep secret even P2 owner also keep quiet after been bribe at P2 SC with free gift…

• boyxinan on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:18 pm

nothing wrong what you said, but people still buy lots of perodua.. try to cut perodua is in your fantasy..

• lamat on Nov 26, 2010 at 5:03 pm

Eyesore,Obviously Proton din’t mention that but you can tell with their attitude. Atlease Perodua uses a better engine unlike Campro. Campro power okay la,but do not why their engine make me wanna vomit on long distances. Must be because of the high rev and sound.

• Andre on Nov 26, 2010 at 5:13 pm

If you’re too dumb to realize, all engines emit sound during when reaching high rev except for electric motors which have minimal sound emission. That is not the fault of the engine at all. Such sound may intrude into the cabin of the car due to worn out soundproofing or non-existent of it. Especially with low-specs Proton cars, the bonnet is not installed with soundproofing to cut down the cost. That is just a minor problem which can be solved by installing soundproofing pad at your nearest audio store.

• Armeng on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:21 pm

Which Proton model you had before? I guess there must be Tiara or Boxer (Juara)..FYI, there are many and better models in Proton. Take a visit to their showroom. Then make a fair judgement. I’m not saying Proton is better than Perodua, even I own a Viva EZi but, how about new Saga? For me, the later is better.

• Armeng,at showroom sure la not bad.Last week I saw the Proton inspira in proton showroom. The door trim when I try to close ,the handle feels loose.
        I bought a Persona in 2007,it was ok in the showroom bring home also ok.Now,got weird sounds coming behind and dashboard. The engine also sometime automatically high rev when at traffic light. Sometime going up the hill no power sometime got. Send to service centre,they tuned and check but still the same.
        My sister Myvi from 2005 second hand,still in good condition. Got a bit of weird sound coming from rear window but other than that, the engine is more reliable than my persona.

Oh BTW,my mother Kelisa is still serving her well. Inside still ketat. Should have bought a Myvi.Too bad I’m stuck with my Persona 7 years loan.

• HirumaKecil on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:43 pm

Dun buy Myvi la… Wait for the new Myvi.. coming soon… Wait till April.. http://paultan.org/2010/03/01/new-perodua-myvi-coming-in-april-2011-range-includes-1-5-liter-version/

• We owned 2 perodua (the myvi and the kelisa) and we are complaining it all the way…. our myvi gave us prob during the 3rd month of buying it, got the prob fixed and many probs came along throughout the month. my family were so fed up with it and sold it off when it was just a year old… same goes to the kelisa. We have already replace to absorber twice already because it keeps on spoiing. Note that we don ferry people around all the time.. Maximum of 2 person everyday. and finally got ourselves a persona, no problem throughout the 2 years… just not that happy with the dashboard quality but hey, it problem free till now!!!

• littlefire on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:30 pm

What absorber u replace? Some Ayam brand? I am using Kayaba with no issue so far…

• car_fan on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:58 pm

i think you just made up the story……..

• Mickey on Nov 27, 2010 at 1:08 am

Car_fan, I think so too. BW seems to be talking nonsense. What kind of absorber that spoils so many times after changing. And if carry more than 2 people will spoil? Are you really that unlucky that both your Perodua gave so much problem? As far as I know , the Persona engine has a lot quite a few problems including the new Elegance. Was told by my friends who is a owner.

• perodua on Nov 27, 2010 at 11:06 am

I guess is not the car problem. It is the driver’s attitude in driving problem.

• kancil on Nov 27, 2010 at 8:47 am

My perodua car going to 13 years….only wear & tear problem. Maximum service charge < RM100. Air cond never service for 8 years. Sound & Good. FC about 18km/L. My friend's proton already retired in the factory.

• jaguarXJ on Nov 27, 2010 at 12:24 pm

BW is making up the stupid lame story.he replace the absorber with some ayam brand absorber,har har har

• Wisdom on Nov 26, 2010 at 7:10 pm

Get the Myvi and be prepare for warp disk after 6 months, faulty power window switch after 1 year and best of all, rattling under carrier after 2 years.

