All-new Ford Ranger gets ASEAN debut in Thailand, coming to Malaysia early 2012

UPDATE: More information and pictures added

We’re in Bangkok now for the ASEAN debut of the all-new Ford Ranger pick-up truck. Designed and developed in Australia, this Ranger is part of the One Ford strategy for global vehicles, and Thailand, which is the second largest market in the world for such vehicles, will be one of three global production hubs for the one-tonne truck.

The AAT plant in Thailand responsible for Ranger will kick off production in the middle of this year, before plants in South Africa and Argentina start production. Malaysia is of course getting the Ranger from our northern neighbour, and the first units are scheduled to arrive in early 2012.

Ford officials are in a confident mood here in Bangkok, as they unveiled what’s claimed as the “best in class” truck in a variety of aspects. It certainly looks much bigger than the current one, bold and handsome, and the features are impressive.

The Double Cab version that we see here (Regular and Super also available) measures 5,359 mm long and 1,850 mm wide, which means it takes over from the Nissan Navara (5,230 X 1,850 mm) as the largest truck in town. The Ranger’s wheelbase is 3,230 mm long, which is also the longest in the segment.

For the record, this new Ranger is 190 mm longer, 43 mm wider and 65 mm taller than the current one. The big body makes the show car’s 18-inch wheels look just about adequate. 16 and 17-inch rims will also be available.

Because of this increase in size, Ford claims that rear legroom and knee clearance is best in class. You would also have noticed that the rear door is now significantly larger, which means easier access. The current Ranger has fixed sized front doors regardless of cab type, which limits the size scope of the rear doors in the double cab, but in this new model, the door length and B pillars vary according to cab type. More flexible, in other words.

By the way, it’s an all-new platform that will come with fresh engines – two Duratorq TDCi units and one Duratec petrol. Let’s focus on the diesels, as the 166 PS/226 Nm petrol with five-speed manual isn’t likely to reach our shores.

Breaking away from the 2.5-litre trend, the new Ranger will come with a 2.2-litre four-cylinder diesel with 150 PS and 375 Nm of torque. As you can see, despite the smaller capacity, this 2.2’s output betters that of the current Ranger and its 2.5L rivals in Malaysia, except for the Navara. On a 4X2 model, Ford says that fuel consumption is as low as 7.6L/100 km.

The second diesel lump is a five-cylinder 3.2-litre unit that puts out 200 PS and 470 Nm of torque. These engines are related to those used in the European Ford Transit van. The 2.2 will be the one that’s coming to Malaysia early 2012, while the 3.2 is a possible entry at a later date.

To top it off, the new Ranger will be the first in class to offer a six-speed automatic transmission. The gearbox will have Sequential Shift Control manual override, Grade Logic Control and Driver Recognition, the latter adapting to the driver’s style. The manual ‘box for the diesels have six forward ratios as well, plus an upshift indicator to encourage efficient driving.

Globally, the truck will come in 4X2 and 4X4 drivetrains and two ride heights, with the 4X2 Hi-Rider sharing the same frame as the 4X4 model. Shift on the fly is available for 4X4 models.

A new feature is the locking rear differential that’s activated by a dashboard button. This would be valuable off road when one rear wheel is in mud or not touching the ground. 4X4 and Hi-Rider models have 241 mm ground clearance and class leading 800 mm of wade height, good for floods. By the way, the steering is now rack and pinion.

Among the headline features (globally) are best in class towing capacity (up to 3,350 kg, payload up to 1,500 kg), Bluetooth with Voice Control, rear view camera, curtain airbags, 23 storage spaces in the cabin (including a vented 8.5L centre bin), dual-zone climate control, cruise control, ESP, Hill Launch Assist and Hill Descent Control. Of course, not all of these will be in the Malaysian spec model if it’s to have a competitive price.

Looks good to shoot straight to the top of the class, and we can’t wait to drive it! More pics after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2091]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• moha3774 on Mar 23, 2011 at 1:14 pm

…love the old one…this one should be better especially at the back…

• Dynamike on Mar 23, 2011 at 1:22 pm

2 thumbs up!!! Nice one

• Syed Barney on Mar 23, 2011 at 1:31 pm

Ford’s press release:

Engineers have optimised every millimetre of Ranger’s dimensions to give customers maximum interior space without compromising the volume of the cargo box. With Ranger increasingly being a work-and-family vehicle, the engineers have paid special attention to the rear seats in the truck, with the second row in the Super Cab more spacious than key competitors.

