Hyundai Santa Fe: standard spec joins lineup, RM151k

Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors has introduced a standard specification variant of the Inokom Santa Fe, available only in the vehicle’s 2.4 litre petrol form. This version of the seven-seater SUV rolls in around RM8,000 cheaper than the premium specification model announced recently, being priced at RM150,888 (on-the-road, with insurance).

Again, no difference to the output figures of the 2.4 litre Theta II engine, which are 174 PS and 228 Nm. The vehicle comes with a six-speed maintenance-free automatic transmission and continues to feature an electronically-actuated 4-wheel drive system that changes from two- to four-wheel drive or 4-wheel lock at the touch of a button.

The main differences from the premium variant are in terms of interior trim, and some features have of course been omitted. Off the item list are the Audio Visual Navigator/GPS (AVN) unit, sunroof, smart key/push start button, reverse camera and driver power seat. The standard spec version features black leather seats.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kantoi on Oct 27, 2011 at 4:43 pm

Nice. I will pick this anytime :D

• FatBear on Oct 27, 2011 at 5:18 pm

Would be nice to have better shocks………the standard one makes the car uneasy when it hit potholes and ruts

• where’s the elantra?

• Black Dog on Oct 27, 2011 at 5:24 pm

I don’t think buyers can live without the Start/Stop ignition & reverse camera.

• Sambal Belacan on Oct 27, 2011 at 5:26 pm

Well done, Inokom! They done a proper research to meet customer’s needs. Those gadget omitted above are really meaningless to Sabah and Sarawak Region’s customers. We have less complicated road map compares to Penisular,that’s why we don’t need GPS.Reverse Camera?Well, For peoples who drivea a pick-up to go to work,Santafe is a “Short” vechile.And Sunroof?Believe me, u won’t want ur car to be fitted with this thing if u don’t want to get sunburn while driving at Sabah.Powerseat?Who need it! Use ur hand to adjust lah.

• RedBeanBun on Oct 28, 2011 at 8:16 am

dont BS la, Sabah people wont buy a Santa Fe for sure. Its Hilux or Ninja King world there…this Santa Fe dont stand a chance.

on the other hand, Sun roof is better to drive compare in KL since less polluted over there..its not about the SUN dude.

• sam witwicky on Oct 27, 2011 at 5:29 pm

how bout ford? :(

• gomok on Oct 27, 2011 at 5:53 pm

Wow, overprice lahhh

• lalok_stylo on Oct 27, 2011 at 11:54 pm

all cars are overpriced because of the tax, not only for santa fe….
      why dont u see another SUV and compare the price and spec….
      i would say santa fe is one of the best in its class…..

• Diesel on Oct 27, 2011 at 6:05 pm

diesel le?

• peter32 on Oct 27, 2011 at 7:31 pm

Diesel also has normal spec available for quite some time. Its just very low key. Not widely publicised

• yes hyundai has come a long way since its “cheap” age but still, this Santa Fe model isnt from the new Hyundai era, it’s basically from the era of Matrix, Atoz and Getz not the new Sonata. Elantra or even i30
    overpriced for sure!

• ttooyyoottt on Oct 27, 2011 at 7:20 pm

good pricing!..

• More gagets means more maintainance……means more $$$$$ spend…..means after few years u will feel like wanna dispose the car…..

• Masked Ryder on Oct 27, 2011 at 8:13 pm

What a dumb move, What the big deal of 8k after hire purchase monthly payment ? want cost down version, why not just offer Diesel engine !

• lalok_stylo on Oct 28, 2011 at 12:06 am

i think u r the dumb one u idiot…..
      it’s not to lower the cost, it’s to offer santa fe to those who short in budget……
      maybe some people can only afford up to 150k and maybe dont care about all the gadgets like GPS, sunroof and etc….
      so this what hyundai does for these kind of people….
      want better one??
      just buy premium version….
      8k is a big difference, plus with interest maybe 1k-2k, it’s already 10k….
      i dont know if u r dato’ or tan sri….
      one more thing, dont u know diesel version is more expensive than petrol version??

• Redrules on Oct 28, 2011 at 8:55 am

Some people just want a standard version so that they can have the extra 8k to pimp it up and bash it around. Not everybody drives an SUV to the office. Cheers.

• RedBeanBun on Oct 27, 2011 at 9:16 pm

I will pay RM100K more to buy the VW Tiguan of the earlier post!….i mean…i think i will…

• 150k for 7seater SUV is good..
      another 100k is a burden to some1 else, of course not refer to rich guy like u..

it seem that 100k mean nothing to u..
      then why not saying pay another 200k to get Touareg ??? since tiguan is only compact suv..

• Jimmy on Oct 27, 2011 at 9:47 pm

STUPID! I mean I myself as a buyer who buy a standard version.
    See, each item only costs me RM2000 only and they are all good; wah sunroof costs only RM2000.

• arcana on Oct 27, 2011 at 10:08 pm

nice to know that the santa fe has a cheaper option now.
    but i’m sure the high spec models will contribute more sales, afterall ppl wont pay RM150-160K and see nothing inside.

• toyota fans on Oct 27, 2011 at 10:38 pm

a six-speed maintenance-free automatic transmission??? no need service for long distance interval?

• Why only gasoline? I guess diesel version sells well compared to 2.4’s.

• gtmaniac on Oct 28, 2011 at 8:01 am

At this price class/range, RM8k won’t be missed too much. Judging from the items ommited, i think better get the full spec one, since if you regret later on because u bought the std spec, the cost/work to install all those items will cost u more – and some of it might be a bit complicated to fit (sunroof).

• Remains on of the better specified 4wd around. Got the older one in 2008 and didnt regret it.

• Masked Ryder on Oct 28, 2011 at 10:24 pm

Base on a simple 5 years loan at 3% interest, full spec version need a montly repayment of RM 2740 where else a low spec version is about RM 2600, a different of merely RM 140, which make me wonder the logic of this cheap version Santa Fe, why not just strip down the Diesel version & sell it at RM 159K ? surely those who want a cheap version as a work horse, would opt for diesel version as huge saving from fuel cost.
    No wonder SD is making lost, jurging by those below par salesman comment is this blog, why am i not supprise.

Then again what more can i expect from a GLC ?