No to mention the coarser ride just 5K km.

• aroma on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:36 pm

MyVi can easily beat a City and Vios on highway ! Solid car !

• nolan on Nov 27, 2010 at 1:30 am

I’m afraid Myvi can’t stop on time……kindly .proof to me it safety features…..

• cslee on Nov 27, 2010 at 9:47 am

Come on, safety features in 1 car will not save you, but the good driving attitude&skills will be more important. (E.g: U driving a new BMW 5 series, crashed and died. Can you blame the car do not have enough safety features?)

• myVi owner 2006 on Nov 27, 2010 at 8:30 pm

it is true that myvi is no good. i am one of myvi owner, and right here i want to verify that myvi is having stability problem over the rear back suspension system. i have experienced 3 times of getting accident at karak-gombak highway. my friend also dies in myvi high speed chasing vios at karak highway. hopes u guys think twice before buying myvi. this is my sincere confession.

• Evoque on Nov 27, 2010 at 5:32 pm

Nonsenses!! I drive a myvi myself and its manual. Vios & City can easily smoke me. To chase, forget it.. Low torque, low hp.

• DkSuen on Nov 28, 2010 at 1:49 pm

either u r a really lousy driver who doesnt know how to make good use of ur manual tranny, dun complain like a grandma. myvi stock 0-100 time for manual is about par with city n vios. n u r comparing a car double the price of myvi. 1.3-1.5. what r u comparing dude. i wonder y my myvi can overtake rx-8 n 2.0 honda civics anytime anywhere, anyroad? haha. sorry, forgot to mention there r plenty of performance parts for myvi. join la myviclub adik =]

• Evoque on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:36 am

Well, u can overtake them bcos u’re driving a piece of crap. So what u overtake them, u’re still in a myvi!! U’re not up to the level with RX-8 nor the Civic 2.0. U only syok sendiri… And it is so STUPID that to add performance parts just to get the ‘syok sendiri’ syndrome that ‘hey, my myvi overtake rx-8 n 2.0 honda civics’…

• autojohndoe on Nov 28, 2010 at 2:30 pm

solid car at 90kmh… not faster than that…

• hguyhasgd on Nov 29, 2010 at 11:53 am

why dont you say,my myvi overtake F1 la..hehe

• DkSuen on Nov 28, 2010 at 1:45 pm

dude. how much to repair the window switch? i did mine with 80bucks… new switch. lol. wonder what r u complaining? warped disc got warranty. . . if not u wan big head change to brembo’s which cost like 300per pair? the disc they r using r the same as yrv and passo which is toyota n daihatsu. got problem meh? i’ve been driving 2myvi’s in 3year period. crashed it, bot on turbo it, yrv engine. dun give ppl bullshyt stories.

• Wisdom on Nov 29, 2010 at 4:20 pm

Brembo, Passo, YRV, …..

Typical MyviTO petrolheads. At the later stage of your life, you will come to know that Myvi is not everything…….

• scgtimk1 on Nov 30, 2010 at 3:34 pm

budak-budak baru nak main kereta….

try asking any seasoned racing/rally/motor-sport campaigner and all of them will agree that myvi is just a piece of crap…

• dragster on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:26 pm

cost of living n monthly salary which made the different

• JoeGTi on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:51 pm

U may easily nottice level of service if u went to both service center.
    Datuk Syed, please bring all gud culture from Pro2 to Proton.
    Customer dare to pay more to get gud product and gud service.

• Ferrari 458 on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:08 pm

The supporter are saying P2 is funny, but until they try out the SC quality of P2, then they will drive P2 no matter how bad the handling or how milo tin Viva is.

P2 service center is very very good indeed.

• what he’s state is true…
        i do love a perodua service in kota kamuning…
        open on Sunday while other P2 SC closed that day…
        very happy with that tokeh!

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Nov 26, 2010 at 5:50 pm

chan auto at sri muda also good service!