The B-pillar in the Double Cab has been moved forward, delivering best-in-class rear leg room and knee clearance. Three adults can easily fit in the second row of the Double Cab while two six-footers can comfortably sit one behind the other.

• rapidshifter on Mar 23, 2011 at 1:35 pm

looks good n better deal… lurve this ranger

• Guys..what a best job in the world u’ve got~..all around the world to cover n test the lucky vehicles..

• Thrust on Mar 23, 2011 at 2:00 pm

does ‘six forward ratios’ means 6-speed manual transmission

• ILOVEPICKUP on Mar 23, 2011 at 2:11 pm

LOOK BETTER THAN CURRENT VERSION… ALSO HAVE LATEST TECHNOLOGY… NICE NEW ENGINE.. FORD KEED IT UP..

• nazgul on Mar 23, 2011 at 2:33 pm

ford is coming stronger with this new ranger…engine tech and all the extras are uncommon for this segment…dare i say a class leader?…yup…

• wow ..nice ..why so long kena tunggu …

• from side view, looks like hilux.

• still not finished with the hilux comparison. damn hilux is nothing near to ranger dude. think!

• Well, from the point of view that it doesn’t look like a Mitsubishi Triton, I agree – the softened edges and details to give it a slightly “Hilux” feel – which I doubt is any accident ;D

Personally I MUCH prefer the looks of the new 2011 Chevrolet Colorado:
      http://img848.imageshack.us/i/chevroletcoloradoshowtrc.jpg/

But I guess with any current pickup truck, if you squint your eyes enough they all have a similar side profile ;)

However without any points of reference in these studio photos, it’s difficult to see just how much BIGGER the new Ranger is when compared to current pickups.. Here’s some comparisons:

http://img710.imageshack.us/i/vigovsranger.jpg/

http://img717.imageshack.us/i/rangervstriton.jpg/

• nowdays even truck got nice interior,like the new interior on new generation of ford models

• m4xspeed on Mar 23, 2011 at 2:47 pm

Ford truck been recognised by their masculine looks. This current design is very nice!

• heraise on Mar 23, 2011 at 3:17 pm

looks better than the honda car (new civic)

• BeemerFreak on Mar 23, 2011 at 3:25 pm

Toyota Beware…You were warned…….. VW pls bring the Amarok here as well

• exJAVANESE on Mar 23, 2011 at 6:15 pm

hihi.. this machine are look more fresh than Hilux or Navara..

Lone-ranger coming back in town!!

• kokopai on Mar 23, 2011 at 3:25 pm

Damn nice…. A pickup truck with 6 speed tranny.. Much better than most sedan

• WOW Comes with load of features :) Great !! But will the price hike up ? I guess I will consider this rather than a typical SUV. Since it comes with loads of features under 100k 6 speed , ESP and TC, Hill Start ,Descent Assist . Very importantly ESP and TC , as pick up truck are rear wheel drive biased, they tend to involve with more wheel spin

• Y can’t dey make de seats adjustable for the back? is it so hard to giv de passenger a lil comfort? If u hate Triton for the looks of it den adjustable seats wouldn’t hurt rite?

• Ranger is already popular and it will improve further with the better after sale service by the more aggressive Ford lately.

• Silwen on Mar 23, 2011 at 4:20 pm

I hope the gearbox is improved. In the old one, the gearbox died at about 200k km.

• messi on Mar 23, 2011 at 5:10 pm

Well! very tempting to get a truck with powerful diesel engine for the past 4 years but the luggage space alway put me off. The designer should extend the interior cabin by another 600mm (2′) to the cargo bed and allow a space for luggage compartment for storage and make the external bed shorter.

By looking at the rear door, I think the interior space is about the same as the hilux and nothing to shout about.

As KS said, they should desiign a adjustable rear seat like latio H/B to be difference from others and BIG interior cabin for URBAN COWBOY who don’t really need to carry DIESEL drum/or DURIAN at the back.

I hope other manufacturer to design something different from the conventional 2 cab TRUCK. Otherwise, just another option product for selection.

