Peugeot 208 to enter the market in spring 2012

Peugeot will introduce its 208 hatchback into the market next spring, and the car will be available in both 3-door and 5-door form. The company says that the car represents the most ambitious specification overhaul ever undertaken by the marque, and the result is a vehicle which it says represents a true generation leap.

It’s slightly shorter and lower than the outgoing 207 (-70 mm in length, -10 mm in height), but will offer noticeably increased occupant space, with more room in the rear seats (+50 mm at the knees) and a more generous boot (+15 dm3 in volume), while at the same time being significantly lighter, about 110 kg lighter on average compared with the 207, and as much as 173 kg lighter.

General exterior design cues on the sculpted and athletic looking vehicle include a ‘floating’ grille, light signature and ‘boomerang’ rear lamps, but the two body types have been given an entirely different treatment, says the company.

As for the interior, that’s pretty much reworked through too – the instruments and controls, for example, have been completely re-thought to become entirely intuitive and clear, and are positioned around a small steering wheel, a “head up instrument panel” and a large touch screen.

Around 25% of the car’s plastics are recycled or of natural origin; as a world first, the rear bumper and the fan assembly are made entirely using these materials. Peugeot says this type of bumper alone will permit a saving in manufacturing of 1600 tonnes of fuel a year.

Five diesel models, four of which are equipped with the new generation Stop & Start (e-HDi), will be introduced at launch. As for gasoline mills, the 208 will introduce a new range of 3-cylinder petrol engines, in 1.0 and 1.2 litre VTi form. Expect more details on the Pug as it gets closer to introduction.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Front a bit weird, rear is plain, side is awesome..

• kimi_ on Nov 09, 2011 at 12:33 pm

I like the “head up instrument panel” most…

FOR GOD SAKE, DONT PUT THE AWFUL NAZA BADGE ON THIS BABE WHEN ARRIVE IN MALAYSIA!!!

• when was the last time you saw a naza badge on a new peugeot? it is not even on the cheapest 207.

• kimi_ on Nov 09, 2011 at 5:32 pm

NAZA BESTARI= PEUGEOT 206

http://paultan.org/topics/special/naza-bestari/

• peugeot fan on Nov 09, 2011 at 6:40 pm

u had a longgggg sleep lah bro.
            wake up!

• aiyoo, that is not sold already for some time lah. with the 206, ended the story of naza branded peugeot cars. cheers to them now that peugeot remain peugeot! today’s peugeots are all branded peugeots. from the 207, 308vti, 308turbo, 308cc, 3008, 508, 5008, rcz, none have naza on the nose or tail.

• azlan on Nov 09, 2011 at 7:35 pm

But, but… 308 VTi and Turbo have NAZA sticker beside the 308 word :p

(can be easily removed)

• Espresso! Quick! on Nov 09, 2011 at 10:54 pm

azlan, from the son of a 308cc owner, come on, you should know better than say silly things like that.

• azlan on Nov 11, 2011 at 5:47 pm

Chill la bro, I was only joking la.. (cant u see the sarcasm-ness in that post?)

• ah lee bin ah tan on Nov 09, 2011 at 11:45 am

diesel please.

• huiyoo on Nov 09, 2011 at 11:51 am

naza, for god sake please bring this one to Malaysia….

• Amustapha on Nov 09, 2011 at 11:53 am

Nice..hopefully NAZA will bring it in and priced it attractively..

• 208 most welcome. . .good luck to 2012 Suzuki Swift!

• mujahid on Nov 09, 2011 at 12:02 pm

my next viva replacement

• Is it just me or the Peugeots are looking more like Japanese cars now. I really like the interior, but the exterior is a bit bland and generic, without the badge, it could be brand.

• bobdbilder on Nov 09, 2011 at 12:41 pm

Uh.. No. 208 trying to look like a DS3 minus the THP 155 engine option. No thank you. At least the 207 GT had 150. No they never went back to the hatch era. They betrayed us!

• The Enthusiast on Nov 09, 2011 at 4:56 pm

Actually it shares the same DNA as the Citroen C3, which is preceded by the DS3. Heck, both Citroen and Peugeot are under the same roof! IMHO though DS3 definitely looks hotter than this one. The front does look weird. Now I sort of miss the gaping-mouth design of Peugeot from yesteryears.