• aduss on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:32 am

1 contoh the perodua good service.. baik punya.. pasti org n datang banyak2 kali, sekali cuba mau datang lagi.. good job perodua SC: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U-2Y4dAIhww

• kingkong on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:55 pm

Oh no…

• bohtakchek on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:55 pm

is our life less valuable to car manufacture??
    we want at least NHCAP 4.0 star car !!!

• Ferrari 458 on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:09 pm

buy peugeot then, a lot of airbag and NCAP 5 stars.

• DkSuen on Nov 28, 2010 at 1:46 pm

fyi. myvi is ncap 4star rating. check with ncap website. myvi rebadge the passo, but they didnt throw things out like airbag, abs, etc.

• PROTON!!
    even 20000km service cost until RM400 including RM100 labour cost!
    what the heck PROTON!!

• which SC u go?

• at kajang…
        all PROTON SC implemented same labor charge.
        now, PROTON have intoduced the service package, namely;
        ProCare Basic for 5000km service interval
        ProCare Regular for odd kkm service interval,
        ProCare Smart for even kkm service interval
        ProCare Advance for timing belt replacement on 60000km.

• Firdaus Rosli on Nov 28, 2010 at 8:30 pm

If you go to SC, normally they will rip you off with their ProCare package.

Go to their Service Representatives (Wakil Servis) instead, you can decide which parts you want them to cover for their major service. Plus, a lover labour charge compared to SC.

I have done a 20k major service for my Savvy last August, it just costs me RM250.

• no..
        all normally go the wakil service for servicing my car..
        they said all the procare package has been fixed according to the our car mileage service.
        now PROTON to rip us off!

• ameng on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:17 pm

what mean “Exclusive” … because we sell you car cap tin biskut at very expensive price, and then you need to “mengucap” dulu every time you drive this car, because very low safety …

• TIGER - Esso, Maybank, (deduct) Proton on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:18 pm

Every year we could see P2 is the local king…Proton in home also cannot win then no stand a chance to fight other global automakers…perodua car more reliable bcoz hv toyota / daihatsu jaga belakang…

• Andre on Nov 26, 2010 at 5:23 pm

Perodua cars are nothing like its daihatsu and toyora sibling in term of safety and body rigidness. I’ve driven Passo Sette during my trip in singapore and i found that the difference is vast in term of handling and rigidness and not to mention the finishing too.
      The steering is too light and it tends to oversteer when dealing with tight corners.
      However in term of engine they do bare toyota’s engineering and not to mention a sleek design.

• MoFaz on Nov 26, 2010 at 8:59 pm

proton produce own model after 15 years.. perodua still rebadging all this while for 17 years already. Toyota / Daihatsu bukan nak jaga belakang Perodua, tapi jual kereta dengan harga melampau mahal then bawak duit balik Jepun. come on la.. RM42k for such a small coffin? siapa yang rugi? P2 supporters laa….

• campro on Nov 27, 2010 at 5:40 pm

but Proton today rebadge back Mitsubishi car like b4 15 year ago….this we call goes BACKWARD (Tak boleh Maju) stuck back like the old days in 1980an….business things is people do more longer, their company get improve do wider bigger business…

• MoFaz on Nov 28, 2010 at 1:44 am

i’m tired of this same question, looks like the bashers don’t have any other idea to bash proton anymore. go read inspira related articles. only smart guys get (understand) it.

• autojohndoe on Nov 28, 2010 at 2:28 pm

yeah… agree with you… renault, jaguar goes backward also… because their also rebadge mitsubishi and toyota…

• DkSuen on Nov 28, 2010 at 1:51 pm

mahal not perodua’s problem. is the one that implies tax. u bring in a boon x4 turbo. with all the tax n ap it cost close to 200k. in japan they r selling like 70-80k? point is, u wanna rebadge car, maintain la quality.. compare passo with myvi, n compare inspira with lancer. cheaper? dun think so. u save on all the materials n cost savings.