• likehondanotsomuch on Mar 23, 2011 at 9:54 pm

i will trde in my navara if any manufacturer comes up with your idea,,,,,brilliant but with some hiccup,,,the partition between the monocoque body and the rear monorail should be address first dont you think,,,wanna put 4 12 inc subwoofer in there,,,hehehe

• Toyota did exactly what you’re asking for 2 generations ago with the Hilux mega cab:

http://www.toyotaminis.com/forum/off-topic-12/89-94-mega-cab-7986/

However it just didn’t sell in sufficient quantities to stay on the production line. The biggest market for these trucks is Thailand followed by Australia, and the general customer there *is* using it to transport a load, so I doubt the format will ever see a revival :(

• Angra on Mar 24, 2011 at 10:58 am

One of the reasons that double cabs became popular especially here in Sabah is because of lower road tax compared to wagon-type 4wd’s. From what I know, the Malaysian Govt set road tax amount base on vehicle’s engine capacity AND body type as well. That is why if people install a hard cover with windows at the rear monorail, they have to pay extra fee in the form of ‘lesen kanopi’ to JPJ – because the body shape is already altered, albeit not permanently.

So the above suggestion MIGHT implicate the road tax amount since it is no longer a ‘pure’ double cab, but instead it has become a ‘hybrid’ between a wagon and a double cab already. What do think, Mr. Paultan?

• woho..num num num..early 2012..good enough i think.. cant wait for the review on how it drives

• steven on Mar 23, 2011 at 5:38 pm

sure selling hot due the 2.2 diesel road tax already advance for other model plus 150 ps …. haiz still havent install unichip for my vigo 2.5 102ps ?! ….

• anakSarawak on Mar 23, 2011 at 6:41 pm

Being a former RANGER owner…cant wait to “hantam” our SARAWAK’s rural “highway” here… heh heh….Maybe FORD MALAYSIA can speed things up here……

• I still prefer the Ford F-150 Raptor… unfortunately, it is not sold here… saw 1 in Cambodia and drool… it is as large as an Inokon Lorimas AU26 lorry.

• ray_jay on Mar 23, 2011 at 7:21 pm

Are serious? Those in the States are jealous that we get Ranger. Majority said F150 is a tad too big for everyday use or average parking at Walmart/Target/etc.

• 4g63tdsm on Mar 24, 2011 at 3:30 am

why? they have the old mazda B series (fighter) based ranger stateside as well.

I can understand the superduty F250 and F350 not fitting in shopping mall parking but the F150 isn’t really that big. What makes the F150 better than the Ranger is its V8 engine for towing.

Who exactly are you quoting “majority”???? The F150 outsells every car stateside…..

• Ha Gnih on Mar 23, 2011 at 7:34 pm

a more muscular Hilux look-alike, 2 thumbs up and LOVE the 6 speeder

• Kinetics on Mar 23, 2011 at 8:34 pm

No matter what.. Malaysian will said, ” Buy Hilux ma… it’s Toyota… more reliable. Ford??.. no resale value.. lousy car.”
    Don’t blame me… just phrase out what Malaysian said.

• Ha Gnih on Mar 24, 2011 at 12:39 am

I agree with you buddy. I do not know why whenever people wanna buy cars, they always talk about resale values. Not like you buy a car and the next intance you are rushing to get rid of it, unless those who are into auto trading. Seriously, you buy a car because you like it and NOT because you wanna make a valuable re-sale out of it. Car prices definitely depreciates and whoever think they can save a penny or a dime or maybe even a quarter from buying and selling autos are seriously screwed-up.

• Bujang Debak Saribas...Sarawak on Mar 23, 2011 at 9:10 pm

My Ford Ranger … still feels like new even after 4 years driving it … It’s never had a problem until now … compared with the same age of my friend’s Toyota Hilux … Well done Ford! Very reliable and safe … … Ford Ranger remains my choice … I’m waiting for my All-new Ford Ranger … 2012 … Built Ford Tough…

• Sparc on Mar 24, 2011 at 12:07 am

My Ranger year 2005 XL model give me problem after 3 years……
      I guess different usage and driving style…

• anakSarawak on Mar 24, 2011 at 4:32 pm

Yoo..!!!! minat FORD RANGER juga kaaa..???

• Dynamike on Mar 23, 2011 at 9:37 pm

Hi Paul. Does it come with rear disc brake?

• No..

Rear discs don’t have enough parking brake strength for a vehicle with a load and tow capacity like this, so you’ll never see them on a 1-tonner.

• Not true.

Toyota Tundra (bigger brother of Hilux, available in US only) and Ford F150 Raptor come with rear disc brakes. It is even heavier than 1 tonne. Size almost same as Inokom Lorimas AU25 lorry here.

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Mar 23, 2011 at 11:14 pm

new Endeavor for India

nice interiors

hope ford ditches the leaf springs at the rear

• Sparc on Mar 24, 2011 at 12:09 am

is the demand of 4X4 double cab still there in Peninsular ?
    I seldom see new double cab now days… Mostly MPVs.

