China NCAP to be upgraded, 64 km/h front impact speed

The China New Car Assessment Program (C-NCAP) will be made more stringent, according to a report by Asia Pulse website. The new standards for C-NCAP, which awards new vehicles one to five stars, will take effect on July 2012.

The new standards by China’s Automotive Technology and Research Center are offset frontal crash tests at speeds of 64 km/h (40 mph), an upgrade from the current 56 km/h (35 mph). By the way, 40 mph is the same frontal impact speed used by Euro NCAP, so the didn’t make their own rules. The center is also adding an optional test for whiplash.

This is a good move on the part of the Chinese authorities, more so when only half a dozen of homegrown products have scored five stars under the current standards. The new standards will be like throwing them into the deep end of the pool, an effective way to teach and learn. Models developed by international automakers generally have less trouble scoring full stars.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• wlighter on Oct 12, 2011 at 10:45 am

Then again China system is also famous for corruption… I can imagine after spending millions in a vehicle development, what is it to bribe another few hundred thousand for approval or good rating….

• china dolls 2 on Oct 12, 2011 at 4:42 pm

good conspiracy

• Anyone caught will for corruption will have to face the firing squad. So they are much better than us here.

• wlighter on Oct 13, 2011 at 12:06 am

if you think some big fish will face the firing squad then u r indeed naive abt hw the world works~

• taboogen on Oct 14, 2011 at 7:09 am

at least china is advancing….. you just still piece of shxt only

• lets see if Perodua dares send their Own cars for certification instead of relying on results supplied bu Toyota/Daihatsu

• for your info the new gen of myvi dont have ENCAP either from Toyota or Daihatsu.

• the current gen KIA forte/cerato dont have ENCAP!!….

• lemon on Oct 12, 2011 at 8:08 pm

bro, kindly do some research before commenting…

• Ahpek on Oct 12, 2011 at 10:01 pm

KZM, check your facts la… There are more than just euroncap doing test… Google or youtube you will know.. Doh

• MALU lah sikit bro!! if i were u… i……….. would have drowned myself in a “sheet”.. hahaha

• Prismo on Oct 12, 2011 at 11:12 am

Let’s see how their car will perform. No more ‘cheap’ china car after this becoz they will need a very, very ‘much’ money to do a proper R&D to meet the requirement.

• Why most researchers used this unrealistic 50-60km crash test speed cos i’m very sure most of us do not drive at this speed..why dont they crash the vehicle at 80-90km? Hmm…anyone can explain cos im not an engineer? =/

• Paul Tan on Oct 12, 2011 at 12:51 pm

Actually crashes do not happen at 80kmh cos in attempting to avoid the crash you would have jam brake thus reducing your speed.

• maybe he thought people will accelerate when accident..haha

• arcana on Oct 12, 2011 at 6:50 pm

a lower speed would also enable those guys to assess the damage done after impact.
          its gonna be tough to inspect a car that is badly damaged after a 90km/h impact, many parts and pieces left which does not help much in research.
          one more thing is that if u hit a wall at 90km/h, more often than not most do not survive or either serious injuries, kinda defeats the purpose.

• Crash tests are expensive, that’s why they use the EURO-NCAP frontal impact speed.

So it’s easier for them to export cars to Europe. Things like headlights etc. are easy to modify, to modify the whole body structure is not that easy.

• i think many car manufacturer have their own crash test facility…..before they sent to independent crash test org eg NCAP(us), EuroNCAP(europe), JNCAP(japan), ANCAP(Australia), IIHS(us), ADAC(germany) and LNCAP(latin america)…they dont have to go to crash test org just for crash test during R&D..

• togel on Oct 13, 2011 at 2:13 pm

nope.. crash facilities is very expensive. usually, OEM send to 3rd party for crash test. what they do is through CAE and crash simulation.

• ahh.. one way to convince european about their car quality. haha…

• tikus on Oct 12, 2011 at 5:42 pm

Wonder what’s the NACAP of Proton car like Sage , persona and etc…

• oleoresin on Oct 12, 2011 at 6:02 pm

Who cares? Even new myvi which formerly known have ‘confirm death’ for frontal accident is selling fast in Bolehland. And insurance company still cover it. We are worried about fuel price, not NCAP, JCAP, ADAC bla bla3…..

• ANCAP for proton saga 3star, exora 4star

• Jimmy on Oct 12, 2011 at 9:38 pm

1) The 5-star rating can be obtained with money or not? Like in B-L?

2) Can the sample cars be different from the actual production ones? Close one eye le.

• wlighter on Oct 13, 2011 at 12:12 am

yup agree~ on both point. the point here is that when it comes to things like vehicle or food, it will still be a long way before i put my trust in china made product. call it stereotyping or whatever, but i still value my life. china can continue manufacturing non life depending item… im ok with those…

• Expatriate VN on Oct 13, 2011 at 12:33 am

Ptuiiiiii, many comment with Bodohland mindset with corruption in mind: –

1) Our J*P is famous for $$$ when get Kopi-O driving license.

2) Our construction, CI&B, with their Qlaaasicccc assesment for house quality, also subject to $$$$ in order to get better rating. For Singapore ComQues assesment, they are well known even in the middle east, which recognize their high standard assesment.

3) Our crap $1R_M, is the worst, the sticker can be bought and $$$$ do the final talking. Some sanitary fittings imported from China without brand, can be put in brand sticker together with $1R_M stickers.

Look at the positive ways, C NCAP rating is a way forward to improve safety standard of all makes in China.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 13, 2011 at 8:50 am

I am MR. know it all. period.

• nothing is good in Malaysia for you since u already set it in ur mind anything involve Malaysia low quality, low class, low everything..only you the perfect one….if malaysia want to intro MNCAP what do you think? u will say no good…malaysia suck

• tec96248 on Oct 13, 2011 at 5:02 pm

Mr. VN,
      said you know it all, but then why said it out? did u think you are the only dude who know it all? hmm………………..what a pity!
      by the way, this is a motoring blog……….which suppose to talk about motoring. I guess you are in the wrong blog to make complaints……hahaha…………..!!!
      You should go to $1R_M website to launch you complaints about their stickers…….
      A smart fellow or may be I should a survivor, will and able to success wherever the place is and its environment, either in overseas or local.
      does it help since complaint in this blog? ahahaha…………you are really funny…hahaha!

• tec96248 on Oct 13, 2011 at 5:04 pm

Mr. VN,
      said you know it all, but then why said it out? did u think you are the only dude who know it all? hmm………………..what a pity!
      by the way, this is a motoring blog……….which suppose to talk about motoring. I guess you are in the wrong blog to make complaints……hahaha…………..!!!
      You should go to $1R_M website to launch you complaints about their stickers…….
      A smart fellow or may be I should say as a survivor, will and able to success wherever the place is and its environment, either in overseas or local.
      does it help since complaint in this blog? ahahaha…………you are really funny…hahaha!