• alot of people really don’t know how to spend their money…40k+ for this tiny tin can thrash?
    i would have thought the 660 or 850 models would be selling more. this is why alot of people are still poor in malaysia….due to lack of financial education.

• queen on Nov 27, 2010 at 12:43 am

you mean people is poorer if they buy PERODUA than Proton ?

I think you really lacks financial knowledge. PERODUA beats Proton ‘financially’ because of better fuel efficiency and better resale value. FULL STOP.

• MoFaz on Nov 27, 2010 at 2:06 am

haha.. i told you, only girls and half-man (separa lelaki) like perodua cars, including this queen.

• dickybird on Nov 27, 2010 at 11:28 pm

HAHA! MOFAZ ITS TIME YOU CAME OUT OF THE CLOSET!

• autojohndoe on Nov 28, 2010 at 2:26 pm

last time you came here complain about your waja…

then, come again to complain on Persona (second proton!)

finally come with a grandis (suddenly rich, after lost productivity due to car repair, repair cost)…

what is the problem with ppl supporting proton? you richness reduced eh?

• farghmee on Nov 27, 2010 at 4:59 am

yo~
        perodua’s good financial =/= owner’s good financial

• Lets ask the G to open the market for sub 1000cc engine bracket and give the people a better choice for cheaper, reliable and safe car.Too much price ripping from P2 for a sub-level car. After all, P2 just don’t have the export quantity like Naza, no RnD like P1, and illegitimate son of Toyota, sucking Msia’s taxpayer to Japan every time a car is purchased with no contribution to the nation’s technological achievement or tax coffer.

• Gobuk on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:27 pm

really? or sekadar temberang jepun untuk mengembalikan keyakinan orang ramai?

• i will buy a Saga better than Viva. Overprice car, I will always say NO!

Viva Elite = Viva Exclusive Edition –> Nothing different, it’s just the same, price different only

• kentot on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:56 pm

what a joke 240000 people bought this expensive crap

• Wisdom on Nov 26, 2010 at 7:22 pm

Dont know how much fatalities out of those 240,000 unit….. sighh

• ViosUser on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:47 pm

You mean you know the answer ? Be careful nanti PERODUA sue you defamation.

• MoFaz on Nov 27, 2010 at 2:12 am

what if, we challenge perodua to send their cars for NCAP or any other equivalent crash rating centre? even some of toyota cars perform badly in IIHS crash test:
          http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vcTf78b8WfY

• ViosUser on Nov 27, 2010 at 11:45 pm

The MoFaz is a bit bodoh lah, I was commenting on Mr. Wisdom claims that PERODUA cars has high fatalities during accident. This is a serious claims. Toyota pulak apa ini ?

• MoFaz on Nov 28, 2010 at 1:48 am

well, P2 supporters and sales agents will always claim that P2 cars should perform similarly to Toyota / Daihatsu cars in crash tests. I would like to see they prove those claims. do you get my point?

• Wisdom on Nov 29, 2010 at 4:26 pm

The ‘Exclusive’ edition exclude the airbag. Is that because the airbags will have no use when accident happens? as the driver will eventually wrap in the twisted metal?

• well…the statement above is a fact with figure…
    no comment on that…
    but really love to see all the developments done for both Perodua and Proton nowadays…
    keep up the good work, P1 and P2

• er, by theway, do Perodua knows that they need to make EV or Hybrid vehicle soon?

• frossonice on Nov 26, 2010 at 6:17 pm

What to worry. For all they know, Toyota/Daihatsu will supply them with anything, even rocket launcher. All they have to do is to sell it as expensive as possible without being too much like foreign manufacturer that they really are, while still benefiting from “national car maker” tagline.

• autojohndoe on Nov 28, 2010 at 2:18 pm

they’ll produce Hybrid Bumper soon… dont worry…

• lazyf on Nov 26, 2010 at 5:41 pm

In terms of price comparison, SAGA BLM is a value buy…

• losantara on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:27 pm

oh really ?

How is Proton sales in China, US, Japan and Uurope huh ?