• Zaharan on Mar 24, 2011 at 2:16 am

I want one!

• aeppy on Mar 24, 2011 at 10:16 am

Bring in Ford F150 then. . .let the beast rage wild on malaysia roads

• aeppy on Mar 24, 2011 at 10:18 am

Bring in F150. . .power beast. . .

• redwings on Mar 24, 2011 at 11:58 am

F150 more muscular..no chance to get it here?

• justice on Mar 24, 2011 at 12:33 pm

wow,.looking good n better spec,

2012?..yesterday i found 1 cruising at LDP..

• fazzurri on Mar 25, 2011 at 2:34 am

Tu dia.. Brader, Model ni baru je launch pertama kali di dunia kat Thailand.. Ce baca betul2 apa yg ditulis. Kat australia pun lancar akhir tahun 2011. Model apa ko nampak ni bro?? Kilang pun masih tengah setup nak keluarkan model ni..

• Well Done…..

• Naz@AE111 on Mar 24, 2011 at 6:38 pm

hell yeah! can’t wait for it the new ranger!!!

• Naz@AE111 on Mar 24, 2011 at 11:22 pm

2.2L diesel??!! huuyooooH! this SUT gonna be much more cheaper than the other 2.5L hilux, triton, n D-Max..

• fariz on Mar 25, 2011 at 8:58 am

Looks pretty good! Seems very well built!

• 4x4 lover on Mar 25, 2011 at 9:38 am

Dear Ford, if you brought in this vehicle tomorrow to Malaysia, I would immediately order one. I’ve always admired the Rangers because of the traditional pickup look i.e. The baywatch look. This is what a pickup is all about.

• slimershine on Mar 25, 2011 at 4:02 pm

looks like savvy headlamp. :)

• mirror mirror on Mar 25, 2011 at 10:02 pm

I sure hope that the front axle has better ground clearance than the Navara, it is very difficult to tell from these pictures. And that black sheet underneath the ‘chin’ of the truck had better be made of metal instead of plastic like the Navara. I think the size of this truck is a bit too big for me to maneuver comfortably in oil palm estate.

• Singaporean trucks on Mar 27, 2011 at 9:59 pm

Will the Ranger coming to Singapore???

• Payne on Oct 03, 2011 at 8:49 pm

No, man. there’s no way you can put this monster to singapore. parking space clearance issue will bring you headache. plus, where will you use this thing if you get one. singapore already got nicer road. unlike Sabah and Sarawak, which very famous with its “super-worst” road, worst than the logging road. got 4×4 not enough. need to add winch both front and rear.

• pearlwhite on Mar 28, 2011 at 11:23 pm

Hai,

This is the best machine for our everyday bad malaysian road.
    With this, i will not be afraid of any pot holes.
    May I ask, what is the top speed of this machine? I look on the ford net, I cant find any info.

• TiberiusNeo on Apr 02, 2011 at 9:48 am

it still looks like Hilux from side. hahaha

i guess 4×4 can’t deviate too much from its practical design. only Triton seem to go with curves a lot.

nice interior though.

• it depend on price….i will buy if the price is competible….i hope the price still below than 100k….

• “Globally, the truck will come in 4X2 and 4X4 drivetrains and two ride heights, with the 4X2 Hi-Rider sharing the same frame as the 4X4 model”….

Does this mean the 4×2 also hi-rider? and not like the the typical low-rider with small wheels.

• Payne on Oct 03, 2011 at 8:51 pm

yes, dude. u get it right.

• MOMOK HITAM on Nov 09, 2011 at 11:09 am

ford is only ford,nothing much better…LOL

• TIEWEIHIENG on Dec 26, 2011 at 9:49 pm

I prefer the new Ford in high safety standard like the one sold in Australia-5 star NCAP!

• Tuntul on Jan 15, 2012 at 3:31 pm

Bila mo kluar d malaysia ni bro?…

• Nasarudin Dahalan on Feb 05, 2012 at 9:56 pm

ford ranger lover i am waiting the 3.2 hope b soon in mlysia

• looks nice and macho, would love to see it when it arrives. which one is better, colorado or ranger? or dmax?:)

• I’M HORNY ALREADY!!! PLSE GET ME THAT NEW FORD RANGER…. I WANT ONE!!!

• David Bedinghaus on Dec 20, 2013 at 10:02 pm

I am ready for the F-150 in Thailand. Let me know when it happens, I’ll be in line to buy.