• vincent on Nov 09, 2011 at 12:42 pm

Looks good!! Hope it is priced slightly higher than 207

• civicEK on Nov 09, 2011 at 12:44 pm

this model to replace 206 is it? nice car btw :)

• sooo much better than 207!

• limaunipis on Nov 09, 2011 at 1:21 pm

the heck with practicality! — the 3-door is simply beautiful and looks better as a whole compared with the 5-door.

• Sgt Scoop on Nov 09, 2011 at 1:29 pm

Nice looking car on the outside but it looks like they did a bodge job on the inside.

• PokokCerryMechanic on Nov 09, 2011 at 1:46 pm

i hope the display are still intact if naza bring them in here

• gomok on Nov 09, 2011 at 3:12 pm

I thought this car from korea….lol…..hahhahaha

• inderaloka on Nov 09, 2011 at 3:33 pm

Luar dalam cantik!!

• Wisdom on Nov 09, 2011 at 4:23 pm

Nice girl wiping her forehead….

• soundsfishy on Nov 09, 2011 at 4:36 pm

much.much better to replace 206…

• Jaybond80 on Nov 09, 2011 at 4:59 pm

Definitely looks more upmarket than the outgoing model.

• teelim on Nov 09, 2011 at 5:10 pm

Not bad overall, but I think the design of the headlights are a little bit “fussy”

hope Naza brings this over here soon and offer nice engine options (diesel pls)

• nighttrain on Nov 09, 2011 at 5:25 pm

Anthony, which 207 are you referring to? The one that we have here? Or the one that we don’t have..

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Nov 09, 2011 at 6:01 pm

The hatch. :)

• nighttrain on Nov 09, 2011 at 6:13 pm

Sorry la bro, when it comes to 207, it’s abit confusing..

• Globally 207 is a hatch, but some markets that have our present 207 Sedan do market the model as 206+.

• Kent,

The hatchback is as you say, called a 206+ in some countries (Mainly Europe) but the sedan is called 207 worldwide.

• 208 will definately be my upcoming car for my wife …wow!.looks really good !!!

• nebula87 on Nov 09, 2011 at 6:23 pm

the design is so fresh!! like it!

• Nice but i still won’t buy from AP King.

• wish117 on Nov 09, 2011 at 8:13 pm

dammmmed…… me wan dis…..

• RedBeanBun on Nov 09, 2011 at 9:10 pm

suddenly, hatchback type car market heats up!

• Foster on Nov 09, 2011 at 10:06 pm

New 208 got nice design and build in but my Fiesta more sporty

• Yes Fiesta more good…I own Mazda…my wife want this peugot…ashame to drive..

• Vincent on Nov 09, 2011 at 11:01 pm

If Naza can bring it in and CKD it, price at the price range of RM60 to 65K, I believe it might able to take over those Swift and Fiesta Market.

• naza pls bring in the one with plaster ceiling version ( glass roof wif plaster ceiling lightning ) . Can go out see the stars at night hehe

• Hopefully Proton will rebadge this car

• albag on Nov 10, 2011 at 8:05 am

very nice ride… looks very futuristic…

• Waja Owner on Nov 10, 2011 at 9:08 am

Lovely…just lovely….Peugeot coming out with excellent and modern design…

Nasim please bring this is as soon as you can….

• krs99 on Nov 10, 2011 at 10:03 am

Even if they sell this car below RM 60k.

I still believe mayvi lagi best lagi power with DVVT technology is the better car.

No car in the world can beat myvi ;p

• Rayan Teoh on Mar 12, 2013 at 12:40 am

Hello budak kampung myvi the best? Pls laa is budget problem….. If not no people want to buy local car…. 1’st conti 2nd is japan 3rd Korean 4’th only local only thing the local win is china made car

• mat koboi on Nov 10, 2011 at 10:39 am

i like this car..i think better than myvi 1.5 extreme…

• Nice , just hope Nasim will not replace some of the features to save costs.

• also depends on what is offered to nasim by peugeot. more often than not, the french have already decided the specs and the local boys can only decide the rims and some minor interior trim and engines.

• Thumbs me up ! on Nov 10, 2011 at 8:38 pm

208CC for me!o

• laluan sehala on Apr 16, 2013 at 3:51 pm

hmmm, wonder if they will make a cc version of the 208.