Why this 4 regions ? Because they are the top 4 economc entiti in this world. 10 trillion GDP Club members.

Talk crap la you, sudah berhenti minum susu ah ?

• MoFaz on Nov 27, 2010 at 2:19 am

could you please use your brain properly and discuss with manners?
        he’s comparing the price for malaysian market. when did he ever mention china, us, japan and europe? and please grow up.. perodua is not toyota. do you think perodua even exist in us, china and japan? hurm.. i would love to see chinese, japanese and americans to smash and trash perodua cars like what JC did in Top Gear. oh wait, he even bombed the car….

• oldman on Nov 27, 2010 at 8:00 am

So, what..? In the entertainment world, even pigs can fly…

• MoFaz on Nov 27, 2010 at 9:37 am

nothing wrong with that, it’s just very entertaining.

• exJAVANESE on Nov 27, 2010 at 4:09 pm

but trust me, i still have a certain impact for perodua even it just for entertaining.

• losantara on Nov 27, 2010 at 11:48 pm

OHHHH only Malaysian market….Proton only pay 5% excise duty mah so how to compare ? You wanna compare ‘values’ with Nissan Toyota and Honda ? PlzZzZzZzzz

• autojohndoe on Nov 28, 2010 at 2:17 pm

so… why should we ask the Japanese to pay same excise duty?

are they selling their car to built our country?

Heh! they dont even care…

• Initial R on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:02 am

Bro… Now we just only compare in Malaysia only. For that price, i still can furnish extra for Saga BLM 1.6 wit other accessory like sport rim, window tint etc. Much more viva 1.0 & Saga BLM 1.3 to compare with price wise, for sure I will go for Saga with more space ether cabin or boot. Lot’s of us buy P2 coz say it same as T & D but sadly not even same level some more worse. True that Daihatsu selling at indon are manufacture by P2 but you think it same spec ?. Not even close. National car just as name but it daylight robber… Please, nothing hype with T, D or even P2. Maybe said Toyota engine reliable, but how long it in market already ?…
        How is Proton sales in China, US, Japan and Europe ?… Did this country allow Proton enter their market easily ?… This Country Auto policy are more protected than us but we so ignorance to see this… Try do trade with them than you know…

• Joseph on Nov 27, 2010 at 11:32 pm

Saga BLM value buy? Only if you’re blind and no taste.
      The car is is so fugly, and after 25 years, that’s all P1 designers can come up with – fugly?

• MoFaz on Nov 28, 2010 at 1:54 am

so, RM30k car should be done like Mercedes S-Class?
        please be specific as to what car you’re comparing saga value with?

• autojohndoe on Nov 28, 2010 at 2:14 pm

so… after all your life till now… what is the best have you come out with?

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Nov 26, 2010 at 5:54 pm

who says only proton got bashed??…proton basher = pero2 basher = loser!..wakakaka

• exJAVANESE on Nov 27, 2010 at 1:49 pm

Who.hoo..easy laids..
      we are not a loser, we are just a consumer who want a best offers from P1 n P2.We love P1 n P2, that why we speak up our voice here.
      Yup..from loser epoch, we learning… we like to be a good auto-critics.. but remember.. with fact n knowledge.

So, i just wanna ask u 1 question.. did u have a fact or proof or evidence for your statement that..WE (proton basher+pero2 basher) are loser??

• feel really bored with perodua these days…so many new ‘limited edition’..

• Protons? on Nov 26, 2010 at 7:30 pm

in real world everyone say Perodua > Proton but in internet world say Proton > Perodua

so to those people in internet world, get a life.

seriously, whatever comment or bash you given still can’t change the fact and reality.

• Prismo on Nov 26, 2010 at 8:34 pm

so why do u bother playing in the internet then? go outside and play a kite and get a life…

• Salamander on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:04 pm

Thats including you. Talk about irony.

• tokmoh on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:16 pm

that is bcuz there are no girls in car websites! Girls either bz play fb games, twitter, 4square, bbm, angry bird, blabla.

