2011 Toyota Fortuner facelift unveiled at IIMS Jakarta

Toyota has unveiled the latest update to the Toyota Fortuner at the 2011 Indonesian International Motor Show. This is the second time the Fortuner has been facelifted, which is expected as this has been the trend for Toyota’s IMV models for developing countries. The Fortuner was last updated in 2008.

Toyota seems to be making the Fortuner look bolder and bolder, which was also the trend when the original Fortuner was changed in 2008. Toyota gave the 2008 facelift a wider and stronger front end compared to the original, and with this latest 2011 update, the Fortuner takes on a similar look to the flagship Toyota Landcruiser at the front.

The rear tail lamps have been given a clear lens look, which reminds me of the first generation Toyota Harrier.

On the inside, the Fortuner gets an updated steering wheel design, as well as some minor changes and rearrangements to the upper half of the dashboard.

Look after the jump for a full gallery of the new 2011 Fortuner.

GALLERY: 2011 Toyota Fortuner
[zenphotopress number=999 album=2431]

GALLERY: 2011 Toyota Fortuner TRD
[zenphotopress number=999 album=2434]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Toyota Advancing…….

• Gavin on Jul 22, 2011 at 1:47 pm

Come on Toyota can’t even have some soft touch plastics in the car?

Your price isn’t exactly cheap you know.

• ah seng on Jul 22, 2011 at 1:49 pm

the car is so bling……….. but when go to showroom, you need to buy the rim separately.. everything else.. sigh……

• lonelyobserve on Jul 22, 2011 at 1:53 pm

In appearance only. Inside still has the under-performed, over-rated crap.

• razee hussin on Jul 22, 2011 at 2:12 pm

what the heck…i dont care underpower or not…yang penting minyak safe…my kereta idaman..tunggu i naik pangkat..sure angkat satu weh…huhuhu..

• Again, another case of Japanese underestimating Asian auto market. Don’t know why! They like to give us obsolete products instead of latest model selling in North America. Now we talk about flat world but not for those Japanese. What has made them treat us unequally? If you manage to go to USA, then you will know what I am talking about. Go to do some surveys. we can afford luxury cars. We are deserving better cars since our market is equally as big as of North America do.

• Most of us, pretty blind when thinking over buying a car. No wonder Japanese dare to offer this crap to us and not North America.

Gimme Toyota Highlander or at least 4Runner anytime over this IMV.

• Friction on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:20 pm

i agree with you ray.. i still feel like most of the retard japs look at us malaysian like a bunch of dungu.. Mother Shoes! Anyway, i would choose an ALZA over Vios… and City, anytime!

• generation on Jul 22, 2011 at 2:32 pm

Spot!! VW Bumper’s design!! Toyota is copying plain VW bumper desing… OMG… I dun really like that boxy plain bumper laa..

• kenot on Jul 22, 2011 at 2:38 pm

aiyark…the tail light look more china car…i prefered the current face…btw..IIMS look more “meriah” than our KLIMS..

• DewaSemut on Jul 22, 2011 at 2:40 pm

Huiyo… back so ugly and damn outdated.. tail light use old stock ah?

• AhBeng on Jul 22, 2011 at 2:56 pm

wahlan leh… wtf is this?? Old Harrier + Alphard + Bling Bling = nah for Asian market.

• Misai on Jul 22, 2011 at 3:02 pm

Toyota doing things backward…. Using d 1st generation Harrier tail lamp???

• mentari-o-korea on Jul 22, 2011 at 3:14 pm

..look ok lah compare to his brother altis over-priced and dugong vios!!! Yeah, the bumper oso taking VW design…,seriously toyota need a good reliable designer!!

• this crap is even worse than the famous dugong!!! its seriously overpriced as it is essentially just a hilux inside out.

• is it just me, or the front bumper kinda looks like the one in the new sorento? =.=

• moots on Jul 22, 2011 at 3:38 pm

Front = like land cruiser = nice
    Back = like old harrier, aftermarket look = ugly

• i can believe toyota is still milking from this ancient IMV overpriced junk!!!

this fortuner is just a hilux with a proper roof and toyota can charge 180k for this crap!!? only gov will buy this rubbish. they are used to buying everything at a high premium anyway.

• mine one better still. the new facelift looks mild. but top speed capped at 160km/h. also fuel consumption like hell. oh, it’s a 2.7 petrol.

• Cewek Indonesia bisa tahan canteknya… perghhhh.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 22, 2011 at 5:13 pm

Look like Toyota try to mimic Proton in extending their shelf life for IMV products as long as possible! Shame on you T brand.

• boring design this days from toyota..come on lah..facelift again..haizzzz..and yess the bumper..sigh..VW deisgn..

• kelvin on Jul 22, 2011 at 9:37 pm

All models modified with aftermarket parts.. looks weird to me especially that bling bling rims

• Farhat n his crv on Jul 22, 2011 at 10:01 pm

Why is it when it’s an upgrade or facelift for toyotas, they put in those ugly, silver transparent rear lamps??

• Jimmy on Jul 22, 2011 at 10:12 pm

SuperUGLY dinasour . Won’t buy (although I am able to buy it with cash).

• zanggief on Jul 23, 2011 at 12:20 am

this fl fortuner is kinda carry toyota/lexus land cruiser’s trend…overall is lower tech feel when it park site to new sorento or even santa fe
    Price is believe to be not far from current tag so should consider d korean one…

• amatku17 on Jul 23, 2011 at 9:54 pm

Agreed with the author, the rear lamp looks similar to after market first gen harrier. Not very nice. The tyre looks too low profile for an off roader. maybe suitable for urban driving.Does it come with VNT?

• gabriel chiong ming zhe on Jul 25, 2011 at 6:53 pm

How many gear does Toyota Forturner facelift ?

• msbr91 on Jul 27, 2011 at 4:22 pm

Wonder when is the official launch in Malaysia??

• Paolo Wilfred on Aug 25, 2011 at 8:02 am

I saw the latest fortuner in an advertisement on the local paper yesterday (I am from the Philippines). There was only one photo so I decided to check out paultan.org. (Yes, we Filipinos also love Paul Tan :-) ) Anyway I like the Facelifted model much better than the outgoing model except for that really hideous butt ugly taillights! They should have redesigned the complete rear door too to avoid that hideous disproportionate taillights design. I don’t know about Malaysia, but from where I come from, Mitsubishi MonteroSports are eating up the fortuner’s market share since it debuted more than two years ago. no new engine? We deserve better! Thanks Paul for the great photo. Cheers

• Ikebane on Jan 30, 2012 at 1:43 am

Testing the Toyota Fortuner 2011 against Nissan Patrol Safari 2005. It shows that the fuel ussage on the Patrol was more efficien. although the Patrol use 4800cc with the speed of +200kmh and Fortuner 160kmh maks