While guys r here arguing abt MENTALity of msian car buyers. Including me hahaha

Same thing elsewhere la. Look at smortphone world. Tech geeks n bloggers praise android like God-send, while make a mountain of a molehill everytime Steve Jobs screw up, but sales say otherwise rite? So what? Those tech geeks are have no life is it? Meanwhile, crackberrian watch from d side n laugh hehe.

• Hafizz on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:18 pm

People can say and and call anything about perodua cars as they wish. But in reality, we all knows that all the perodua car owners’ are the most satisfied people in Malaysia in term of owned a car. We never experience a bad feeling about it.. Face it ! It Reality. Bravo and Syabas Perodua…

• peYno on Nov 27, 2010 at 6:06 am

this is because our gov protect perodua for small engine/car ..just imagine if we have Honda freed price as ALZA dan swift/jazz/hyundai i10 price as myvi…

• dickybird on Nov 27, 2010 at 11:36 pm

I AGREE WITH U! i got my Myvi coz it fit my needs and while they are a protected national carmaker, they arent the cause of why msians pay alot of money for crappy cars, proton is!
          and if proton is so great as the fanboys say it is then it should no longer need protection and the car market should be opened up. then i would buy a ford focus tdci the next day!

• Initial R on Nov 28, 2010 at 3:33 pm

The problem is, the car seller will not reduce the price even the protected pull out… they will come out with other shame… UMW also will not jeopardize P2 (or maybe they dump P2). Naza will not let the thing happen also… trust me… the thing will look like that. In other hand Proton will not close the factory, they will export to outside more rather selling to arrogant Malaysian..

• Viosuser on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:16 pm

You must know one thing. The population in this blog cannot represend the real statistical population in this country. Those who read at paultan are all hardcore car fans. It’s a skewed data.

FACT IS: Malaysian rejects Proton !

• Hafizz on Nov 27, 2010 at 2:32 pm

I owned a 2005 Perodua Kelisa (auto). after clocking 100000 km I never spend a single cent to any workshop owner, except for changing timing belt, brake pads and tyres. No engine, transmission, power window failure problems like other makes / model. ha ha ha.

• Viosuser on Nov 27, 2010 at 11:52 pm

Kelisa has been selected as the car of the year before if you google ! Solid workmanship internally…..champion FC…….only hear some complain on the absorbers before but just change it than problem solved.

• autojohndoe on Nov 28, 2010 at 2:10 pm

so, where is the FACT?

Factless Fact?

• inderaloka on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:03 pm

Pejam celik, pejam celik, dah 3 tahun Viva di pasaran sejak diperkenalkan pada tahun 2007. Pantasnya masa berlalu…

• sp3d2 on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:40 pm

yes. they managed to sell it in the jungle.

• champion on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:13 pm

PERODUA do rebadge also perform better than Proton. What the heck is going on !?!?!?!?!?

• ezracopters on Nov 27, 2010 at 1:28 am

hmm

we cant compare p2 to p1.. p2 only rebadge cars and didnt have their own model.. plus they have a different target market.. and of course p2 lychin’ more fortune than p1 coz every cars they sold.. few percent gonna fly back to Japan..

17 years!!! gov should retrieve “kenderaan nasional” from p2.. aside from selling slightly cheaper car & boostin certain spare parts/accessories/related business, they bring no obvious goods to this country in term of long term development… i wish Proton still retain Agusta and adopt their below 1000cc onto small cars… pe pun.. tepuk dada tanya selera..

• Yeah rebadge my arse. Inspira = Lancer? Hypocrite at its best!

• autojohndoe on Nov 28, 2010 at 2:09 pm

haha… your beloved Mitsubishi allow Proton to get the Lancer…

So, hows your Grandis?

• Budak Jengka on Nov 27, 2010 at 8:26 am

Salam Satu Malaysia..

Ayah saya pakai Perodua Kenari. Dia pakai kereta tu dari tahun 2000 ~ 2010. Ayah saya gunakan kereta Kenari untuk mengangkat ikan-ikan dan sayur-sayuran dari pasar borong Bandar Pusat Jengka. Apabila hari raya menjelma, ayah akan menggunakan kereta itu untuk mengangkut daging kerbau yang disembelih di ladang. Kadang2 (Sebulan 3,4 kali) , ayah gunakan kereta Kenari untuk pergi ke ladang sawitnya. Melalui jalan berlumpur, tanah merah dan lain2 rintangan dalam perjalanan ke ladang.

Enjin kereta Kenari langsung tak pernah buat masalah dalam masa 10 tahun. Masalah power window sebelah driver lepas kereta kena ketuk dengan orang pada cermin pemandu. Ayah namakan Kenarinya dengan nama ROTI.

Masa mula beli Kenari, mak tak suka sebab kereta itu ketul setongkol macam buku roti. Lama-lama, suka sebab bila naik Kenari, rasa tinggi macam naik MPV. Minyak kenari jimat. Pergi balik Bandar Pusat minyak RM8.20 . Bawak mcm ferrari, sekitar 90~140km. Brek bunyi-bunyi tu biasa saja. Tayar dah byk kali tukar. Sekarang enjin Kenari bising macam lori. Ayah kata belt dia kena tukar.

Kenari juga selalu hantar dan ambil adik2 balik asrama dari sekolah sains kat Pekan, kat jengka 12 dan jengka 2. Ayah selesa dengan kenari. Ayah hanya tukar kereta lepas saya swap dengan Alphard. Saya sekarang pakai Kenari di Kota Raya KL.

• jtiongwl on Nov 27, 2010 at 9:20 am

I think the way Perodua approach to their customer is very simillar to Toyota Malaysia..

For Perodua here, all of you still enjoy good resale value, that’s why still support it and rather trashing proton. But bear in mind that, now can be like that as it is due to long waiting period ( I am refering to order a brand new unit, especially MyVi ( My Slave ) ).

If, until one day all these not around, I am sure the same thing will happen as this is repeating the same history as what happen to Proton Saga in the past..

• dexter on Nov 27, 2010 at 11:46 am

Perodua Viva Elite Exclusive:-Only Suckers Get It!

BTW heard perodua is going to release another version:- Perodua Viva Elite Exclusive Limited Edition, only available in brown shit.

• bukapintubayartol on Nov 27, 2010 at 7:32 pm

Does this mean the Viva has out sold the Myvi thus far this year?

• budlee on Nov 27, 2010 at 11:16 pm

just gotta love all the Viva haters here..

they see me rollin,
    they hatin

• zimba on Nov 28, 2010 at 12:43 am

high spec Viva Elite is the best selling variant of the range from January to October this year, accounting for 41.4% or 24,000 units from a total of 58,000 units.

WELL, Vival Elite is not the hottest selling Perodua cars. From Jan- Oct: 2400units = 2400/months.
    In fact, Viva Elite is the best selling Viva variant. Myvi’s sales is higher then 5000/months.

• VW Polo is the best!VIVA suck and cheap!

• elite on Nov 29, 2010 at 5:26 am

i guess East Malaysia folks look for reliability, not just about ‘cheapness’

• cheng on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:09 pm

I just bought new Elite…

And found that got problems below,

Outside air came into the cabin air cond even i never switch on the outside air circulation.

Breaklight jam and alway on

I had to send to service centre to complain loo

• alexpoh85 on Nov 29, 2010 at 5:10 pm

Every time I see new posts regarding Perodua, I know very well wars of bashing and hundreds of comments are going flood Paultan.org

Never ending……

Guess that’s what spice up the life huh? :)

• ichi24 on Dec 01, 2010 at 4:39 pm

all makcik, minah, lala, and daihatsu wannabe

what does perodua does actually now?

• pushcart on Dec 11, 2010 at 4:37 am

flame wars between p1 & p2 fanboys, or should i say astroturfers?

shut up and just do your job, we know you guys work for these companies.
    how much do you get paid anyway to smear your competitor in paultan’s blog?